tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : JOZEF VAN WISSEM - It Is Time For You To Return

JOZEF VAN WISSEM

It Is Time For You To Return

MusicCD
MysticalNeoclassicalNeofolk

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This album by the Dutch musician Jozef Van Wissem is released on the Made To Measure series of Crammed Discs. It is not what you’d call an ordinary album. It starts with the cover: Jozef Van Wissem is dressed as a priest who’s looking down on you. The way he wears the big cross around his neck, reveals that this will be something special. And it is…

The album is made with the minimal use of instruments: a lute, an acoustic guitar, sparse percussion en some vocals. After a first listen, the album makes an almost ascetic impression. Especially since Joseph uses repetition in the melody, vocals and guitar lines that make it a trance experience. It also reminds us of religious issues.

I heard some good songs like Love Destroys All Evil (which is beautifully constructed), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (a collaboration with Yasmine Hamdan, who sings the vocals) and After We Leave, that only consists of a tune with a blues feel. Sometimes the repetitive factor is counterproductive like in Once More With Feeling, that repeats the same theme for six minutes . It's a track that would be better if it would last two or three minutes, but now it's just a bit monotonous and boring. On Temple Dance of the Soul the added modern beats don’t really fit with the song. The minimal beats on Confinement are much better, but this time the vocals don’t work that well.

Jozef Van Wissem manages to create a special atmosphere. If his songs would reach the same level of Love Destroys All Evil, then we would say that this is an excellent album. The artwork contains some great beautiful black and white photographes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

De release van de Nederlandse Jozef Van Wissem komt via de Made To Measure-serie op Crammed Discs. Het is een speciaal geval. Het begint al met de cover waarop Jozef Van Wissem als een priester op je neerkijkt. De manier waarop hij het grote kruis rond zijn nek draagt verraadt dat er achter de cover iets aparts gebeurt. Dat is ook zo.

Het album is gemaakt met een minimum aantal instrumenten: een luit, een akoestische gitaar,wat spaarzame percussie en zang. Het resultaat laat, na een eerste beluistering, een wat ascetische indruk na. Vooral omdat Jozef veel gebruik maakt van herhaling in de melodie-, zang- en gitaarlijntjes waardoor het een trancebeleving wordt. Het doet tevens wat aan religieuze toestanden denken.

Ik ontwaar enkele goede songs zoals Love Destroys All Evil (dat mooi opgebouwd is), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (een samenwerking met Yasmine Hamdan, die de vocals levert) en After We Leave, dat slechts uit een riedel met een bluesgevoel bestaat. Hier en daar werken de herhalingen ook contraproductief. Bijv. op Once More With Feeling, dat zes minuten lang hetzelfde thema herhaalt. Het is een track die in twee of drie minuten beter uit de verf zou komen, maar nu is het gewoon wat eentonig en saai. Op Temple Dance of the Soul passen de toegevoegde moderne beats niet echt bij het nummer. Op Confinement zijn de minimale beats dan weer beter gelukt, maar de zang is niet echt geslaagd.

Jozef Van Wissem slaagt erin om een aparte sfeer neer te zetten. Mochten zijn nummers allemaal het niveau halen van bijv. Love Destroys All Evil, dan zouden we van een geslaagd album spreken. Het artwork bevat trouwens mooi zwart-witfotowerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes