tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : X-QUADRAT - X-Quadrat

X-QUADRAT

X-Quadrat

MusicVinyl
MinimalNeue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[81/100]   

Die Blinden Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties are back. We are not talking about cool radio stations boadcasting old Spandau Ballet ballads (although it can be fun as well), but passionate enthusiasts looking for lost gems in the dark underground of the past. You find such people everywhere, in Belgium too. Onderstroom Records and Walhalla Records are the best-known examples.

Die Blind Records, an initiative of the organisator of the Belgian minimal festival Waveteef, is a new label with the same objectives. So far, label boss Mat Zwart released both Deathly Quiet! and the sublime debut by Luminance. Now there is the 12"(on colored vinyl and 300 copies) by X-Quadrat.

An old release of a German quartet that was founded in 1982. People pay craziest prices for the X-Quadrat record on the Internet (up to 300 euros!). The band is hardly known and has only one release, but this is the sound that eighties freaks like to hear!

This maxi contains four songs. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is pure Neue Deutsche Welle. Think of what Malaria! or Fehlfarben did and you are on the right path. Indeed, such tracks were made in large amounts in Germany during the 80s. We can not get enough of it.

The most interesting song is Immer Und Ewig: dark minimal with doomy keyboards and a chorus with words like Verloren in die Dunkelheit, what more do you want?

Der Digitaltanz has a very different style. The EBM beats remind us of DAF. And if that is not so, Die Gedanken sind frei!

Information is Neue Deutsche Welle with a tasty punk beat.

We said it before... this is material for eighties fans who really know what the period was about!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De eighties zijn weer in. We hebben het niet over hippe radiostations die oude ballades van Spandau Ballet de ether insturen (hoewel dat ook leuk kan zijn), wel over gepassioneerde fanaten die in muziekkelders op zoek gaan naar verloren pareltjes. Je vindt zo’n mensen overal, ook in België, met Onderstroom Records en Walhalla Records als bekendste voorbeelden.

Sinds kort is daar ook Die Blinden Records bijgekomen (een initiatief van de Waveteef-organisator). Het label bracht eerder al de release van Deathly Quiet! en het sublieme debuut van Luminance uit. Nu is er de 12” (op gekleurd vinyl en 300 exemplaren) van X-Quadrat.

Een oude release van een Duits viertal dat in 1982 werd opgericht. Voor X-Quadrat worden op internet de gekste prijzen betaald (tot 300 euro!). De band is nauwelijks bekend en heeft maar één release, maar het is wel het geluid dat jaren 80-freaks willen horen!

Op deze maxi vind je vier nummers. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is Neue Deutsche Welle pur sang, denk aan wat Malaria! of Fehlfarben dedenbent op het juiste pad. Inderdaad, je vond dergelijke tracks met hopen in het Duitsland in de jaren 80, toch kunnen we er niet genoeg van krijgen.

De meest interessante song is Immer Und Ewig. Donkere minimal met doomy keyboards en een refreintje met woorden als Verloren in die Dunkelheit, wat wil je nog meer?

Der Digitaltanz heeft een heel andere stijl. De EBM-beats doen je denken aan DAF. En mocht fat neit zo zijn: Die Gedanken sind frei!

Afsluiter Information is opnieuw Neue Deutsche Welle met een lekkere punkbeat.

We zegden het al... voor jarentachtigfans die echt weten waar die periode voor stond!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth