tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WERNER KARLOFF - Tanz Der Automaten

WERNER KARLOFF

Tanz Der Automaten

MusicCD

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Forget the German name, as Werner Karloff is a musician from Mexico City, although you get the impression that this guy is residing in Berlin. He sings in German and his music is based on German minimal music, German Expressionism, Neue Deutsche Welle and minimal EBM.

When Dreiecke und Quadrate starts, you know what Werner Karloff stands for: EBM beats from the first DAF album, played with a rhythm that leads you automatically to the dance floor. You can say it has been done before, but then the question arises how many times The Beatles have been recycled. Indeed, ad nauseam!

How many EBM-like tracks are composed about the hell called factory? Werner Karloff sings about it. Predictably, Fabrik is an icy composition without feelings.

The monotonous DAF beats return in Industrielle Estate. In fact, you hear them all the time in Tanz Der Automaten, although this song (which would fit perfectly on the playlist of an open minded DJ) is more experimental.

On Moderne Zeiten and Osteuropa the beats are inflated. It is a cliché, but we never expected such minimal electro from Mexico!

Obviously, the CD includes a track about robots. It is not Kraftwerk-like, but very hard minimal, like Schmutzfabrik. Every time Werner cries Maschinen, the word has the power of a whiplash.

Staub Und Schatten and Verloren have an irresistible melody. What style, you say? Well, let’s say that it is Fad Gadget-like: danceable new wave pop with industrial beats.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublime minimal. Without thinking in your record collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vergeet die Duitse naam maar, want Werner Karloff is een muzikant uit Mexico City, ofschoon het lijkt alsof deze kerel in Berlijn resideert. Hij zingt in het Duits en zijn muziek is gebaseerd op Duitse minimal, het Duitse expressionisme, Neue Deutsche Welle en minimal EBM.

Meteen inj Dreiecke Und Quadrate weet je waar Werner Karloff voor staat: EBM-beats die uit de eerste DAF-plaat komen, met een ritme dat je automatisch naar de dansvloer voert. Je kan zeggen dat het al eens eerder is gedaan, maar dan rijst de vraag hoeveel keer men al niet de platen van The Beatles heeft gerecycled. Inderdaad, tot vervelens toe!

Hoeveel EBM-achtige tracks zijn er eigenlijk al gecomponeerd over de hel die je ook wel eens de fabriek noemt? Ook Werner Karloff doet zijn duit in het zakje, en zoals te verwachten werd het een ijskoude compositie zonder gevoelens.

De monotone DAF-beats komen in Industrielle Estate terug. In feite hoor je die de hele tijd op Tanz Der Automaten, alleen is deze song (die niet zou misstaan op de playlist van een DJ zonder oogkleppen) wat experimenteler.

Op Moderne Zeiten en Osteuropa worden de beats nog wat opgedreven. En om clichés te blijven gebruiken: een dergelijke minimal electro hadden we helemaal niet uit Mexico verwacht!

Uiteraard mocht er ook geen track over robots ontbreken. Het is echter geen Kraftwerk-achtige song, wel snoeiharde minimal net als Schmutzfabrik. Telkens als Werner Maschinen schreeuwt, klinkt het woord een zweepslag.

Staub Und Schatten en Verloren hebben allebei een onweerstaanbaar melodietje. Op wat het lijkt? Nou, laten we het deze keer op Fad Gadget-achtige dansbare newwavepop met industrial beats houden.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublieme minimal. Zonder nadenken in de platenkast!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination