tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Herman Gillis is one of the most important persons in (Belgian) music. As a musician, he was part of the legendary dark wave band Poésie Noire, but he also was the creator of many new beat bands, and in a way he was one of the makers of this influential genre. And of course he’s the inventor of the Sherman Filterbank. Herman was so kind to share the ten albums with us that changed his life…

Most influential was the topic, so this list is as myself :aged and totally incomplete. But here we go!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Even when I didn’t understand the lyrics, it was just magic.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu 
Masterpiece, the vocals, the guitars... blows me away.

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Very ahead of the time, my tribute for Lou Reed at the same time.

4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys 
Jimi enlarged the boundaries of sound and eventually led to the existence of the Filterbank.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
My tribute to Clapton, great musicians, lovely!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon 
Among others they made this, a great album. Every single note is enjoyable.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock 
The rhythm section is brilliant, let alone the Angus brothers, love the power ! The perfect unperfectness!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Sounds very common and classic now, hard to believe electronic music was so unpopular/unheard around the time this album came out.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement 
As all albums mentioned here, it’s dated, but it’s still an outstanding beautiful masterpiece.

10. THE CURE - Faith 
Together with Pornography, the best one they ever made, the more recent work is not bad either, but I only can mention 10 albums, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Herman Gillis is een van de belangrijkste personen in de (Belgische) muziekwereld. Als muzikant stond hij mee aan het roer van de beste elektrodarkwaveband (Poésie Noire), maar hij was ook de bedenker van heel wat newbeatgroepen en op een bepaalde manier zelfs één van de uitvinders van dit invloedrijke genre. En natuurlijk is hij sowieso de uitvinder van de Sherman Filterbank. Herman was zo vriendelijk om met ons de tien albums te overlopen die zijn leven veranderden

Je vroeg mij om de meest invloedrijke platen op te noemen. Deze lijst is dus een beetje als mezelf: wat ouder en totaal onvolledig. Dus laten we maar beginnen!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Zelfs al begreep ik de teksten nauwelijks, was het gewoon magie.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu
Een meesterwerk, de zang, de gitaren... een plaat die me omver blaast!

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Zeer ver op zijn tijd vooruit, het is mijn hulde voor Lou Reed.

 4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys
Jimi heeft de grenzen van de klank verlegd en er uiteindelijk ook voor gezorgd dat de Filterbank werd uitgevonden.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
Mijn eerbetoon aan Clapton, grootse muzikanten, heerlijk!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon
Een van de vele geweldige albums die zij maakten. Elke noot is een plezier om naar te luisteren.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock
De ritmesectie is briljant en dan heb ik het nog niet eens over de Angus-broertjes, wat hou ik van die kracht! De volmaakte onvolmaaktheid!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Nu klinkt het heel gewoontjes en klassiek, waardoor het moeilijk te geloven is dat de elektronische muziek zo onpopulair was toen dit album verscheen.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement
Zoals alle albums die ik aanhaalde is ook deze oud, maar het is nog steeds een mooi meesterwerk.

10. THE CURE - Faith
Samen met Pornography de beste die ze ooit maakten, de meer recente albums zijn ook niet slecht, maar ik mocht maar 10 albums vermelden, dus...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love