tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/09/2017 : SPREADING POINT - MOMENTUM - PART II

SPREADING POINT

MOMENTUM - PART II

MusicCD
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wave

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
14/09/2017, Masha KASHA

At the moment I am holding "Momentum II" the second part of a mini album from a German electropop duo "Spreading Point", with Olaf Himmelmann and Sandro Ringeling as the band members. Following "Momentum I" (2015) it basically consists of five original tracks and five remixes. The album sounds very vintage and includes new romantic influences but the "Spreading Point" is also somewhat vintage as a band, being active in the 90s and coming back to the stage in 2010 (after a 10 year pause).

With "Momentum II" the band deliver us a nice melodic new wavish result. Those of you who find the sound somewhat minimalistic can directly proceed into the remix section - you will not be disappointed. Especially "Blitz Kids", which offers us a poetic tribute to the new romantic scene, gains an amount of richness from volume (but that's to my taste).

My personal favourite track is "Kühle Eleganz". Alte gute Neue Deutsche Welle. Convincing, theatrical, groovy.

To sum up - "Momentum II" a good album if you feel somewhat "petshopboyish";) - nostalgic, light, vibrant and with a little hint of sadness.

Tracklist

1.Behind Your Mask

2.The Blitz Kids

3.Catch The Moment

4.Kuhle Eleganz

5.Keep In Touch

6.Behind Your Mask [Psyche Remix]

7.The Blitz Kids [People Theatreís Katz Mix]

8.Catch The Moment [Wave In Head Remix]

9.Kuhle Eleganz [The Dynamic Master Space Edit]

10.Keep In Touch [Shiny Darkness Remix]

Masha KASHA
14/09/2017


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis