tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

28/05/2014 : WAGONMAN - Desire EP

WAGONMAN

Desire EP

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro PopNeue Deutsche WelleNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   
28/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since 1978 active as a musician, both drummer and bassist and co-composer in several bands (Sexmachines, Starfighter, Needle & The Pain Reaction, Lee & The Lovedaddies , The Drip Dry Man & The Beat Revolver etc...) Lucce 'Kinky Star' comes out with his solo project Wagonman. A fully own experimental music project that gets its start with the EP "Desire" but still definitely gets a sequel. More experimental cassette releases are expected later on his own label Wagonmaniac..

The EP "Desire" is a tribute to Wagonman's early musical influences in full punk wave period of the early 80s. With covers of UK anarcho-punk band Crass and the Belgo wave artist Nacht Und Nebel and two other originals with a nod to bands like Killing Joke and Einstürzende Neubauten, Bauhaus, The Stranglers, Killing Joke, PIL, Nacht und Nebel, TC Matic, Clock DVA, Scars, Spizz Energi, The Fall, Swell Maps, Devo, Suicide, DAF, Dead Kennedys, Chrome,... Other influences coming from the punk, cold wave, industrial, tribal, early 80's UK new wave scene, New York no wave scene, afro beat, kraut rock, neue Deutsche welle,...

The 4 songs that we got sound each as coming from 4 different artists from the early 80's and that is just great! To start with the first track 'Desire' sung by a women (vocally close to a very young Isabelle Dekeyser, The Breath of Life), very poppy with a great bass! Very retro and catchy! 'Killing Jungle' is music only, so honestly: not my thing! I call it minimal wave for the fans... Who doesn't know this underground New Wave hit: 'Movoco Synthaca'? I like this new version, it stays pretty close to the original and the voice reminds me of Peter Slabbynck (Red Zebra). Start dancing and whobbeling! As last track we get 'Wagonman Style' that sounds a lot like 'En toen was er niets meer' (De Brassers), but with a newer sound and a computer voice. I hear some Fad Gadget influences too!

Well, this was a nice retro trip for me! Sometimes it's really great to have something like this! Came at the right time for me! So are toy up for a retro trip?

Send a mail with name & address to info@wagonman.be with subject: “order Wagonman vinyl”

The first 150 orders, pay only 10 euro! others 15 euro (all prices ex. transport costs).

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2014


 

Next reviews
REASON • Halcyon Days
NZ • Raw and pure
KEN SCOTT • Delivery Man
VEDAN KOLOD • GORODISCHE (2014)
STUART GORDON • Re-animator
ALTER DER RUINE • I Will Remember It All Differently
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)