tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/11/2015 : BLUE STAHLI - The Devil

BLUE STAHLI

The Devil

MusicCD
Industrial MetalIndustrial Rock

[70/100]   

FiXT
06/11/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

It’s strange to review an album which has given so much away in advance. It has to be said that Blue Stahli knows which songs are the best, because songs like Not Over Till We Say SoEnemy and Ready Aim Fire are the best on this record.

In comparison to these songs, the other songs sound a little too easy. Listen to tracks like the heavy modern industrial metal with hip-hop influences Armageddon, the Muse influenced The Fall, the heavy industrial metal song with a poppy chorus line You’ll Get What’s Coming or pop oriented songs like Down In FlamesShoot Em UpThe Devil and Rockstar.

The music and production are so ‘pumped up’ that it constantly sounds bombastic and in your face. There is almost no room for nuance. It probably sounds better when the band uses more diversity in his sound. The only exception is the last song on this album, Demon. That song is not so bombastic, but it is more oriented on the drums.

In the end, The Devil is a good industrial rock album, but it left us with the feeling that it could have been better. You only have to listen to the best songs on this album to prove it.

Ron SCHOONWATER
06/11/2015


NL

We zullen maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen door te stellen dat Blue Stahli verdraaid zelf goed weet welke nummers hun beste zijn, Enemy en Ready Aim Fire dus.

In vergelijking klinken ze op andere tracks net iets te licht. Voorbeelden daarvan zijn de zware moderne industriële metal met hip-hop invloeden van Armageddon, The Fall dat schatplichtig is aan Muse of popachtige songs zoals Down In Flames, Shoot Em Up, The Devil en Rockstar.

De muziek en de productie zijn zo opgepompt dat het te bombastisch wordt. Het ontploft in je gezicht, maar de band had beter voor meer diversiteit in zijn geluid gekozen. De enige uitzondering is het laatste nummer Demon, dat meer op de drums gericht is en heel wat minder pompeus klinkt.

Al bij al is The Devil een goed album, maar het laat ons met het gevoel achter dat het beter had gekund. Je hoeft alleen maar naar de beste nummers luisteren om dit te beamen.

Ron SCHOONWATER
06/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures