tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

15/04/2021 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - A New Dawn

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

A New Dawn

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Mecanica
15/04/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For over 40 years Absolute Body Control has been entertaining electronic music lovers with their deep minimal synth wave, with the occasional touch of synth-pop. To celebrate those four decades at the top of the electronic scene they present us 'A New Dawn', an EP with 6 brand new songs. It has been quiet for almost 10 years, but today Dirk Ivens and Eric Van Wonterghem are back. The release is made available through a collaboration with Mecanica and Noise Democrazy Records.

While both guys are continuously working on their own solo projects (including Dive and Monolith), they now return as a duo, back to the cold synth-wave where it all started in the early 1980s. And while possibilities with synths are endless these days, they still manage to give us truly retro-sounding, chilly and cold songs.

‘Waving Goodbye’ immediately throws you back in time. A bone-dry rhythm, throbbing synths, interwoven with a melody that at first sight seems to have been recorded a long time ago but still sounds fresh. Strange feeling...

We shift up a gear with ‘Earth Takes A Break’,a robust bass line with ditto drum sound and a haunting melody carries you along. Mother Earth is not doing well…'airplanes silence, empty blue skies, earth takes a break, keep your distance, washing our hand, humanity shakes.'. Corona rules, this is 2020.

But it can also be just plain dark… Without frills, stripped of excess foils … ‘Seven’ is such a song that for one reason or another sticks, without being able to understand why.

Still, we also get the opposite in the next track. In the sense that it sounds more contemporary, slightly more refined and more 2021. Here you get all the trimmings, just like that… ‘Invisible Touch’!

It doesn’t really matter ho long we have had to wait for it, we are more than satisfied with this EP! They remain pioneers in the broadest sense of the word. They are just great personalities in electronic music and on this EP they show us again how imbued they are with the power of simplicity of synth-wave. Sometimes it doesn't have to sound complicated to impress. Let us hope their next release will not take another 10 years!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/04/2021


NL

Al 40 jaar lang vermaakt Absolute Body Control electronic lovers met hun diepe, minimale synthwave, met af en toe een zweem van synthpop. Om die vier decennia aan de top van de electronische scène te vieren krijgen we een digitale EP 'A New Dawn', met daarop 6 songs. En ja, het was nagenoeg 10 jaar stil, maar Dirk Ivens en Eric Van Wonterghem zijn terug! De release komt er in samenwerking met Mecanica en Noise Democrazy Records.

Beide lieden zijn bezig met eigen solo-projecten (oa Dive en Monolith), maar keren nu in duo-formatie terug naar de kille synthwave waarin ze elkaar begin jaren 1980 vonden. En hoewel de mogelijkheden van aan de slag gaan met synths eindeloos zijn, schenken ze ons echt retro-klinkende, kille en koude songs.
Waving Goodbye katapulteert je meteen terug in de tijd. Een kurkdroog ritme, ronkende synths, verweven met een melodie die op het eerste zicht zomaar mee opgenomen lijkt, maar zeer toch moet zijn. Strange feeling…

Het wordt nog een divisie hoger met Earth Takes A Break. Een robuuste baslijn met een dito drumsound en een beklijvende melodie sleuren je mee. Het gaat niet goed met moeder Aarde, …'airplanes silence, empty blue skies, earth takes a break, keep your distance, washing our hand, humanity shakes..'. Corona rules, dit is 2020.

En het mag ook al eens gewoon eenvoudigweg donker zijn. Zonder franjes, van overtollige folietjes ontdaan. Seven is zo’n nummer dat om één of andere reden beklijft, zonder te kunnen pakken waarom.
Maar we krijgen ook net het tegenovergestelde. In de zin dat het hedendaagser klinkt, ietwat meer geraffineerd en meer 2021. Hier krijg je de vlaggen en wimpels er zomaar bij… Invisible Touch.

Hoe lang we er ook op hebben moeten wachten, we worden meer dan bevredigd met deze EP. Het blijven pioniers in de meest brede zin van het woord. In de electronische muziek zijn het grote heren. En met deze EP bewijzen ze nogmaals hoe doordrongen ze zijn van de kracht van eenvoud van synthwave. Dat het soms niet té ingewikkeld moet klinken om indruk te maken. Laat ons hopen dat het volgende werk niet wéér 10 jaar op zich laat wachten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/04/2021


 

Next reviews
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
THE HEAT INC. • EP
PIG • Pain Is God
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS