tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : X-QUADRAT - X-Quadrat

X-QUADRAT

X-Quadrat

MusicVinyl
MinimalNeue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[81/100]   

Die Blinden Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties are back. We are not talking about cool radio stations boadcasting old Spandau Ballet ballads (although it can be fun as well), but passionate enthusiasts looking for lost gems in the dark underground of the past. You find such people everywhere, in Belgium too. Onderstroom Records and Walhalla Records are the best-known examples.

Die Blind Records, an initiative of the organisator of the Belgian minimal festival Waveteef, is a new label with the same objectives. So far, label boss Mat Zwart released both Deathly Quiet! and the sublime debut by Luminance. Now there is the 12"(on colored vinyl and 300 copies) by X-Quadrat.

An old release of a German quartet that was founded in 1982. People pay craziest prices for the X-Quadrat record on the Internet (up to 300 euros!). The band is hardly known and has only one release, but this is the sound that eighties freaks like to hear!

This maxi contains four songs. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is pure Neue Deutsche Welle. Think of what Malaria! or Fehlfarben did and you are on the right path. Indeed, such tracks were made in large amounts in Germany during the 80s. We can not get enough of it.

The most interesting song is Immer Und Ewig: dark minimal with doomy keyboards and a chorus with words like Verloren in die Dunkelheit, what more do you want?

Der Digitaltanz has a very different style. The EBM beats remind us of DAF. And if that is not so, Die Gedanken sind frei!

Information is Neue Deutsche Welle with a tasty punk beat.

We said it before... this is material for eighties fans who really know what the period was about!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De eighties zijn weer in. We hebben het niet over hippe radiostations die oude ballades van Spandau Ballet de ether insturen (hoewel dat ook leuk kan zijn), wel over gepassioneerde fanaten die in muziekkelders op zoek gaan naar verloren pareltjes. Je vindt zo’n mensen overal, ook in België, met Onderstroom Records en Walhalla Records als bekendste voorbeelden.

Sinds kort is daar ook Die Blinden Records bijgekomen (een initiatief van de Waveteef-organisator). Het label bracht eerder al de release van Deathly Quiet! en het sublieme debuut van Luminance uit. Nu is er de 12” (op gekleurd vinyl en 300 exemplaren) van X-Quadrat.

Een oude release van een Duits viertal dat in 1982 werd opgericht. Voor X-Quadrat worden op internet de gekste prijzen betaald (tot 300 euro!). De band is nauwelijks bekend en heeft maar één release, maar het is wel het geluid dat jaren 80-freaks willen horen!

Op deze maxi vind je vier nummers. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is Neue Deutsche Welle pur sang, denk aan wat Malaria! of Fehlfarben dedenbent op het juiste pad. Inderdaad, je vond dergelijke tracks met hopen in het Duitsland in de jaren 80, toch kunnen we er niet genoeg van krijgen.

De meest interessante song is Immer Und Ewig. Donkere minimal met doomy keyboards en een refreintje met woorden als Verloren in die Dunkelheit, wat wil je nog meer?

Der Digitaltanz heeft een heel andere stijl. De EBM-beats doen je denken aan DAF. En mocht fat neit zo zijn: Die Gedanken sind frei!

Afsluiter Information is opnieuw Neue Deutsche Welle met een lekkere punkbeat.

We zegden het al... voor jarentachtigfans die echt weten waar die periode voor stond!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On