tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

24/10/2023 : PARTIKUL - Having Gone

PARTIKUL

Having Gone

MusicVinyl / Digital
Dark WavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Exit does not exist records
24/10/2023, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Brussels post-punk duo Partikul is well on its way to gaining a stronger following in the post-punk scene with their second full-length ‘Having Gone’, which was released on 1st September 2023. Their first release ‘Related Memories’ (October 2021), was also an absolutely smashing record and now gets a successor that maintains the same high quality level. Not every band has the ability to stay true to their roots, especially after having an already strong debut. Stef (vocals, guitar) and Aly (synths, programming, vocals) seem to breathe post-punk.

The ingredients are quite austere: a guitar twisted in some distortions, some basic synths that provide enjoyable basslines and a drum machine that does not even bother with complicated compositions. For me, the 'relative simplicity’, works. ‘Genocide’ spits out a sequence, which, supported by a psychedelic-like drum part, ditto synth melody and shoegaze guitar work, sends shivers deeply throughout your body. Stef's voice, which seems to come from quite a distance, immediately makes this opener a top song.

“If it works well, do it more” … is a quote from solution oriented therapeutic work. Well, it also works in music! ‘Straight White Line’ gets going with bone dry drums and a razor sharp bass, while Aly takes on the vocals. A voice that brings tragedy to the song. This is something what Partikul also has to offer, sometimes both sing like a duo and sometimes only one of them takes the lead vocals.

‘Take Your Hands Off Me' presents itself with more minimal vibes but is so nice and danceable. Halfway through it becomes a bit more Darkwave when the guitar takes on a roaring role.

Enough variation, tempo changes, sometimes loud, then more subdued. It makes it extremely enjoyable. ‘Stay’ is a primal post-punk song with a sound that could belong to the great masters a la Joy Division. Which is a compliment both ways on this one. Halfway there is a turn towards a heavier, even somewhat noisy sound. They do it all…

We don't need to add many words to ‘Sex Me’. The song sounds like its title. Vocally, Aly takes it in every direction. Even screaming, which also sounds a bit more piercing coming from Aly than from anyone else. Blessed!

Again some Darkwave with ‘Nothing Good In Me’. Nice groovy song. ‘Fascist Sons’ is a strong lash out at the type of sons who are not really loved. ‘X.T.C’. is the closing song. Here again a different sound. Howling, howling synths in the front, the guitars threateningly on the attack. For 5 minutes, melancholy triumphs.

Partikul does not surprise with this album. They confirm! To pay tribute to everything that is beautiful and good about post-punk. Convincing, averse to compromise. They sound unique in their own way. The two of them do it. 'Just like that'... and believe me, I've had the opportunity to see them live three times: they effortlessly captivate you. Even catchier than on the records. Play it loud, play it continuously.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/10/2023


NL

Het Brusselse postpunkduo Partikul krijgt nog wat steviger voet aan de grond in postpunkland. Op 1 september 2023 verscheen hun tweede langspeler Having Gone. Hun eersteling Related Memories (oktober 2021), die ook al een absolute knalplaat was, krijgt nu een opvolger die hetzelfde niveau aanhoudt. Het is niet elke band gegeven om trouw aan de roots even hard uit te halen, zeker niet na een al robuust debuut. Stef (vocals, gitaar) en Aly (synths, programming, vocals) ademen postpunk.

De ingrediënten zijn vrij sober: een gitaar gewenteld in wat vervormingen en enkele basic synths die zorgen voor genietbare baslijnen, een drumcomputer die ook niet de meest ingewikkelde composities in de maag gesplitst krijgt. En voor mij werkt de ‘relatieve eenvoud’. Genocide spuwt een sequence, die geruggesteund door een psychedelisch aandoende drumpartij dito synthmelodie en shoegaze-gitaarwerk tot diep in je lijf rillingen veroorzaakt. Stefs stem er nog bij, die van veraf lijkt te komen maakt de opener al meteen een topnummer.

Wat goed werkt, doe daar meer van. Het is een quote uit het oplossingsgericht therapeutische werk. Wel het werkt ook in de muziek, blijkt nu. Straight White Line trekt zich op gang met kurkdroge drums en vlijmscherpe bas. Aly neemt het vocale op zich. Een stem die tragiek in de song brengt. Wat Partikul ook nog een extra biedt: soms zingen beide lieden in duo, dan weer neemt de één, dan de ander de lead vocals op zich.
Take Your Hands Off Me dient zich met wat meer minimal-vibes aan. Maar zo lekker dansbaar. Halfweg wordt het wat meer darkwave qua sound als de gitaar zichzelf een ronkende rol aanmeet.

Variatie genoeg, tempowissels, dan weer schreeuwerig dan weer wat meer ingetogen. Het maakt het uitermate genietbaar. Stay is een oer-postpunksong met een sound die van de grootmeesters à la Joy Division zou kunnen zijn. Wat in beide richtingen een compliment is in deze. Goed halfweg een bocht naar een zwaardere, zelfs wat noisy aandoende sound. Ze doen het allemaal…
Aan Sex Me hoeven we niet zoveel woorden toe te voegen. De song klinkt zoals hij heet. Vocaal laat Aly zich heel goed gaan in alle richtingen. Tot schreeuwen toe, wat ook bij Aly nog net wat doordringender klinkt dan bij wie dan ook. Zalig!
Wat darkwave opnieuw met Nothing Good In Me. Lekkere groovy song. Fascist Sons is een stevige uithaal naar het type zonen dat niet echt geliefd is. X.T.C. is de slotsong. Ook hier weer aan andere sound. Huilende, schreiende synths in de frontlinie, de gitaren dreigend in de aanval. 5 minuten lang zegeviert de weemoed.

Partikul verrast niet met dit album. Ze bevestigen. Dat ze alles wat mooi en goed is aan de postpunk alle eer te betonen. Overtuigend, wars van compromissen. Ze klinken op hun manier uniek. Ze doen het met hun twee. ‘Zomaar’… En geloof me, ik mocht ze al drie keer live aan het werk zien: ze pakken je moeiteloos in. Nog pakkender dan op de vinyls. Play it loud, play it continiously.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/10/2023


24/10/2023 : PARTIKUL - Having Gone 24/10/2023 : PARTIKUL - Having Gone

Music reviews

22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called
25
01
KRAMM
Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
18
02
BESTIAL MOUTHS Rips & Re-Stitches With New Remix LP, 'BACKBONE'

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
21
02
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
20
02
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park