tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD
Popworld music

[85/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The songs on this album were written in different cities and continents, from The Netherlands and South Africa to Brazil. And so, we get an album full of songs with influences from Asia, South America, Africa and Europe. A crossover of musical styles such as the Creole maloya, digital cumbia, dub and electro chaabi, all transformed in beautiful pop with a voice that is reminiscent of M.I.A.

This is a colourful album that is exciting for both the eyes and the ears, and it keeps the interest going for the whole CD. On Cosmic Serpents, singer Catarina Dahms starts rapping, followed by a nice chorus and an African guitar line with some modern beats. Maloya Magic is traditional African music, with the help of a band from La Réunion. There are some collaboratations with other local bands, with a good result. Perpetual War is more electro, while Burning Bridges is more rock. Youth With Skull closes the album in a psychedelic way.

An album with variety and it is indeed a pleasant surprise. People who like M.I.A., Arsenal and Manu Chao should check Skip & Die. Available on the Belgian label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Dit album is in verschillende steden en werelddelen geschreven, van Nederland en Zuid- Afrika tot Brazilië. Dat komt goed overeen met wat we er muzikaal op terugvinden: een plaat vol songs met invloeden uit Azië, Zuid-Amerika, Afrika en Europa. Een crossover van muziekstijlen zoals Creoolse maloya, digitale cumbia, elektro chaabi en dub, en dit allemaal in mooie popsongs gegoten met een stem die wat doet denken aan M.I.A.

Zowel visueel als auditief krijgen we een kleurrijk album dat boeiend is en de aandacht gaande weet te houden. Op Cosmic Serpents rapt zangeres Catarina Dahms het nummer op gang, met een fijn gezongen refrein en een Afrikaans gitaarlijntje met moderne beats. Maloya Magic opent duidelijk Afrikaans getint met dank aan de band Lindingo uit La Réunion. Het is een eerder traditioneel nummer. We krijgen nog enkele songs waarin er met een lokale band wordt samengewerkt en dat fijne resultaten oplevert. Perpetual War is meer electro gericht. Burning Bridges heeft dan weer wat rockinvloeden. Youth With Skull sluit het album op een wat psychedelische wijze af.

Een album met variatie en met een mooi en eenvormig resultaat. Een aangename verrassing. Mensen die M.I.A., Arsenal en Manu Chao waarderen, moeten dit zeker eens checken. Verkrijgbaar op het Belgische label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God