tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/11/2015 : RIPPER - A.D.

RIPPER

A.D.

MusicCD (EP)
Punk

[83/100]   

Land Ski Records
17/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Minneapolis comes a punk rock band with lots of potential: Ripper. Land Ski Records and Lawn Chair Records are both behind the second release of this band.

It is clear where the band gets its influences from: icons such as Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs and The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead and that is what Ripper stands for!

The opening track Chain Fight sounds like The Ramones. Very fast chord changes, double vocals and guitar noise with Sonic Youth influences.

The single On The Curb is three minutes long and the longest song on this EP. You may even discover a melody in the guitar work if you listen carefully. This band is what you call a real refreshment in the no nonsense punk scene. Lick The Knife is a noisy song with (again) a Sonic Youth touch. The typical sound, but with punk vocals that gives the song something like a sharp edge.

One Desire and Never Win are pure punk songs: straightforward as punk should be. This EP deserves at least a listening and a fine pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


NL

Vanuit Minneapolis komt een bont punkrockgezelschap onze richting uit: Ripper. Land Ski Records en Lawn Chair Records zetten zich allebei achter de tweede release van deze band.

Het is duidelijk waar de band de mosterd vandaan haalt: we ontwaren invloeden van iconen uit het genre zoals Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs en The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead en dat maakt Ripper heel duidelijk.

Het openingsnummer Chain Fight kon uit de annalen van The Ramones komen. Heel snelle akkoordenwissels, een tweestemmige zang en noisegitaren waarin we Sonic Youth-invloeden horen.

De single On The Curb is met zijn drie minuten de langste song op deze ep. Je kan zelfs een melodie in het fijne gitaarwerk ontdekken als je goed luistert. Het is dan ook een aangename verfrissing in de no nonsense punkaanpak waarvoor dit viertal zorgt. Lick The Knife is een noisy song waarin we alweer Sonic Youth herkennen, gierende gitaren die geluiden produceren waarvan je niet verwacht dat ze uit het instrument komen. De typische sound, maar dan wel met punkvocalen die de song z'n scherpe kantje bezorgen.

One Desire en Never Win zijn dan weer regelrechte punknummers, recht toe recht aan zoals punk hoort te zijn. Deze ep verdient minstens uw aandacht en een fijne pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide