tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : JOZEF VAN WISSEM - It Is Time For You To Return

JOZEF VAN WISSEM

It Is Time For You To Return

MusicCD
MysticalNeoclassicalNeofolk

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This album by the Dutch musician Jozef Van Wissem is released on the Made To Measure series of Crammed Discs. It is not what you’d call an ordinary album. It starts with the cover: Jozef Van Wissem is dressed as a priest who’s looking down on you. The way he wears the big cross around his neck, reveals that this will be something special. And it is…

The album is made with the minimal use of instruments: a lute, an acoustic guitar, sparse percussion en some vocals. After a first listen, the album makes an almost ascetic impression. Especially since Joseph uses repetition in the melody, vocals and guitar lines that make it a trance experience. It also reminds us of religious issues.

I heard some good songs like Love Destroys All Evil (which is beautifully constructed), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (a collaboration with Yasmine Hamdan, who sings the vocals) and After We Leave, that only consists of a tune with a blues feel. Sometimes the repetitive factor is counterproductive like in Once More With Feeling, that repeats the same theme for six minutes . It's a track that would be better if it would last two or three minutes, but now it's just a bit monotonous and boring. On Temple Dance of the Soul the added modern beats don’t really fit with the song. The minimal beats on Confinement are much better, but this time the vocals don’t work that well.

Jozef Van Wissem manages to create a special atmosphere. If his songs would reach the same level of Love Destroys All Evil, then we would say that this is an excellent album. The artwork contains some great beautiful black and white photographes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

De release van de Nederlandse Jozef Van Wissem komt via de Made To Measure-serie op Crammed Discs. Het is een speciaal geval. Het begint al met de cover waarop Jozef Van Wissem als een priester op je neerkijkt. De manier waarop hij het grote kruis rond zijn nek draagt verraadt dat er achter de cover iets aparts gebeurt. Dat is ook zo.

Het album is gemaakt met een minimum aantal instrumenten: een luit, een akoestische gitaar,wat spaarzame percussie en zang. Het resultaat laat, na een eerste beluistering, een wat ascetische indruk na. Vooral omdat Jozef veel gebruik maakt van herhaling in de melodie-, zang- en gitaarlijntjes waardoor het een trancebeleving wordt. Het doet tevens wat aan religieuze toestanden denken.

Ik ontwaar enkele goede songs zoals Love Destroys All Evil (dat mooi opgebouwd is), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (een samenwerking met Yasmine Hamdan, die de vocals levert) en After We Leave, dat slechts uit een riedel met een bluesgevoel bestaat. Hier en daar werken de herhalingen ook contraproductief. Bijv. op Once More With Feeling, dat zes minuten lang hetzelfde thema herhaalt. Het is een track die in twee of drie minuten beter uit de verf zou komen, maar nu is het gewoon wat eentonig en saai. Op Temple Dance of the Soul passen de toegevoegde moderne beats niet echt bij het nummer. Op Confinement zijn de minimale beats dan weer beter gelukt, maar de zang is niet echt geslaagd.

Jozef Van Wissem slaagt erin om een aparte sfeer neer te zetten. Mochten zijn nummers allemaal het niveau halen van bijv. Love Destroys All Evil, dan zouden we van een geslaagd album spreken. Het artwork bevat trouwens mooi zwart-witfotowerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl