tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2015 : STAKBABBER - Polarized

STAKBABBER

Polarized

MusicVinyl
Dark WavePost PunkRock

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Stakbabber is the the band of Mick Ness. In a previous life he was a member of the Ultra movement in Amsterdam and had a band named Mick Ness & The Issues. Later, he was the lead singer and guitarist of the Hungarian band Sexepil.

Polarized is the debut of the five-piece ensemble Stakbabber and contains eight songs on LP and ten on CD. The tracks are catchy, rock with elements that refer to darkwave and post-punk, but with an original and contemporary sound. The vocals are top too: melancholic, melodic and with echoes. The effects on the voice are very effective and well dosed. The title and the cover refer to the polar explorers. Mick Ness is fascinated by these adventurers, who at the beginning of the last century crossed in difficult circumstances the polar continent.

Opener Black Pony is an instant hit: a fine text that perfectly complements the music. A slightly psychedelic atmosphere that is transformed in a pop rock song (like Suede). Five Fingers to the Face floats on a catchy rock groove and has mesmerizing vocals. Spfct has beautiful keys and a Peter Hook-sounding bass line. A wonderfull dreamy song. On Steal Your Heart we hear more rock, with potent drums and echoing vocals in the chorus. Polarized has a dark edge and a post-punk feel. Energy is a poppy track. The mix of Lauterbrunnen could have been better, but Endurance is dreamy and makes you think of Mercury Rev. The two bonus tracks on the CD are of an equal quality.

A strong and intriguing debut on which everything sounds good: the songs, the mix, the vocals and the instruments... The best from the Netherlands I've heard this year. For 20 euros you get the album on white vinyl and you also get the CD. In my opinion, a bargain!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Stakbabber is de band van Mick Ness. In een vorig leven maakte hij deel uit van de Ultra-beweging in Amsterdam en trad hij op met zijn band Mick Ness & The Issues. Later was hij de zanger en gitarist van de Hongaarse band Sexepil.

Polarized is het debuut van het vijfkoppig ensemble Stakbabber en bevat op lp acht en op cd tien songs. De tracks zijn catchy, rock met hier en daar elementen die verwijzen naar darkwave en postpunk, toch klinkt het origineel en eigentijds. De vocals zijn top: melancholisch, melodieus en galmend. De effecten die bij momenten worden gebruikt op de stem zijn heel effectief en gedoseerd. De titel en de hoes verwijzen naar de poolreizigers. Mick Ness is gefascineerd door deze avonturiers, die in het begin van de vorige eeuw in moeilijke omstandigheden het poolcontinent doorkruisten.

Opener Black Pony is meteen raak: een fijne tekst die perfect de muziek aanvult. Een lichte psychedelische sfeer die in een poprocksong wordt gegoten (denk aan bijv. Suede). Five Fingers to the Face drijft op een pakkende rockgroove en bezwerende zang. Spfct heeft mooie keys en een Peter Hook-klinkende baslijn. Een heerlijk dromerig nummertje. Op Steal Your Heart komt de rockkant iets meer naar boven door middel van een rockriff. De drums klinken ook potenter. De vocals echoën hunkerend in het refrein. Polarized heeft een donker randje en een postpunkfeel. Energy is een poppy track. Lauterbrunnen lijdt wat onder de mix, maar Endurance is dan weer dromerig en doet aan Mercury Rev denken. De twee bonustracks op de cd zijn zeker evenwaardig.

Een sterk en intrigerend debuut waarop alles goed zit: de songs, de mix, de zang en de instrumenten… Het beste uit Nederland wat ik dit jaar heb gehoord. Voor 20 euro koop je de lp in wit vinyl en je krijgt er de cd bij. Een koopje volgens mij.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning