tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/11/2015 : RIPPER - A.D.

RIPPER

A.D.

MusicCD (EP)
Punk

[83/100]   

Land Ski Records
17/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Minneapolis comes a punk rock band with lots of potential: Ripper. Land Ski Records and Lawn Chair Records are both behind the second release of this band.

It is clear where the band gets its influences from: icons such as Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs and The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead and that is what Ripper stands for!

The opening track Chain Fight sounds like The Ramones. Very fast chord changes, double vocals and guitar noise with Sonic Youth influences.

The single On The Curb is three minutes long and the longest song on this EP. You may even discover a melody in the guitar work if you listen carefully. This band is what you call a real refreshment in the no nonsense punk scene. Lick The Knife is a noisy song with (again) a Sonic Youth touch. The typical sound, but with punk vocals that gives the song something like a sharp edge.

One Desire and Never Win are pure punk songs: straightforward as punk should be. This EP deserves at least a listening and a fine pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


NL

Vanuit Minneapolis komt een bont punkrockgezelschap onze richting uit: Ripper. Land Ski Records en Lawn Chair Records zetten zich allebei achter de tweede release van deze band.

Het is duidelijk waar de band de mosterd vandaan haalt: we ontwaren invloeden van iconen uit het genre zoals Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs en The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead en dat maakt Ripper heel duidelijk.

Het openingsnummer Chain Fight kon uit de annalen van The Ramones komen. Heel snelle akkoordenwissels, een tweestemmige zang en noisegitaren waarin we Sonic Youth-invloeden horen.

De single On The Curb is met zijn drie minuten de langste song op deze ep. Je kan zelfs een melodie in het fijne gitaarwerk ontdekken als je goed luistert. Het is dan ook een aangename verfrissing in de no nonsense punkaanpak waarvoor dit viertal zorgt. Lick The Knife is een noisy song waarin we alweer Sonic Youth herkennen, gierende gitaren die geluiden produceren waarvan je niet verwacht dat ze uit het instrument komen. De typische sound, maar dan wel met punkvocalen die de song z'n scherpe kantje bezorgen.

One Desire en Never Win zijn dan weer regelrechte punknummers, recht toe recht aan zoals punk hoort te zijn. Deze ep verdient minstens uw aandacht en een fijne pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)