tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : DESTRUCTION UNIT - Negative Feedback Resistor

DESTRUCTION UNIT

Negative Feedback Resistor

MusicCD
HardcoreNoisePsychedelicPunk

[65/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The quintet Destruction Unit from Arizona has been active since 2004 and already released several albums, and it's part of the so-called New American Underground Heavy.

You can expect an avalanche of psychedelic punk/noise that is terrorizing your eardrums. The vocals are hidden between the instruments, the distortion and the noise. The songs sound quite crammed, and it feels like there is no structure in most songs. Perhaps that is the intention, but it bothers me sometimes. Occasionally, I noticed something that feels like a nice starter for a song, like on Salvation that has a structure and a nice instrumental interlude. Animal Instinct also sounds nice, sultry and captivating. On If Death Ever Slept they almost sound hardcore.

For me, it feels like Destruction Unit is missing a musical direction on this release. Is it because of the new line-up? Who knows, nevertheless I found them better on Void or Desert Sun.

Negative Feedback Resistor remains a bit of a missed opportunity. Now available on CD and vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, or just as free download via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Het vijftal van Destruction Unit uit Arizona is al sedert 2004 actief en brachten reeds verschillende albums uit, en behoort tot de New American Heavy Underground.

Verwacht je aan een lawine van psychedelische punk/noise die je trommelvliezen terroriseert. De zang zit vrij ver tussen de instrumenten, de galm, de distortion en de noise. De songs klinken nogal volgepropt en rommelig. Het is dus zoeken naar enige structuur in de songs. Misschien is dat de bedoeling, maar mij stoort het soms. Hier en daar merk ik wel een leuke aanzet voor een song, zoals bijv. Salvation, dat wel een duidelijke structuur en een aardig instrumentaal tussenstuk bevat. Op If Death Ever Slept klinken ze bijna hardcore, maar wel gevat en gebald. Ook Animal Instinct klinkt aardig, broeierig en meeslepend.

Voor de rest heb ik wel een beetje het gevoel dat Destruction Unit wat muzikale richting mist op deze release. Ligt het aan de nieuwe line-up? Wie zal het zeggen, desalniettemin vond ik ze toch beter klinken op Void of Desert Sun. 

Negative Feedback Resistor blijft wat een gemiste kans. Nu verkrijgbaar op cd en vinyl via Sacred Bones Records, of gewoon gratis te downloaden via Adult Swim.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015

 

Same genre: HARDCORE
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
LA HORDE • Dystopie
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
PRETTY HURTS • Expectations
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent