tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/01/2016 : HEARTLAY - Remedy (EP)

HEARTLAY

Remedy (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial MetalRock

[75/100]   

Self-released
07/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, Aaron Sadrin released the excellent EP Injection under the name Heartlay (a one-man project), an album that contained elements of goth rock and metal. On his latest EP Remedy, this Frenchman opts for metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn.

The opener Bring You Down is dominated by his usual sound: heavy guitars and industrial influences. Not bad, but the chorus is somewhat too flat. On Consequence Heartlay Aaron finds a perfect balance between the synths and the heavy guitars, and it’s a catchy song. The Battle has a fine bass and ditto percussion, even though the vocals could have been better. Through the Window is a good rock track. Black Walls is the final song. Just like on Injection, it is an atmospheric, almost entirely instrumental song that is dominated by synths that are reminiscent of Gary Numan.

Heartlay lovers will be pleased with this new release that is almost as good as the previous one. I say almost, because Injection was slightly better and had stronger melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


NL

Eind vorig jaar bracht Aaron Sadrin als Heartlay (een eenmansproject) met Injection een prima ep die elementen van gothrock en metal bevat. Op zijn nieuwste ep Remedy gaat deze Fransman nog meer in de richting van metal. Het is muziek die dicht bij Limp Bizkit of Korn aanleunt.

De opener Bring You Down klinkt zoals we van hem gewoon zijn: zware gitaren en wat industrial invloeden. Niet slecht, maar een refrein dat wat gewoontjes klinkt. Op Consequence vindt hij een mooi evenwicht tussen de synths en de zware gitaren. Het is al bij al een catchy nummer. The Battle bevat fijne bas en percussie. De zang komt wat minder goed uit de verf. Through the Window is een goede rocktrack. Met Black Walls eindigt hij, net zoals op Injection, met een sfeervol, bijna volledig instrumentaal nummer dat wordt gedomineerd door synths die aan Gary Numan doen denken.

De liefhebbers van Heartlay zullen tevreden zijn met deze nieuwe release die bijna net zo goed is als de vorige. Ik zeg bijna, omdat Injection net iets meer beklijvend was en sterkere melodielijnen had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis