tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : YTHON - Titanomachy

YTHON

Titanomachy

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Saying that Channel Zero and Diabolo Boulevard are the sole metal bands in Belgium, proofs that you don’t use the right channels for getting decent information. Aside from the excellent new albums by Komah and Evil Invaders, Peek-A-Boo just received the debut of the Antwerp band Ython.

Ython began in 2013. After the departure of Sofie, there was a briefly search for a new drummer. After Roberto joined their ranks, it seems like they were ready to start!

Titanomachy refers to the lost epic poem by Eumelus of Corinth. That piece inspired them to write more songs about Greek mythology. Apparently, it also was an inspiration for the artwork that has beautiful drawings, although it is a pity that the text are almost illegible.

Anyway, in the first place you buy a CD for the music, right? What do we hear? Melodic heavy metal with strong vocals by singer Walla. The guitar sounds are reminiscent of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. During two songs you hear some grunts (opener Kronos And Zeus and the last song Cthulhu Fhtagan).

Guitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck is the main songwriter, while his brother Alex is doing the bass in an almost perfect way. Listen for example to Complex. In most of the songs the bass is the heart that gives them life

Alex doesn’t do any special tricks, but it sounds good because there’s enough space for the bass so it can emerge, and form an entity with the drums. The same can be said about Enduring Atlas. On Black Shield Nymph, Walla is joined by Kathy Baeyens: a successful combination. Titanomachy is a strong debut that shows that a lot of bands deserve our attention.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


NL

Zeggen dat er buiten Channel Zero en Diabolo Boulevard geen noemenswaardige metalbands in België te vinden zijn, wil gewoon zeggen dat je je niet tot de juiste kanalen wendt om je te informeren. Naast de uitstekende nieuwe platen van Komah en Evil Invaders, kreeg onze redactie net het debuut van de Antwerpse band Ython in de brievenbus.

Ython begon in 2013. Na het vertrek van Sofie was er eventjes een zoektocht naar een nieuwe drummer, maar die werd met Roberto gevonden, en nu lijken ze definitief uit de startblokken te zijn.

Titanomachy verwijst naar het verdwenen episch gedicht van Eumelus van Korinthië. Dat inspireerde hun om meerdere songs over de Griekse mythologie te schrijven. Blijkbaar was het ook een inspiratie voor het artwork dat mooie tekeningen bevat, ook al is het jammer dat de bijna onleesbare letters wat uit de toon vallen.

Maar goed, je koopt een cd voor de muziek, niet? Wat krijgen we te horen? Melodieuze heavy metal met stevige vocals van zanger Walla die heel veel mogelijkheden heeft. De gitaarklanken en -lijnen doen wat aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken. Tijdens twee songs hoor je wat grunts (opener Kronos and Zeus en afsluiter Cthulhu Fhtagan). De voornaamste songschrijver is gitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck, terwijl zijn broer Alex voor het mooie baswerk zorgt. Luister bijv. eens naar Complex. De bas is in de meeste songs het hart dat de songs doet leven. Alex haalt daarvoor geen speciale kunstjes uit, maar het is gewoon omdat er ruimte voor de bas is gelaten zodat die mooi naar voren kan komen. Samen met de drum vormt ze een hecht geheel. Complex heeft ook melodieuze en variërende zanglijnen. Een sterke track. Enduring Atlas trekt deze lijn door. Op Black Shield Nymph krijgt Walla het gezelschap van Kathy Baeyens: een geslaagde combinatie.

Een sterk debuut dat aantoont dat er heel wat bands onze aandacht verdienen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco