tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/01/2016 : HEARTLAY - Remedy (EP)

HEARTLAY

Remedy (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial MetalRock

[75/100]   

Self-released
07/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, Aaron Sadrin released the excellent EP Injection under the name Heartlay (a one-man project), an album that contained elements of goth rock and metal. On his latest EP Remedy, this Frenchman opts for metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn.

The opener Bring You Down is dominated by his usual sound: heavy guitars and industrial influences. Not bad, but the chorus is somewhat too flat. On Consequence Heartlay Aaron finds a perfect balance between the synths and the heavy guitars, and it’s a catchy song. The Battle has a fine bass and ditto percussion, even though the vocals could have been better. Through the Window is a good rock track. Black Walls is the final song. Just like on Injection, it is an atmospheric, almost entirely instrumental song that is dominated by synths that are reminiscent of Gary Numan.

Heartlay lovers will be pleased with this new release that is almost as good as the previous one. I say almost, because Injection was slightly better and had stronger melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


NL

Eind vorig jaar bracht Aaron Sadrin als Heartlay (een eenmansproject) met Injection een prima ep die elementen van gothrock en metal bevat. Op zijn nieuwste ep Remedy gaat deze Fransman nog meer in de richting van metal. Het is muziek die dicht bij Limp Bizkit of Korn aanleunt.

De opener Bring You Down klinkt zoals we van hem gewoon zijn: zware gitaren en wat industrial invloeden. Niet slecht, maar een refrein dat wat gewoontjes klinkt. Op Consequence vindt hij een mooi evenwicht tussen de synths en de zware gitaren. Het is al bij al een catchy nummer. The Battle bevat fijne bas en percussie. De zang komt wat minder goed uit de verf. Through the Window is een goede rocktrack. Met Black Walls eindigt hij, net zoals op Injection, met een sfeervol, bijna volledig instrumentaal nummer dat wordt gedomineerd door synths die aan Gary Numan doen denken.

De liefhebbers van Heartlay zullen tevreden zijn met deze nieuwe release die bijna net zo goed is als de vorige. Ik zeg bijna, omdat Injection net iets meer beklijvend was en sterkere melodielijnen had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)