tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : THE KINKS - Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

THE KINKS

Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

MusicCD
PopPsychedelicRock
BMG
16/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Do we need to introduce The Kinks? This North London band, formed in 1963, is one of the most influential groups in music history. They had all the assets (including the musical genius) to conquer the world just as The Beatles, but at the moment that British acts invaded the US market, the American government decided to ban them during four years. That probably is the reason why in the 60s The Kinks sounded so British, simply because they knew that the UK was their main market. In every track it feels like you’re at Carnaby Street or you can see Twiggy before your eyes. The group is often seen as composers of nice pop songs, but you better read the texts (Sunny Afternoon is pure satire, written by Ray Davies, who had a depression at that time). Once the 70s begun, there was a second career for The Kinks as they made concept albums and rock operas that many music experts gave wet pants.

This new compilation includes the small letters "the very best of", but this double album is a lot more than just another compilation. Of course, all the hits are on it (A Well Respected Man, Dedicated Follower Of Fashion, You Really Got Me, Lola, All Day And All Of The Night, Waterloo Sunset or Victoria), but in fact this double album features all the tracks from the musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon was premiered in Britain last year, and the songs from the musical, based on a book by Joe Penhall, were chosen by frontman Ray Davies. As mentioned, the hits were obligatory, but Davies added a whole host of unknown tracks, including several demos and BBC recordings.

The 44 songs (there are also four interviews) give you a perfect example of how this band sounded during the 60s: genious and straightforward mod rock, but also a lot of psychedelics. These Brits knew damn well how to write a perfect pop song in three minutes, and people who are not familiar with their music will be surprised how many of those they actually know (the Pretenders hit I Go To Sleep is in fact a Kinks track).

Sunny Afternoon comes in a beautiful box, which includes a booklet with some comments by Ray Davies. The record label (Union Square Music) tells us that you can find this album only in the UK and Ireland, but of course there is something like Amazon these days!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


NL

Moeten we The Kinks nog voorstellen? Deze Noord-Londense band die werd opgericht in 1963, is één van de meest invloedrijke groepen uit de muziekgeschiedenis. Ze hadden wel alle troeven (inclusief het muzikale genie) om net zoals The Beatles de wereld te veroveren, maar op het moment dat de Britse acts de VS inpalmden, besloot de Amerikaanse overheid om The Kinks vier jaar lang een optredenverbod op te leggen. Dat zal waarschijnlijk ook de reden zijn waarom in de jaren 60 The Kinks van alle rockgroepen het meest Brits klonken, gewoonweg omdat ze wisten dat dit hun grootste (en bijna enige) afzetmarkt was. In iedere nummer waan je je wel ergens in Carnaby Street of zie je beelden van Twiggy voor je ogen. De groep wordt vaak gezien als componisten van lekkere popnummertjes, maar misschien lees je toch maar beter eens de teksten (zo is Sunny Afternoon pure satire, geschreven door Ray Davies, die op dat moment met een zware depressie zat). Eens de jaren 70 begonnen, was er voor The Kinks een tweede carrière weggelegd en maakten ze conceptplaten en rockopera’s die heel wat muziekkenners een natte broek bezorgden.

Op deze nieuwe compilatie heeft men wel subtiel het tekstje “the very best of” bijgevoegd, maar deze dubbel-cd is heel wat meer dan alweer de zoveelste compilatie. Natuurlijk staan alle hits er op (A Well Respected ManDedicated Follower Of FashionYou Really Got MeLolaAll Day And All Of The NightWaterloo Sunset of Victoria), maar op deze dubbelaar vind je gewoon alle tracks uit de musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon ging vorig jaar in Groot-Brittannië in première, en de nummers uit de musical, die op een boek van Joe Penhall is gebaseerd, werden stuk voor stuk door frontman Ray Davies gekozen. Zoals gezegd waren de hits een must, maar Davies voegde er een hele resem onbekende nummers aan toe waaronder heel wat demo’s en BBC-opnames.

De 44 nummers (er staan ook 4 interviews op) geven je een perfect beeld van hoe deze band tijdens de jaren 60 klonk: geniale recht toe recht aan modrock, maar ook veel psychedelica. Deze Britten wisten verdomd goed hoe je in de heilige drie minuten een perfecte popsong moest schrijven, en mensen die niet al te vertrouwd zijn met hun muziek zullen schrikken hoeveel nummers ze toch kennen (zo is de Pretenders-hit I Go To Sleep een Kinks-nummer).

Sunny Afternoon wordt in een prachtige box geleverd, met daarin een boekje met enkele kanttekeningen van opperhoofd Ray Davies. Het platenlabel (Union Square Music) meldt ons dat je deze uitgave alleen maar in de Engelse en Ierse winkels kan vinden, maar tegenwoordig heb je natuurlijk ook Amazon!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE • Quartz Bijou
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
PEOPLE THEATRE • Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn
VEIN CAT • Fold EP

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart