tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

18/11/2015 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Shattered Illusion

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Shattered Illusion

MusicAlbum Classics
MinimalNew wave

[98/100]   

Daft Records
18/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The media probably will never understand, his dedicated fans will: Dirk Ivens is one of Belgium’s greatest musicians. During several decades this musical centipede made music with four different (sublime) projects: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik and of course Absolute Body Control. In the early 80s the band was formed along with Veerle De Schepper and Marc De Jonghe, but eventually Dirk Ivens formed a duo with his partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. When the band started a second career, a lot of old material was released, but Shattered Illusion is actually the first album with new material from the second Absolute Body Control era.

The more you listen to the instrumental opener What Took You So Long, the more you hear Bowie during his Low period. Krautrock with analog electronics! The ideal start of a collection of immortal electropop songs that all sound familiar, songs that sound as if they were composed in 1983, but the booklet clearly says 2010. Sorrow has the typical Absolute Body Control sound, or something like Fad Gadget, so to speak! The tight production of Eric Van Wonterghem ensures that the song has a superb vintage sound!

Surrender No Resistance was released as a single, and even though the record was not a hit in the traditional sense of the word, the melody is chiseled in many black brains. Eins Zwei Drei Vier has delicious electronics, with a nod to the experimental Neue Deutsche Welle. Everyone has his favorite, for me (and many others) that is Never Seen, probably because of the addictive synth melody and the effects on Dirk's voice!

In Stardust Fever it becomes once again clear why Dirk has such a great fascination for Suicide, as he uses the same repetitive rhythms, completed with an almost unsustainable energy. It is also the track that comes most close to what Dirk does in Dive. Shattered Illusion is new wave in all its glory, the kind of track that makes you dance without realizing it, and you’ll do that on the infectious Into The Light too. Just follow me, Dirk sings, and with such music we surely want to! Finally Talking To The Man is the best song of The Neon Judgement that is written by Dirk Ivens.

Shattered Illusion is a record that has every reason to be named a classic!

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


NL

De media zullen het waarschijnlijk nooit begrijpen, zijn toegewijde fans wel: Dirk Ivens is één van Vlaanderens grootste muzikanten. Deze muzikale duizendpoot is al decennia lang het uithangbord van vier diverse (sublieme) muzikale projecten: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik en natuurlijk Absolute Body Control. In het begin van de jaren 80 bestond deze band nog uit Veerle De Schepper en Marc De Jonghe, maar het werd uiteindelijk Dirk Ivens en zijn eeuwige partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. Toen de band aan een tweede carrière begon werd er heel wat oud materiaal uitgebracht, maar eigenlijk is Shattered illusion de eerste plaat met nieuw materiaal uit het tweede Absolute Body Control-tijdperk.

Hoe meer je naar de instrumentale opener What Took You So Long luistert, hoe meer je er de Low-periode van Bowie in ontdekt, Krautrock met analoge electronica. De ideale start van een resem onsterfelijke electropopnummers die één voor één als vertrouwde vrienden klinken, songs waarvan je denkt dat ze in 1983 zijn gecomponeerd, maar het hoesje zegt duidelijk 2010. Sorrow heeft het typische Absolute Body Control-geluid, zeg maar Fad Gadget dus! De strakke productie van Eric Van Wonterghem zorgt er trouwens voor dat het nummer heerlijk vintage klinkt!

Surrender No Resistance verscheen als single, en ook al werd de plaat geen hit in de traditionele zin van het woord, zit de melodie in heel wat zwarte geesten gebeiteld. Eins zwei Drei Vier is een heerlijke spielerei, met een knipoog naar de experimentele Neue Deutsche Welle. Iedereen heeft wel zijn favoriet, bij mij (en vele anderen) is dat Never Seen en daar zal het verslavend synthmelodietje en de effecten op Dirks stem wel voor heel veel tussen zitten!

In Stardust Fever wordt het nog maar eens duidelijk waarom Dirk zo’n grote fascinatie voor Suicide heeft, dezelfde repetitieve ritmes en een bijna onhoudbare energie. Het is de track die ook het meest aanleunt bij wat Dirk met Dive doet. Shattered Illusion is wave in al zijn glorie, het soort nummer waarop je begint te dansen, zonder dat je het beseft en dat doe je ongetwijfeld ook op het aanstekelijke Into The Light. Just follow me, zingt Dirk, en met zo’n muziek willen we dat maar al te graag! Afsluiter Talking To The Man is dan weer het beste nummer van The Neon Judgement dat door Dirk Ivens is geschreven.

Shattered Illusion is een plaat die alle redenen heeft om een klassieker te zijn! 

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury