tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Nightmare At Maple Cross

GIRLSCHOOL

Nightmare At Maple Cross

MusicCD
Heavy MetalRock n' Roll

[76/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is certainly more refined music than Girlschool, however,t he British female metal band is incredibly cool. Sometimes you have the imression that the act is only a gimmick, nonetheless, the band released twelve albums.

The lineup of Girlschool changed constantly for different reasons, it was a matter of come and go. With the last album Running Wild from 1985, Girlschool took a lot of risk. It was the first Girlschool release on a major (Mercury Records), and although they are very British, Running Wild was only released in the US. A wrong choice, as the album flopped completely.

It was necessary to find the way back to the British public with the next release, even if the band had turned its back on it.

The band was signed to GWR, the label of Motörhead, and Vic Maile, who was known for his work with Hawkwind and Guns' n Roses,was hired as producer. Although the album flopped, Nightmare At Maple Cross (1986) - now for the first time on CD via Cherry Red Records - is still a sublime rock 'n' roll record. Girlschool is often classified as heavy metal, in fact it’s (although this is more than enough) pure rock 'n' roll.

On the sixth album, the four girls made a mixture of deliciously glam rock (the cover of Tiger Feet by Mud is a nice example) and sing-along rock 'n roll. The tracks are well composed and they all have an extremely nice chorus. Before you realize it, you're singing the catchy songs. Back For More is delicious hand-made rock for the radio.

Nightmare At Maple Cross (as joke, because the studio where the album was recorded is located at Maple Cross) deserves your attention, at least if you like honest (sexy) rock.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er bestaat zonder twijfel meer verfijnde muziek dan die van Girlschool, toch blijft deze Britse metalband, die louter uit vrouwen bestaat, ontzettend cool. Soms heb je door de vele personeelswissels wel eens het idee dat de act niet meer dan een gimmick is, desalniettemin brachten GVIrlschool twaalf platen uit.

De line-up van Girlschool wisselde voortdurend, om diverse reden was het een kwestie van komen en gaan. Met de vorige plaat, Running Wild uit 1985, nam men echter zeer veel risico. Het was de eerste release die op een major verscheen (Mercury Records), en ofschoon Girlschool een oer-Britse band is, werd Running Wild alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht. Een foute: de plaat flopte compleet.

Met de volgende release moest dusopnieuw de weg worden gevonden naar het Britse publiek dat men eerderr de rug had toegekeerd.

De band kreeg een contract op GWR waarop ook Motörhead zat, en als producer werd Vic Maile aangetrokken die bekend was voor zijn werk met Hawkwind en Guns ’n Roses. De in 1986 uitgebrachte plaat flopte weliswaar ook, toch kan je er niet om heen dat Nightmare At Maple Cross (nu voor het eerst op cd via Cherry Red Records) een sublieme rock ’n roll-plaat is. Het is een bewust gekozen term. Men stopt gemakelijkshalve Girlschool onder de noemer heavy metal, toch is het niet meer (ofschoon dat meer dan genoeg is) dan pure rock ‘n roll.

De vier meiden brengen op hun zesde album een mix van heerlijke glamrock (de cover van Tiger Feet van Mud is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) en meezingbare rock ‘n roll zonder moeilijkdoenerij. De tracks zitten lekker in elkaar, hebben allemaal een uiterst leuk refrein en voor je het beseft zit je de hitgevoelige liedjes mee te brullen (Back For More is gewoon heerlijke kant-en-klare radiorock).

Nightmare At Maple Cross (gewoon een grapje omdat de studio waarin het album is opgenomen zich in Maple Cross bevindt) verdient dan ook je aandacht als je van eerlijke (sexy) rock houdt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall