tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD
Popworld music

[85/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The songs on this album were written in different cities and continents, from The Netherlands and South Africa to Brazil. And so, we get an album full of songs with influences from Asia, South America, Africa and Europe. A crossover of musical styles such as the Creole maloya, digital cumbia, dub and electro chaabi, all transformed in beautiful pop with a voice that is reminiscent of M.I.A.

This is a colourful album that is exciting for both the eyes and the ears, and it keeps the interest going for the whole CD. On Cosmic Serpents, singer Catarina Dahms starts rapping, followed by a nice chorus and an African guitar line with some modern beats. Maloya Magic is traditional African music, with the help of a band from La Réunion. There are some collaboratations with other local bands, with a good result. Perpetual War is more electro, while Burning Bridges is more rock. Youth With Skull closes the album in a psychedelic way.

An album with variety and it is indeed a pleasant surprise. People who like M.I.A., Arsenal and Manu Chao should check Skip & Die. Available on the Belgian label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Dit album is in verschillende steden en werelddelen geschreven, van Nederland en Zuid- Afrika tot Brazilië. Dat komt goed overeen met wat we er muzikaal op terugvinden: een plaat vol songs met invloeden uit Azië, Zuid-Amerika, Afrika en Europa. Een crossover van muziekstijlen zoals Creoolse maloya, digitale cumbia, elektro chaabi en dub, en dit allemaal in mooie popsongs gegoten met een stem die wat doet denken aan M.I.A.

Zowel visueel als auditief krijgen we een kleurrijk album dat boeiend is en de aandacht gaande weet te houden. Op Cosmic Serpents rapt zangeres Catarina Dahms het nummer op gang, met een fijn gezongen refrein en een Afrikaans gitaarlijntje met moderne beats. Maloya Magic opent duidelijk Afrikaans getint met dank aan de band Lindingo uit La Réunion. Het is een eerder traditioneel nummer. We krijgen nog enkele songs waarin er met een lokale band wordt samengewerkt en dat fijne resultaten oplevert. Perpetual War is meer electro gericht. Burning Bridges heeft dan weer wat rockinvloeden. Youth With Skull sluit het album op een wat psychedelische wijze af.

Een album met variatie en met een mooi en eenvormig resultaat. Een aangename verrassing. Mensen die M.I.A., Arsenal en Manu Chao waarderen, moeten dit zeker eens checken. Verkrijgbaar op het Belgische label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem