tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

18/11/2015 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Shattered Illusion

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Shattered Illusion

MusicAlbum Classics
MinimalNew wave

[98/100]   

Daft Records
18/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The media probably will never understand, his dedicated fans will: Dirk Ivens is one of Belgium’s greatest musicians. During several decades this musical centipede made music with four different (sublime) projects: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik and of course Absolute Body Control. In the early 80s the band was formed along with Veerle De Schepper and Marc De Jonghe, but eventually Dirk Ivens formed a duo with his partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. When the band started a second career, a lot of old material was released, but Shattered Illusion is actually the first album with new material from the second Absolute Body Control era.

The more you listen to the instrumental opener What Took You So Long, the more you hear Bowie during his Low period. Krautrock with analog electronics! The ideal start of a collection of immortal electropop songs that all sound familiar, songs that sound as if they were composed in 1983, but the booklet clearly says 2010. Sorrow has the typical Absolute Body Control sound, or something like Fad Gadget, so to speak! The tight production of Eric Van Wonterghem ensures that the song has a superb vintage sound!

Surrender No Resistance was released as a single, and even though the record was not a hit in the traditional sense of the word, the melody is chiseled in many black brains. Eins Zwei Drei Vier has delicious electronics, with a nod to the experimental Neue Deutsche Welle. Everyone has his favorite, for me (and many others) that is Never Seen, probably because of the addictive synth melody and the effects on Dirk's voice!

In Stardust Fever it becomes once again clear why Dirk has such a great fascination for Suicide, as he uses the same repetitive rhythms, completed with an almost unsustainable energy. It is also the track that comes most close to what Dirk does in Dive. Shattered Illusion is new wave in all its glory, the kind of track that makes you dance without realizing it, and you’ll do that on the infectious Into The Light too. Just follow me, Dirk sings, and with such music we surely want to! Finally Talking To The Man is the best song of The Neon Judgement that is written by Dirk Ivens.

Shattered Illusion is a record that has every reason to be named a classic!

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


NL

De media zullen het waarschijnlijk nooit begrijpen, zijn toegewijde fans wel: Dirk Ivens is één van Vlaanderens grootste muzikanten. Deze muzikale duizendpoot is al decennia lang het uithangbord van vier diverse (sublieme) muzikale projecten: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik en natuurlijk Absolute Body Control. In het begin van de jaren 80 bestond deze band nog uit Veerle De Schepper en Marc De Jonghe, maar het werd uiteindelijk Dirk Ivens en zijn eeuwige partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. Toen de band aan een tweede carrière begon werd er heel wat oud materiaal uitgebracht, maar eigenlijk is Shattered illusion de eerste plaat met nieuw materiaal uit het tweede Absolute Body Control-tijdperk.

Hoe meer je naar de instrumentale opener What Took You So Long luistert, hoe meer je er de Low-periode van Bowie in ontdekt, Krautrock met analoge electronica. De ideale start van een resem onsterfelijke electropopnummers die één voor één als vertrouwde vrienden klinken, songs waarvan je denkt dat ze in 1983 zijn gecomponeerd, maar het hoesje zegt duidelijk 2010. Sorrow heeft het typische Absolute Body Control-geluid, zeg maar Fad Gadget dus! De strakke productie van Eric Van Wonterghem zorgt er trouwens voor dat het nummer heerlijk vintage klinkt!

Surrender No Resistance verscheen als single, en ook al werd de plaat geen hit in de traditionele zin van het woord, zit de melodie in heel wat zwarte geesten gebeiteld. Eins zwei Drei Vier is een heerlijke spielerei, met een knipoog naar de experimentele Neue Deutsche Welle. Iedereen heeft wel zijn favoriet, bij mij (en vele anderen) is dat Never Seen en daar zal het verslavend synthmelodietje en de effecten op Dirks stem wel voor heel veel tussen zitten!

In Stardust Fever wordt het nog maar eens duidelijk waarom Dirk zo’n grote fascinatie voor Suicide heeft, dezelfde repetitieve ritmes en een bijna onhoudbare energie. Het is de track die ook het meest aanleunt bij wat Dirk met Dive doet. Shattered Illusion is wave in al zijn glorie, het soort nummer waarop je begint te dansen, zonder dat je het beseft en dat doe je ongetwijfeld ook op het aanstekelijke Into The Light. Just follow me, zingt Dirk, en met zo’n muziek willen we dat maar al te graag! Afsluiter Talking To The Man is dan weer het beste nummer van The Neon Judgement dat door Dirk Ivens is geschreven.

Shattered Illusion is een plaat die alle redenen heeft om een klassieker te zijn! 

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido