tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

18/11/2015 : ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL - Shattered Illusion

ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL

Shattered Illusion

MusicAlbum Classics
MinimalNew wave

[98/100]   

Daft Records
18/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The media probably will never understand, his dedicated fans will: Dirk Ivens is one of Belgium’s greatest musicians. During several decades this musical centipede made music with four different (sublime) projects: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik and of course Absolute Body Control. In the early 80s the band was formed along with Veerle De Schepper and Marc De Jonghe, but eventually Dirk Ivens formed a duo with his partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. When the band started a second career, a lot of old material was released, but Shattered Illusion is actually the first album with new material from the second Absolute Body Control era.

The more you listen to the instrumental opener What Took You So Long, the more you hear Bowie during his Low period. Krautrock with analog electronics! The ideal start of a collection of immortal electropop songs that all sound familiar, songs that sound as if they were composed in 1983, but the booklet clearly says 2010. Sorrow has the typical Absolute Body Control sound, or something like Fad Gadget, so to speak! The tight production of Eric Van Wonterghem ensures that the song has a superb vintage sound!

Surrender No Resistance was released as a single, and even though the record was not a hit in the traditional sense of the word, the melody is chiseled in many black brains. Eins Zwei Drei Vier has delicious electronics, with a nod to the experimental Neue Deutsche Welle. Everyone has his favorite, for me (and many others) that is Never Seen, probably because of the addictive synth melody and the effects on Dirk's voice!

In Stardust Fever it becomes once again clear why Dirk has such a great fascination for Suicide, as he uses the same repetitive rhythms, completed with an almost unsustainable energy. It is also the track that comes most close to what Dirk does in Dive. Shattered Illusion is new wave in all its glory, the kind of track that makes you dance without realizing it, and you’ll do that on the infectious Into The Light too. Just follow me, Dirk sings, and with such music we surely want to! Finally Talking To The Man is the best song of The Neon Judgement that is written by Dirk Ivens.

Shattered Illusion is a record that has every reason to be named a classic!

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


NL

De media zullen het waarschijnlijk nooit begrijpen, zijn toegewijde fans wel: Dirk Ivens is één van Vlaanderens grootste muzikanten. Deze muzikale duizendpoot is al decennia lang het uithangbord van vier diverse (sublieme) muzikale projecten: Sonar, Dive, The Klinik en natuurlijk Absolute Body Control. In het begin van de jaren 80 bestond deze band nog uit Veerle De Schepper en Marc De Jonghe, maar het werd uiteindelijk Dirk Ivens en zijn eeuwige partner in crime Eric Van Wonterghem. Toen de band aan een tweede carrière begon werd er heel wat oud materiaal uitgebracht, maar eigenlijk is Shattered illusion de eerste plaat met nieuw materiaal uit het tweede Absolute Body Control-tijdperk.

Hoe meer je naar de instrumentale opener What Took You So Long luistert, hoe meer je er de Low-periode van Bowie in ontdekt, Krautrock met analoge electronica. De ideale start van een resem onsterfelijke electropopnummers die één voor één als vertrouwde vrienden klinken, songs waarvan je denkt dat ze in 1983 zijn gecomponeerd, maar het hoesje zegt duidelijk 2010. Sorrow heeft het typische Absolute Body Control-geluid, zeg maar Fad Gadget dus! De strakke productie van Eric Van Wonterghem zorgt er trouwens voor dat het nummer heerlijk vintage klinkt!

Surrender No Resistance verscheen als single, en ook al werd de plaat geen hit in de traditionele zin van het woord, zit de melodie in heel wat zwarte geesten gebeiteld. Eins zwei Drei Vier is een heerlijke spielerei, met een knipoog naar de experimentele Neue Deutsche Welle. Iedereen heeft wel zijn favoriet, bij mij (en vele anderen) is dat Never Seen en daar zal het verslavend synthmelodietje en de effecten op Dirks stem wel voor heel veel tussen zitten!

In Stardust Fever wordt het nog maar eens duidelijk waarom Dirk zo’n grote fascinatie voor Suicide heeft, dezelfde repetitieve ritmes en een bijna onhoudbare energie. Het is de track die ook het meest aanleunt bij wat Dirk met Dive doet. Shattered Illusion is wave in al zijn glorie, het soort nummer waarop je begint te dansen, zonder dat je het beseft en dat doe je ongetwijfeld ook op het aanstekelijke Into The Light. Just follow me, zingt Dirk, en met zo’n muziek willen we dat maar al te graag! Afsluiter Talking To The Man is dan weer het beste nummer van The Neon Judgement dat door Dirk Ivens is geschreven.

Shattered Illusion is een plaat die alle redenen heeft om een klassieker te zijn! 

Didier BECU
18/11/2015


 

Next reviews
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
MONICA RICHARDS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
URN • Epiphany
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
RIPPER • A.D.

 

Other reviews from ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God