tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WERNER KARLOFF - Tanz Der Automaten

WERNER KARLOFF

Tanz Der Automaten

MusicCD

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Forget the German name, as Werner Karloff is a musician from Mexico City, although you get the impression that this guy is residing in Berlin. He sings in German and his music is based on German minimal music, German Expressionism, Neue Deutsche Welle and minimal EBM.

When Dreiecke und Quadrate starts, you know what Werner Karloff stands for: EBM beats from the first DAF album, played with a rhythm that leads you automatically to the dance floor. You can say it has been done before, but then the question arises how many times The Beatles have been recycled. Indeed, ad nauseam!

How many EBM-like tracks are composed about the hell called factory? Werner Karloff sings about it. Predictably, Fabrik is an icy composition without feelings.

The monotonous DAF beats return in Industrielle Estate. In fact, you hear them all the time in Tanz Der Automaten, although this song (which would fit perfectly on the playlist of an open minded DJ) is more experimental.

On Moderne Zeiten and Osteuropa the beats are inflated. It is a cliché, but we never expected such minimal electro from Mexico!

Obviously, the CD includes a track about robots. It is not Kraftwerk-like, but very hard minimal, like Schmutzfabrik. Every time Werner cries Maschinen, the word has the power of a whiplash.

Staub Und Schatten and Verloren have an irresistible melody. What style, you say? Well, let’s say that it is Fad Gadget-like: danceable new wave pop with industrial beats.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublime minimal. Without thinking in your record collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vergeet die Duitse naam maar, want Werner Karloff is een muzikant uit Mexico City, ofschoon het lijkt alsof deze kerel in Berlijn resideert. Hij zingt in het Duits en zijn muziek is gebaseerd op Duitse minimal, het Duitse expressionisme, Neue Deutsche Welle en minimal EBM.

Meteen inj Dreiecke Und Quadrate weet je waar Werner Karloff voor staat: EBM-beats die uit de eerste DAF-plaat komen, met een ritme dat je automatisch naar de dansvloer voert. Je kan zeggen dat het al eens eerder is gedaan, maar dan rijst de vraag hoeveel keer men al niet de platen van The Beatles heeft gerecycled. Inderdaad, tot vervelens toe!

Hoeveel EBM-achtige tracks zijn er eigenlijk al gecomponeerd over de hel die je ook wel eens de fabriek noemt? Ook Werner Karloff doet zijn duit in het zakje, en zoals te verwachten werd het een ijskoude compositie zonder gevoelens.

De monotone DAF-beats komen in Industrielle Estate terug. In feite hoor je die de hele tijd op Tanz Der Automaten, alleen is deze song (die niet zou misstaan op de playlist van een DJ zonder oogkleppen) wat experimenteler.

Op Moderne Zeiten en Osteuropa worden de beats nog wat opgedreven. En om clichés te blijven gebruiken: een dergelijke minimal electro hadden we helemaal niet uit Mexico verwacht!

Uiteraard mocht er ook geen track over robots ontbreken. Het is echter geen Kraftwerk-achtige song, wel snoeiharde minimal net als Schmutzfabrik. Telkens als Werner Maschinen schreeuwt, klinkt het woord een zweepslag.

Staub Und Schatten en Verloren hebben allebei een onweerstaanbaar melodietje. Op wat het lijkt? Nou, laten we het deze keer op Fad Gadget-achtige dansbare newwavepop met industrial beats houden.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublieme minimal. Zonder nadenken in de platenkast!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty