tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/11/2015 : THE KINKS - Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

THE KINKS

Sunny Afternoon-The Best Of

MusicCD
PopPsychedelicRock
BMG
16/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Do we need to introduce The Kinks? This North London band, formed in 1963, is one of the most influential groups in music history. They had all the assets (including the musical genius) to conquer the world just as The Beatles, but at the moment that British acts invaded the US market, the American government decided to ban them during four years. That probably is the reason why in the 60s The Kinks sounded so British, simply because they knew that the UK was their main market. In every track it feels like you’re at Carnaby Street or you can see Twiggy before your eyes. The group is often seen as composers of nice pop songs, but you better read the texts (Sunny Afternoon is pure satire, written by Ray Davies, who had a depression at that time). Once the 70s begun, there was a second career for The Kinks as they made concept albums and rock operas that many music experts gave wet pants.

This new compilation includes the small letters "the very best of", but this double album is a lot more than just another compilation. Of course, all the hits are on it (A Well Respected Man, Dedicated Follower Of Fashion, You Really Got Me, Lola, All Day And All Of The Night, Waterloo Sunset or Victoria), but in fact this double album features all the tracks from the musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon was premiered in Britain last year, and the songs from the musical, based on a book by Joe Penhall, were chosen by frontman Ray Davies. As mentioned, the hits were obligatory, but Davies added a whole host of unknown tracks, including several demos and BBC recordings.

The 44 songs (there are also four interviews) give you a perfect example of how this band sounded during the 60s: genious and straightforward mod rock, but also a lot of psychedelics. These Brits knew damn well how to write a perfect pop song in three minutes, and people who are not familiar with their music will be surprised how many of those they actually know (the Pretenders hit I Go To Sleep is in fact a Kinks track).

Sunny Afternoon comes in a beautiful box, which includes a booklet with some comments by Ray Davies. The record label (Union Square Music) tells us that you can find this album only in the UK and Ireland, but of course there is something like Amazon these days!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


NL

Moeten we The Kinks nog voorstellen? Deze Noord-Londense band die werd opgericht in 1963, is één van de meest invloedrijke groepen uit de muziekgeschiedenis. Ze hadden wel alle troeven (inclusief het muzikale genie) om net zoals The Beatles de wereld te veroveren, maar op het moment dat de Britse acts de VS inpalmden, besloot de Amerikaanse overheid om The Kinks vier jaar lang een optredenverbod op te leggen. Dat zal waarschijnlijk ook de reden zijn waarom in de jaren 60 The Kinks van alle rockgroepen het meest Brits klonken, gewoonweg omdat ze wisten dat dit hun grootste (en bijna enige) afzetmarkt was. In iedere nummer waan je je wel ergens in Carnaby Street of zie je beelden van Twiggy voor je ogen. De groep wordt vaak gezien als componisten van lekkere popnummertjes, maar misschien lees je toch maar beter eens de teksten (zo is Sunny Afternoon pure satire, geschreven door Ray Davies, die op dat moment met een zware depressie zat). Eens de jaren 70 begonnen, was er voor The Kinks een tweede carrière weggelegd en maakten ze conceptplaten en rockopera’s die heel wat muziekkenners een natte broek bezorgden.

Op deze nieuwe compilatie heeft men wel subtiel het tekstje “the very best of” bijgevoegd, maar deze dubbel-cd is heel wat meer dan alweer de zoveelste compilatie. Natuurlijk staan alle hits er op (A Well Respected ManDedicated Follower Of FashionYou Really Got MeLolaAll Day And All Of The NightWaterloo Sunset of Victoria), maar op deze dubbelaar vind je gewoon alle tracks uit de musical Sunny Afternoon.

Sunny Afternoon ging vorig jaar in Groot-Brittannië in première, en de nummers uit de musical, die op een boek van Joe Penhall is gebaseerd, werden stuk voor stuk door frontman Ray Davies gekozen. Zoals gezegd waren de hits een must, maar Davies voegde er een hele resem onbekende nummers aan toe waaronder heel wat demo’s en BBC-opnames.

De 44 nummers (er staan ook 4 interviews op) geven je een perfect beeld van hoe deze band tijdens de jaren 60 klonk: geniale recht toe recht aan modrock, maar ook veel psychedelica. Deze Britten wisten verdomd goed hoe je in de heilige drie minuten een perfecte popsong moest schrijven, en mensen die niet al te vertrouwd zijn met hun muziek zullen schrikken hoeveel nummers ze toch kennen (zo is de Pretenders-hit I Go To Sleep een Kinks-nummer).

Sunny Afternoon wordt in een prachtige box geleverd, met daarin een boekje met enkele kanttekeningen van opperhoofd Ray Davies. Het platenlabel (Union Square Music) meldt ons dat je deze uitgave alleen maar in de Engelse en Ierse winkels kan vinden, maar tegenwoordig heb je natuurlijk ook Amazon!

Didier BECU
16/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?