tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

VARIOUS ARTISTS

NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

MusicCD
Neue Deutsche Welle

[78/100]   

Bear Family Records
09/09/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation counts 46 tracks. That is something like 160 minutes of music. When checking out the track list, I noticed that I didn’t know many tracks, but then again I’m born in 1980! Considering that is the second part of a series of 4 double CD’s, I was worried that this quantity would not provide quality. But listening to this album I discovered some gems. Of course not all 46 tracks are equally appealing, but in general this is an entertaining and interesting compilation. The 2 discs are accompanied by a 152 pages booklet, containing nice pictures and background information on the artists. Nice.

You’ll find the gothic anthem Incubus Succubus (Xmal Deutschland) and the EBM-hammer Goldfinger by Die Krupps, next to classics such as Ein Jahr (es geht voran) from Fehlfarben. Ideal, Rheingold, Nena, Peter Schilling and Nina Hagen Band are present as well.

Like any good new wave compilation this compilation covers a wide range of styles. Poppy, punky and experimental songs next to electronic and avant-garde pieces: there’s enough variation! This album also covers a wide range of moods. You can hear some typical 80s melancholy besides some joyful songs: Hurra, hurra, die Schule brennt and Ich will Spass are entertaining, just as Jawoll’s Taxi with that funny dialogue. Some tracks remind me of German Schlagers, but played in a rather ironic or mocking fashion.

You can learn how Joachim Witt sounded in a previous life or discover that Tommi Stumpf (known from the EBM classics Massaker and Lobotomie) used to play in the punk band Der KFC. This compilation is an exploration of the past. An interesting historical document. Many nice tracks are waiting to be (re)discovered.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap