tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

05/01/2016 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

THE MARY HART ATTACK

Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

Concert
05/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow bands, it is interesting to look at their evolution. Sometimes it goes wrong, especially when bands opt for the commercial approach, but in other cases you notice a more mature (better) sound. A Flemish band that has experienced this maturation process in the best way is The Mary Hart Attack. A while ago, we reviewed on our pages their excellent tape A Dark Green Light. However, yesterday the audience of the overcrowded Video (venue in Ghent-ed.) could only conclude that their first release was just a first step.

When The Mary Hart Attack recorded their tape, they absolutely had no stage experience. Apparently, these tracks were just a phase, because their gigs (which they do have now) contain a set that consists of brand new songs, and you even hear a new (and better!) Mary Hart Attack sound!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck don’t know how to describe their music. Anyway, automatically you’ll end up with post-punk and shoegaze. Meanwhile, these genres are so diverse (and contain so many rubbish) that they say nothing about the music. And yes, the words are predictable, but The Mary Hart Attack play real post-punk and shoegaze!

Nothing is harder for a band than playing in a full rock café (ordering drinks always is a priority), but that was no problem for this trio. The music had deafening guitars (think of The Jesus and Mary Chain) and a sound that can be situated somewhere between A Place To Bury Strangers and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. It sounded dirty, menacing, poignant and melodic. Exactly how rock'n'roll should sound!

When they said some things to the audience, you could feel that these guys are still looking for some self-confidence, but that’s just another phase. Their next step is recording a first album. We’re thrilled!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


NL

Als je bands volgt, dan is het mooiste wat er bestaat het waarnemen van evolutie. Soms loopt het fouta af, bijv. als bands volop voor de commercie gaan, maar in andere gevallen valt je een rijper (zeg maar volwassen) geluid op. Als er in Vlaanderen één band is die dit rijpingsproces goed verteerd heeft, dan is dat ongetwijfeld The Mary Hart Attack. Een tijdje geleden recenseerden we op onze pagina’s hun tape A Dark Green Light. Een fijne release die er ons toe aanzette om de cassette meermaals af te spelen. Wie echter gisteren de overvolle Video bezocht, kon nadien alleen maar vaststellen dat hun eerste wapenfeit slechts een aanloop naar meer was.

De tape was opgenomen zonder dat de band ook maar één seconde podiumervaring had. Blijkbaar waren die nummers ook niet meer dan een fase, want de optredens (die er ondertussen dankzij Soundboxes wel zijn) bevatten een set vol gloednieuwe nummers, en er is zelfs een nieuw (en beter!) Mary Hart Attack-geluid hoorbaar!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck weten zelf niet goed hoe hun muziek moet omschreven worden, toch kom je automatisch bij postpunk en shoegaze terecht. Het zijn genres die ondertussen zo divers zijn (en zo veel rommel bevatten) dat het een vlag is die nauwelijks de lading dekt. En jawel, hoe voorspeelbaar de woorden ook klinken, doen ze dat bij The Mary Hart Attack wel.

Niets is moeilijker voor een band dan te spelen in een vol rockcafé (het bestellen van de pinten is nu eenmaal een prioritaire zaak), maar dat was voor dit trio geen probleem. De drie brachten een geluidsexplosie met loeiharde gitaren (denk aan The Jesus & Mary Chain) en een geluid dat zich ergens tussen A Place To Bury Strangers en Black Rebel Motorcycle Club situeert. Het klonk vies, dreigend, aangrijpend en melodieus. Precies wat je van rock ’n roll verwacht.

Aan de bindteksten kon je horen dat deze muzikanten zich nog wat onwennig voelen en op zoek zijn naar zelfvertrouwen, maar ook dat is niet meer dan een fase! De volgende stap van deze jongens is het uitbrengen van een eerste album, Dat wordt uitkijken dus!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap