tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/11/2015 : YTHON - Titanomachy

YTHON

Titanomachy

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
12/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Saying that Channel Zero and Diabolo Boulevard are the sole metal bands in Belgium, proofs that you don’t use the right channels for getting decent information. Aside from the excellent new albums by Komah and Evil Invaders, Peek-A-Boo just received the debut of the Antwerp band Ython.

Ython began in 2013. After the departure of Sofie, there was a briefly search for a new drummer. After Roberto joined their ranks, it seems like they were ready to start!

Titanomachy refers to the lost epic poem by Eumelus of Corinth. That piece inspired them to write more songs about Greek mythology. Apparently, it also was an inspiration for the artwork that has beautiful drawings, although it is a pity that the text are almost illegible.

Anyway, in the first place you buy a CD for the music, right? What do we hear? Melodic heavy metal with strong vocals by singer Walla. The guitar sounds are reminiscent of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth. During two songs you hear some grunts (opener Kronos And Zeus and the last song Cthulhu Fhtagan).

Guitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck is the main songwriter, while his brother Alex is doing the bass in an almost perfect way. Listen for example to Complex. In most of the songs the bass is the heart that gives them life

Alex doesn’t do any special tricks, but it sounds good because there’s enough space for the bass so it can emerge, and form an entity with the drums. The same can be said about Enduring Atlas. On Black Shield Nymph, Walla is joined by Kathy Baeyens: a successful combination. Titanomachy is a strong debut that shows that a lot of bands deserve our attention.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


NL

Zeggen dat er buiten Channel Zero en Diabolo Boulevard geen noemenswaardige metalbands in België te vinden zijn, wil gewoon zeggen dat je je niet tot de juiste kanalen wendt om je te informeren. Naast de uitstekende nieuwe platen van Komah en Evil Invaders, kreeg onze redactie net het debuut van de Antwerpse band Ython in de brievenbus.

Ython begon in 2013. Na het vertrek van Sofie was er eventjes een zoektocht naar een nieuwe drummer, maar die werd met Roberto gevonden, en nu lijken ze definitief uit de startblokken te zijn.

Titanomachy verwijst naar het verdwenen episch gedicht van Eumelus van Korinthië. Dat inspireerde hun om meerdere songs over de Griekse mythologie te schrijven. Blijkbaar was het ook een inspiratie voor het artwork dat mooie tekeningen bevat, ook al is het jammer dat de bijna onleesbare letters wat uit de toon vallen.

Maar goed, je koopt een cd voor de muziek, niet? Wat krijgen we te horen? Melodieuze heavy metal met stevige vocals van zanger Walla die heel veel mogelijkheden heeft. De gitaarklanken en -lijnen doen wat aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken. Tijdens twee songs hoor je wat grunts (opener Kronos and Zeus en afsluiter Cthulhu Fhtagan). De voornaamste songschrijver is gitarist Ignace Van Spilbeeck, terwijl zijn broer Alex voor het mooie baswerk zorgt. Luister bijv. eens naar Complex. De bas is in de meeste songs het hart dat de songs doet leven. Alex haalt daarvoor geen speciale kunstjes uit, maar het is gewoon omdat er ruimte voor de bas is gelaten zodat die mooi naar voren kan komen. Samen met de drum vormt ze een hecht geheel. Complex heeft ook melodieuze en variërende zanglijnen. Een sterke track. Enduring Atlas trekt deze lijn door. Op Black Shield Nymph krijgt Walla het gezelschap van Kathy Baeyens: een geslaagde combinatie.

Een sterk debuut dat aantoont dat er heel wat bands onze aandacht verdienen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/11/2015


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela