tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : KABAK - Avu

KABAK

Avu

MusicCD
Post Punk

[65/100]   

Whoreshipping Dead Cows/Irascible Distribution.
05/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

According to the dictionary rudimentary means: undeveloped, raw, something that is at an early stage.

Kabak describes itself as indie rock, although I personally would opt for post-punk. Guitar music with some synths in the background, with a sound that reminds me of what bands do in their early days. For instance, the guitar work is technically not that refined, which does not mean bad.

There are some nice songs on this album as the opener A Force (a worthy single) or Amatrice Cuir (with an intro that tends to The Clash). Sous La Roche starts strong: good drumming and the suspense lasts during the whole song. Avu also has a great start, but the second half of the song suffers from anemia. It seems like they missed some inspiration. Loin and Marais aren’t memorable tracks either, although Loin has a pretty catchy guitar lick. Passionara begins with a long sample of a classical piece and then evolves into a pretty interesting rock song.

In the bio, Kabak describes itself as Nick Cave and Sonic Youth. I'd rather say they’re influenced by The Birthday Party.

Their second album is rudimentary. The production definitely can be better, there is talent, but I miss the necessary musical skills. Perhaps this will come one day…

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


NL

Volgens het woordenboek betekent rudimentair: onontwikkeld, ruw, iets dat zich min of meer in een beginstadium bevindt.

Kabak omschrijft zichzelf als indierock, alhoewel ik zelf voor postpunk zou kiezen. De gitaarmuziek met wat synths op de achtergrond doet mij wat denken aan bands in hun beginperiode. Zo is het gitaarwerk technisch niet al te verfijnd, wat niet wil zeggen dat het slecht is.

Er staan wel enkele leuke songs op deze plaat zoals de opener A Force (een waardige single) of Amatrice Cuir (met een intro die naar The Clash neigt). Pantois kan niet over de volledige lengte overtuigen. Sous La Roche begint sterk: goed drumwerk, en men houdt er gedurende de hele song de spanning in. Avu begint ook sterk, maar de tweede helft van het nummer lijdt wat aan bloedarmoede. Het lijkt erop dat men wat inspiratie miste om de song helemaal uit te werken. Loin en Marais zijn helaas geen onvergetelijke tracks, alhoewel Loin nog een vrij catchy gitaarlick heeft. Passionara begint met een lange sample van een klassiek stuk vooraleer er overgegaan wordt naar een vrij interessante rocksong.

In z'n bio situeert Kabak zich ergens tussen Nick Cave en Sonic Youth. Net wat te hoog gegrepen, vrees ik. Ik zou eerder The Birthday Party als invloed noemen.

Dit is hun tweede album en dat klinkt zoals ik in de inleiding reeds vermeldde: rudimentair. De productie kan zeker beter, er is wel talent aanwezig, maar ik mis toch de nodige muzikale vakkundigheid. Misschien komt die nog… 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire