tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

10/08/2017 : CONVERGE - I Can Tell You About Pain

CONVERGE

I Can Tell You About Pain

Music7 inch
HardcoreMathcoreMetalcore

[90/100]   
10/08/2017, Pierre SCHIFFLERS

There is always a long wait between Converge releases but the five years that separated 2012’s All We Love We Leave Behind from their new 2-song single I Can Tell You About Pain were unprecedented. The release is set to be an appetizer of sorts for the new full length that will be released later this year and if these two tracks are any indication, the five years will have been more than worth the wait.

The track 'I Can Tell You About Pain' picks up right where Converge left off with a rapid beat played in an odd-time signature, reminiscent of openers like 'Dark Horse' and 'Aimless Arrow' from the band’s two previous albums. There is a great sense of urgency and despite the typical difficulty in deciphering vocalist Jake Bannon’s lyrics, the music is visceral enough to allow the listener feel the weight of the track’s emotional content. This is certainly on the heavier end of the spectrum of what Converge have written. The track is laden with feedback and based on a robust foundation of relentless drums and an aggressive, ominous bass that particularly stands out in the mix. As per usual, the musicianship here is incredibly precise and Kurt Ballou’s production allows each instrument to punch through the mix with intent. The lyrics speak of a bitter rupture and not being able to understand one another. They are gripping and cathartic, especially during the song’s last feedback-infused breakdown where Bannon yells “You don’t know what my pain feels like”.

After two and a half minutes of intensity, Converge move on to the single’s second and final track 'Eve'. This is a much longer song, clocking in at nearly eight minutes, and feels like an echo to moodier pieces such as 'Jane Doe' and 'Wretched World' from 2001’s Jane Doe and 2009’s Axe To Fall, respectively. The atmosphere is set with an eerie guitar melody and a deep, low-key group chant that almost feels like a drone and will inevitably draw parallels to metalcore heavyweights Norma Jean on their more atmospheric moments. Drummer Ben Koller’s work is particularly strong on this track, seamlessly blending vicious cymbals with a tom-based groove that compliments the aforementioned chants, practically creating a tribal effect. This doesn’t last long, however, as Bannon’s screech quickly comes to remind us of his presence. Bassist/vocalist Nate Newton performs vocal duties on the chorus and his deep, guttural shouts bring a welcome diversity to the track and act as a reminder of just how much of a cohesive unit Converge is. The structure is simple, repetitive but ultimately hypnotizing. Lyrically, the track urges listeners to be themselves without restraint and points out that we all have dark flaws “In all of us lies secrets / Hidden inside hollow hearts” and that accepting these and being at peace with them is the path to a new beginning (“This is the eve of everything”).

Despite being just under 10 minutes long, I Can Tell You About Pain is incredibly relevant. It makes it clear that Converge are at the top of their game and deserve every ounce of credit that they have ever received. I will be eagerly awaiting their ninth full-length, due out later this year.

Pierre SCHIFFLERS
10/08/2017


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide