tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

05/01/2016 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

THE MARY HART ATTACK

Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

Concert
05/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow bands, it is interesting to look at their evolution. Sometimes it goes wrong, especially when bands opt for the commercial approach, but in other cases you notice a more mature (better) sound. A Flemish band that has experienced this maturation process in the best way is The Mary Hart Attack. A while ago, we reviewed on our pages their excellent tape A Dark Green Light. However, yesterday the audience of the overcrowded Video (venue in Ghent-ed.) could only conclude that their first release was just a first step.

When The Mary Hart Attack recorded their tape, they absolutely had no stage experience. Apparently, these tracks were just a phase, because their gigs (which they do have now) contain a set that consists of brand new songs, and you even hear a new (and better!) Mary Hart Attack sound!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck don’t know how to describe their music. Anyway, automatically you’ll end up with post-punk and shoegaze. Meanwhile, these genres are so diverse (and contain so many rubbish) that they say nothing about the music. And yes, the words are predictable, but The Mary Hart Attack play real post-punk and shoegaze!

Nothing is harder for a band than playing in a full rock café (ordering drinks always is a priority), but that was no problem for this trio. The music had deafening guitars (think of The Jesus and Mary Chain) and a sound that can be situated somewhere between A Place To Bury Strangers and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. It sounded dirty, menacing, poignant and melodic. Exactly how rock'n'roll should sound!

When they said some things to the audience, you could feel that these guys are still looking for some self-confidence, but that’s just another phase. Their next step is recording a first album. We’re thrilled!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


NL

Als je bands volgt, dan is het mooiste wat er bestaat het waarnemen van evolutie. Soms loopt het fouta af, bijv. als bands volop voor de commercie gaan, maar in andere gevallen valt je een rijper (zeg maar volwassen) geluid op. Als er in Vlaanderen één band is die dit rijpingsproces goed verteerd heeft, dan is dat ongetwijfeld The Mary Hart Attack. Een tijdje geleden recenseerden we op onze pagina’s hun tape A Dark Green Light. Een fijne release die er ons toe aanzette om de cassette meermaals af te spelen. Wie echter gisteren de overvolle Video bezocht, kon nadien alleen maar vaststellen dat hun eerste wapenfeit slechts een aanloop naar meer was.

De tape was opgenomen zonder dat de band ook maar één seconde podiumervaring had. Blijkbaar waren die nummers ook niet meer dan een fase, want de optredens (die er ondertussen dankzij Soundboxes wel zijn) bevatten een set vol gloednieuwe nummers, en er is zelfs een nieuw (en beter!) Mary Hart Attack-geluid hoorbaar!

Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck weten zelf niet goed hoe hun muziek moet omschreven worden, toch kom je automatisch bij postpunk en shoegaze terecht. Het zijn genres die ondertussen zo divers zijn (en zo veel rommel bevatten) dat het een vlag is die nauwelijks de lading dekt. En jawel, hoe voorspeelbaar de woorden ook klinken, doen ze dat bij The Mary Hart Attack wel.

Niets is moeilijker voor een band dan te spelen in een vol rockcafé (het bestellen van de pinten is nu eenmaal een prioritaire zaak), maar dat was voor dit trio geen probleem. De drie brachten een geluidsexplosie met loeiharde gitaren (denk aan The Jesus & Mary Chain) en een geluid dat zich ergens tussen A Place To Bury Strangers en Black Rebel Motorcycle Club situeert. Het klonk vies, dreigend, aangrijpend en melodieus. Precies wat je van rock ’n roll verwacht.

Aan de bindteksten kon je horen dat deze muzikanten zich nog wat onwennig voelen en op zoek zijn naar zelfvertrouwen, maar ook dat is niet meer dan een fase! De volgende stap van deze jongens is het uitbrengen van een eerste album, Dat wordt uitkijken dus!

Didier BECU
05/01/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway