tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2015 : STAKBABBER - Polarized

STAKBABBER

Polarized

MusicVinyl
Dark WavePost PunkRock

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Stakbabber is the the band of Mick Ness. In a previous life he was a member of the Ultra movement in Amsterdam and had a band named Mick Ness & The Issues. Later, he was the lead singer and guitarist of the Hungarian band Sexepil.

Polarized is the debut of the five-piece ensemble Stakbabber and contains eight songs on LP and ten on CD. The tracks are catchy, rock with elements that refer to darkwave and post-punk, but with an original and contemporary sound. The vocals are top too: melancholic, melodic and with echoes. The effects on the voice are very effective and well dosed. The title and the cover refer to the polar explorers. Mick Ness is fascinated by these adventurers, who at the beginning of the last century crossed in difficult circumstances the polar continent.

Opener Black Pony is an instant hit: a fine text that perfectly complements the music. A slightly psychedelic atmosphere that is transformed in a pop rock song (like Suede). Five Fingers to the Face floats on a catchy rock groove and has mesmerizing vocals. Spfct has beautiful keys and a Peter Hook-sounding bass line. A wonderfull dreamy song. On Steal Your Heart we hear more rock, with potent drums and echoing vocals in the chorus. Polarized has a dark edge and a post-punk feel. Energy is a poppy track. The mix of Lauterbrunnen could have been better, but Endurance is dreamy and makes you think of Mercury Rev. The two bonus tracks on the CD are of an equal quality.

A strong and intriguing debut on which everything sounds good: the songs, the mix, the vocals and the instruments... The best from the Netherlands I've heard this year. For 20 euros you get the album on white vinyl and you also get the CD. In my opinion, a bargain!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Stakbabber is de band van Mick Ness. In een vorig leven maakte hij deel uit van de Ultra-beweging in Amsterdam en trad hij op met zijn band Mick Ness & The Issues. Later was hij de zanger en gitarist van de Hongaarse band Sexepil.

Polarized is het debuut van het vijfkoppig ensemble Stakbabber en bevat op lp acht en op cd tien songs. De tracks zijn catchy, rock met hier en daar elementen die verwijzen naar darkwave en postpunk, toch klinkt het origineel en eigentijds. De vocals zijn top: melancholisch, melodieus en galmend. De effecten die bij momenten worden gebruikt op de stem zijn heel effectief en gedoseerd. De titel en de hoes verwijzen naar de poolreizigers. Mick Ness is gefascineerd door deze avonturiers, die in het begin van de vorige eeuw in moeilijke omstandigheden het poolcontinent doorkruisten.

Opener Black Pony is meteen raak: een fijne tekst die perfect de muziek aanvult. Een lichte psychedelische sfeer die in een poprocksong wordt gegoten (denk aan bijv. Suede). Five Fingers to the Face drijft op een pakkende rockgroove en bezwerende zang. Spfct heeft mooie keys en een Peter Hook-klinkende baslijn. Een heerlijk dromerig nummertje. Op Steal Your Heart komt de rockkant iets meer naar boven door middel van een rockriff. De drums klinken ook potenter. De vocals echoën hunkerend in het refrein. Polarized heeft een donker randje en een postpunkfeel. Energy is een poppy track. Lauterbrunnen lijdt wat onder de mix, maar Endurance is dan weer dromerig en doet aan Mercury Rev denken. De twee bonustracks op de cd zijn zeker evenwaardig.

Een sterk en intrigerend debuut waarop alles goed zit: de songs, de mix, de zang en de instrumenten… Het beste uit Nederland wat ik dit jaar heb gehoord. Voor 20 euro koop je de lp in wit vinyl en je krijgt er de cd bij. Een koopje volgens mij.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)