tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : PEOPLE THEATRE - Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

PEOPLE THEATRE

Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Mat & Golem XIII
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard of Peter Rainman? Perhaps you did, because not only he is part of Adan & Ilse, he also made over 400 remixes, and there are some quite big names among them! What do you think of a list that contains artists like Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark and Trisomie 21? there is more: ten years ago he founded People Theatre. If you know that Peter took the band’s name from a quote of an interview with Pet Shop Boys, then you already know what kind of music you will hear!

Synthpop, of course! But, synthpop that does not take itself too seriously. It never sounds too polished, and the band never forgets that a melody remains the beating heart of a pop song.

The CD that counts eight songs, opens with Overture, and this instrumental song exactly sounds like an overture: bombastic, beautiful, and an ideal start for what will follow, because Maybe is upbeat synthpop. True, sometimes it sounds a bit like kitsch, but at the same time it is irresistible. On Again Peter gets the female assistance of Soe, and it is a combination that works well.

The most touching song is undoubtedly A Doubt In The Dark. Peter almost sounds like Jarvis Cocker. Yes, this song actually might have been a Pulp song. But make no mistake, we’re listening to People Theatre!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is disco synthpop with a nod to Erasure and Yazoo. Simple, but effective!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Heb je ooit al van Peter Rainman gehoord? Misschien wel, want niet alleen maakt hij deel uit van Adan & Ilse, ook heeft hij al meer dan 400 remixes gemaakt, en het zijn niet de kleinste namen hoor! Wat dacht je van artiesten als Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark en Trisomie 21? En alsof dat alles niet genoeg is, is hij ook al tien jaar de bezieler van People Theatre. Als je weet dat hij de groepsnaam uit een interview met Pet Shop Boys haalde, dan weet je meteen ook welk soort muziek je hier zal horen!

Synthpop dus! Maar synthpop die zichzelf niet al te serieus neemt. Het klinkt nooit gelikt, maar de band vergeet nooit dat de melodie het kloppend hart van een popnummer blijft.

De cd die acht nummers telt, opent met Ouverture, en dit instrumentale nummer klinkt precies zoals een ouverture moet klinken: bombastisch, mooi, en een ideale aanloop voor wat volgen zal, want meteen met Maybe krijg je opzwepende synthpop te horen. Toegegeven, het klinkt soms wat als kitsch, maar het is tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. Op Again krijgt Peter de vrouwelijke bijstand van Soe, en het is een combinatie die uitstekend werkt.

Het meest ontroerende nummer is zonder twijfel A Doubt In The Dark, waarin Peter bijna als Jarvis Cocker klinkt. Jawel, deze song zou eigenlijk een Pulp-nummer kunnen zijn. Maar vergis je niet, People Theatre ligt in de lader!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is aangename discosynthpop dat lekker in het gehoor ligt met een knipoog naar Erasure en Yazoo. 

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself