tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : KABAK - Avu

KABAK

Avu

MusicCD
Post Punk

[65/100]   

Whoreshipping Dead Cows/Irascible Distribution.
05/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

According to the dictionary rudimentary means: undeveloped, raw, something that is at an early stage.

Kabak describes itself as indie rock, although I personally would opt for post-punk. Guitar music with some synths in the background, with a sound that reminds me of what bands do in their early days. For instance, the guitar work is technically not that refined, which does not mean bad.

There are some nice songs on this album as the opener A Force (a worthy single) or Amatrice Cuir (with an intro that tends to The Clash). Sous La Roche starts strong: good drumming and the suspense lasts during the whole song. Avu also has a great start, but the second half of the song suffers from anemia. It seems like they missed some inspiration. Loin and Marais aren’t memorable tracks either, although Loin has a pretty catchy guitar lick. Passionara begins with a long sample of a classical piece and then evolves into a pretty interesting rock song.

In the bio, Kabak describes itself as Nick Cave and Sonic Youth. I'd rather say they’re influenced by The Birthday Party.

Their second album is rudimentary. The production definitely can be better, there is talent, but I miss the necessary musical skills. Perhaps this will come one day…

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


NL

Volgens het woordenboek betekent rudimentair: onontwikkeld, ruw, iets dat zich min of meer in een beginstadium bevindt.

Kabak omschrijft zichzelf als indierock, alhoewel ik zelf voor postpunk zou kiezen. De gitaarmuziek met wat synths op de achtergrond doet mij wat denken aan bands in hun beginperiode. Zo is het gitaarwerk technisch niet al te verfijnd, wat niet wil zeggen dat het slecht is.

Er staan wel enkele leuke songs op deze plaat zoals de opener A Force (een waardige single) of Amatrice Cuir (met een intro die naar The Clash neigt). Pantois kan niet over de volledige lengte overtuigen. Sous La Roche begint sterk: goed drumwerk, en men houdt er gedurende de hele song de spanning in. Avu begint ook sterk, maar de tweede helft van het nummer lijdt wat aan bloedarmoede. Het lijkt erop dat men wat inspiratie miste om de song helemaal uit te werken. Loin en Marais zijn helaas geen onvergetelijke tracks, alhoewel Loin nog een vrij catchy gitaarlick heeft. Passionara begint met een lange sample van een klassiek stuk vooraleer er overgegaan wordt naar een vrij interessante rocksong.

In z'n bio situeert Kabak zich ergens tussen Nick Cave en Sonic Youth. Net wat te hoog gegrepen, vrees ik. Ik zou eerder The Birthday Party als invloed noemen.

Dit is hun tweede album en dat klinkt zoals ik in de inleiding reeds vermeldde: rudimentair. De productie kan zeker beter, er is wel talent aanwezig, maar ik mis toch de nodige muzikale vakkundigheid. Misschien komt die nog… 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell