tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

VARIOUS ARTISTS

NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85

MusicCD
Neue Deutsche Welle

[78/100]   

Bear Family Records
09/09/2015, Benny CALUWE

This compilation counts 46 tracks. That is something like 160 minutes of music. When checking out the track list, I noticed that I didn’t know many tracks, but then again I’m born in 1980! Considering that is the second part of a series of 4 double CD’s, I was worried that this quantity would not provide quality. But listening to this album I discovered some gems. Of course not all 46 tracks are equally appealing, but in general this is an entertaining and interesting compilation. The 2 discs are accompanied by a 152 pages booklet, containing nice pictures and background information on the artists. Nice.

You’ll find the gothic anthem Incubus Succubus (Xmal Deutschland) and the EBM-hammer Goldfinger by Die Krupps, next to classics such as Ein Jahr (es geht voran) from Fehlfarben. Ideal, Rheingold, Nena, Peter Schilling and Nina Hagen Band are present as well.

Like any good new wave compilation this compilation covers a wide range of styles. Poppy, punky and experimental songs next to electronic and avant-garde pieces: there’s enough variation! This album also covers a wide range of moods. You can hear some typical 80s melancholy besides some joyful songs: Hurra, hurra, die Schule brennt and Ich will Spass are entertaining, just as Jawoll’s Taxi with that funny dialogue. Some tracks remind me of German Schlagers, but played in a rather ironic or mocking fashion.

You can learn how Joachim Witt sounded in a previous life or discover that Tommi Stumpf (known from the EBM classics Massaker and Lobotomie) used to play in the punk band Der KFC. This compilation is an exploration of the past. An interesting historical document. Many nice tracks are waiting to be (re)discovered.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2015


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo