tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/11/2015 : RIPPER - A.D.

RIPPER

A.D.

MusicCD (EP)
Punk

[83/100]   

Land Ski Records
17/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Minneapolis comes a punk rock band with lots of potential: Ripper. Land Ski Records and Lawn Chair Records are both behind the second release of this band.

It is clear where the band gets its influences from: icons such as Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs and The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead and that is what Ripper stands for!

The opening track Chain Fight sounds like The Ramones. Very fast chord changes, double vocals and guitar noise with Sonic Youth influences.

The single On The Curb is three minutes long and the longest song on this EP. You may even discover a melody in the guitar work if you listen carefully. This band is what you call a real refreshment in the no nonsense punk scene. Lick The Knife is a noisy song with (again) a Sonic Youth touch. The typical sound, but with punk vocals that gives the song something like a sharp edge.

One Desire and Never Win are pure punk songs: straightforward as punk should be. This EP deserves at least a listening and a fine pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


NL

Vanuit Minneapolis komt een bont punkrockgezelschap onze richting uit: Ripper. Land Ski Records en Lawn Chair Records zetten zich allebei achter de tweede release van deze band.

Het is duidelijk waar de band de mosterd vandaan haalt: we ontwaren invloeden van iconen uit het genre zoals Dead Kennedys, Sonic Youth, Germs en The Beach Boys. Punk's not dead en dat maakt Ripper heel duidelijk.

Het openingsnummer Chain Fight kon uit de annalen van The Ramones komen. Heel snelle akkoordenwissels, een tweestemmige zang en noisegitaren waarin we Sonic Youth-invloeden horen.

De single On The Curb is met zijn drie minuten de langste song op deze ep. Je kan zelfs een melodie in het fijne gitaarwerk ontdekken als je goed luistert. Het is dan ook een aangename verfrissing in de no nonsense punkaanpak waarvoor dit viertal zorgt. Lick The Knife is een noisy song waarin we alweer Sonic Youth herkennen, gierende gitaren die geluiden produceren waarvan je niet verwacht dat ze uit het instrument komen. De typische sound, maar dan wel met punkvocalen die de song z'n scherpe kantje bezorgen.

One Desire en Never Win zijn dan weer regelrechte punknummers, recht toe recht aan zoals punk hoort te zijn. Deze ep verdient minstens uw aandacht en een fijne pogo.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift