tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : PEOPLE THEATRE - Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

PEOPLE THEATRE

Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Mat & Golem XIII
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard of Peter Rainman? Perhaps you did, because not only he is part of Adan & Ilse, he also made over 400 remixes, and there are some quite big names among them! What do you think of a list that contains artists like Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark and Trisomie 21? there is more: ten years ago he founded People Theatre. If you know that Peter took the band’s name from a quote of an interview with Pet Shop Boys, then you already know what kind of music you will hear!

Synthpop, of course! But, synthpop that does not take itself too seriously. It never sounds too polished, and the band never forgets that a melody remains the beating heart of a pop song.

The CD that counts eight songs, opens with Overture, and this instrumental song exactly sounds like an overture: bombastic, beautiful, and an ideal start for what will follow, because Maybe is upbeat synthpop. True, sometimes it sounds a bit like kitsch, but at the same time it is irresistible. On Again Peter gets the female assistance of Soe, and it is a combination that works well.

The most touching song is undoubtedly A Doubt In The Dark. Peter almost sounds like Jarvis Cocker. Yes, this song actually might have been a Pulp song. But make no mistake, we’re listening to People Theatre!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is disco synthpop with a nod to Erasure and Yazoo. Simple, but effective!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Heb je ooit al van Peter Rainman gehoord? Misschien wel, want niet alleen maakt hij deel uit van Adan & Ilse, ook heeft hij al meer dan 400 remixes gemaakt, en het zijn niet de kleinste namen hoor! Wat dacht je van artiesten als Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark en Trisomie 21? En alsof dat alles niet genoeg is, is hij ook al tien jaar de bezieler van People Theatre. Als je weet dat hij de groepsnaam uit een interview met Pet Shop Boys haalde, dan weet je meteen ook welk soort muziek je hier zal horen!

Synthpop dus! Maar synthpop die zichzelf niet al te serieus neemt. Het klinkt nooit gelikt, maar de band vergeet nooit dat de melodie het kloppend hart van een popnummer blijft.

De cd die acht nummers telt, opent met Ouverture, en dit instrumentale nummer klinkt precies zoals een ouverture moet klinken: bombastisch, mooi, en een ideale aanloop voor wat volgen zal, want meteen met Maybe krijg je opzwepende synthpop te horen. Toegegeven, het klinkt soms wat als kitsch, maar het is tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. Op Again krijgt Peter de vrouwelijke bijstand van Soe, en het is een combinatie die uitstekend werkt.

Het meest ontroerende nummer is zonder twijfel A Doubt In The Dark, waarin Peter bijna als Jarvis Cocker klinkt. Jawel, deze song zou eigenlijk een Pulp-nummer kunnen zijn. Maar vergis je niet, People Theatre ligt in de lader!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is aangename discosynthpop dat lekker in het gehoor ligt met een knipoog naar Erasure en Yazoo. 

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine