tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/01/2016 : HEARTLAY - Remedy (EP)

HEARTLAY

Remedy (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial MetalRock

[75/100]   

Self-released
07/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, Aaron Sadrin released the excellent EP Injection under the name Heartlay (a one-man project), an album that contained elements of goth rock and metal. On his latest EP Remedy, this Frenchman opts for metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn.

The opener Bring You Down is dominated by his usual sound: heavy guitars and industrial influences. Not bad, but the chorus is somewhat too flat. On Consequence Heartlay Aaron finds a perfect balance between the synths and the heavy guitars, and it’s a catchy song. The Battle has a fine bass and ditto percussion, even though the vocals could have been better. Through the Window is a good rock track. Black Walls is the final song. Just like on Injection, it is an atmospheric, almost entirely instrumental song that is dominated by synths that are reminiscent of Gary Numan.

Heartlay lovers will be pleased with this new release that is almost as good as the previous one. I say almost, because Injection was slightly better and had stronger melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


NL

Eind vorig jaar bracht Aaron Sadrin als Heartlay (een eenmansproject) met Injection een prima ep die elementen van gothrock en metal bevat. Op zijn nieuwste ep Remedy gaat deze Fransman nog meer in de richting van metal. Het is muziek die dicht bij Limp Bizkit of Korn aanleunt.

De opener Bring You Down klinkt zoals we van hem gewoon zijn: zware gitaren en wat industrial invloeden. Niet slecht, maar een refrein dat wat gewoontjes klinkt. Op Consequence vindt hij een mooi evenwicht tussen de synths en de zware gitaren. Het is al bij al een catchy nummer. The Battle bevat fijne bas en percussie. De zang komt wat minder goed uit de verf. Through the Window is een goede rocktrack. Met Black Walls eindigt hij, net zoals op Injection, met een sfeervol, bijna volledig instrumentaal nummer dat wordt gedomineerd door synths die aan Gary Numan doen denken.

De liefhebbers van Heartlay zullen tevreden zijn met deze nieuwe release die bijna net zo goed is als de vorige. Ik zeg bijna, omdat Injection net iets meer beklijvend was en sterkere melodielijnen had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm