tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Nightmare At Maple Cross

GIRLSCHOOL

Nightmare At Maple Cross

MusicCD
Heavy MetalRock n' Roll

[76/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is certainly more refined music than Girlschool, however,t he British female metal band is incredibly cool. Sometimes you have the imression that the act is only a gimmick, nonetheless, the band released twelve albums.

The lineup of Girlschool changed constantly for different reasons, it was a matter of come and go. With the last album Running Wild from 1985, Girlschool took a lot of risk. It was the first Girlschool release on a major (Mercury Records), and although they are very British, Running Wild was only released in the US. A wrong choice, as the album flopped completely.

It was necessary to find the way back to the British public with the next release, even if the band had turned its back on it.

The band was signed to GWR, the label of Motörhead, and Vic Maile, who was known for his work with Hawkwind and Guns' n Roses,was hired as producer. Although the album flopped, Nightmare At Maple Cross (1986) - now for the first time on CD via Cherry Red Records - is still a sublime rock 'n' roll record. Girlschool is often classified as heavy metal, in fact it’s (although this is more than enough) pure rock 'n' roll.

On the sixth album, the four girls made a mixture of deliciously glam rock (the cover of Tiger Feet by Mud is a nice example) and sing-along rock 'n roll. The tracks are well composed and they all have an extremely nice chorus. Before you realize it, you're singing the catchy songs. Back For More is delicious hand-made rock for the radio.

Nightmare At Maple Cross (as joke, because the studio where the album was recorded is located at Maple Cross) deserves your attention, at least if you like honest (sexy) rock.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er bestaat zonder twijfel meer verfijnde muziek dan die van Girlschool, toch blijft deze Britse metalband, die louter uit vrouwen bestaat, ontzettend cool. Soms heb je door de vele personeelswissels wel eens het idee dat de act niet meer dan een gimmick is, desalniettemin brachten GVIrlschool twaalf platen uit.

De line-up van Girlschool wisselde voortdurend, om diverse reden was het een kwestie van komen en gaan. Met de vorige plaat, Running Wild uit 1985, nam men echter zeer veel risico. Het was de eerste release die op een major verscheen (Mercury Records), en ofschoon Girlschool een oer-Britse band is, werd Running Wild alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht. Een foute: de plaat flopte compleet.

Met de volgende release moest dusopnieuw de weg worden gevonden naar het Britse publiek dat men eerderr de rug had toegekeerd.

De band kreeg een contract op GWR waarop ook Motörhead zat, en als producer werd Vic Maile aangetrokken die bekend was voor zijn werk met Hawkwind en Guns ’n Roses. De in 1986 uitgebrachte plaat flopte weliswaar ook, toch kan je er niet om heen dat Nightmare At Maple Cross (nu voor het eerst op cd via Cherry Red Records) een sublieme rock ’n roll-plaat is. Het is een bewust gekozen term. Men stopt gemakelijkshalve Girlschool onder de noemer heavy metal, toch is het niet meer (ofschoon dat meer dan genoeg is) dan pure rock ‘n roll.

De vier meiden brengen op hun zesde album een mix van heerlijke glamrock (de cover van Tiger Feet van Mud is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) en meezingbare rock ‘n roll zonder moeilijkdoenerij. De tracks zitten lekker in elkaar, hebben allemaal een uiterst leuk refrein en voor je het beseft zit je de hitgevoelige liedjes mee te brullen (Back For More is gewoon heerlijke kant-en-klare radiorock).

Nightmare At Maple Cross (gewoon een grapje omdat de studio waarin het album is opgenomen zich in Maple Cross bevindt) verdient dan ook je aandacht als je van eerlijke (sexy) rock houdt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl