tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

15/04/2021 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - A New Dawn

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

A New Dawn

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Mecanica
15/04/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For over 40 years Absolute Body Control has been entertaining electronic music lovers with their deep minimal synth wave, with the occasional touch of synth-pop. To celebrate those four decades at the top of the electronic scene they present us 'A New Dawn', an EP with 6 brand new songs. It has been quiet for almost 10 years, but today Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem are back. The release is made available through a collaboration with Mecanica and Noise Democrazy Records.

While both guys are continuously working on their own solo projects (including Dive and Monolith), they now return as a duo, back to the cold synth-wave where it all started in the early 1980s. And while possibilities with synths are endless these days, they still manage to give us truly retro-sounding, chilly and cold songs.

‘Waving Goodbye’ immediately throws you back in time. A bone-dry rhythm, throbbing synths, interwoven with a melody that at first sight seems to have been recorded a long time ago but still sounds fresh. Strange feeling...

We shift up a gear with ‘Earth Takes A Break’,a robust bass line with ditto drum sound and a haunting melody carries you along. Mother Earth is not doing well…'airplanes silence, empty blue skies, earth takes a break, keep your distance, washing our hand, humanity shakes.'. Corona rules, this is 2020.

But it can also be just plain dark… Without frills, stripped of excess foils … ‘Seven’ is such a song that for one reason or another sticks, without being able to understand why.

Still, we also get the opposite in the next track. In the sense that it sounds more contemporary, slightly more refined and more 2021. Here you get all the trimmings, just like that… ‘Invisible Touch’!

It doesn’t really matter ho long we have had to wait for it, we are more than satisfied with this EP! They remain pioneers in the broadest sense of the word. They are just great personalities in electronic music and on this EP they show us again how imbued they are with the power of simplicity of synth-wave. Sometimes it doesn't have to sound complicated to impress. Let us hope their next release will not take another 10 years!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/04/2021


NL

Al 40 jaar lang vermaakt Absolute Body Control electronic lovers met hun diepe, minimale synthwave, met af en toe een zweem van synthpop. Om die vier decennia aan de top van de electronische scène te vieren krijgen we een digitale EP 'A New Dawn', met daarop 6 songs. En ja, het was nagenoeg 10 jaar stil, maar Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem zijn terug! De release komt er in samenwerking met Mecanica en Noise Democrazy Records.

Beide lieden zijn bezig met eigen solo-projecten (oa Dive en Monolith), maar keren nu in duo-formatie terug naar de kille synthwave waarin ze elkaar begin jaren 1980 vonden. En hoewel de mogelijkheden van aan de slag gaan met synths eindeloos zijn, schenken ze ons echt retro-klinkende, kille en koude songs.
Waving Goodbye katapulteert je meteen terug in de tijd. Een kurkdroog ritme, ronkende synths, verweven met een melodie die op het eerste zicht zomaar mee opgenomen lijkt, maar zeer toch moet zijn. Strange feeling…

Het wordt nog een divisie hoger met Earth Takes A Break. Een robuuste baslijn met een dito drumsound en een beklijvende melodie sleuren je mee. Het gaat niet goed met moeder Aarde, …'airplanes silence, empty blue skies, earth takes a break, keep your distance, washing our hand, humanity shakes..'. Corona rules, dit is 2020.

En het mag ook al eens gewoon eenvoudigweg donker zijn. Zonder franjes, van overtollige folietjes ontdaan. Seven is zo’n nummer dat om één of andere reden beklijft, zonder te kunnen pakken waarom.
Maar we krijgen ook net het tegenovergestelde. In de zin dat het hedendaagser klinkt, ietwat meer geraffineerd en meer 2021. Hier krijg je de vlaggen en wimpels er zomaar bij… Invisible Touch.

Hoe lang we er ook op hebben moeten wachten, we worden meer dan bevredigd met deze EP. Het blijven pioniers in de meest brede zin van het woord. In de electronische muziek zijn het grote heren. En met deze EP bewijzen ze nogmaals hoe doordrongen ze zijn van de kracht van eenvoud van synthwave. Dat het soms niet té ingewikkeld moet klinken om indruk te maken. Laat ons hopen dat het volgende werk niet wéér 10 jaar op zich laat wachten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/04/2021


 

Next reviews
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
THE HEAT INC. • EP
PIG • Pain Is God
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ELM • Penetrator
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky