tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : YTHON - Titanomachy

YTHON

Titanomachy

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Saying that Channel Zero and Diabolo Boulevard are the sole metal bands in Belgium, proofs that you don’t use the right channels for getting decent information. Aside from the excellent new albums by Komah and Evil Invaders, Peek-A-Boo just received the debut of the Antwerp band Ython.

Ython began in 2013. After the departure of Sofie, there was a briefly search for a new drummer. After Roberto joined their ranks, it seems like they were ready to start!

Titanomachy refers to the lost epic poem by Eumelus of Corinth. That piece inspired them to write more songs about Greek mythology. Apparently, it also was an inspiration for the artwork that has beautiful drawings, although it is a pity that the text are almost illegible.

Anyway, in the first place you buy a CD for the music, right? What do we hear? Melodic heavy metal with strong vocals by singer Walla. The guitar sounds are reminiscent of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. During two songs you hear some grunts (opener Kronos And Zeus and the last song Cthulhu Fhtagan).

Guitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck is the main songwriter, while his brother Alex is doing the bass in an almost perfect way. Listen for example to Complex. In most of the songs the bass is the heart that gives them life

Alex doesn’t do any special tricks, but it sounds good because there’s enough space for the bass so it can emerge, and form an entity with the drums. The same can be said about Enduring Atlas. On Black Shield Nymph, Walla is joined by Kathy Baeyens: a successful combination. Titanomachy is a strong debut that shows that a lot of bands deserve our attention.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


NL

Zeggen dat er buiten Channel Zero en Diabolo Boulevard geen noemenswaardige metalbands in België te vinden zijn, wil gewoon zeggen dat je je niet tot de juiste kanalen wendt om je te informeren. Naast de uitstekende nieuwe platen van Komah en Evil Invaders, kreeg onze redactie net het debuut van de Antwerpse band Ython in de brievenbus.

Ython begon in 2013. Na het vertrek van Sofie was er eventjes een zoektocht naar een nieuwe drummer, maar die werd met Roberto gevonden, en nu lijken ze definitief uit de startblokken te zijn.

Titanomachy verwijst naar het verdwenen episch gedicht van Eumelus van Korinthië. Dat inspireerde hun om meerdere songs over de Griekse mythologie te schrijven. Blijkbaar was het ook een inspiratie voor het artwork dat mooie tekeningen bevat, ook al is het jammer dat de bijna onleesbare letters wat uit de toon vallen.

Maar goed, je koopt een cd voor de muziek, niet? Wat krijgen we te horen? Melodieuze heavy metal met stevige vocals van zanger Walla die heel veel mogelijkheden heeft. De gitaarklanken en -lijnen doen wat aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken. Tijdens twee songs hoor je wat grunts (opener Kronos and Zeus en afsluiter Cthulhu Fhtagan). De voornaamste songschrijver is gitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck, terwijl zijn broer Alex voor het mooie baswerk zorgt. Luister bijv. eens naar Complex. De bas is in de meeste songs het hart dat de songs doet leven. Alex haalt daarvoor geen speciale kunstjes uit, maar het is gewoon omdat er ruimte voor de bas is gelaten zodat die mooi naar voren kan komen. Samen met de drum vormt ze een hecht geheel. Complex heeft ook melodieuze en variërende zanglijnen. Een sterke track. Enduring Atlas trekt deze lijn door. Op Black Shield Nymph krijgt Walla het gezelschap van Kathy Baeyens: een geslaagde combinatie.

Een sterk debuut dat aantoont dat er heel wat bands onze aandacht verdienen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life