tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : JOZEF VAN WISSEM - It Is Time For You To Return

JOZEF VAN WISSEM

It Is Time For You To Return

MusicCD
MysticalNeoclassicalNeofolk

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This album by the Dutch musician Jozef Van Wissem is released on the Made To Measure series of Crammed Discs. It is not what you’d call an ordinary album. It starts with the cover: Jozef Van Wissem is dressed as a priest who’s looking down on you. The way he wears the big cross around his neck, reveals that this will be something special. And it is…

The album is made with the minimal use of instruments: a lute, an acoustic guitar, sparse percussion en some vocals. After a first listen, the album makes an almost ascetic impression. Especially since Joseph uses repetition in the melody, vocals and guitar lines that make it a trance experience. It also reminds us of religious issues.

I heard some good songs like Love Destroys All Evil (which is beautifully constructed), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (a collaboration with Yasmine Hamdan, who sings the vocals) and After We Leave, that only consists of a tune with a blues feel. Sometimes the repetitive factor is counterproductive like in Once More With Feeling, that repeats the same theme for six minutes . It's a track that would be better if it would last two or three minutes, but now it's just a bit monotonous and boring. On Temple Dance of the Soul the added modern beats don’t really fit with the song. The minimal beats on Confinement are much better, but this time the vocals don’t work that well.

Jozef Van Wissem manages to create a special atmosphere. If his songs would reach the same level of Love Destroys All Evil, then we would say that this is an excellent album. The artwork contains some great beautiful black and white photographes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

De release van de Nederlandse Jozef Van Wissem komt via de Made To Measure-serie op Crammed Discs. Het is een speciaal geval. Het begint al met de cover waarop Jozef Van Wissem als een priester op je neerkijkt. De manier waarop hij het grote kruis rond zijn nek draagt verraadt dat er achter de cover iets aparts gebeurt. Dat is ook zo.

Het album is gemaakt met een minimum aantal instrumenten: een luit, een akoestische gitaar,wat spaarzame percussie en zang. Het resultaat laat, na een eerste beluistering, een wat ascetische indruk na. Vooral omdat Jozef veel gebruik maakt van herhaling in de melodie-, zang- en gitaarlijntjes waardoor het een trancebeleving wordt. Het doet tevens wat aan religieuze toestanden denken.

Ik ontwaar enkele goede songs zoals Love Destroys All Evil (dat mooi opgebouwd is), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (een samenwerking met Yasmine Hamdan, die de vocals levert) en After We Leave, dat slechts uit een riedel met een bluesgevoel bestaat. Hier en daar werken de herhalingen ook contraproductief. Bijv. op Once More With Feeling, dat zes minuten lang hetzelfde thema herhaalt. Het is een track die in twee of drie minuten beter uit de verf zou komen, maar nu is het gewoon wat eentonig en saai. Op Temple Dance of the Soul passen de toegevoegde moderne beats niet echt bij het nummer. Op Confinement zijn de minimale beats dan weer beter gelukt, maar de zang is niet echt geslaagd.

Jozef Van Wissem slaagt erin om een aparte sfeer neer te zetten. Mochten zijn nummers allemaal het niveau halen van bijv. Love Destroys All Evil, dan zouden we van een geslaagd album spreken. Het artwork bevat trouwens mooi zwart-witfotowerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls