tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/01/2016 : HEARTLAY - Remedy (EP)

HEARTLAY

Remedy (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
Industrial MetalRock

[75/100]   

Self-released
07/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, Aaron Sadrin released the excellent EP Injection under the name Heartlay (a one-man project), an album that contained elements of goth rock and metal. On his latest EP Remedy, this Frenchman opts for metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn.

The opener Bring You Down is dominated by his usual sound: heavy guitars and industrial influences. Not bad, but the chorus is somewhat too flat. On Consequence Heartlay Aaron finds a perfect balance between the synths and the heavy guitars, and it’s a catchy song. The Battle has a fine bass and ditto percussion, even though the vocals could have been better. Through the Window is a good rock track. Black Walls is the final song. Just like on Injection, it is an atmospheric, almost entirely instrumental song that is dominated by synths that are reminiscent of Gary Numan.

Heartlay lovers will be pleased with this new release that is almost as good as the previous one. I say almost, because Injection was slightly better and had stronger melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


NL

Eind vorig jaar bracht Aaron Sadrin als Heartlay (een eenmansproject) met Injection een prima ep die elementen van gothrock en metal bevat. Op zijn nieuwste ep Remedy gaat deze Fransman nog meer in de richting van metal. Het is muziek die dicht bij Limp Bizkit of Korn aanleunt.

De opener Bring You Down klinkt zoals we van hem gewoon zijn: zware gitaren en wat industrial invloeden. Niet slecht, maar een refrein dat wat gewoontjes klinkt. Op Consequence vindt hij een mooi evenwicht tussen de synths en de zware gitaren. Het is al bij al een catchy nummer. The Battle bevat fijne bas en percussie. De zang komt wat minder goed uit de verf. Through the Window is een goede rocktrack. Met Black Walls eindigt hij, net zoals op Injection, met een sfeervol, bijna volledig instrumentaal nummer dat wordt gedomineerd door synths die aan Gary Numan doen denken.

De liefhebbers van Heartlay zullen tevreden zijn met deze nieuwe release die bijna net zo goed is als de vorige. Ik zeg bijna, omdat Injection net iets meer beklijvend was en sterkere melodielijnen had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/01/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)