tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

16/11/2015 : THE KINKS - Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

THE KINKS

Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

MusicCD
PopPsychedelicRock
BMG
16/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Do we need to introduce The Kinks? This North London band, formed in 1963, is one of the most influential groups in music history. They had all the assets (including the musical genius) to conquer the world just as The Beatles, but at the moment that British acts invaded the US market, the American government decided to ban them during four years. That probably is the reason why in the 60s The Kinks sounded so British, simply because they knew that the UK was their main market. In every track it feels like you’re at Carnaby Street or you can see Twiggy before your eyes. The group is often seen as composers of nice pop songs, but you better read the texts (Sunny Afternoon is pure satire, written by Ray Davies, who had a depression at that time). Once the 70s begun, there was a second career for The Kinks as they made concept albums and rock operas that many music experts gave wet pants.

This new compilation includes the small letters "the very best of", but this double album is a lot more than just another compilation. Of course, all the hits are on it (A Well Respected Man, Dedicated Follower Of Fashion, You Really Got Me, Lola, All Day And All Of The Night, Waterloo Sunset or Victoria), but in fact this double album features all the tracks from the musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon was premiered in Britain last year, and the songs from the musical, based on a book by Joe Penhall, were chosen by frontman Ray Davies. As mentioned, the hits were obligatory, but Davies added a whole host of unknown tracks, including several demos and BBC recordings.

The 44 songs (there are also four interviews) give you a perfect example of how this band sounded during the 60s: genious and straightforward mod rock, but also a lot of psychedelics. These Brits knew damn well how to write a perfect pop song in three minutes, and people who are not familiar with their music will be surprised how many of those they actually know (the Pretenders hit I Go To Sleep is in fact a Kinks track).

Sunny Afternoon comes in a beautiful box, which includes a booklet with some comments by Ray Davies. The record label (Union Square Music) tells us that you can find this album only in the UK and Ireland, but of course there is something like Amazon these days!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


NL

Moeten we The Kinks nog voorstellen? Deze Noord-Londense band die werd opgericht in 1963, is één van de meest invloedrijke groepen uit de muziekgeschiedenis. Ze hadden wel alle troeven (inclusief het muzikale genie) om net zoals The Beatles de wereld te veroveren, maar op het moment dat de Britse acts de VS inpalmden, besloot de Amerikaanse overheid om The Kinks vier jaar lang een optredenverbod op te leggen. Dat zal waarschijnlijk ook de reden zijn waarom in de jaren 60 The Kinks van alle rockgroepen het meest Brits klonken, gewoonweg omdat ze wisten dat dit hun grootste (en bijna enige) afzetmarkt was. In iedere nummer waan je je wel ergens in Carnaby Street of zie je beelden van Twiggy voor je ogen. De groep wordt vaak gezien als componisten van lekkere popnummertjes, maar misschien lees je toch maar beter eens de teksten (zo is Sunny Afternoon pure satire, geschreven door Ray Davies, die op dat moment met een zware depressie zat). Eens de jaren 70 begonnen, was er voor The Kinks een tweede carrière weggelegd en maakten ze conceptplaten en rockopera’s die heel wat muziekkenners een natte broek bezorgden.

Op deze nieuwe compilatie heeft men wel subtiel het tekstje “the very best of” bijgevoegd, maar deze dubbel-cd is heel wat meer dan alweer de zoveelste compilatie. Natuurlijk staan alle hits er op (A Well Respected ManDedicated Follower Of FashionYou Really Got MeLolaAll Day And All Of The NightWaterloo Sunset of Victoria), maar op deze dubbelaar vind je gewoon alle tracks uit de musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon ging vorig jaar in Groot-Brittannië in première, en de nummers uit de musical, die op een boek van Joe Penhall is gebaseerd, werden stuk voor stuk door frontman Ray Davies gekozen. Zoals gezegd waren de hits een must, maar Davies voegde er een hele resem onbekende nummers aan toe waaronder heel wat demo’s en BBC-opnames.

De 44 nummers (er staan ook 4 interviews op) geven je een perfect beeld van hoe deze band tijdens de jaren 60 klonk: geniale recht toe recht aan modrock, maar ook veel psychedelica. Deze Britten wisten verdomd goed hoe je in de heilige drie minuten een perfecte popsong moest schrijven, en mensen die niet al te vertrouwd zijn met hun muziek zullen schrikken hoeveel nummers ze toch kennen (zo is de Pretenders-hit I Go To Sleep een Kinks-nummer).

Sunny Afternoon wordt in een prachtige box geleverd, met daarin een boekje met enkele kanttekeningen van opperhoofd Ray Davies. Het platenlabel (Union Square Music) meldt ons dat je deze uitgave alleen maar in de Engelse en Ierse winkels kan vinden, maar tegenwoordig heb je natuurlijk ook Amazon!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CHEMICAL SWEET KID • The Speed Of Time
OBSZÖN GESCHOPF • The Vault Of Nightmares
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
THE OBSCURE • Ghent, Charlatan 14/11/2015
AWMA • AWMA (EP)
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE • Quartz Bijou
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
PEOPLE THEATRE • Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn
VEIN CAT • Fold EP

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive