tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : KABAK - Avu

KABAK

Avu

MusicCD
Post Punk

[65/100]   

Whoreshipping Dead Cows/Irascible Distribution.
05/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

According to the dictionary rudimentary means: undeveloped, raw, something that is at an early stage.

Kabak describes itself as indie rock, although I personally would opt for post-punk. Guitar music with some synths in the background, with a sound that reminds me of what bands do in their early days. For instance, the guitar work is technically not that refined, which does not mean bad.

There are some nice songs on this album as the opener A Force (a worthy single) or Amatrice Cuir (with an intro that tends to The Clash). Sous La Roche starts strong: good drumming and the suspense lasts during the whole song. Avu also has a great start, but the second half of the song suffers from anemia. It seems like they missed some inspiration. Loin and Marais aren’t memorable tracks either, although Loin has a pretty catchy guitar lick. Passionara begins with a long sample of a classical piece and then evolves into a pretty interesting rock song.

In the bio, Kabak describes itself as Nick Cave and Sonic Youth. I'd rather say they’re influenced by The Birthday Party.

Their second album is rudimentary. The production definitely can be better, there is talent, but I miss the necessary musical skills. Perhaps this will come one day…

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


NL

Volgens het woordenboek betekent rudimentair: onontwikkeld, ruw, iets dat zich min of meer in een beginstadium bevindt.

Kabak omschrijft zichzelf als indierock, alhoewel ik zelf voor postpunk zou kiezen. De gitaarmuziek met wat synths op de achtergrond doet mij wat denken aan bands in hun beginperiode. Zo is het gitaarwerk technisch niet al te verfijnd, wat niet wil zeggen dat het slecht is.

Er staan wel enkele leuke songs op deze plaat zoals de opener A Force (een waardige single) of Amatrice Cuir (met een intro die naar The Clash neigt). Pantois kan niet over de volledige lengte overtuigen. Sous La Roche begint sterk: goed drumwerk, en men houdt er gedurende de hele song de spanning in. Avu begint ook sterk, maar de tweede helft van het nummer lijdt wat aan bloedarmoede. Het lijkt erop dat men wat inspiratie miste om de song helemaal uit te werken. Loin en Marais zijn helaas geen onvergetelijke tracks, alhoewel Loin nog een vrij catchy gitaarlick heeft. Passionara begint met een lange sample van een klassiek stuk vooraleer er overgegaan wordt naar een vrij interessante rocksong.

In z'n bio situeert Kabak zich ergens tussen Nick Cave en Sonic Youth. Net wat te hoog gegrepen, vrees ik. Ik zou eerder The Birthday Party als invloed noemen.

Dit is hun tweede album en dat klinkt zoals ik in de inleiding reeds vermeldde: rudimentair. De productie kan zeker beter, er is wel talent aanwezig, maar ik mis toch de nodige muzikale vakkundigheid. Misschien komt die nog… 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth