tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Herman Gillis is one of the most important persons in (Belgian) music. As a musician, he was part of the legendary dark wave band Poésie Noire, but he also was the creator of many new beat bands, and in a way he was one of the makers of this influential genre. And of course he’s the inventor of the Sherman Filterbank. Herman was so kind to share the ten albums with us that changed his life…

Most influential was the topic, so this list is as myself :aged and totally incomplete. But here we go!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Even when I didn’t understand the lyrics, it was just magic.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu 
Masterpiece, the vocals, the guitars... blows me away.

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Very ahead of the time, my tribute for Lou Reed at the same time.

4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys 
Jimi enlarged the boundaries of sound and eventually led to the existence of the Filterbank.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
My tribute to Clapton, great musicians, lovely!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon 
Among others they made this, a great album. Every single note is enjoyable.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock 
The rhythm section is brilliant, let alone the Angus brothers, love the power ! The perfect unperfectness!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Sounds very common and classic now, hard to believe electronic music was so unpopular/unheard around the time this album came out.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement 
As all albums mentioned here, it’s dated, but it’s still an outstanding beautiful masterpiece.

10. THE CURE - Faith 
Together with Pornography, the best one they ever made, the more recent work is not bad either, but I only can mention 10 albums, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Herman Gillis is een van de belangrijkste personen in de (Belgische) muziekwereld. Als muzikant stond hij mee aan het roer van de beste elektrodarkwaveband (Poésie Noire), maar hij was ook de bedenker van heel wat newbeatgroepen en op een bepaalde manier zelfs één van de uitvinders van dit invloedrijke genre. En natuurlijk is hij sowieso de uitvinder van de Sherman Filterbank. Herman was zo vriendelijk om met ons de tien albums te overlopen die zijn leven veranderden

Je vroeg mij om de meest invloedrijke platen op te noemen. Deze lijst is dus een beetje als mezelf: wat ouder en totaal onvolledig. Dus laten we maar beginnen!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Zelfs al begreep ik de teksten nauwelijks, was het gewoon magie.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu
Een meesterwerk, de zang, de gitaren... een plaat die me omver blaast!

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Zeer ver op zijn tijd vooruit, het is mijn hulde voor Lou Reed.

 4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys
Jimi heeft de grenzen van de klank verlegd en er uiteindelijk ook voor gezorgd dat de Filterbank werd uitgevonden.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
Mijn eerbetoon aan Clapton, grootse muzikanten, heerlijk!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon
Een van de vele geweldige albums die zij maakten. Elke noot is een plezier om naar te luisteren.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock
De ritmesectie is briljant en dan heb ik het nog niet eens over de Angus-broertjes, wat hou ik van die kracht! De volmaakte onvolmaaktheid!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Nu klinkt het heel gewoontjes en klassiek, waardoor het moeilijk te geloven is dat de elektronische muziek zo onpopulair was toen dit album verscheen.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement
Zoals alle albums die ik aanhaalde is ook deze oud, maar het is nog steeds een mooi meesterwerk.

10. THE CURE - Faith
Samen met Pornography de beste die ze ooit maakten, de meer recente albums zijn ook niet slecht, maar ik mocht maar 10 albums vermelden, dus...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination