tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

28/05/2014 : WAGONMAN - Desire EP

WAGONMAN

Desire EP

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro PopNeue Deutsche WelleNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   
28/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since 1978 active as a musician, both drummer and bassist and co-composer in several bands (Sexmachines, Starfighter, Needle & The Pain Reaction, Lee & The Lovedaddies , The Drip Dry Man & The Beat Revolver etc...) Lucce 'Kinky Star' comes out with his solo project Wagonman. A fully own experimental music project that gets its start with the EP "Desire" but still definitely gets a sequel. More experimental cassette releases are expected later on his own label Wagonmaniac..

The EP "Desire" is a tribute to Wagonman's early musical influences in full punk wave period of the early 80s. With covers of UK anarcho-punk band Crass and the Belgo wave artist Nacht Und Nebel and two other originals with a nod to bands like Killing Joke and Einstürzende Neubauten, Bauhaus, The Stranglers, Killing Joke, PIL, Nacht und Nebel, TC Matic, Clock DVA, Scars, Spizz Energi, The Fall, Swell Maps, Devo, Suicide, DAF, Dead Kennedys, Chrome,... Other influences coming from the punk, cold wave, industrial, tribal, early 80's UK new wave scene, New York no wave scene, afro beat, kraut rock, neue Deutsche welle,...

The 4 songs that we got sound each as coming from 4 different artists from the early 80's and that is just great! To start with the first track 'Desire' sung by a women (vocally close to a very young Isabelle Dekeyser, The Breath of Life), very poppy with a great bass! Very retro and catchy! 'Killing Jungle' is music only, so honestly: not my thing! I call it minimal wave for the fans... Who doesn't know this underground New Wave hit: 'Movoco Synthaca'? I like this new version, it stays pretty close to the original and the voice reminds me of Peter Slabbynck (Red Zebra). Start dancing and whobbeling! As last track we get 'Wagonman Style' that sounds a lot like 'En toen was er niets meer' (De Brassers), but with a newer sound and a computer voice. I hear some Fad Gadget influences too!

Well, this was a nice retro trip for me! Sometimes it's really great to have something like this! Came at the right time for me! So are toy up for a retro trip?

Send a mail with name & address to info@wagonman.be with subject: “order Wagonman vinyl”

The first 150 orders, pay only 10 euro! others 15 euro (all prices ex. transport costs).

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2014


 

Next reviews
REASON • Halcyon Days
NZ • Raw and pure
KEN SCOTT • Delivery Man
VEDAN KOLOD • GORODISCHE (2014)
STUART GORDON • Re-animator
ALTER DER RUINE • I Will Remember It All Differently
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap