tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : KABAK - Avu

KABAK

Avu

MusicCD
Post Punk

[65/100]   

Whoreshipping Dead Cows/Irascible Distribution.
05/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

According to the dictionary rudimentary means: undeveloped, raw, something that is at an early stage.

Kabak describes itself as indie rock, although I personally would opt for post-punk. Guitar music with some synths in the background, with a sound that reminds me of what bands do in their early days. For instance, the guitar work is technically not that refined, which does not mean bad.

There are some nice songs on this album as the opener A Force (a worthy single) or Amatrice Cuir (with an intro that tends to The Clash). Sous La Roche starts strong: good drumming and the suspense lasts during the whole song. Avu also has a great start, but the second half of the song suffers from anemia. It seems like they missed some inspiration. Loin and Marais aren’t memorable tracks either, although Loin has a pretty catchy guitar lick. Passionara begins with a long sample of a classical piece and then evolves into a pretty interesting rock song.

In the bio, Kabak describes itself as Nick Cave and Sonic Youth. I'd rather say they’re influenced by The Birthday Party.

Their second album is rudimentary. The production definitely can be better, there is talent, but I miss the necessary musical skills. Perhaps this will come one day…

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


NL

Volgens het woordenboek betekent rudimentair: onontwikkeld, ruw, iets dat zich min of meer in een beginstadium bevindt.

Kabak omschrijft zichzelf als indierock, alhoewel ik zelf voor postpunk zou kiezen. De gitaarmuziek met wat synths op de achtergrond doet mij wat denken aan bands in hun beginperiode. Zo is het gitaarwerk technisch niet al te verfijnd, wat niet wil zeggen dat het slecht is.

Er staan wel enkele leuke songs op deze plaat zoals de opener A Force (een waardige single) of Amatrice Cuir (met een intro die naar The Clash neigt). Pantois kan niet over de volledige lengte overtuigen. Sous La Roche begint sterk: goed drumwerk, en men houdt er gedurende de hele song de spanning in. Avu begint ook sterk, maar de tweede helft van het nummer lijdt wat aan bloedarmoede. Het lijkt erop dat men wat inspiratie miste om de song helemaal uit te werken. Loin en Marais zijn helaas geen onvergetelijke tracks, alhoewel Loin nog een vrij catchy gitaarlick heeft. Passionara begint met een lange sample van een klassiek stuk vooraleer er overgegaan wordt naar een vrij interessante rocksong.

In z'n bio situeert Kabak zich ergens tussen Nick Cave en Sonic Youth. Net wat te hoog gegrepen, vrees ik. Ik zou eerder The Birthday Party als invloed noemen.

Dit is hun tweede album en dat klinkt zoals ik in de inleiding reeds vermeldde: rudimentair. De productie kan zeker beter, er is wel talent aanwezig, maar ik mis toch de nodige muzikale vakkundigheid. Misschien komt die nog… 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I