tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : ISLE OF MEN - Voluntary Blindness

ISLE OF MEN

Voluntary Blindness

MusicCD
Dark PopJazzNeoclassical

[81/100]   

Starman Records
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just as every painting is linked with some story, Voluntary Blindness also has one. This sublime debut of Isle Of Men is a call to humanity to help those who fail. This may sound a tad corny, but everyone fails once in his life! It might be pure coincidence, but the first band that came to mind after seeing the cover was Talk Talk. And yes, the music project of Dirk Fryns, Gunther Verspecht and Tom Van Der Schueren is not that far away from the later work of Mark Hollis.

It is of course a cliché when people tell you that certain records better work if you dim the lights, and that's the case with Voluntary Blindness. So close the curtains, burn a candle and Isle Of Men will do the rest!

Already on the opener Strange Love singer Gunther takes you on a trip to a musical fairytale forest where David Sylvian and Nick Cave are the magicians. Some will call it jazz, we stick to wonderful music. Heatwave is just as beautiful, even if the track gets a David Lynch atmosphere, because of the enchanting voice of Gabriela Arnon. The Devil's Bones is dark pop, music that makes you speechless. Maybe it's the clarinet of Mattias Laga, but Dragonfly Kiss really does sound like a track of Spirit Of Eden by Talk Talk. It's music that is hard to sell in times in which commercial clutter reigns over everyone and everything, but those who dare to take the bait, will hopelessly fall in love. A Thousand Nudes goes more in the direction of pop, at least if you think that Dez Mona sounds as pop. A Man Far From True is uplifting (hope?), just like Your Gracious Fire.

Voluntary Blindness is musical splendor from Flanders, step into the daylight and buy the record!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Net zoals in ieder schilderij, is er aan iedere plaat wel een of ander verhaal verbonden, het ene al wat mooier dan het andere, maar bij dat van Voluntary Blindness, het knappe debuut van Isle Of Men, ga je toch wat nadenken. De cd is immers een oproep aan de mensheid om zijn falende naaste wat meer te helpen. Dat klinkt misschien wat melig, maar iedereen faalt wel een keer in zijn leven! Het is misschien puur toeval, maar de eerste band die bij me opkwam na het zien van de knappe hoes, was Talk Talk. En jawel, het muziekproject van Dirk Fryns, Gunther Verspecht en Tom Van Der Schueren staat helemaal niet zo ver van het latere werk van Mark Hollis.

Het is natuurlijk een cliché als men je vertelt dat je bij bepaalde platen maar beter de lichten dimt om de juiste sfeer te creëren, maar dat is bij Voluntary Blindness echt wel zo. Dus sluit de gordijnen, brand een kaarsje en Isle Of Men zorgt voor de rest!

Meteen al in de opener Strange Love neemt zanger Gunther je mee naar een muzikaal sprookjesbos waar David Sylvian en Nick Cave de tovenaars zijn. Sommigen zullen het jazz noemen, wij houden het op wondermooie muziek. Heatwave is al even mooi, ook al krijgt de track door de betoverende stem van Gabriela Arnon een beklemmend David Lynch-sfeertje. The Devil’s Bones is duistere pop, luistermuziek waar je stil van wordt. Misschien ligt het aan de klarinet van Mattias Laga, maar Dragonfly Kiss klinkt echt wel als een track uit Spirit Of Eden van Talk Talk. Het is muziek die je in tijden waar commerciële rommel over iedereen en alles regeert moeilijk kan verkopen, maar wie toehapt worden hopeloos verliefd. A Thousand Nudes gaat wat meer in de richting van pop, ten minste als je denkt dat Dez Mona als pop klinkt. A Man Far From True is dan weer net zoals Your Gracious Fire eerder opzwepende muziek. 

Voluntary Blindness is eenzame muzikale pracht uit Vlaanderen, zoek maar weer het daglicht op en ga die plaat kopen!

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT • To Live Vicariously
BEST COAST • Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
ROVER • Let It Glow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Die Dark Disko Vol.2
ARBEID ADELT! • Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)
YTHON • Titanomachy
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee