tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Herman Gillis is one of the most important persons in (Belgian) music. As a musician, he was part of the legendary dark wave band Poésie Noire, but he also was the creator of many new beat bands, and in a way he was one of the makers of this influential genre. And of course he’s the inventor of the Sherman Filterbank. Herman was so kind to share the ten albums with us that changed his life…

Most influential was the topic, so this list is as myself :aged and totally incomplete. But here we go!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Even when I didn’t understand the lyrics, it was just magic.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu 
Masterpiece, the vocals, the guitars... blows me away.

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Very ahead of the time, my tribute for Lou Reed at the same time.

4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys 
Jimi enlarged the boundaries of sound and eventually led to the existence of the Filterbank.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
My tribute to Clapton, great musicians, lovely!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon 
Among others they made this, a great album. Every single note is enjoyable.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock 
The rhythm section is brilliant, let alone the Angus brothers, love the power ! The perfect unperfectness!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Sounds very common and classic now, hard to believe electronic music was so unpopular/unheard around the time this album came out.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement 
As all albums mentioned here, it’s dated, but it’s still an outstanding beautiful masterpiece.

10. THE CURE - Faith 
Together with Pornography, the best one they ever made, the more recent work is not bad either, but I only can mention 10 albums, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Herman Gillis is een van de belangrijkste personen in de (Belgische) muziekwereld. Als muzikant stond hij mee aan het roer van de beste elektrodarkwaveband (Poésie Noire), maar hij was ook de bedenker van heel wat newbeatgroepen en op een bepaalde manier zelfs één van de uitvinders van dit invloedrijke genre. En natuurlijk is hij sowieso de uitvinder van de Sherman Filterbank. Herman was zo vriendelijk om met ons de tien albums te overlopen die zijn leven veranderden

Je vroeg mij om de meest invloedrijke platen op te noemen. Deze lijst is dus een beetje als mezelf: wat ouder en totaal onvolledig. Dus laten we maar beginnen!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Zelfs al begreep ik de teksten nauwelijks, was het gewoon magie.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu
Een meesterwerk, de zang, de gitaren... een plaat die me omver blaast!

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Zeer ver op zijn tijd vooruit, het is mijn hulde voor Lou Reed.

 4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys
Jimi heeft de grenzen van de klank verlegd en er uiteindelijk ook voor gezorgd dat de Filterbank werd uitgevonden.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
Mijn eerbetoon aan Clapton, grootse muzikanten, heerlijk!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon
Een van de vele geweldige albums die zij maakten. Elke noot is een plezier om naar te luisteren.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock
De ritmesectie is briljant en dan heb ik het nog niet eens over de Angus-broertjes, wat hou ik van die kracht! De volmaakte onvolmaaktheid!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Nu klinkt het heel gewoontjes en klassiek, waardoor het moeilijk te geloven is dat de elektronische muziek zo onpopulair was toen dit album verscheen.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement
Zoals alle albums die ik aanhaalde is ook deze oud, maar het is nog steeds een mooi meesterwerk.

10. THE CURE - Faith
Samen met Pornography de beste die ze ooit maakten, de meer recente albums zijn ook niet slecht, maar ik mocht maar 10 albums vermelden, dus...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask