tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : DESTRUCTION UNIT - Negative Feedback Resistor

DESTRUCTION UNIT

Negative Feedback Resistor

MusicCD
HardcoreNoisePsychedelicPunk

[65/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The quintet Destruction Unit from Arizona has been active since 2004 and already released several albums, and it's part of the so-called New American Underground Heavy.

You can expect an avalanche of psychedelic punk/noise that is terrorizing your eardrums. The vocals are hidden between the instruments, the distortion and the noise. The songs sound quite crammed, and it feels like there is no structure in most songs. Perhaps that is the intention, but it bothers me sometimes. Occasionally, I noticed something that feels like a nice starter for a song, like on Salvation that has a structure and a nice instrumental interlude. Animal Instinct also sounds nice, sultry and captivating. On If Death Ever Slept they almost sound hardcore.

For me, it feels like Destruction Unit is missing a musical direction on this release. Is it because of the new line-up? Who knows, nevertheless I found them better on Void or Desert Sun.

Negative Feedback Resistor remains a bit of a missed opportunity. Now available on CD and vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, or just as free download via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Het vijftal van Destruction Unit uit Arizona is al sedert 2004 actief en brachten reeds verschillende albums uit, en behoort tot de New American Heavy Underground.

Verwacht je aan een lawine van psychedelische punk/noise die je trommelvliezen terroriseert. De zang zit vrij ver tussen de instrumenten, de galm, de distortion en de noise. De songs klinken nogal volgepropt en rommelig. Het is dus zoeken naar enige structuur in de songs. Misschien is dat de bedoeling, maar mij stoort het soms. Hier en daar merk ik wel een leuke aanzet voor een song, zoals bijv. Salvation, dat wel een duidelijke structuur en een aardig instrumentaal tussenstuk bevat. Op If Death Ever Slept klinken ze bijna hardcore, maar wel gevat en gebald. Ook Animal Instinct klinkt aardig, broeierig en meeslepend.

Voor de rest heb ik wel een beetje het gevoel dat Destruction Unit wat muzikale richting mist op deze release. Ligt het aan de nieuwe line-up? Wie zal het zeggen, desalniettemin vond ik ze toch beter klinken op Void of Desert Sun. 

Negative Feedback Resistor blijft wat een gemiste kans. Nu verkrijgbaar op cd en vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, of gewoon gratis te downloaden via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
LA HORDE • Dystopie
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: PUNK
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
NORMA LOY
Baphomet
16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain