tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : DESTRUCTION UNIT - Negative Feedback Resistor

DESTRUCTION UNIT

Negative Feedback Resistor

MusicCD
HardcoreNoisePsychedelicPunk

[65/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The quintet Destruction Unit from Arizona has been active since 2004 and already released several albums, and it's part of the so-called New American Underground Heavy.

You can expect an avalanche of psychedelic punk/noise that is terrorizing your eardrums. The vocals are hidden between the instruments, the distortion and the noise. The songs sound quite crammed, and it feels like there is no structure in most songs. Perhaps that is the intention, but it bothers me sometimes. Occasionally, I noticed something that feels like a nice starter for a song, like on Salvation that has a structure and a nice instrumental interlude. Animal Instinct also sounds nice, sultry and captivating. On If Death Ever Slept they almost sound hardcore.

For me, it feels like Destruction Unit is missing a musical direction on this release. Is it because of the new line-up? Who knows, nevertheless I found them better on Void or Desert Sun.

Negative Feedback Resistor remains a bit of a missed opportunity. Now available on CD and vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, or just as free download via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Het vijftal van Destruction Unit uit Arizona is al sedert 2004 actief en brachten reeds verschillende albums uit, en behoort tot de New American Heavy Underground.

Verwacht je aan een lawine van psychedelische punk/noise die je trommelvliezen terroriseert. De zang zit vrij ver tussen de instrumenten, de galm, de distortion en de noise. De songs klinken nogal volgepropt en rommelig. Het is dus zoeken naar enige structuur in de songs. Misschien is dat de bedoeling, maar mij stoort het soms. Hier en daar merk ik wel een leuke aanzet voor een song, zoals bijv. Salvation, dat wel een duidelijke structuur en een aardig instrumentaal tussenstuk bevat. Op If Death Ever Slept klinken ze bijna hardcore, maar wel gevat en gebald. Ook Animal Instinct klinkt aardig, broeierig en meeslepend.

Voor de rest heb ik wel een beetje het gevoel dat Destruction Unit wat muzikale richting mist op deze release. Ligt het aan de nieuwe line-up? Wie zal het zeggen, desalniettemin vond ik ze toch beter klinken op Void of Desert Sun. 

Negative Feedback Resistor blijft wat een gemiste kans. Nu verkrijgbaar op cd en vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, of gewoon gratis te downloaden via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
LA HORDE • Dystopie
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht

Music reviews

22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
INDOCHINE
Tes Yeux Noirs
21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O