tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : X-QUADRAT - X-Quadrat

X-QUADRAT

X-Quadrat

MusicVinyl
MinimalNeue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[81/100]   

Die Blinden Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties are back. We are not talking about cool radio stations boadcasting old Spandau Ballet ballads (although it can be fun as well), but passionate enthusiasts looking for lost gems in the dark underground of the past. You find such people everywhere, in Belgium too. Onderstroom Records and Walhalla Records are the best-known examples.

Die Blind Records, an initiative of the organisator of the Belgian minimal festival Waveteef, is a new label with the same objectives. So far, label boss Mat Zwart released both Deathly Quiet! and the sublime debut by Luminance. Now there is the 12"(on colored vinyl and 300 copies) by X-Quadrat.

An old release of a German quartet that was founded in 1982. People pay craziest prices for the X-Quadrat record on the Internet (up to 300 euros!). The band is hardly known and has only one release, but this is the sound that eighties freaks like to hear!

This maxi contains four songs. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is pure Neue Deutsche Welle. Think of what Malaria! or Fehlfarben did and you are on the right path. Indeed, such tracks were made in large amounts in Germany during the 80s. We can not get enough of it.

The most interesting song is Immer Und Ewig: dark minimal with doomy keyboards and a chorus with words like Verloren in die Dunkelheit, what more do you want?

Der Digitaltanz has a very different style. The EBM beats remind us of DAF. And if that is not so, Die Gedanken sind frei!

Information is Neue Deutsche Welle with a tasty punk beat.

We said it before... this is material for eighties fans who really know what the period was about!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De eighties zijn weer in. We hebben het niet over hippe radiostations die oude ballades van Spandau Ballet de ether insturen (hoewel dat ook leuk kan zijn), wel over gepassioneerde fanaten die in muziekkelders op zoek gaan naar verloren pareltjes. Je vindt zo’n mensen overal, ook in België, met Onderstroom Records en Walhalla Records als bekendste voorbeelden.

Sinds kort is daar ook Die Blinden Records bijgekomen (een initiatief van de Waveteef-organisator). Het label bracht eerder al de release van Deathly Quiet! en het sublieme debuut van Luminance uit. Nu is er de 12” (op gekleurd vinyl en 300 exemplaren) van X-Quadrat.

Een oude release van een Duits viertal dat in 1982 werd opgericht. Voor X-Quadrat worden op internet de gekste prijzen betaald (tot 300 euro!). De band is nauwelijks bekend en heeft maar één release, maar het is wel het geluid dat jaren 80-freaks willen horen!

Op deze maxi vind je vier nummers. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is Neue Deutsche Welle pur sang, denk aan wat Malaria! of Fehlfarben dedenbent op het juiste pad. Inderdaad, je vond dergelijke tracks met hopen in het Duitsland in de jaren 80, toch kunnen we er niet genoeg van krijgen.

De meest interessante song is Immer Und Ewig. Donkere minimal met doomy keyboards en een refreintje met woorden als Verloren in die Dunkelheit, wat wil je nog meer?

Der Digitaltanz heeft een heel andere stijl. De EBM-beats doen je denken aan DAF. En mocht fat neit zo zijn: Die Gedanken sind frei!

Afsluiter Information is opnieuw Neue Deutsche Welle met een lekkere punkbeat.

We zegden het al... voor jarentachtigfans die echt weten waar die periode voor stond!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell