tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Nightmare At Maple Cross

GIRLSCHOOL

Nightmare At Maple Cross

MusicCD
Heavy MetalRock n' Roll

[76/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is certainly more refined music than Girlschool, however,t he British female metal band is incredibly cool. Sometimes you have the imression that the act is only a gimmick, nonetheless, the band released twelve albums.

The lineup of Girlschool changed constantly for different reasons, it was a matter of come and go. With the last album Running Wild from 1985, Girlschool took a lot of risk. It was the first Girlschool release on a major (Mercury Records), and although they are very British, Running Wild was only released in the US. A wrong choice, as the album flopped completely.

It was necessary to find the way back to the British public with the next release, even if the band had turned its back on it.

The band was signed to GWR, the label of Motörhead, and Vic Maile, who was known for his work with Hawkwind and Guns' n Roses,was hired as producer. Although the album flopped, Nightmare At Maple Cross (1986) - now for the first time on CD via Cherry Red Records - is still a sublime rock 'n' roll record. Girlschool is often classified as heavy metal, in fact it’s (although this is more than enough) pure rock 'n' roll.

On the sixth album, the four girls made a mixture of deliciously glam rock (the cover of Tiger Feet by Mud is a nice example) and sing-along rock 'n roll. The tracks are well composed and they all have an extremely nice chorus. Before you realize it, you're singing the catchy songs. Back For More is delicious hand-made rock for the radio.

Nightmare At Maple Cross (as joke, because the studio where the album was recorded is located at Maple Cross) deserves your attention, at least if you like honest (sexy) rock.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er bestaat zonder twijfel meer verfijnde muziek dan die van Girlschool, toch blijft deze Britse metalband, die louter uit vrouwen bestaat, ontzettend cool. Soms heb je door de vele personeelswissels wel eens het idee dat de act niet meer dan een gimmick is, desalniettemin brachten GVIrlschool twaalf platen uit.

De line-up van Girlschool wisselde voortdurend, om diverse reden was het een kwestie van komen en gaan. Met de vorige plaat, Running Wild uit 1985, nam men echter zeer veel risico. Het was de eerste release die op een major verscheen (Mercury Records), en ofschoon Girlschool een oer-Britse band is, werd Running Wild alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht. Een foute: de plaat flopte compleet.

Met de volgende release moest dusopnieuw de weg worden gevonden naar het Britse publiek dat men eerderr de rug had toegekeerd.

De band kreeg een contract op GWR waarop ook Motörhead zat, en als producer werd Vic Maile aangetrokken die bekend was voor zijn werk met Hawkwind en Guns ’n Roses. De in 1986 uitgebrachte plaat flopte weliswaar ook, toch kan je er niet om heen dat Nightmare At Maple Cross (nu voor het eerst op cd via Cherry Red Records) een sublieme rock ’n roll-plaat is. Het is een bewust gekozen term. Men stopt gemakelijkshalve Girlschool onder de noemer heavy metal, toch is het niet meer (ofschoon dat meer dan genoeg is) dan pure rock ‘n roll.

De vier meiden brengen op hun zesde album een mix van heerlijke glamrock (de cover van Tiger Feet van Mud is daar een mooi voorbeeld van) en meezingbare rock ‘n roll zonder moeilijkdoenerij. De tracks zitten lekker in elkaar, hebben allemaal een uiterst leuk refrein en voor je het beseft zit je de hitgevoelige liedjes mee te brullen (Back For More is gewoon heerlijke kant-en-klare radiorock).

Nightmare At Maple Cross (gewoon een grapje omdat de studio waarin het album is opgenomen zich in Maple Cross bevindt) verdient dan ook je aandacht als je van eerlijke (sexy) rock houdt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected