tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

28/05/2014 : WAGONMAN - Desire EP

WAGONMAN

Desire EP

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro PopNeue Deutsche WelleNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   
28/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since 1978 active as a musician, both drummer and bassist and co-composer in several bands (Sexmachines, Starfighter, Needle & The Pain Reaction, Lee & The Lovedaddies , The Drip Dry Man & The Beat Revolver etc...) Lucce 'Kinky Star' comes out with his solo project Wagonman. A fully own experimental music project that gets its start with the EP "Desire" but still definitely gets a sequel. More experimental cassette releases are expected later on his own label Wagonmaniac..

The EP "Desire" is a tribute to Wagonman's early musical influences in full punk wave period of the early 80s. With covers of UK anarcho-punk band Crass and the Belgo wave artist Nacht Und Nebel and two other originals with a nod to bands like Killing Joke and Einstürzende Neubauten, Bauhaus, The Stranglers, Killing Joke, PIL, Nacht und Nebel, TC Matic, Clock DVA, Scars, Spizz Energi, The Fall, Swell Maps, Devo, Suicide, DAF, Dead Kennedys, Chrome,... Other influences coming from the punk, cold wave, industrial, tribal, early 80's UK new wave scene, New York no wave scene, afro beat, kraut rock, neue Deutsche welle,...

The 4 songs that we got sound each as coming from 4 different artists from the early 80's and that is just great! To start with the first track 'Desire' sung by a women (vocally close to a very young Isabelle Dekeyser, The Breath of Life), very poppy with a great bass! Very retro and catchy! 'Killing Jungle' is music only, so honestly: not my thing! I call it minimal wave for the fans... Who doesn't know this underground New Wave hit: 'Movoco Synthaca'? I like this new version, it stays pretty close to the original and the voice reminds me of Peter Slabbynck (Red Zebra). Start dancing and whobbeling! As last track we get 'Wagonman Style' that sounds a lot like 'En toen was er niets meer' (De Brassers), but with a newer sound and a computer voice. I hear some Fad Gadget influences too!

Well, this was a nice retro trip for me! Sometimes it's really great to have something like this! Came at the right time for me! So are toy up for a retro trip?

Send a mail with name & address to info@wagonman.be with subject: “order Wagonman vinyl”

The first 150 orders, pay only 10 euro! others 15 euro (all prices ex. transport costs).

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2014


 

Next reviews
REASON • Halcyon Days
NZ • Raw and pure
KEN SCOTT • Delivery Man
VEDAN KOLOD • GORODISCHE (2014)
STUART GORDON • Re-animator
ALTER DER RUINE • I Will Remember It All Differently
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now