tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD
Popworld music

[85/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The songs on this album were written in different cities and continents, from The Netherlands and South Africa to Brazil. And so, we get an album full of songs with influences from Asia, South America, Africa and Europe. A crossover of musical styles such as the Creole maloya, digital cumbia, dub and electro chaabi, all transformed in beautiful pop with a voice that is reminiscent of M.I.A.

This is a colourful album that is exciting for both the eyes and the ears, and it keeps the interest going for the whole CD. On Cosmic Serpents, singer Catarina Dahms starts rapping, followed by a nice chorus and an African guitar line with some modern beats. Maloya Magic is traditional African music, with the help of a band from La Réunion. There are some collaboratations with other local bands, with a good result. Perpetual War is more electro, while Burning Bridges is more rock. Youth With Skull closes the album in a psychedelic way.

An album with variety and it is indeed a pleasant surprise. People who like M.I.A., Arsenal and Manu Chao should check Skip & Die. Available on the Belgian label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Dit album is in verschillende steden en werelddelen geschreven, van Nederland en Zuid- Afrika tot Brazilië. Dat komt goed overeen met wat we er muzikaal op terugvinden: een plaat vol songs met invloeden uit Azië, Zuid-Amerika, Afrika en Europa. Een crossover van muziekstijlen zoals Creoolse maloya, digitale cumbia, elektro chaabi en dub, en dit allemaal in mooie popsongs gegoten met een stem die wat doet denken aan M.I.A.

Zowel visueel als auditief krijgen we een kleurrijk album dat boeiend is en de aandacht gaande weet te houden. Op Cosmic Serpents rapt zangeres Catarina Dahms het nummer op gang, met een fijn gezongen refrein en een Afrikaans gitaarlijntje met moderne beats. Maloya Magic opent duidelijk Afrikaans getint met dank aan de band Lindingo uit La Réunion. Het is een eerder traditioneel nummer. We krijgen nog enkele songs waarin er met een lokale band wordt samengewerkt en dat fijne resultaten oplevert. Perpetual War is meer electro gericht. Burning Bridges heeft dan weer wat rockinvloeden. Youth With Skull sluit het album op een wat psychedelische wijze af.

Een album met variatie en met een mooi en eenvormig resultaat. Een aangename verrassing. Mensen die M.I.A., Arsenal en Manu Chao waarderen, moeten dit zeker eens checken. Verkrijgbaar op het Belgische label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid