tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : DESTRUCTION UNIT - Negative Feedback Resistor

DESTRUCTION UNIT

Negative Feedback Resistor

MusicCD
HardcoreNoisePsychedelicPunk

[65/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The quintet Destruction Unit from Arizona has been active since 2004 and already released several albums, and it's part of the so-called New American Underground Heavy.

You can expect an avalanche of psychedelic punk/noise that is terrorizing your eardrums. The vocals are hidden between the instruments, the distortion and the noise. The songs sound quite crammed, and it feels like there is no structure in most songs. Perhaps that is the intention, but it bothers me sometimes. Occasionally, I noticed something that feels like a nice starter for a song, like on Salvation that has a structure and a nice instrumental interlude. Animal Instinct also sounds nice, sultry and captivating. On If Death Ever Slept they almost sound hardcore.

For me, it feels like Destruction Unit is missing a musical direction on this release. Is it because of the new line-up? Who knows, nevertheless I found them better on Void or Desert Sun.

Negative Feedback Resistor remains a bit of a missed opportunity. Now available on CD and vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, or just as free download via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Het vijftal van Destruction Unit uit Arizona is al sedert 2004 actief en brachten reeds verschillende albums uit, en behoort tot de New American Heavy Underground.

Verwacht je aan een lawine van psychedelische punk/noise die je trommelvliezen terroriseert. De zang zit vrij ver tussen de instrumenten, de galm, de distortion en de noise. De songs klinken nogal volgepropt en rommelig. Het is dus zoeken naar enige structuur in de songs. Misschien is dat de bedoeling, maar mij stoort het soms. Hier en daar merk ik wel een leuke aanzet voor een song, zoals bijv. Salvation, dat wel een duidelijke structuur en een aardig instrumentaal tussenstuk bevat. Op If Death Ever Slept klinken ze bijna hardcore, maar wel gevat en gebald. Ook Animal Instinct klinkt aardig, broeierig en meeslepend.

Voor de rest heb ik wel een beetje het gevoel dat Destruction Unit wat muzikale richting mist op deze release. Ligt het aan de nieuwe line-up? Wie zal het zeggen, desalniettemin vond ik ze toch beter klinken op Void of Desert Sun. 

Negative Feedback Resistor blijft wat een gemiste kans. Nu verkrijgbaar op cd en vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, of gewoon gratis te downloaden via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
LA HORDE • Dystopie
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Same genre: PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death