tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WERNER KARLOFF - Tanz Der Automaten

WERNER KARLOFF

Tanz Der Automaten

MusicCD

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Forget the German name, as Werner Karloff is a musician from Mexico City, although you get the impression that this guy is residing in Berlin. He sings in German and his music is based on German minimal music, German Expressionism, Neue Deutsche Welle and minimal EBM.

When Dreiecke und Quadrate starts, you know what Werner Karloff stands for: EBM beats from the first DAF album, played with a rhythm that leads you automatically to the dance floor. You can say it has been done before, but then the question arises how many times The Beatles have been recycled. Indeed, ad nauseam!

How many EBM-like tracks are composed about the hell called factory? Werner Karloff sings about it. Predictably, Fabrik is an icy composition without feelings.

The monotonous DAF beats return in Industrielle Estate. In fact, you hear them all the time in Tanz Der Automaten, although this song (which would fit perfectly on the playlist of an open minded DJ) is more experimental.

On Moderne Zeiten and Osteuropa the beats are inflated. It is a cliché, but we never expected such minimal electro from Mexico!

Obviously, the CD includes a track about robots. It is not Kraftwerk-like, but very hard minimal, like Schmutzfabrik. Every time Werner cries Maschinen, the word has the power of a whiplash.

Staub Und Schatten and Verloren have an irresistible melody. What style, you say? Well, let’s say that it is Fad Gadget-like: danceable new wave pop with industrial beats.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublime minimal. Without thinking in your record collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vergeet die Duitse naam maar, want Werner Karloff is een muzikant uit Mexico City, ofschoon het lijkt alsof deze kerel in Berlijn resideert. Hij zingt in het Duits en zijn muziek is gebaseerd op Duitse minimal, het Duitse expressionisme, Neue Deutsche Welle en minimal EBM.

Meteen inj Dreiecke Und Quadrate weet je waar Werner Karloff voor staat: EBM-beats die uit de eerste DAF-plaat komen, met een ritme dat je automatisch naar de dansvloer voert. Je kan zeggen dat het al eens eerder is gedaan, maar dan rijst de vraag hoeveel keer men al niet de platen van The Beatles heeft gerecycled. Inderdaad, tot vervelens toe!

Hoeveel EBM-achtige tracks zijn er eigenlijk al gecomponeerd over de hel die je ook wel eens de fabriek noemt? Ook Werner Karloff doet zijn duit in het zakje, en zoals te verwachten werd het een ijskoude compositie zonder gevoelens.

De monotone DAF-beats komen in Industrielle Estate terug. In feite hoor je die de hele tijd op Tanz Der Automaten, alleen is deze song (die niet zou misstaan op de playlist van een DJ zonder oogkleppen) wat experimenteler.

Op Moderne Zeiten en Osteuropa worden de beats nog wat opgedreven. En om clichés te blijven gebruiken: een dergelijke minimal electro hadden we helemaal niet uit Mexico verwacht!

Uiteraard mocht er ook geen track over robots ontbreken. Het is echter geen Kraftwerk-achtige song, wel snoeiharde minimal net als Schmutzfabrik. Telkens als Werner Maschinen schreeuwt, klinkt het woord een zweepslag.

Staub Und Schatten en Verloren hebben allebei een onweerstaanbaar melodietje. Op wat het lijkt? Nou, laten we het deze keer op Fad Gadget-achtige dansbare newwavepop met industrial beats houden.

Tanz Der Automaten is sublieme minimal. Zonder nadenken in de platenkast!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap