tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

28/05/2014 : WAGONMAN - Desire EP

WAGONMAN

Desire EP

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDark WaveElectro PopNeue Deutsche WelleNew waveSynth Wave

[85/100]   
28/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since 1978 active as a musician, both drummer and bassist and co-composer in several bands (Sexmachines, Starfighter, Needle & The Pain Reaction, Lee & The Lovedaddies , The Drip Dry Man & The Beat Revolver etc...) Lucce 'Kinky Star' comes out with his solo project Wagonman. A fully own experimental music project that gets its start with the EP "Desire" but still definitely gets a sequel. More experimental cassette releases are expected later on his own label Wagonmaniac..

The EP "Desire" is a tribute to Wagonman's early musical influences in full punk wave period of the early 80s. With covers of UK anarcho-punk band Crass and the Belgo wave artist Nacht Und Nebel and two other originals with a nod to bands like Killing Joke and Einstürzende Neubauten, Bauhaus, The Stranglers, Killing Joke, PIL, Nacht und Nebel, TC Matic, Clock DVA, Scars, Spizz Energi, The Fall, Swell Maps, Devo, Suicide, DAF, Dead Kennedys, Chrome,... Other influences coming from the punk, cold wave, industrial, tribal, early 80's UK new wave scene, New York no wave scene, afro beat, kraut rock, neue Deutsche welle,...

The 4 songs that we got sound each as coming from 4 different artists from the early 80's and that is just great! To start with the first track 'Desire' sung by a women (vocally close to a very young Isabelle Dekeyser, The Breath of Life), very poppy with a great bass! Very retro and catchy! 'Killing Jungle' is music only, so honestly: not my thing! I call it minimal wave for the fans... Who doesn't know this underground New Wave hit: 'Movoco Synthaca'? I like this new version, it stays pretty close to the original and the voice reminds me of Peter Slabbynck (Red Zebra). Start dancing and whobbeling! As last track we get 'Wagonman Style' that sounds a lot like 'En toen was er niets meer' (De Brassers), but with a newer sound and a computer voice. I hear some Fad Gadget influences too!

Well, this was a nice retro trip for me! Sometimes it's really great to have something like this! Came at the right time for me! So are toy up for a retro trip?

Send a mail with name & address to info@wagonman.be with subject: “order Wagonman vinyl”

The first 150 orders, pay only 10 euro! others 15 euro (all prices ex. transport costs).

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/05/2014


 

Next reviews
REASON • Halcyon Days
NZ • Raw and pure
KEN SCOTT • Delivery Man
VEDAN KOLOD • GORODISCHE (2014)
STUART GORDON • Re-animator
ALTER DER RUINE • I Will Remember It All Differently
FREAKANGEL • Into the fire EP
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo