tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WERNER KARLOFF - Tanz Der Automaten

WERNER KARLOFF

Tanz Der Automaten

MusicCD

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Forget the German name, as Werner Karloff is a musician from Mexico City, although you get the impression that this guy is residing in Berlin. He sings in German and his music is based on German minimal music, German Expressionism, Neue Deutsche Welle and minimal EBM.

When Dreiecke und Quadrate starts, you know what Werner Karloff stands for: EBM beats from the first DAF album, played with a rhythm that leads you automatically to the dance floor. You can say it has been done before, but then the question arises how many times The Beatles have been recycled. Indeed, ad nauseam!

How many EBM-like tracks are composed about the hell called factory? Werner Karloff sings about it. Predictably, Fabrik is an icy composition without feelings.

The monotonous DAF beats return in Industrielle Estate. In fact, you hear them all the time in Tanz Der Automaten, although this song (which would fit perfectly on the playlist of an open minded DJ) is more experimental.

On Moderne Zeiten and Osteuropa the beats are inflated. It is a cliché, but we never expected such minimal electro from Mexico!

Obviously, the CD includes a track about robots. It is not Kraftwerk-like, but very hard minimal, like Schmutzfabrik. Every time Werner cries Maschinen, the word has the power of a whiplash.

Staub Und Schatten and Verloren have an irresistible melody. What style, you say? Well, let’s say that it is Fad Gadget-like: danceable new wave pop with industrial beats.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublime minimal. Without thinking in your record collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vergeet die Duitse naam maar, want Werner Karloff is een muzikant uit Mexico City, ofschoon het lijkt alsof deze kerel in Berlijn resideert. Hij zingt in het Duits en zijn muziek is gebaseerd op Duitse minimal, het Duitse expressionisme, Neue Deutsche Welle en minimal EBM.

Meteen inj Dreiecke Und Quadrate weet je waar Werner Karloff voor staat: EBM-beats die uit de eerste DAF-plaat komen, met een ritme dat je automatisch naar de dansvloer voert. Je kan zeggen dat het al eens eerder is gedaan, maar dan rijst de vraag hoeveel keer men al niet de platen van The Beatles heeft gerecycled. Inderdaad, tot vervelens toe!

Hoeveel EBM-achtige tracks zijn er eigenlijk al gecomponeerd over de hel die je ook wel eens de fabriek noemt? Ook Werner Karloff doet zijn duit in het zakje, en zoals te verwachten werd het een ijskoude compositie zonder gevoelens.

De monotone DAF-beats komen in Industrielle Estate terug. In feite hoor je die de hele tijd op Tanz Der Automaten, alleen is deze song (die niet zou misstaan op de playlist van een DJ zonder oogkleppen) wat experimenteler.

Op Moderne Zeiten en Osteuropa worden de beats nog wat opgedreven. En om clichés te blijven gebruiken: een dergelijke minimal electro hadden we helemaal niet uit Mexico verwacht!

Uiteraard mocht er ook geen track over robots ontbreken. Het is echter geen Kraftwerk-achtige song, wel snoeiharde minimal net als Schmutzfabrik. Telkens als Werner Maschinen schreeuwt, klinkt het woord een zweepslag.

Staub Und Schatten en Verloren hebben allebei een onweerstaanbaar melodietje. Op wat het lijkt? Nou, laten we het deze keer op Fad Gadget-achtige dansbare newwavepop met industrial beats houden.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublieme minimal. Zonder nadenken in de platenkast!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real