tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Nightmare At Maple Cross

GIRLSCHOOL

Nightmare At Maple Cross

MusicCD
Heavy MetalRock n' Roll

[76/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is certainly more refined music than Girlschool, however,t he British female metal band is incredibly cool. Sometimes you have the imression that the act is only a gimmick, nonetheless, the band released twelve albums.

The lineup of Girlschool changed constantly for different reasons, it was a matter of come and go. With the last album Running Wild from 1985, Girlschool took a lot of risk. It was the first Girlschool release on a major (Mercury Records), and although they are very British, Running Wild was only released in the US. A wrong choice, as the album flopped completely.

It was necessary to find the way back to the British public with the next release, even if the band had turned its back on it.

The band was signed to GWR, the label of Motörhead, and Vic Maile, who was known for his work with Hawkwind and Guns' n Roses,was hired as producer. Although the album flopped, Nightmare At Maple Cross (1986) - now for the first time on CD via Cherry Red Records - is still a sublime rock 'n' roll record. Girlschool is often classified as heavy metal, in fact it’s (although this is more than enough) pure rock 'n' roll.

On the sixth album, the four girls made a mixture of deliciously glam rock (the cover of Tiger Feet by Mud is a nice example) and sing-along rock 'n roll. The tracks are well composed and they all have an extremely nice chorus. Before you realize it, you're singing the catchy songs. Back For More is delicious hand-made rock for the radio.

Nightmare At Maple Cross (as joke, because the studio where the album was recorded is located at Maple Cross) deserves your attention, at least if you like honest (sexy) rock.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er bestaat zonder twijfel meer verfijnde muziek dan die van Girlschool, toch blijft deze Britse metalband, die louter uit vrouwen bestaat, ontzettend cool. Soms heb je door de vele personeelswissels wel eens het idee dat de act niet meer dan een gimmick is, desalniettemin brachten GVIrlschool twaalf platen uit.

De line-up van Girlschool wisselde voortdurend, om diverse reden was het een kwestie van komen en gaan. Met de vorige plaat, Running Wild uit 1985, nam men echter zeer veel risico. Het was de eerste release die op een major verscheen (Mercury Records), en ofschoon Girlschool een oer-Britse band is, werd Running Wild alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht. Een foute: de plaat flopte compleet.

Met de volgende release moest dusopnieuw de weg worden gevonden naar het Britse publiek dat men eerderr de rug had toegekeerd.

De band kreeg een contract op GWR waarop ook Motörhead zat, en als producer werd Vic Maile aangetrokken die bekend was voor zijn werk met Hawkwind en Guns ’n Roses. De in 1986 uitgebrachte plaat flopte weliswaar ook, toch kan je er niet om heen dat Nightmare At Maple Cross (nu voor het eerst op cd via Cherry Red Records) een sublieme rock ’n roll-plaat is. Het is een bewust gekozen term. Men stopt gemakelijkshalve Girlschool onder de noemer heavy metal, toch is het niet meer (ofschoon dat meer dan genoeg is) dan pure rock ‘n roll.

De vier meiden brengen op hun zesde album een mix van heerlijke glamrock (de cover van Tiger Feet van Mud is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) en meezingbare rock ‘n roll zonder moeilijkdoenerij. De tracks zitten lekker in elkaar, hebben allemaal een uiterst leuk refrein en voor je het beseft zit je de hitgevoelige liedjes mee te brullen (Back For More is gewoon heerlijke kant-en-klare radiorock).

Nightmare At Maple Cross (gewoon een grapje omdat de studio waarin het album is opgenomen zich in Maple Cross bevindt) verdient dan ook je aandacht als je van eerlijke (sexy) rock houdt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed