tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Herman Gillis is one of the most important persons in (Belgian) music. As a musician, he was part of the legendary dark wave band Poésie Noire, but he also was the creator of many new beat bands, and in a way he was one of the makers of this influential genre. And of course he’s the inventor of the Sherman Filterbank. Herman was so kind to share the ten albums with us that changed his life…

Most influential was the topic, so this list is as myself :aged and totally incomplete. But here we go!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Even when I didn’t understand the lyrics, it was just magic.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu 
Masterpiece, the vocals, the guitars... blows me away.

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Very ahead of the time, my tribute for Lou Reed at the same time.

4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys 
Jimi enlarged the boundaries of sound and eventually led to the existence of the Filterbank.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
My tribute to Clapton, great musicians, lovely!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon 
Among others they made this, a great album. Every single note is enjoyable.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock 
The rhythm section is brilliant, let alone the Angus brothers, love the power ! The perfect unperfectness!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Sounds very common and classic now, hard to believe electronic music was so unpopular/unheard around the time this album came out.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement 
As all albums mentioned here, it’s dated, but it’s still an outstanding beautiful masterpiece.

10. THE CURE - Faith 
Together with Pornography, the best one they ever made, the more recent work is not bad either, but I only can mention 10 albums, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Herman Gillis is een van de belangrijkste personen in de (Belgische) muziekwereld. Als muzikant stond hij mee aan het roer van de beste elektrodarkwaveband (Poésie Noire), maar hij was ook de bedenker van heel wat newbeatgroepen en op een bepaalde manier zelfs één van de uitvinders van dit invloedrijke genre. En natuurlijk is hij sowieso de uitvinder van de Sherman Filterbank. Herman was zo vriendelijk om met ons de tien albums te overlopen die zijn leven veranderden

Je vroeg mij om de meest invloedrijke platen op te noemen. Deze lijst is dus een beetje als mezelf: wat ouder en totaal onvolledig. Dus laten we maar beginnen!

1. THE DOORS - The Doors
Zelfs al begreep ik de teksten nauwelijks, was het gewoon magie.

2. CROSBY, STILLS, NASH & YOUNG - Déjà Vu
Een meesterwerk, de zang, de gitaren... een plaat die me omver blaast!

3. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground & Nico
Zeer ver op zijn tijd vooruit, het is mijn hulde voor Lou Reed.

 4. JIMI HENDRIX - Band Of Gypsys
Jimi heeft de grenzen van de klank verlegd en er uiteindelijk ook voor gezorgd dat de Filterbank werd uitgevonden.

5. CREAM - Live Cream
Mijn eerbetoon aan Clapton, grootse muzikanten, heerlijk!

6. PINK FLOYD - Dark Side Of The Moon
Een van de vele geweldige albums die zij maakten. Elke noot is een plezier om naar te luisteren.

7. AC/DC - Let There Be Rock
De ritmesectie is briljant en dan heb ik het nog niet eens over de Angus-broertjes, wat hou ik van die kracht! De volmaakte onvolmaaktheid!

8. SOFT CELL - Non Stop Erotic Cabaret
Nu klinkt het heel gewoontjes en klassiek, waardoor het moeilijk te geloven is dat de elektronische muziek zo onpopulair was toen dit album verscheen.

9.NEW ORDER - Movement
Zoals alle albums die ik aanhaalde is ook deze oud, maar het is nog steeds een mooi meesterwerk.

10. THE CURE - Faith
Samen met Pornography de beste die ze ooit maakten, de meer recente albums zijn ook niet slecht, maar ik mocht maar 10 albums vermelden, dus...

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/12/2015 : HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You