tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

VARIOUS ARTISTS

NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

MusicCD
Neue Deutsche Welle

[78/100]   

Bear Family Records
09/09/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation counts 46 tracks. That is something like 160 minutes of music. When checking out the track list, I noticed that I didn’t know many tracks, but then again I’m born in 1980! Considering that is the second part of a series of 4 double CD’s, I was worried that this quantity would not provide quality. But listening to this album I discovered some gems. Of course not all 46 tracks are equally appealing, but in general this is an entertaining and interesting compilation. The 2 discs are accompanied by a 152 pages booklet, containing nice pictures and background information on the artists. Nice.

You’ll find the gothic anthem Incubus Succubus (Xmal Deutschland) and the EBM-hammer Goldfinger by Die Krupps, next to classics such as Ein Jahr (es geht voran) from Fehlfarben. Ideal, Rheingold, Nena, Peter Schilling and Nina Hagen Band are present as well.

Like any good new wave compilation this compilation covers a wide range of styles. Poppy, punky and experimental songs next to electronic and avant-garde pieces: there’s enough variation! This album also covers a wide range of moods. You can hear some typical 80s melancholy besides some joyful songs: Hurra, hurra, die Schule brennt and Ich will Spass are entertaining, just as Jawoll’s Taxi with that funny dialogue. Some tracks remind me of German Schlagers, but played in a rather ironic or mocking fashion.

You can learn how Joachim Witt sounded in a previous life or discover that Tommi Stumpf (known from the EBM classics Massaker and Lobotomie) used to play in the punk band Der KFC. This compilation is an exploration of the past. An interesting historical document. Many nice tracks are waiting to be (re)discovered.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face