tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

MusicCD
BatcaveElectronicsMinimalNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[88/100]   

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Young & Cold festival in the German city of Augsburg can be compared with Waveteef in Belgium: a friendly festival with lots of minimal bands (in all genres) which has such a success that the forthcoming edition on the 16th and 17th of September is already sold out. The organizers have a record label and released a sampler of all the participating bands, plus some songs by groups of the label. A true discovery, especially for those who are not familiar with the underground. And those who are, definitely will like the sampler too.

The first band is the Polish minimal formation Alles. Granted, you don’t understand a word of the lyrics of the duo from Lodz. The music on the other hand speaks for itself. Mix the nervousness of Joy Division with genius electronics and you have the sound of Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is slightly lighter. The experimental electropop of Electric Evolution sounds almost funny. The German Second Planet makes brilliant minimal pop, Birkeland sounds a tad like Ash Code. It is an act to keep an eye on. Mängelexemplar (what a name!) is insane minimalism with a touch of Neue Deutsche Welle. Gedanken Sind Frei is a danceable song with some references to the 80s. Nao Katafuchi sounds pretty grim, you can even say that you hear Wire of the mid 80s. Again genius.

Perhaps our readers need no introduction to the Flemish duo Vita Noctis, known in the 80s for its minimal wave. It got a new career with a push of Dirk Ivens. After4 hymen is a wonderful proof that this was indeed a good idea. Soft Riot, the Canadian Jack Duckworth who emigrated to Sheffield, already appeared on our pages. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is a typical example of his industrial pop. Low Factor from Canada offers us danceable technopop with Endgame. We say it about every band on this compilation, but this is a band to keep in mind.

Ben Bloodygrave is something completely different, but equally good: Neue Deutsche Welle that has something of DAF. The Berlin XTR Human is post-punk, what a sound! Dividing Lines from Leipzig tends more towards the deathrock of Christian Death and Cinema Strange, just like the Berlin-based Totenwald.

Paradox Sequenz is sublime minimal you can’t get out of your head, just like Werner Karloff which sounds rather punky and chaotic, Endlose Emotion is minimal with a nod to the 80s. Adam Usi is very unusual minimal, Adam’s voice can be linked to Suede. The compilation ends with Nacht Analyse, the electronic spielerei of G.B.S. and the power noise of Tränen Der Sehnsucht which is reminiscent of the early days of The Klinik.

We said it already: a discovery!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het Young & Cold-festival in het Duitse Augsburg kan je gerust vergelijken met Waveteef in België: een sympathiek festival met minimal bands (in de meest ruime zin van het woord) dat zo’n succes heeft, dat het feestje van 16 en 17 september nu al uitverkocht is. De organisatoren hebben een platenmaatschappij en brachten een sampler uit van alle deelnemende bands, aangevuld met songs van groepen op hun label. Een ware ontdekkingstocht, zeker voor muziekfans die niet vertrouwd zijn met de underground. En voor diegenen die dat wel zijn: nou, we zijn ervan overtuigd dat ook zij op deze sampler heel wat moois zullen vinden.

De eerste band die we op onze tocht tegenkomen is de Poolse minimalband Alles. Toegegeven, je begrijpt niet waarover het duo uit Łódź zingt, de muziek daarentegen spreekt boekdelen. Meng de nervositeit van Joy Division met geniale electronica en je hebt het geluid van Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is iets lichter. De experimentele elektropop in Electric Evolution klinkt bijna grappig. Het Duitse Second Planet zweert bij geniale minimal pop, Birkeland klinkt een tikkeltje als Ash Code, een band die we dus zeker in het oog dienen te houden.

Mängelexemplar (wat een naam zeg!) is krankzinnige minimal met een vette knipoog naar de Neue Deutsche Welle. De track Gedanken Sind Frei (jawel!) is een dansbare song met referenties naar de jaren 80. Nao Katafuchi klinkt vrij duister, je kan zelfs stellen dat je in Masks de Wire van midden de jaren 80 hoort. Geniaal dus.

Wellicht moeten we aan onze lezers het Vlaamse duo Vita Noctis niet meer voorstellen, dat in de jaren 80 bekend was voor zijn minimal wave. Onder impuls van Dirk Ivens begon het vorig jaar aan een nieuwe carrière. Hymen After4 is een prachtig bewijs dat dit een goed idee was. Ook Soft Riot, de Canadees Jack Duckworth die naar Sheffield uitweek, verscheen al op onze pagina’s. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is een typisch voorbeeld van zijn industrial pop. Low Factor uit Canada brengt met Endgame dansbare technopop. We zeggen het wel over iedere band op deze compilatie, maar ook dit is een band om in het vizier te houden.

Ben Bloodygrave is iets helemaal anders, maar minstens even goed, Neue Deutsche Welle die iets met DAF heeft. De Berlijnse XTR Human blijft met zijn postpunk de vreemde eend in de bijt, maar wat een geluid! Dividing Lines uit Leipzig neigt meer naar de deathrock van Christian Death of Cinema Strange, net als het Berlijnse Totenwald. Paradox Sequenz brengt sublieme minimal die maar niet uit je hoofd verdwijnt, net als Werner Karloff dat eerder punky en chaotisch klinkt, Endlose Emotion is dan weer minimal met een knipoog naar de 80s. Adam Usi is zeer aparte minimal, Adams hoge stem zou je eerder linken aan Suede of zo. De compilatie wordt afgesloten met Nacht Analyse, de elektronische spielerei van G.B.S. en de powernoise van Tränen Der Sehnsucht dat eerder aan de begindagen van The Klinik doet denken.

We zegden het al: een ware ontdekkingstocht!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)