tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : ISLE OF MEN - Voluntary Blindness

ISLE OF MEN

Voluntary Blindness

MusicCD
Dark PopJazzNeoclassical

[81/100]   

Starman Records
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just as every painting is linked with some story, Voluntary Blindness also has one. This sublime debut of Isle Of Men is a call to humanity to help those who fail. This may sound a tad corny, but everyone fails once in his life! It might be pure coincidence, but the first band that came to mind after seeing the cover was Talk Talk. And yes, the music project of Dirk Fryns, Gunther Verspecht and Tom Van Der Schueren is not that far away from the later work of Mark Hollis.

It is of course a cliché when people tell you that certain records better work if you dim the lights, and that's the case with Voluntary Blindness. So close the curtains, burn a candle and Isle Of Men will do the rest!

Already on the opener Strange Love singer Gunther takes you on a trip to a musical fairytale forest where David Sylvian and Nick Cave are the magicians. Some will call it jazz, we stick to wonderful music. Heatwave is just as beautiful, even if the track gets a David Lynch atmosphere, because of the enchanting voice of Gabriela Arnon. The Devil's Bones is dark pop, music that makes you speechless. Maybe it's the clarinet of Mattias Laga, but Dragonfly Kiss really does sound like a track of Spirit Of Eden by Talk Talk. It's music that is hard to sell in times in which commercial clutter reigns over everyone and everything, but those who dare to take the bait, will hopelessly fall in love. A Thousand Nudes goes more in the direction of pop, at least if you think that Dez Mona sounds as pop. A Man Far From True is uplifting (hope?), just like Your Gracious Fire.

Voluntary Blindness is musical splendor from Flanders, step into the daylight and buy the record!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Net zoals in ieder schilderij, is er aan iedere plaat wel een of ander verhaal verbonden, het ene al wat mooier dan het andere, maar bij dat van Voluntary Blindness, het knappe debuut van Isle Of Men, ga je toch wat nadenken. De cd is immers een oproep aan de mensheid om zijn falende naaste wat meer te helpen. Dat klinkt misschien wat melig, maar iedereen faalt wel een keer in zijn leven! Het is misschien puur toeval, maar de eerste band die bij me opkwam na het zien van de knappe hoes, was Talk Talk. En jawel, het muziekproject van Dirk Fryns, Gunther Verspecht en Tom Van Der Schueren staat helemaal niet zo ver van het latere werk van Mark Hollis.

Het is natuurlijk een cliché als men je vertelt dat je bij bepaalde platen maar beter de lichten dimt om de juiste sfeer te creëren, maar dat is bij Voluntary Blindness echt wel zo. Dus sluit de gordijnen, brand een kaarsje en Isle Of Men zorgt voor de rest!

Meteen al in de opener Strange Love neemt zanger Gunther je mee naar een muzikaal sprookjesbos waar David Sylvian en Nick Cave de tovenaars zijn. Sommigen zullen het jazz noemen, wij houden het op wondermooie muziek. Heatwave is al even mooi, ook al krijgt de track door de betoverende stem van Gabriela Arnon een beklemmend David Lynch-sfeertje. The Devil’s Bones is duistere pop, luistermuziek waar je stil van wordt. Misschien ligt het aan de klarinet van Mattias Laga, maar Dragonfly Kiss klinkt echt wel als een track uit Spirit Of Eden van Talk Talk. Het is muziek die je in tijden waar commerciële rommel over iedereen en alles regeert moeilijk kan verkopen, maar wie toehapt worden hopeloos verliefd. A Thousand Nudes gaat wat meer in de richting van pop, ten minste als je denkt dat Dez Mona als pop klinkt. A Man Far From True is dan weer net zoals Your Gracious Fire eerder opzwepende muziek. 

Voluntary Blindness is eenzame muzikale pracht uit Vlaanderen, zoek maar weer het daglicht op en ga die plaat kopen!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)