tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/08/2017 : CONVERGE - I Can Tell You About Pain

CONVERGE

I Can Tell You About Pain

Music7 inch
HardcoreMathcoreMetalcore

[90/100]   
10/08/2017, Pierre SCHIFFLERS

There is always a long wait between Converge releases but the five years that separated 2012’s All We Love We Leave Behind from their new 2-song single I Can Tell You About Pain were unprecedented. The release is set to be an appetizer of sorts for the new full length that will be released later this year and if these two tracks are any indication, the five years will have been more than worth the wait.

The track 'I Can Tell You About Pain' picks up right where Converge left off with a rapid beat played in an odd-time signature, reminiscent of openers like 'Dark Horse' and 'Aimless Arrow' from the band’s two previous albums. There is a great sense of urgency and despite the typical difficulty in deciphering vocalist Jake Bannon’s lyrics, the music is visceral enough to allow the listener feel the weight of the track’s emotional content. This is certainly on the heavier end of the spectrum of what Converge have written. The track is laden with feedback and based on a robust foundation of relentless drums and an aggressive, ominous bass that particularly stands out in the mix. As per usual, the musicianship here is incredibly precise and Kurt Ballou’s production allows each instrument to punch through the mix with intent. The lyrics speak of a bitter rupture and not being able to understand one another. They are gripping and cathartic, especially during the song’s last feedback-infused breakdown where Bannon yells “You don’t know what my pain feels like”.

After two and a half minutes of intensity, Converge move on to the single’s second and final track 'Eve'. This is a much longer song, clocking in at nearly eight minutes, and feels like an echo to moodier pieces such as 'Jane Doe' and 'Wretched World' from 2001’s Jane Doe and 2009’s Axe To Fall, respectively. The atmosphere is set with an eerie guitar melody and a deep, low-key group chant that almost feels like a drone and will inevitably draw parallels to metalcore heavyweights Norma Jean on their more atmospheric moments. Drummer Ben Koller’s work is particularly strong on this track, seamlessly blending vicious cymbals with a tom-based groove that compliments the aforementioned chants, practically creating a tribal effect. This doesn’t last long, however, as Bannon’s screech quickly comes to remind us of his presence. Bassist/vocalist Nate Newton performs vocal duties on the chorus and his deep, guttural shouts bring a welcome diversity to the track and act as a reminder of just how much of a cohesive unit Converge is. The structure is simple, repetitive but ultimately hypnotizing. Lyrically, the track urges listeners to be themselves without restraint and points out that we all have dark flaws “In all of us lies secrets / Hidden inside hollow hearts” and that accepting these and being at peace with them is the path to a new beginning (“This is the eve of everything”).

Despite being just under 10 minutes long, I Can Tell You About Pain is incredibly relevant. It makes it clear that Converge are at the top of their game and deserve every ounce of credit that they have ever received. I will be eagerly awaiting their ninth full-length, due out later this year.

Pierre SCHIFFLERS
10/08/2017


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace