tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

MusicCD
BatcaveElectronicsMinimalNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[88/100]   

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Young & Cold festival in the German city of Augsburg can be compared with Waveteef in Belgium: a friendly festival with lots of minimal bands (in all genres) which has such a success that the forthcoming edition on the 16th and 17th of September is already sold out. The organizers have a record label and released a sampler of all the participating bands, plus some songs by groups of the label. A true discovery, especially for those who are not familiar with the underground. And those who are, definitely will like the sampler too.

The first band is the Polish minimal formation Alles. Granted, you don’t understand a word of the lyrics of the duo from Lodz. The music on the other hand speaks for itself. Mix the nervousness of Joy Division with genius electronics and you have the sound of Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is slightly lighter. The experimental electropop of Electric Evolution sounds almost funny. The German Second Planet makes brilliant minimal pop, Birkeland sounds a tad like Ash Code. It is an act to keep an eye on. Mängelexemplar (what a name!) is insane minimalism with a touch of Neue Deutsche Welle. Gedanken Sind Frei is a danceable song with some references to the 80s. Nao Katafuchi sounds pretty grim, you can even say that you hear Wire of the mid 80s. Again genius.

Perhaps our readers need no introduction to the Flemish duo Vita Noctis, known in the 80s for its minimal wave. It got a new career with a push of Dirk Ivens. After4 hymen is a wonderful proof that this was indeed a good idea. Soft Riot, the Canadian Jack Duckworth who emigrated to Sheffield, already appeared on our pages. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is a typical example of his industrial pop. Low Factor from Canada offers us danceable technopop with Endgame. We say it about every band on this compilation, but this is a band to keep in mind.

Ben Bloodygrave is something completely different, but equally good: Neue Deutsche Welle that has something of DAF. The Berlin XTR Human is post-punk, what a sound! Dividing Lines from Leipzig tends more towards the deathrock of Christian Death and Cinema Strange, just like the Berlin-based Totenwald.

Paradox Sequenz is sublime minimal you can’t get out of your head, just like Werner Karloff which sounds rather punky and chaotic, Endlose Emotion is minimal with a nod to the 80s. Adam Usi is very unusual minimal, Adam’s voice can be linked to Suede. The compilation ends with Nacht Analyse, the electronic spielerei of G.B.S. and the power noise of Tränen Der Sehnsucht which is reminiscent of the early days of The Klinik.

We said it already: a discovery!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het Young & Cold-festival in het Duitse Augsburg kan je gerust vergelijken met Waveteef in België: een sympathiek festival met minimal bands (in de meest ruime zin van het woord) dat zo’n succes heeft, dat het feestje van 16 en 17 september nu al uitverkocht is. De organisatoren hebben een platenmaatschappij en brachten een sampler uit van alle deelnemende bands, aangevuld met songs van groepen op hun label. Een ware ontdekkingstocht, zeker voor muziekfans die niet vertrouwd zijn met de underground. En voor diegenen die dat wel zijn: nou, we zijn ervan overtuigd dat ook zij op deze sampler heel wat moois zullen vinden.

De eerste band die we op onze tocht tegenkomen is de Poolse minimalband Alles. Toegegeven, je begrijpt niet waarover het duo uit Łódź zingt, de muziek daarentegen spreekt boekdelen. Meng de nervositeit van Joy Division met geniale electronica en je hebt het geluid van Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is iets lichter. De experimentele elektropop in Electric Evolution klinkt bijna grappig. Het Duitse Second Planet zweert bij geniale minimal pop, Birkeland klinkt een tikkeltje als Ash Code, een band die we dus zeker in het oog dienen te houden.

Mängelexemplar (wat een naam zeg!) is krankzinnige minimal met een vette knipoog naar de Neue Deutsche Welle. De track Gedanken Sind Frei (jawel!) is een dansbare song met referenties naar de jaren 80. Nao Katafuchi klinkt vrij duister, je kan zelfs stellen dat je in Masks de Wire van midden de jaren 80 hoort. Geniaal dus.

Wellicht moeten we aan onze lezers het Vlaamse duo Vita Noctis niet meer voorstellen, dat in de jaren 80 bekend was voor zijn minimal wave. Onder impuls van Dirk Ivens begon het vorig jaar aan een nieuwe carrière. Hymen After4 is een prachtig bewijs dat dit een goed idee was. Ook Soft Riot, de Canadees Jack Duckworth die naar Sheffield uitweek, verscheen al op onze pagina’s. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is een typisch voorbeeld van zijn industrial pop. Low Factor uit Canada brengt met Endgame dansbare technopop. We zeggen het wel over iedere band op deze compilatie, maar ook dit is een band om in het vizier te houden.

Ben Bloodygrave is iets helemaal anders, maar minstens even goed, Neue Deutsche Welle die iets met DAF heeft. De Berlijnse XTR Human blijft met zijn postpunk de vreemde eend in de bijt, maar wat een geluid! Dividing Lines uit Leipzig neigt meer naar de deathrock van Christian Death of Cinema Strange, net als het Berlijnse Totenwald. Paradox Sequenz brengt sublieme minimal die maar niet uit je hoofd verdwijnt, net als Werner Karloff dat eerder punky en chaotisch klinkt, Endlose Emotion is dan weer minimal met een knipoog naar de 80s. Adam Usi is zeer aparte minimal, Adams hoge stem zou je eerder linken aan Suede of zo. De compilatie wordt afgesloten met Nacht Analyse, de elektronische spielerei van G.B.S. en de powernoise van Tränen Der Sehnsucht dat eerder aan de begindagen van The Klinik doet denken.

We zegden het al: een ware ontdekkingstocht!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Fear And Cufre
THEN COMES SILENCE • Trickery
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
CUT • Dead City Nights
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
Various
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
44 years of The Voice Of America by Cabaret Voltaire!
22
07
The Juggernauts are coming, released XXXYEARS years ago!
22
07
On this day, 41 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
20
07
Today, exactly 25 years ago, 'The World Went Away'!
19
07
Dark Electronic Band, ODYSSEY MOTH Drops New Two-Song EP, 'Shattered'
19
07
On this day, 46 years ago, Dead Kennedys played their very first live show!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
07
MORTAL REALM
An Interview With Mortal Realm's Adam Jones
16
07
LOCKJAW
An Interview With Industrial Metal Band, LOCKJAW
15
07
MALICE MACHINE
An Interview With Cyber-Punk Band, Malice Machine
21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois

PHOTOS

19
07
THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
17
07
BURN SUPPORT THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
14
07
THE MISSION
Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht
21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS
Man with Bricks
22
07
BRAGOLIN
Into Those Woods
21
07
AMMO
Rose + Crown
20
07
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
19
07
BLANCMANGE
Don`t Tell Me
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
17
07
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)