tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : JOZEF VAN WISSEM - It Is Time For You To Return

JOZEF VAN WISSEM

It Is Time For You To Return

MusicCD
MysticalNeoclassicalNeofolk

[65/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This album by the Dutch musician Jozef Van Wissem is released on the Made To Measure series of Crammed Discs. It is not what you’d call an ordinary album. It starts with the cover: Jozef Van Wissem is dressed as a priest who’s looking down on you. The way he wears the big cross around his neck, reveals that this will be something special. And it is…

The album is made with the minimal use of instruments: a lute, an acoustic guitar, sparse percussion en some vocals. After a first listen, the album makes an almost ascetic impression. Especially since Joseph uses repetition in the melody, vocals and guitar lines that make it a trance experience. It also reminds us of religious issues.

I heard some good songs like Love Destroys All Evil (which is beautifully constructed), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (a collaboration with Yasmine Hamdan, who sings the vocals) and After We Leave, that only consists of a tune with a blues feel. Sometimes the repetitive factor is counterproductive like in Once More With Feeling, that repeats the same theme for six minutes . It's a track that would be better if it would last two or three minutes, but now it's just a bit monotonous and boring. On Temple Dance of the Soul the added modern beats don’t really fit with the song. The minimal beats on Confinement are much better, but this time the vocals don’t work that well.

Jozef Van Wissem manages to create a special atmosphere. If his songs would reach the same level of Love Destroys All Evil, then we would say that this is an excellent album. The artwork contains some great beautiful black and white photographes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

De release van de Nederlandse Jozef Van Wissem komt via de Made To Measure-serie op Crammed Discs. Het is een speciaal geval. Het begint al met de cover waarop Jozef Van Wissem als een priester op je neerkijkt. De manier waarop hij het grote kruis rond zijn nek draagt verraadt dat er achter de cover iets aparts gebeurt. Dat is ook zo.

Het album is gemaakt met een minimum aantal instrumenten: een luit, een akoestische gitaar,wat spaarzame percussie en zang. Het resultaat laat, na een eerste beluistering, een wat ascetische indruk na. Vooral omdat Jozef veel gebruik maakt van herhaling in de melodie-, zang- en gitaarlijntjes waardoor het een trancebeleving wordt. Het doet tevens wat aan religieuze toestanden denken.

Ik ontwaar enkele goede songs zoals Love Destroys All Evil (dat mooi opgebouwd is), Invocation Of The Spirit Hell (een samenwerking met Yasmine Hamdan, die de vocals levert) en After We Leave, dat slechts uit een riedel met een bluesgevoel bestaat. Hier en daar werken de herhalingen ook contraproductief. Bijv. op Once More With Feeling, dat zes minuten lang hetzelfde thema herhaalt. Het is een track die in twee of drie minuten beter uit de verf zou komen, maar nu is het gewoon wat eentonig en saai. Op Temple Dance of the Soul passen de toegevoegde moderne beats niet echt bij het nummer. Op Confinement zijn de minimale beats dan weer beter gelukt, maar de zang is niet echt geslaagd.

Jozef Van Wissem slaagt erin om een aparte sfeer neer te zetten. Mochten zijn nummers allemaal het niveau halen van bijv. Love Destroys All Evil, dan zouden we van een geslaagd album spreken. Het artwork bevat trouwens mooi zwart-witfotowerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline