tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

MusicCD
BatcaveElectronicsMinimalNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[88/100]   

Young & Cold Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Young & Cold festival in the German city of Augsburg can be compared with Waveteef in Belgium: a friendly festival with lots of minimal bands (in all genres) which has such a success that the forthcoming edition on the 16th and 17th of September is already sold out. The organizers have a record label and released a sampler of all the participating bands, plus some songs by groups of the label. A true discovery, especially for those who are not familiar with the underground. And those who are, definitely will like the sampler too.

The first band is the Polish minimal formation Alles. Granted, you don’t understand a word of the lyrics of the duo from Lodz. The music on the other hand speaks for itself. Mix the nervousness of Joy Division with genius electronics and you have the sound of Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is slightly lighter. The experimental electropop of Electric Evolution sounds almost funny. The German Second Planet makes brilliant minimal pop, Birkeland sounds a tad like Ash Code. It is an act to keep an eye on. Mängelexemplar (what a name!) is insane minimalism with a touch of Neue Deutsche Welle. Gedanken Sind Frei is a danceable song with some references to the 80s. Nao Katafuchi sounds pretty grim, you can even say that you hear Wire of the mid 80s. Again genius.

Perhaps our readers need no introduction to the Flemish duo Vita Noctis, known in the 80s for its minimal wave. It got a new career with a push of Dirk Ivens. After4 hymen is a wonderful proof that this was indeed a good idea. Soft Riot, the Canadian Jack Duckworth who emigrated to Sheffield, already appeared on our pages. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is a typical example of his industrial pop. Low Factor from Canada offers us danceable technopop with Endgame. We say it about every band on this compilation, but this is a band to keep in mind.

Ben Bloodygrave is something completely different, but equally good: Neue Deutsche Welle that has something of DAF. The Berlin XTR Human is post-punk, what a sound! Dividing Lines from Leipzig tends more towards the deathrock of Christian Death and Cinema Strange, just like the Berlin-based Totenwald.

Paradox Sequenz is sublime minimal you can’t get out of your head, just like Werner Karloff which sounds rather punky and chaotic, Endlose Emotion is minimal with a nod to the 80s. Adam Usi is very unusual minimal, Adam’s voice can be linked to Suede. The compilation ends with Nacht Analyse, the electronic spielerei of G.B.S. and the power noise of Tränen Der Sehnsucht which is reminiscent of the early days of The Klinik.

We said it already: a discovery!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het Young & Cold-festival in het Duitse Augsburg kan je gerust vergelijken met Waveteef in België: een sympathiek festival met minimal bands (in de meest ruime zin van het woord) dat zo’n succes heeft, dat het feestje van 16 en 17 september nu al uitverkocht is. De organisatoren hebben een platenmaatschappij en brachten een sampler uit van alle deelnemende bands, aangevuld met songs van groepen op hun label. Een ware ontdekkingstocht, zeker voor muziekfans die niet vertrouwd zijn met de underground. En voor diegenen die dat wel zijn: nou, we zijn ervan overtuigd dat ook zij op deze sampler heel wat moois zullen vinden.

De eerste band die we op onze tocht tegenkomen is de Poolse minimalband Alles. Toegegeven, je begrijpt niet waarover het duo uit Łódź zingt, de muziek daarentegen spreekt boekdelen. Meng de nervositeit van Joy Division met geniale electronica en je hebt het geluid van Alles. Kinder Aus Asbest is iets lichter. De experimentele elektropop in Electric Evolution klinkt bijna grappig. Het Duitse Second Planet zweert bij geniale minimal pop, Birkeland klinkt een tikkeltje als Ash Code, een band die we dus zeker in het oog dienen te houden.

Mängelexemplar (wat een naam zeg!) is krankzinnige minimal met een vette knipoog naar de Neue Deutsche Welle. De track Gedanken Sind Frei (jawel!) is een dansbare song met referenties naar de jaren 80. Nao Katafuchi klinkt vrij duister, je kan zelfs stellen dat je in Masks de Wire van midden de jaren 80 hoort. Geniaal dus.

Wellicht moeten we aan onze lezers het Vlaamse duo Vita Noctis niet meer voorstellen, dat in de jaren 80 bekend was voor zijn minimal wave. Onder impuls van Dirk Ivens begon het vorig jaar aan een nieuwe carrière. Hymen After4 is een prachtig bewijs dat dit een goed idee was. Ook Soft Riot, de Canadees Jack Duckworth die naar Sheffield uitweek, verscheen al op onze pagina’s. Lovers In A Dangerous Time is een typisch voorbeeld van zijn industrial pop. Low Factor uit Canada brengt met Endgame dansbare technopop. We zeggen het wel over iedere band op deze compilatie, maar ook dit is een band om in het vizier te houden.

Ben Bloodygrave is iets helemaal anders, maar minstens even goed, Neue Deutsche Welle die iets met DAF heeft. De Berlijnse XTR Human blijft met zijn postpunk de vreemde eend in de bijt, maar wat een geluid! Dividing Lines uit Leipzig neigt meer naar de deathrock van Christian Death of Cinema Strange, net als het Berlijnse Totenwald. Paradox Sequenz brengt sublieme minimal die maar niet uit je hoofd verdwijnt, net als Werner Karloff dat eerder punky en chaotisch klinkt, Endlose Emotion is dan weer minimal met een knipoog naar de 80s. Adam Usi is zeer aparte minimal, Adams hoge stem zou je eerder linken aan Suede of zo. De compilatie wordt afgesloten met Nacht Analyse, de elektronische spielerei van G.B.S. en de powernoise van Tränen Der Sehnsucht dat eerder aan de begindagen van The Klinik doet denken.

We zegden het al: een ware ontdekkingstocht!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido