tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/01/2016 : HEARTLAY - Remedy (EP)

HEARTLAY

Remedy (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial MetalRock

[75/100]   

Self-released
07/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, Aaron Sadrin released the excellent EP Injection under the name Heartlay (a one-man project), an album that contained elements of goth rock and metal. On his latest EP Remedy, this Frenchman opts for metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn.

The opener Bring You Down is dominated by his usual sound: heavy guitars and industrial influences. Not bad, but the chorus is somewhat too flat. On Consequence Heartlay Aaron finds a perfect balance between the synths and the heavy guitars, and it’s a catchy song. The Battle has a fine bass and ditto percussion, even though the vocals could have been better. Through the Window is a good rock track. Black Walls is the final song. Just like on Injection, it is an atmospheric, almost entirely instrumental song that is dominated by synths that are reminiscent of Gary Numan.

Heartlay lovers will be pleased with this new release that is almost as good as the previous one. I say almost, because Injection was slightly better and had stronger melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


NL

Eind vorig jaar bracht Aaron Sadrin als Heartlay (een eenmansproject) met Injection een prima ep die elementen van gothrock en metal bevat. Op zijn nieuwste ep Remedy gaat deze Fransman nog meer in de richting van metal. Het is muziek die dicht bij Limp Bizkit of Korn aanleunt.

De opener Bring You Down klinkt zoals we van hem gewoon zijn: zware gitaren en wat industrial invloeden. Niet slecht, maar een refrein dat wat gewoontjes klinkt. Op Consequence vindt hij een mooi evenwicht tussen de synths en de zware gitaren. Het is al bij al een catchy nummer. The Battle bevat fijne bas en percussie. De zang komt wat minder goed uit de verf. Through the Window is een goede rocktrack. Met Black Walls eindigt hij, net zoals op Injection, met een sfeervol, bijna volledig instrumentaal nummer dat wordt gedomineerd door synths die aan Gary Numan doen denken.

De liefhebbers van Heartlay zullen tevreden zijn met deze nieuwe release die bijna net zo goed is als de vorige. Ik zeg bijna, omdat Injection net iets meer beklijvend was en sterkere melodielijnen had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline