tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

MusicCD
BatcaveElectronicsMinimalNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[88/100]   

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Young & Cold festival in the German city of Augsburg can be compared with Waveteef in Belgium: a friendly festival with lots of minimal bands (in all genres) which has such a success that the forthcoming edition on the 16th and 17th of September is already sold out. The organizers have a record label and released a sampler of all the participating bands, plus some songs by groups of the label. A true discovery, especially for those who are not familiar with the underground. And those who are, definitely will like the sampler too.

The first band is the Polish minimal formation Alles. Granted, you don’t understand a word of the lyrics of the duo from Lodz. The music on the other hand speaks for itself. Mix the nervousness of Joy Division with genius electronics and you have the sound of Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is slightly lighter. The experimental electropop of Electric Evolution sounds almost funny. The German Second Planet makes brilliant minimal pop, Birkeland sounds a tad like Ash Code. It is an act to keep an eye on. Mängelexemplar (what a name!) is insane minimalism with a touch of Neue Deutsche Welle. Gedanken Sind Frei is a danceable song with some references to the 80s. Nao Katafuchi sounds pretty grim, you can even say that you hear Wire of the mid 80s. Again genius.

Perhaps our readers need no introduction to the Flemish duo Vita Noctis, known in the 80s for its minimal wave. It got a new career with a push of Dirk Ivens. After4 hymen is a wonderful proof that this was indeed a good idea. Soft Riot, the Canadian Jack Duckworth who emigrated to Sheffield, already appeared on our pages. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is a typical example of his industrial pop. Low Factor from Canada offers us danceable technopop with Endgame. We say it about every band on this compilation, but this is a band to keep in mind.

Ben Bloodygrave is something completely different, but equally good: Neue Deutsche Welle that has something of DAF. The Berlin XTR Human is post-punk, what a sound! Dividing Lines from Leipzig tends more towards the deathrock of Christian Death and Cinema Strange, just like the Berlin-based Totenwald.

Paradox Sequenz is sublime minimal you can’t get out of your head, just like Werner Karloff which sounds rather punky and chaotic, Endlose Emotion is minimal with a nod to the 80s. Adam Usi is very unusual minimal, Adam’s voice can be linked to Suede. The compilation ends with Nacht Analyse, the electronic spielerei of G.B.S. and the power noise of Tränen Der Sehnsucht which is reminiscent of the early days of The Klinik.

We said it already: a discovery!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het Young & Cold-festival in het Duitse Augsburg kan je gerust vergelijken met Waveteef in België: een sympathiek festival met minimal bands (in de meest ruime zin van het woord) dat zo’n succes heeft, dat het feestje van 16 en 17 september nu al uitverkocht is. De organisatoren hebben een platenmaatschappij en brachten een sampler uit van alle deelnemende bands, aangevuld met songs van groepen op hun label. Een ware ontdekkingstocht, zeker voor muziekfans die niet vertrouwd zijn met de underground. En voor diegenen die dat wel zijn: nou, we zijn ervan overtuigd dat ook zij op deze sampler heel wat moois zullen vinden.

De eerste band die we op onze tocht tegenkomen is de Poolse minimalband Alles. Toegegeven, je begrijpt niet waarover het duo uit Łódź zingt, de muziek daarentegen spreekt boekdelen. Meng de nervositeit van Joy Division met geniale electronica en je hebt het geluid van Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is iets lichter. De experimentele elektropop in Electric Evolution klinkt bijna grappig. Het Duitse Second Planet zweert bij geniale minimal pop, Birkeland klinkt een tikkeltje als Ash Code, een band die we dus zeker in het oog dienen te houden.

Mängelexemplar (wat een naam zeg!) is krankzinnige minimal met een vette knipoog naar de Neue Deutsche Welle. De track Gedanken Sind Frei (jawel!) is een dansbare song met referenties naar de jaren 80. Nao Katafuchi klinkt vrij duister, je kan zelfs stellen dat je in Masks de Wire van midden de jaren 80 hoort. Geniaal dus.

Wellicht moeten we aan onze lezers het Vlaamse duo Vita Noctis niet meer voorstellen, dat in de jaren 80 bekend was voor zijn minimal wave. Onder impuls van Dirk Ivens begon het vorig jaar aan een nieuwe carrière. Hymen After4 is een prachtig bewijs dat dit een goed idee was. Ook Soft Riot, de Canadees Jack Duckworth die naar Sheffield uitweek, verscheen al op onze pagina’s. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is een typisch voorbeeld van zijn industrial pop. Low Factor uit Canada brengt met Endgame dansbare technopop. We zeggen het wel over iedere band op deze compilatie, maar ook dit is een band om in het vizier te houden.

Ben Bloodygrave is iets helemaal anders, maar minstens even goed, Neue Deutsche Welle die iets met DAF heeft. De Berlijnse XTR Human blijft met zijn postpunk de vreemde eend in de bijt, maar wat een geluid! Dividing Lines uit Leipzig neigt meer naar de deathrock van Christian Death of Cinema Strange, net als het Berlijnse Totenwald. Paradox Sequenz brengt sublieme minimal die maar niet uit je hoofd verdwijnt, net als Werner Karloff dat eerder punky en chaotisch klinkt, Endlose Emotion is dan weer minimal met een knipoog naar de 80s. Adam Usi is zeer aparte minimal, Adams hoge stem zou je eerder linken aan Suede of zo. De compilatie wordt afgesloten met Nacht Analyse, de elektronische spielerei van G.B.S. en de powernoise van Tränen Der Sehnsucht dat eerder aan de begindagen van The Klinik doet denken.

We zegden het al: een ware ontdekkingstocht!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky