tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

18/11/2015 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Shattered Illusion

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Shattered Illusion

MusicAlbum Classics
MinimalNew wave

[98/100]   

Daft Records
18/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The media probably will never understand, his dedicated fans will: Dirk Ivens is one of Belgium’s greatest musicians. During several decades this musical centipede made music with four different (sublime) projects: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik and of course Absolute Body Control. In the early 80s the band was formed along with Veerle De Schepper and Marc De Jonghe, but eventually Dirk Ivens formed a duo with his partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. When the band started a second career, a lot of old material was released, but Shattered Illusion is actually the first album with new material from the second Absolute Body Control era.

The more you listen to the instrumental opener What Took You So Long, the more you hear Bowie during his Low period. Krautrock with analog electronics! The ideal start of a collection of immortal electropop songs that all sound familiar, songs that sound as if they were composed in 1983, but the booklet clearly says 2010. Sorrow has the typical Absolute Body Control sound, or something like Fad Gadget, so to speak! The tight production of Eric Van Wonterghem ensures that the song has a superb vintage sound!

Surrender No Resistance was released as a single, and even though the record was not a hit in the traditional sense of the word, the melody is chiseled in many black brains. Eins Zwei Drei Vier has delicious electronics, with a nod to the experimental Neue Deutsche Welle. Everyone has his favorite, for me (and many others) that is Never Seen, probably because of the addictive synth melody and the effects on Dirk's voice!

In Stardust Fever it becomes once again clear why Dirk has such a great fascination for Suicide, as he uses the same repetitive rhythms, completed with an almost unsustainable energy. It is also the track that comes most close to what Dirk does in Dive. Shattered Illusion is new wave in all its glory, the kind of track that makes you dance without realizing it, and you’ll do that on the infectious Into The Light too. Just follow me, Dirk sings, and with such music we surely want to! Finally Talking To The Man is the best song of The Neon Judgement that is written by Dirk Ivens.

Shattered Illusion is a record that has every reason to be named a classic!

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


NL

De media zullen het waarschijnlijk nooit begrijpen, zijn toegewijde fans wel: Dirk Ivens is één van Vlaanderens grootste muzikanten. Deze muzikale duizendpoot is al decennia lang het uithangbord van vier diverse (sublieme) muzikale projecten: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik en natuurlijk Absolute Body Control. In het begin van de jaren 80 bestond deze band nog uit Veerle De Schepper en Marc De Jonghe, maar het werd uiteindelijk Dirk Ivens en zijn eeuwige partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. Toen de band aan een tweede carrière begon werd er heel wat oud materiaal uitgebracht, maar eigenlijk is Shattered illusion de eerste plaat met nieuw materiaal uit het tweede Absolute Body Control-tijdperk.

Hoe meer je naar de instrumentale opener What Took You So Long luistert, hoe meer je er de Low-periode van Bowie in ontdekt, Krautrock met analoge electronica. De ideale start van een resem onsterfelijke electropopnummers die één voor één als vertrouwde vrienden klinken, songs waarvan je denkt dat ze in 1983 zijn gecomponeerd, maar het hoesje zegt duidelijk 2010. Sorrow heeft het typische Absolute Body Control-geluid, zeg maar Fad Gadget dus! De strakke productie van Eric Van Wonterghem zorgt er trouwens voor dat het nummer heerlijk vintage klinkt!

Surrender No Resistance verscheen als single, en ook al werd de plaat geen hit in de traditionele zin van het woord, zit de melodie in heel wat zwarte geesten gebeiteld. Eins zwei Drei Vier is een heerlijke spielerei, met een knipoog naar de experimentele Neue Deutsche Welle. Iedereen heeft wel zijn favoriet, bij mij (en vele anderen) is dat Never Seen en daar zal het verslavend synthmelodietje en de effecten op Dirks stem wel voor heel veel tussen zitten!

In Stardust Fever wordt het nog maar eens duidelijk waarom Dirk zo’n grote fascinatie voor Suicide heeft, dezelfde repetitieve ritmes en een bijna onhoudbare energie. Het is de track die ook het meest aanleunt bij wat Dirk met Dive doet. Shattered Illusion is wave in al zijn glorie, het soort nummer waarop je begint te dansen, zonder dat je het beseft en dat doe je ongetwijfeld ook op het aanstekelijke Into The Light. Just follow me, zingt Dirk, en met zo’n muziek willen we dat maar al te graag! Afsluiter Talking To The Man is dan weer het beste nummer van The Neon Judgement dat door Dirk Ivens is geschreven.

Shattered Illusion is een plaat die alle redenen heeft om een klassieker te zijn! 

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis