tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : JOZEF VAN WISSEM - It Is Time For You To Return

JOZEF VAN WISSEM

It Is Time For You To Return

MusicCD
MysticalNeoclassicalNeofolk

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This album by the Dutch musician Jozef Van Wissem is released on the Made To Measure series of Crammed Discs. It is not what you’d call an ordinary album. It starts with the cover: Jozef Van Wissem is dressed as a priest who’s looking down on you. The way he wears the big cross around his neck, reveals that this will be something special. And it is…

The album is made with the minimal use of instruments: a lute, an acoustic guitar, sparse percussion en some vocals. After a first listen, the album makes an almost ascetic impression. Especially since Joseph uses repetition in the melody, vocals and guitar lines that make it a trance experience. It also reminds us of religious issues.

I heard some good songs like Love Destroys All Evil (which is beautifully constructed), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (a collaboration with Yasmine Hamdan, who sings the vocals) and After We Leave, that only consists of a tune with a blues feel. Sometimes the repetitive factor is counterproductive like in Once More With Feeling, that repeats the same theme for six minutes . It's a track that would be better if it would last two or three minutes, but now it's just a bit monotonous and boring. On Temple Dance of the Soul the added modern beats don’t really fit with the song. The minimal beats on Confinement are much better, but this time the vocals don’t work that well.

Jozef Van Wissem manages to create a special atmosphere. If his songs would reach the same level of Love Destroys All Evil, then we would say that this is an excellent album. The artwork contains some great beautiful black and white photographes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

De release van de Nederlandse Jozef Van Wissem komt via de Made To Measure-serie op Crammed Discs. Het is een speciaal geval. Het begint al met de cover waarop Jozef Van Wissem als een priester op je neerkijkt. De manier waarop hij het grote kruis rond zijn nek draagt verraadt dat er achter de cover iets aparts gebeurt. Dat is ook zo.

Het album is gemaakt met een minimum aantal instrumenten: een luit, een akoestische gitaar,wat spaarzame percussie en zang. Het resultaat laat, na een eerste beluistering, een wat ascetische indruk na. Vooral omdat Jozef veel gebruik maakt van herhaling in de melodie-, zang- en gitaarlijntjes waardoor het een trancebeleving wordt. Het doet tevens wat aan religieuze toestanden denken.

Ik ontwaar enkele goede songs zoals Love Destroys All Evil (dat mooi opgebouwd is), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (een samenwerking met Yasmine Hamdan, die de vocals levert) en After We Leave, dat slechts uit een riedel met een bluesgevoel bestaat. Hier en daar werken de herhalingen ook contraproductief. Bijv. op Once More With Feeling, dat zes minuten lang hetzelfde thema herhaalt. Het is een track die in twee of drie minuten beter uit de verf zou komen, maar nu is het gewoon wat eentonig en saai. Op Temple Dance of the Soul passen de toegevoegde moderne beats niet echt bij het nummer. Op Confinement zijn de minimale beats dan weer beter gelukt, maar de zang is niet echt geslaagd.

Jozef Van Wissem slaagt erin om een aparte sfeer neer te zetten. Mochten zijn nummers allemaal het niveau halen van bijv. Love Destroys All Evil, dan zouden we van een geslaagd album spreken. Het artwork bevat trouwens mooi zwart-witfotowerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


 

Next reviews
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory
SAFFRONKEIRA • Synecdoche
ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOTS • We Are Nots
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
MELTED SPACE • The Great Lie
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
NATASHA A TWENTYONE (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: MYSTICAL
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
RON HOWARD • Inferno
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
FORREST FANG • Letters To The Farthest Star
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)