tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

18/11/2015 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Shattered Illusion

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Shattered Illusion

MusicAlbum Classics
MinimalNew wave

[98/100]   

Daft Records
18/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The media probably will never understand, his dedicated fans will: Dirk Ivens is one of Belgium’s greatest musicians. During several decades this musical centipede made music with four different (sublime) projects: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik and of course Absolute Body Control. In the early 80s the band was formed along with Veerle De Schepper and Marc De Jonghe, but eventually Dirk Ivens formed a duo with his partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. When the band started a second career, a lot of old material was released, but Shattered Illusion is actually the first album with new material from the second Absolute Body Control era.

The more you listen to the instrumental opener What Took You So Long, the more you hear Bowie during his Low period. Krautrock with analog electronics! The ideal start of a collection of immortal electropop songs that all sound familiar, songs that sound as if they were composed in 1983, but the booklet clearly says 2010. Sorrow has the typical Absolute Body Control sound, or something like Fad Gadget, so to speak! The tight production of Eric Van Wonterghem ensures that the song has a superb vintage sound!

Surrender No Resistance was released as a single, and even though the record was not a hit in the traditional sense of the word, the melody is chiseled in many black brains. Eins Zwei Drei Vier has delicious electronics, with a nod to the experimental Neue Deutsche Welle. Everyone has his favorite, for me (and many others) that is Never Seen, probably because of the addictive synth melody and the effects on Dirk's voice!

In Stardust Fever it becomes once again clear why Dirk has such a great fascination for Suicide, as he uses the same repetitive rhythms, completed with an almost unsustainable energy. It is also the track that comes most close to what Dirk does in Dive. Shattered Illusion is new wave in all its glory, the kind of track that makes you dance without realizing it, and you’ll do that on the infectious Into The Light too. Just follow me, Dirk sings, and with such music we surely want to! Finally Talking To The Man is the best song of The Neon Judgement that is written by Dirk Ivens.

Shattered Illusion is a record that has every reason to be named a classic!

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


NL

De media zullen het waarschijnlijk nooit begrijpen, zijn toegewijde fans wel: Dirk Ivens is één van Vlaanderens grootste muzikanten. Deze muzikale duizendpoot is al decennia lang het uithangbord van vier diverse (sublieme) muzikale projecten: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik en natuurlijk Absolute Body Control. In het begin van de jaren 80 bestond deze band nog uit Veerle De Schepper en Marc De Jonghe, maar het werd uiteindelijk Dirk Ivens en zijn eeuwige partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. Toen de band aan een tweede carrière begon werd er heel wat oud materiaal uitgebracht, maar eigenlijk is Shattered illusion de eerste plaat met nieuw materiaal uit het tweede Absolute Body Control-tijdperk.

Hoe meer je naar de instrumentale opener What Took You So Long luistert, hoe meer je er de Low-periode van Bowie in ontdekt, Krautrock met analoge electronica. De ideale start van een resem onsterfelijke electropopnummers die één voor één als vertrouwde vrienden klinken, songs waarvan je denkt dat ze in 1983 zijn gecomponeerd, maar het hoesje zegt duidelijk 2010. Sorrow heeft het typische Absolute Body Control-geluid, zeg maar Fad Gadget dus! De strakke productie van Eric Van Wonterghem zorgt er trouwens voor dat het nummer heerlijk vintage klinkt!

Surrender No Resistance verscheen als single, en ook al werd de plaat geen hit in de traditionele zin van het woord, zit de melodie in heel wat zwarte geesten gebeiteld. Eins zwei Drei Vier is een heerlijke spielerei, met een knipoog naar de experimentele Neue Deutsche Welle. Iedereen heeft wel zijn favoriet, bij mij (en vele anderen) is dat Never Seen en daar zal het verslavend synthmelodietje en de effecten op Dirks stem wel voor heel veel tussen zitten!

In Stardust Fever wordt het nog maar eens duidelijk waarom Dirk zo’n grote fascinatie voor Suicide heeft, dezelfde repetitieve ritmes en een bijna onhoudbare energie. Het is de track die ook het meest aanleunt bij wat Dirk met Dive doet. Shattered Illusion is wave in al zijn glorie, het soort nummer waarop je begint te dansen, zonder dat je het beseft en dat doe je ongetwijfeld ook op het aanstekelijke Into The Light. Just follow me, zingt Dirk, en met zo’n muziek willen we dat maar al te graag! Afsluiter Talking To The Man is dan weer het beste nummer van The Neon Judgement dat door Dirk Ivens is geschreven.

Shattered Illusion is een plaat die alle redenen heeft om een klassieker te zijn! 

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret