tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/11/2015 : RIPPER - A.D.

RIPPER

A.D.

MusicCD (EP)
Punk

[83/100]   

Land Ski Records
17/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Minneapolis comes a punk rock band with lots of potential: Ripper. Land Ski Records and Lawn Chair Records are both behind the second release of this band.

It is clear where the band gets its influences from: icons such as Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs and The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead and that is what Ripper stands for!

The opening track Chain Fight sounds like The Ramones. Very fast chord changes, double vocals and guitar noise with Sonic Youth influences.

The single On The Curb is three minutes long and the longest song on this EP. You may even discover a melody in the guitar work if you listen carefully. This band is what you call a real refreshment in the no nonsense punk scene. Lick The Knife is a noisy song with (again) a Sonic Youth touch. The typical sound, but with punk vocals that gives the song something like a sharp edge.

One Desire and Never Win are pure punk songs: straightforward as punk should be. This EP deserves at least a listening and a fine pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


NL

Vanuit Minneapolis komt een bont punkrockgezelschap onze richting uit: Ripper. Land Ski Records en Lawn Chair Records zetten zich allebei achter de tweede release van deze band.

Het is duidelijk waar de band de mosterd vandaan haalt: we ontwaren invloeden van iconen uit het genre zoals Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs en The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead en dat maakt Ripper heel duidelijk.

Het openingsnummer Chain Fight kon uit de annalen van The Ramones komen. Heel snelle akkoordenwissels, een tweestemmige zang en noisegitaren waarin we Sonic Youth-invloeden horen.

De single On The Curb is met zijn drie minuten de langste song op deze ep. Je kan zelfs een melodie in het fijne gitaarwerk ontdekken als je goed luistert. Het is dan ook een aangename verfrissing in de no nonsense punkaanpak waarvoor dit viertal zorgt. Lick The Knife is een noisy song waarin we alweer Sonic Youth herkennen, gierende gitaren die geluiden produceren waarvan je niet verwacht dat ze uit het instrument komen. De typische sound, maar dan wel met punkvocalen die de song z'n scherpe kantje bezorgen.

One Desire en Never Win zijn dan weer regelrechte punknummers, recht toe recht aan zoals punk hoort te zijn. Deze ep verdient minstens uw aandacht en een fijne pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed