tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : PEOPLE THEATRE - Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

PEOPLE THEATRE

Chapter 1: Dare At Dawn

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Mat & Golem XIII
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard of Peter Rainman? Perhaps you did, because not only he is part of Adan & Ilse, he also made over 400 remixes, and there are some quite big names among them! What do you think of a list that contains artists like Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark and Trisomie 21? there is more: ten years ago he founded People Theatre. If you know that Peter took the band’s name from a quote of an interview with Pet Shop Boys, then you already know what kind of music you will hear!

Synthpop, of course! But, synthpop that does not take itself too seriously. It never sounds too polished, and the band never forgets that a melody remains the beating heart of a pop song.

The CD that counts eight songs, opens with Overture, and this instrumental song exactly sounds like an overture: bombastic, beautiful, and an ideal start for what will follow, because Maybe is upbeat synthpop. True, sometimes it sounds a bit like kitsch, but at the same time it is irresistible. On Again Peter gets the female assistance of Soe, and it is a combination that works well.

The most touching song is undoubtedly A Doubt In The Dark. Peter almost sounds like Jarvis Cocker. Yes, this song actually might have been a Pulp song. But make no mistake, we’re listening to People Theatre!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is disco synthpop with a nod to Erasure and Yazoo. Simple, but effective!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Heb je ooit al van Peter Rainman gehoord? Misschien wel, want niet alleen maakt hij deel uit van Adan & Ilse, ook heeft hij al meer dan 400 remixes gemaakt, en het zijn niet de kleinste namen hoor! Wat dacht je van artiesten als Nitzer Ebb, IAMX, Apoptygma Berzerk, Anne Clark en Trisomie 21? En alsof dat alles niet genoeg is, is hij ook al tien jaar de bezieler van People Theatre. Als je weet dat hij de groepsnaam uit een interview met Pet Shop Boys haalde, dan weet je meteen ook welk soort muziek je hier zal horen!

Synthpop dus! Maar synthpop die zichzelf niet al te serieus neemt. Het klinkt nooit gelikt, maar de band vergeet nooit dat de melodie het kloppend hart van een popnummer blijft.

De cd die acht nummers telt, opent met Ouverture, en dit instrumentale nummer klinkt precies zoals een ouverture moet klinken: bombastisch, mooi, en een ideale aanloop voor wat volgen zal, want meteen met Maybe krijg je opzwepende synthpop te horen. Toegegeven, het klinkt soms wat als kitsch, maar het is tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. Op Again krijgt Peter de vrouwelijke bijstand van Soe, en het is een combinatie die uitstekend werkt.

Het meest ontroerende nummer is zonder twijfel A Doubt In The Dark, waarin Peter bijna als Jarvis Cocker klinkt. Jawel, deze song zou eigenlijk een Pulp-nummer kunnen zijn. Maar vergis je niet, People Theatre ligt in de lader!

Chapter I: Dare At Dawn is aangename discosynthpop dat lekker in het gehoor ligt met een knipoog naar Erasure en Yazoo. 

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel