tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : YTHON - Titanomachy

YTHON

Titanomachy

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Saying that Channel Zero and Diabolo Boulevard are the sole metal bands in Belgium, proofs that you don’t use the right channels for getting decent information. Aside from the excellent new albums by Komah and Evil Invaders, Peek-A-Boo just received the debut of the Antwerp band Ython.

Ython began in 2013. After the departure of Sofie, there was a briefly search for a new drummer. After Roberto joined their ranks, it seems like they were ready to start!

Titanomachy refers to the lost epic poem by Eumelus of Corinth. That piece inspired them to write more songs about Greek mythology. Apparently, it also was an inspiration for the artwork that has beautiful drawings, although it is a pity that the text are almost illegible.

Anyway, in the first place you buy a CD for the music, right? What do we hear? Melodic heavy metal with strong vocals by singer Walla. The guitar sounds are reminiscent of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. During two songs you hear some grunts (opener Kronos And Zeus and the last song Cthulhu Fhtagan).

Guitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck is the main songwriter, while his brother Alex is doing the bass in an almost perfect way. Listen for example to Complex. In most of the songs the bass is the heart that gives them life

Alex doesn’t do any special tricks, but it sounds good because there’s enough space for the bass so it can emerge, and form an entity with the drums. The same can be said about Enduring Atlas. On Black Shield Nymph, Walla is joined by Kathy Baeyens: a successful combination. Titanomachy is a strong debut that shows that a lot of bands deserve our attention.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


NL

Zeggen dat er buiten Channel Zero en Diabolo Boulevard geen noemenswaardige metalbands in België te vinden zijn, wil gewoon zeggen dat je je niet tot de juiste kanalen wendt om je te informeren. Naast de uitstekende nieuwe platen van Komah en Evil Invaders, kreeg onze redactie net het debuut van de Antwerpse band Ython in de brievenbus.

Ython begon in 2013. Na het vertrek van Sofie was er eventjes een zoektocht naar een nieuwe drummer, maar die werd met Roberto gevonden, en nu lijken ze definitief uit de startblokken te zijn.

Titanomachy verwijst naar het verdwenen episch gedicht van Eumelus van Korinthië. Dat inspireerde hun om meerdere songs over de Griekse mythologie te schrijven. Blijkbaar was het ook een inspiratie voor het artwork dat mooie tekeningen bevat, ook al is het jammer dat de bijna onleesbare letters wat uit de toon vallen.

Maar goed, je koopt een cd voor de muziek, niet? Wat krijgen we te horen? Melodieuze heavy metal met stevige vocals van zanger Walla die heel veel mogelijkheden heeft. De gitaarklanken en -lijnen doen wat aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken. Tijdens twee songs hoor je wat grunts (opener Kronos and Zeus en afsluiter Cthulhu Fhtagan). De voornaamste songschrijver is gitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck, terwijl zijn broer Alex voor het mooie baswerk zorgt. Luister bijv. eens naar Complex. De bas is in de meeste songs het hart dat de songs doet leven. Alex haalt daarvoor geen speciale kunstjes uit, maar het is gewoon omdat er ruimte voor de bas is gelaten zodat die mooi naar voren kan komen. Samen met de drum vormt ze een hecht geheel. Complex heeft ook melodieuze en variërende zanglijnen. Een sterke track. Enduring Atlas trekt deze lijn door. Op Black Shield Nymph krijgt Walla het gezelschap van Kathy Baeyens: een geslaagde combinatie.

Een sterk debuut dat aantoont dat er heel wat bands onze aandacht verdienen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis