tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/11/2015 : RIPPER - A.D.

RIPPER

A.D.

MusicCD (EP)
Punk

[83/100]   

Land Ski Records
17/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Minneapolis comes a punk rock band with lots of potential: Ripper. Land Ski Records and Lawn Chair Records are both behind the second release of this band.

It is clear where the band gets its influences from: icons such as Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs and The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead and that is what Ripper stands for!

The opening track Chain Fight sounds like The Ramones. Very fast chord changes, double vocals and guitar noise with Sonic Youth influences.

The single On The Curb is three minutes long and the longest song on this EP. You may even discover a melody in the guitar work if you listen carefully. This band is what you call a real refreshment in the no nonsense punk scene. Lick The Knife is a noisy song with (again) a Sonic Youth touch. The typical sound, but with punk vocals that gives the song something like a sharp edge.

One Desire and Never Win are pure punk songs: straightforward as punk should be. This EP deserves at least a listening and a fine pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


NL

Vanuit Minneapolis komt een bont punkrockgezelschap onze richting uit: Ripper. Land Ski Records en Lawn Chair Records zetten zich allebei achter de tweede release van deze band.

Het is duidelijk waar de band de mosterd vandaan haalt: we ontwaren invloeden van iconen uit het genre zoals Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs en The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead en dat maakt Ripper heel duidelijk.

Het openingsnummer Chain Fight kon uit de annalen van The Ramones komen. Heel snelle akkoordenwissels, een tweestemmige zang en noisegitaren waarin we Sonic Youth-invloeden horen.

De single On The Curb is met zijn drie minuten de langste song op deze ep. Je kan zelfs een melodie in het fijne gitaarwerk ontdekken als je goed luistert. Het is dan ook een aangename verfrissing in de no nonsense punkaanpak waarvoor dit viertal zorgt. Lick The Knife is een noisy song waarin we alweer Sonic Youth herkennen, gierende gitaren die geluiden produceren waarvan je niet verwacht dat ze uit het instrument komen. De typische sound, maar dan wel met punkvocalen die de song z'n scherpe kantje bezorgen.

One Desire en Never Win zijn dan weer regelrechte punknummers, recht toe recht aan zoals punk hoort te zijn. Deze ep verdient minstens uw aandacht en een fijne pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On