tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2015 : STAKBABBER - Polarized

STAKBABBER

Polarized

MusicVinyl
Dark WavePost PunkRock

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Stakbabber is the the band of Mick Ness. In a previous life he was a member of the Ultra movement in Amsterdam and had a band named Mick Ness & The Issues. Later, he was the lead singer and guitarist of the Hungarian band Sexepil.

Polarized is the debut of the five-piece ensemble Stakbabber and contains eight songs on LP and ten on CD. The tracks are catchy, rock with elements that refer to darkwave and post-punk, but with an original and contemporary sound. The vocals are top too: melancholic, melodic and with echoes. The effects on the voice are very effective and well dosed. The title and the cover refer to the polar explorers. Mick Ness is fascinated by these adventurers, who at the beginning of the last century crossed in difficult circumstances the polar continent.

Opener Black Pony is an instant hit: a fine text that perfectly complements the music. A slightly psychedelic atmosphere that is transformed in a pop rock song (like Suede). Five Fingers to the Face floats on a catchy rock groove and has mesmerizing vocals. Spfct has beautiful keys and a Peter Hook-sounding bass line. A wonderfull dreamy song. On Steal Your Heart we hear more rock, with potent drums and echoing vocals in the chorus. Polarized has a dark edge and a post-punk feel. Energy is a poppy track. The mix of Lauterbrunnen could have been better, but Endurance is dreamy and makes you think of Mercury Rev. The two bonus tracks on the CD are of an equal quality.

A strong and intriguing debut on which everything sounds good: the songs, the mix, the vocals and the instruments... The best from the Netherlands I've heard this year. For 20 euros you get the album on white vinyl and you also get the CD. In my opinion, a bargain!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Stakbabber is de band van Mick Ness. In een vorig leven maakte hij deel uit van de Ultra-beweging in Amsterdam en trad hij op met zijn band Mick Ness & The Issues. Later was hij de zanger en gitarist van de Hongaarse band Sexepil.

Polarized is het debuut van het vijfkoppig ensemble Stakbabber en bevat op lp acht en op cd tien songs. De tracks zijn catchy, rock met hier en daar elementen die verwijzen naar darkwave en postpunk, toch klinkt het origineel en eigentijds. De vocals zijn top: melancholisch, melodieus en galmend. De effecten die bij momenten worden gebruikt op de stem zijn heel effectief en gedoseerd. De titel en de hoes verwijzen naar de poolreizigers. Mick Ness is gefascineerd door deze avonturiers, die in het begin van de vorige eeuw in moeilijke omstandigheden het poolcontinent doorkruisten.

Opener Black Pony is meteen raak: een fijne tekst die perfect de muziek aanvult. Een lichte psychedelische sfeer die in een poprocksong wordt gegoten (denk aan bijv. Suede). Five Fingers to the Face drijft op een pakkende rockgroove en bezwerende zang. Spfct heeft mooie keys en een Peter Hook-klinkende baslijn. Een heerlijk dromerig nummertje. Op Steal Your Heart komt de rockkant iets meer naar boven door middel van een rockriff. De drums klinken ook potenter. De vocals echoën hunkerend in het refrein. Polarized heeft een donker randje en een postpunkfeel. Energy is een poppy track. Lauterbrunnen lijdt wat onder de mix, maar Endurance is dan weer dromerig en doet aan Mercury Rev denken. De twee bonustracks op de cd zijn zeker evenwaardig.

Een sterk en intrigerend debuut waarop alles goed zit: de songs, de mix, de zang en de instrumenten… Het beste uit Nederland wat ik dit jaar heb gehoord. Voor 20 euro koop je de lp in wit vinyl en je krijgt er de cd bij. Een koopje volgens mij.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis