tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/08/2017 : CONVERGE - I Can Tell You About Pain

CONVERGE

I Can Tell You About Pain

Music7 inch
HardcoreMathcoreMetalcore

[90/100]   
10/08/2017, Pierre SCHIFFLERS

There is always a long wait between Converge releases but the five years that separated 2012’s All We Love We Leave Behind from their new 2-song single I Can Tell You About Pain were unprecedented. The release is set to be an appetizer of sorts for the new full length that will be released later this year and if these two tracks are any indication, the five years will have been more than worth the wait.

The track 'I Can Tell You About Pain' picks up right where Converge left off with a rapid beat played in an odd-time signature, reminiscent of openers like 'Dark Horse' and 'Aimless Arrow' from the band’s two previous albums. There is a great sense of urgency and despite the typical difficulty in deciphering vocalist Jake Bannon’s lyrics, the music is visceral enough to allow the listener feel the weight of the track’s emotional content. This is certainly on the heavier end of the spectrum of what Converge have written. The track is laden with feedback and based on a robust foundation of relentless drums and an aggressive, ominous bass that particularly stands out in the mix. As per usual, the musicianship here is incredibly precise and Kurt Ballou’s production allows each instrument to punch through the mix with intent. The lyrics speak of a bitter rupture and not being able to understand one another. They are gripping and cathartic, especially during the song’s last feedback-infused breakdown where Bannon yells “You don’t know what my pain feels like”.

After two and a half minutes of intensity, Converge move on to the single’s second and final track 'Eve'. This is a much longer song, clocking in at nearly eight minutes, and feels like an echo to moodier pieces such as 'Jane Doe' and 'Wretched World' from 2001’s Jane Doe and 2009’s Axe To Fall, respectively. The atmosphere is set with an eerie guitar melody and a deep, low-key group chant that almost feels like a drone and will inevitably draw parallels to metalcore heavyweights Norma Jean on their more atmospheric moments. Drummer Ben Koller’s work is particularly strong on this track, seamlessly blending vicious cymbals with a tom-based groove that compliments the aforementioned chants, practically creating a tribal effect. This doesn’t last long, however, as Bannon’s screech quickly comes to remind us of his presence. Bassist/vocalist Nate Newton performs vocal duties on the chorus and his deep, guttural shouts bring a welcome diversity to the track and act as a reminder of just how much of a cohesive unit Converge is. The structure is simple, repetitive but ultimately hypnotizing. Lyrically, the track urges listeners to be themselves without restraint and points out that we all have dark flaws “In all of us lies secrets / Hidden inside hollow hearts” and that accepting these and being at peace with them is the path to a new beginning (“This is the eve of everything”).

Despite being just under 10 minutes long, I Can Tell You About Pain is incredibly relevant. It makes it clear that Converge are at the top of their game and deserve every ounce of credit that they have ever received. I will be eagerly awaiting their ninth full-length, due out later this year.

Pierre SCHIFFLERS
10/08/2017


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)