tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WERNER KARLOFF - Tanz Der Automaten

WERNER KARLOFF

Tanz Der Automaten

MusicCD

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Forget the German name, as Werner Karloff is a musician from Mexico City, although you get the impression that this guy is residing in Berlin. He sings in German and his music is based on German minimal music, German Expressionism, Neue Deutsche Welle and minimal EBM.

When Dreiecke und Quadrate starts, you know what Werner Karloff stands for: EBM beats from the first DAF album, played with a rhythm that leads you automatically to the dance floor. You can say it has been done before, but then the question arises how many times The Beatles have been recycled. Indeed, ad nauseam!

How many EBM-like tracks are composed about the hell called factory? Werner Karloff sings about it. Predictably, Fabrik is an icy composition without feelings.

The monotonous DAF beats return in Industrielle Estate. In fact, you hear them all the time in Tanz Der Automaten, although this song (which would fit perfectly on the playlist of an open minded DJ) is more experimental.

On Moderne Zeiten and Osteuropa the beats are inflated. It is a cliché, but we never expected such minimal electro from Mexico!

Obviously, the CD includes a track about robots. It is not Kraftwerk-like, but very hard minimal, like Schmutzfabrik. Every time Werner cries Maschinen, the word has the power of a whiplash.

Staub Und Schatten and Verloren have an irresistible melody. What style, you say? Well, let’s say that it is Fad Gadget-like: danceable new wave pop with industrial beats.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublime minimal. Without thinking in your record collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vergeet die Duitse naam maar, want Werner Karloff is een muzikant uit Mexico City, ofschoon het lijkt alsof deze kerel in Berlijn resideert. Hij zingt in het Duits en zijn muziek is gebaseerd op Duitse minimal, het Duitse expressionisme, Neue Deutsche Welle en minimal EBM.

Meteen inj Dreiecke Und Quadrate weet je waar Werner Karloff voor staat: EBM-beats die uit de eerste DAF-plaat komen, met een ritme dat je automatisch naar de dansvloer voert. Je kan zeggen dat het al eens eerder is gedaan, maar dan rijst de vraag hoeveel keer men al niet de platen van The Beatles heeft gerecycled. Inderdaad, tot vervelens toe!

Hoeveel EBM-achtige tracks zijn er eigenlijk al gecomponeerd over de hel die je ook wel eens de fabriek noemt? Ook Werner Karloff doet zijn duit in het zakje, en zoals te verwachten werd het een ijskoude compositie zonder gevoelens.

De monotone DAF-beats komen in Industrielle Estate terug. In feite hoor je die de hele tijd op Tanz Der Automaten, alleen is deze song (die niet zou misstaan op de playlist van een DJ zonder oogkleppen) wat experimenteler.

Op Moderne Zeiten en Osteuropa worden de beats nog wat opgedreven. En om clichés te blijven gebruiken: een dergelijke minimal electro hadden we helemaal niet uit Mexico verwacht!

Uiteraard mocht er ook geen track over robots ontbreken. Het is echter geen Kraftwerk-achtige song, wel snoeiharde minimal net als Schmutzfabrik. Telkens als Werner Maschinen schreeuwt, klinkt het woord een zweepslag.

Staub Und Schatten en Verloren hebben allebei een onweerstaanbaar melodietje. Op wat het lijkt? Nou, laten we het deze keer op Fad Gadget-achtige dansbare newwavepop met industrial beats houden.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublieme minimal. Zonder nadenken in de platenkast!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles