tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : X-QUADRAT - X-Quadrat

X-QUADRAT

X-Quadrat

MusicVinyl
MinimalNeue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[81/100]   

Die Blinden Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The eighties are back. We are not talking about cool radio stations boadcasting old Spandau Ballet ballads (although it can be fun as well), but passionate enthusiasts looking for lost gems in the dark underground of the past. You find such people everywhere, in Belgium too. Onderstroom Records and Walhalla Records are the best-known examples.

Die Blind Records, an initiative of the organisator of the Belgian minimal festival Waveteef, is a new label with the same objectives. So far, label boss Mat Zwart released both Deathly Quiet! and the sublime debut by Luminance. Now there is the 12"(on colored vinyl and 300 copies) by X-Quadrat.

An old release of a German quartet that was founded in 1982. People pay craziest prices for the X-Quadrat record on the Internet (up to 300 euros!). The band is hardly known and has only one release, but this is the sound that eighties freaks like to hear!

This maxi contains four songs. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is pure Neue Deutsche Welle. Think of what Malaria! or Fehlfarben did and you are on the right path. Indeed, such tracks were made in large amounts in Germany during the 80s. We can not get enough of it.

The most interesting song is Immer Und Ewig: dark minimal with doomy keyboards and a chorus with words like Verloren in die Dunkelheit, what more do you want?

Der Digitaltanz has a very different style. The EBM beats remind us of DAF. And if that is not so, Die Gedanken sind frei!

Information is Neue Deutsche Welle with a tasty punk beat.

We said it before... this is material for eighties fans who really know what the period was about!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De eighties zijn weer in. We hebben het niet over hippe radiostations die oude ballades van Spandau Ballet de ether insturen (hoewel dat ook leuk kan zijn), wel over gepassioneerde fanaten die in muziekkelders op zoek gaan naar verloren pareltjes. Je vindt zo’n mensen overal, ook in België, met Onderstroom Records en Walhalla Records als bekendste voorbeelden.

Sinds kort is daar ook Die Blinden Records bijgekomen (een initiatief van de Waveteef-organisator). Het label bracht eerder al de release van Deathly Quiet! en het sublieme debuut van Luminance uit. Nu is er de 12” (op gekleurd vinyl en 300 exemplaren) van X-Quadrat.

Een oude release van een Duits viertal dat in 1982 werd opgericht. Voor X-Quadrat worden op internet de gekste prijzen betaald (tot 300 euro!). De band is nauwelijks bekend en heeft maar één release, maar het is wel het geluid dat jaren 80-freaks willen horen!

Op deze maxi vind je vier nummers. Kauf Dir Die Freiheit is Neue Deutsche Welle pur sang, denk aan wat Malaria! of Fehlfarben dedenbent op het juiste pad. Inderdaad, je vond dergelijke tracks met hopen in het Duitsland in de jaren 80, toch kunnen we er niet genoeg van krijgen.

De meest interessante song is Immer Und Ewig. Donkere minimal met doomy keyboards en een refreintje met woorden als Verloren in die Dunkelheit, wat wil je nog meer?

Der Digitaltanz heeft een heel andere stijl. De EBM-beats doen je denken aan DAF. En mocht fat neit zo zijn: Die Gedanken sind frei!

Afsluiter Information is opnieuw Neue Deutsche Welle met een lekkere punkbeat.

We zegden het al... voor jarentachtigfans die echt weten waar die periode voor stond!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad