tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : X-QUADRAT - X-Quadrat

X-QUADRAT

X-Quadrat

MusicVinyl
MinimalNeue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[81/100]   

Die Blinden Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties are back. We are not talking about cool radio stations boadcasting old Spandau Ballet ballads (although it can be fun as well), but passionate enthusiasts looking for lost gems in the dark underground of the past. You find such people everywhere, in Belgium too. Onderstroom Records and Walhalla Records are the best-known examples.

Die Blind Records, an initiative of the organisator of the Belgian minimal festival Waveteef, is a new label with the same objectives. So far, label boss Mat Zwart released both Deathly Quiet! and the sublime debut by Luminance. Now there is the 12"(on colored vinyl and 300 copies) by X-Quadrat.

An old release of a German quartet that was founded in 1982. People pay craziest prices for the X-Quadrat record on the Internet (up to 300 euros!). The band is hardly known and has only one release, but this is the sound that eighties freaks like to hear!

This maxi contains four songs. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is pure Neue Deutsche Welle. Think of what Malaria! or Fehlfarben did and you are on the right path. Indeed, such tracks were made in large amounts in Germany during the 80s. We can not get enough of it.

The most interesting song is Immer Und Ewig: dark minimal with doomy keyboards and a chorus with words like Verloren in die Dunkelheit, what more do you want?

Der Digitaltanz has a very different style. The EBM beats remind us of DAF. And if that is not so, Die Gedanken sind frei!

Information is Neue Deutsche Welle with a tasty punk beat.

We said it before... this is material for eighties fans who really know what the period was about!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De eighties zijn weer in. We hebben het niet over hippe radiostations die oude ballades van Spandau Ballet de ether insturen (hoewel dat ook leuk kan zijn), wel over gepassioneerde fanaten die in muziekkelders op zoek gaan naar verloren pareltjes. Je vindt zo’n mensen overal, ook in België, met Onderstroom Records en Walhalla Records als bekendste voorbeelden.

Sinds kort is daar ook Die Blinden Records bijgekomen (een initiatief van de Waveteef-organisator). Het label bracht eerder al de release van Deathly Quiet! en het sublieme debuut van Luminance uit. Nu is er de 12” (op gekleurd vinyl en 300 exemplaren) van X-Quadrat.

Een oude release van een Duits viertal dat in 1982 werd opgericht. Voor X-Quadrat worden op internet de gekste prijzen betaald (tot 300 euro!). De band is nauwelijks bekend en heeft maar één release, maar het is wel het geluid dat jaren 80-freaks willen horen!

Op deze maxi vind je vier nummers. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is Neue Deutsche Welle pur sang, denk aan wat Malaria! of Fehlfarben dedenbent op het juiste pad. Inderdaad, je vond dergelijke tracks met hopen in het Duitsland in de jaren 80, toch kunnen we er niet genoeg van krijgen.

De meest interessante song is Immer Und Ewig. Donkere minimal met doomy keyboards en een refreintje met woorden als Verloren in die Dunkelheit, wat wil je nog meer?

Der Digitaltanz heeft een heel andere stijl. De EBM-beats doen je denken aan DAF. En mocht fat neit zo zijn: Die Gedanken sind frei!

Afsluiter Information is opnieuw Neue Deutsche Welle met een lekkere punkbeat.

We zegden het al... voor jarentachtigfans die echt weten waar die periode voor stond!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday