tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

05/01/2016 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

THE MARY HART ATTACK

Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

Concert
05/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow bands, it is interesting to look at their evolution. Sometimes it goes wrong, especially when bands opt for the commercial approach, but in other cases you notice a more mature (better) sound. A Flemish band that has experienced this maturation process in the best way is The Mary Hart Attack. A while ago, we reviewed on our pages their excellent tape A Dark Green Light. However, yesterday the audience of the overcrowded Video (venue in Ghent-ed.) could only conclude that their first release was just a first step.

When The Mary Hart Attack recorded their tape, they absolutely had no stage experience. Apparently, these tracks were just a phase, because their gigs (which they do have now) contain a set that consists of brand new songs, and you even hear a new (and better!) Mary Hart Attack sound!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck don’t know how to describe their music. Anyway, automatically you’ll end up with post-punk and shoegaze. Meanwhile, these genres are so diverse (and contain so many rubbish) that they say nothing about the music. And yes, the words are predictable, but The Mary Hart Attack play real post-punk and shoegaze!

Nothing is harder for a band than playing in a full rock café (ordering drinks always is a priority), but that was no problem for this trio. The music had deafening guitars (think of The Jesus and Mary Chain) and a sound that can be situated somewhere between A Place To Bury Strangers and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. It sounded dirty, menacing, poignant and melodic. Exactly how rock'n'roll should sound!

When they said some things to the audience, you could feel that these guys are still looking for some self-confidence, but that’s just another phase. Their next step is recording a first album. We’re thrilled!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


NL

Als je bands volgt, dan is het mooiste wat er bestaat het waarnemen van evolutie. Soms loopt het fouta af, bijv. als bands volop voor de commercie gaan, maar in andere gevallen valt je een rijper (zeg maar volwassen) geluid op. Als er in Vlaanderen één band is die dit rijpingsproces goed verteerd heeft, dan is dat ongetwijfeld The Mary Hart Attack. Een tijdje geleden recenseerden we op onze pagina’s hun tape A Dark Green Light. Een fijne release die er ons toe aanzette om de cassette meermaals af te spelen. Wie echter gisteren de overvolle Video bezocht, kon nadien alleen maar vaststellen dat hun eerste wapenfeit slechts een aanloop naar meer was.

De tape was opgenomen zonder dat de band ook maar één seconde podiumervaring had. Blijkbaar waren die nummers ook niet meer dan een fase, want de optredens (die er ondertussen dankzij Soundboxes wel zijn) bevatten een set vol gloednieuwe nummers, en er is zelfs een nieuw (en beter!) Mary Hart Attack-geluid hoorbaar!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck weten zelf niet goed hoe hun muziek moet omschreven worden, toch kom je automatisch bij postpunk en shoegaze terecht. Het zijn genres die ondertussen zo divers zijn (en zo veel rommel bevatten) dat het een vlag is die nauwelijks de lading dekt. En jawel, hoe voorspeelbaar de woorden ook klinken, doen ze dat bij The Mary Hart Attack wel.

Niets is moeilijker voor een band dan te spelen in een vol rockcafé (het bestellen van de pinten is nu eenmaal een prioritaire zaak), maar dat was voor dit trio geen probleem. De drie brachten een geluidsexplosie met loeiharde gitaren (denk aan The Jesus & Mary Chain) en een geluid dat zich ergens tussen A Place To Bury Strangers en Black Rebel Motorcycle Club situeert. Het klonk vies, dreigend, aangrijpend en melodieus. Precies wat je van rock ’n roll verwacht.

Aan de bindteksten kon je horen dat deze muzikanten zich nog wat onwennig voelen en op zoek zijn naar zelfvertrouwen, maar ook dat is niet meer dan een fase! De volgende stap van deze jongens is het uitbrengen van een eerste album, Dat wordt uitkijken dus!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them