tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Nightmare At Maple Cross

GIRLSCHOOL

Nightmare At Maple Cross

MusicCD
Heavy MetalRock n' Roll

[76/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is certainly more refined music than Girlschool, however,t he British female metal band is incredibly cool. Sometimes you have the imression that the act is only a gimmick, nonetheless, the band released twelve albums.

The lineup of Girlschool changed constantly for different reasons, it was a matter of come and go. With the last album Running Wild from 1985, Girlschool took a lot of risk. It was the first Girlschool release on a major (Mercury Records), and although they are very British, Running Wild was only released in the US. A wrong choice, as the album flopped completely.

It was necessary to find the way back to the British public with the next release, even if the band had turned its back on it.

The band was signed to GWR, the label of Motörhead, and Vic Maile, who was known for his work with Hawkwind and Guns' n Roses,was hired as producer. Although the album flopped, Nightmare At Maple Cross (1986) - now for the first time on CD via Cherry Red Records - is still a sublime rock 'n' roll record. Girlschool is often classified as heavy metal, in fact it’s (although this is more than enough) pure rock 'n' roll.

On the sixth album, the four girls made a mixture of deliciously glam rock (the cover of Tiger Feet by Mud is a nice example) and sing-along rock 'n roll. The tracks are well composed and they all have an extremely nice chorus. Before you realize it, you're singing the catchy songs. Back For More is delicious hand-made rock for the radio.

Nightmare At Maple Cross (as joke, because the studio where the album was recorded is located at Maple Cross) deserves your attention, at least if you like honest (sexy) rock.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er bestaat zonder twijfel meer verfijnde muziek dan die van Girlschool, toch blijft deze Britse metalband, die louter uit vrouwen bestaat, ontzettend cool. Soms heb je door de vele personeelswissels wel eens het idee dat de act niet meer dan een gimmick is, desalniettemin brachten GVIrlschool twaalf platen uit.

De line-up van Girlschool wisselde voortdurend, om diverse reden was het een kwestie van komen en gaan. Met de vorige plaat, Running Wild uit 1985, nam men echter zeer veel risico. Het was de eerste release die op een major verscheen (Mercury Records), en ofschoon Girlschool een oer-Britse band is, werd Running Wild alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht. Een foute: de plaat flopte compleet.

Met de volgende release moest dusopnieuw de weg worden gevonden naar het Britse publiek dat men eerderr de rug had toegekeerd.

De band kreeg een contract op GWR waarop ook Motörhead zat, en als producer werd Vic Maile aangetrokken die bekend was voor zijn werk met Hawkwind en Guns ’n Roses. De in 1986 uitgebrachte plaat flopte weliswaar ook, toch kan je er niet om heen dat Nightmare At Maple Cross (nu voor het eerst op cd via Cherry Red Records) een sublieme rock ’n roll-plaat is. Het is een bewust gekozen term. Men stopt gemakelijkshalve Girlschool onder de noemer heavy metal, toch is het niet meer (ofschoon dat meer dan genoeg is) dan pure rock ‘n roll.

De vier meiden brengen op hun zesde album een mix van heerlijke glamrock (de cover van Tiger Feet van Mud is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) en meezingbare rock ‘n roll zonder moeilijkdoenerij. De tracks zitten lekker in elkaar, hebben allemaal een uiterst leuk refrein en voor je het beseft zit je de hitgevoelige liedjes mee te brullen (Back For More is gewoon heerlijke kant-en-klare radiorock).

Nightmare At Maple Cross (gewoon een grapje omdat de studio waarin het album is opgenomen zich in Maple Cross bevindt) verdient dan ook je aandacht als je van eerlijke (sexy) rock houdt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete