tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : YTHON - Titanomachy

YTHON

Titanomachy

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Saying that Channel Zero and Diabolo Boulevard are the sole metal bands in Belgium, proofs that you don’t use the right channels for getting decent information. Aside from the excellent new albums by Komah and Evil Invaders, Peek-A-Boo just received the debut of the Antwerp band Ython.

Ython began in 2013. After the departure of Sofie, there was a briefly search for a new drummer. After Roberto joined their ranks, it seems like they were ready to start!

Titanomachy refers to the lost epic poem by Eumelus of Corinth. That piece inspired them to write more songs about Greek mythology. Apparently, it also was an inspiration for the artwork that has beautiful drawings, although it is a pity that the text are almost illegible.

Anyway, in the first place you buy a CD for the music, right? What do we hear? Melodic heavy metal with strong vocals by singer Walla. The guitar sounds are reminiscent of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. During two songs you hear some grunts (opener Kronos And Zeus and the last song Cthulhu Fhtagan).

Guitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck is the main songwriter, while his brother Alex is doing the bass in an almost perfect way. Listen for example to Complex. In most of the songs the bass is the heart that gives them life

Alex doesn’t do any special tricks, but it sounds good because there’s enough space for the bass so it can emerge, and form an entity with the drums. The same can be said about Enduring Atlas. On Black Shield Nymph, Walla is joined by Kathy Baeyens: a successful combination. Titanomachy is a strong debut that shows that a lot of bands deserve our attention.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


NL

Zeggen dat er buiten Channel Zero en Diabolo Boulevard geen noemenswaardige metalbands in België te vinden zijn, wil gewoon zeggen dat je je niet tot de juiste kanalen wendt om je te informeren. Naast de uitstekende nieuwe platen van Komah en Evil Invaders, kreeg onze redactie net het debuut van de Antwerpse band Ython in de brievenbus.

Ython begon in 2013. Na het vertrek van Sofie was er eventjes een zoektocht naar een nieuwe drummer, maar die werd met Roberto gevonden, en nu lijken ze definitief uit de startblokken te zijn.

Titanomachy verwijst naar het verdwenen episch gedicht van Eumelus van Korinthië. Dat inspireerde hun om meerdere songs over de Griekse mythologie te schrijven. Blijkbaar was het ook een inspiratie voor het artwork dat mooie tekeningen bevat, ook al is het jammer dat de bijna onleesbare letters wat uit de toon vallen.

Maar goed, je koopt een cd voor de muziek, niet? Wat krijgen we te horen? Melodieuze heavy metal met stevige vocals van zanger Walla die heel veel mogelijkheden heeft. De gitaarklanken en -lijnen doen wat aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken. Tijdens twee songs hoor je wat grunts (opener Kronos and Zeus en afsluiter Cthulhu Fhtagan). De voornaamste songschrijver is gitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck, terwijl zijn broer Alex voor het mooie baswerk zorgt. Luister bijv. eens naar Complex. De bas is in de meeste songs het hart dat de songs doet leven. Alex haalt daarvoor geen speciale kunstjes uit, maar het is gewoon omdat er ruimte voor de bas is gelaten zodat die mooi naar voren kan komen. Samen met de drum vormt ze een hecht geheel. Complex heeft ook melodieuze en variërende zanglijnen. Een sterke track. Enduring Atlas trekt deze lijn door. Op Black Shield Nymph krijgt Walla het gezelschap van Kathy Baeyens: een geslaagde combinatie.

Een sterk debuut dat aantoont dat er heel wat bands onze aandacht verdienen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?