tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : PEOPLE THEATRE - Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

PEOPLE THEATRE

Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Mat & Golem XIII
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard of Peter Rainman? Perhaps you did, because not only he is part of Adan & Ilse, he also made over 400 remixes, and there are some quite big names among them! What do you think of a list that contains artists like Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark and Trisomie 21? there is more: ten years ago he founded People Theatre. If you know that Peter took the band’s name from a quote of an interview with Pet Shop Boys, then you already know what kind of music you will hear!

Synthpop, of course! But, synthpop that does not take itself too seriously. It never sounds too polished, and the band never forgets that a melody remains the beating heart of a pop song.

The CD that counts eight songs, opens with Overture, and this instrumental song exactly sounds like an overture: bombastic, beautiful, and an ideal start for what will follow, because Maybe is upbeat synthpop. True, sometimes it sounds a bit like kitsch, but at the same time it is irresistible. On Again Peter gets the female assistance of Soe, and it is a combination that works well.

The most touching song is undoubtedly A Doubt In The Dark. Peter almost sounds like Jarvis Cocker. Yes, this song actually might have been a Pulp song. But make no mistake, we’re listening to People Theatre!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is disco synthpop with a nod to Erasure and Yazoo. Simple, but effective!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Heb je ooit al van Peter Rainman gehoord? Misschien wel, want niet alleen maakt hij deel uit van Adan & Ilse, ook heeft hij al meer dan 400 remixes gemaakt, en het zijn niet de kleinste namen hoor! Wat dacht je van artiesten als Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark en Trisomie 21? En alsof dat alles niet genoeg is, is hij ook al tien jaar de bezieler van People Theatre. Als je weet dat hij de groepsnaam uit een interview met Pet Shop Boys haalde, dan weet je meteen ook welk soort muziek je hier zal horen!

Synthpop dus! Maar synthpop die zichzelf niet al te serieus neemt. Het klinkt nooit gelikt, maar de band vergeet nooit dat de melodie het kloppend hart van een popnummer blijft.

De cd die acht nummers telt, opent met Ouverture, en dit instrumentale nummer klinkt precies zoals een ouverture moet klinken: bombastisch, mooi, en een ideale aanloop voor wat volgen zal, want meteen met Maybe krijg je opzwepende synthpop te horen. Toegegeven, het klinkt soms wat als kitsch, maar het is tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. Op Again krijgt Peter de vrouwelijke bijstand van Soe, en het is een combinatie die uitstekend werkt.

Het meest ontroerende nummer is zonder twijfel A Doubt In The Dark, waarin Peter bijna als Jarvis Cocker klinkt. Jawel, deze song zou eigenlijk een Pulp-nummer kunnen zijn. Maar vergis je niet, People Theatre ligt in de lader!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is aangename discosynthpop dat lekker in het gehoor ligt met een knipoog naar Erasure en Yazoo. 

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me