tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD
Popworld music

[85/100]   

Crammed Discs
09/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The songs on this album were written in different cities and continents, from The Netherlands and South Africa to Brazil. And so, we get an album full of songs with influences from Asia, South America, Africa and Europe. A crossover of musical styles such as the Creole maloya, digital cumbia, dub and electro chaabi, all transformed in beautiful pop with a voice that is reminiscent of M.I.A.

This is a colourful album that is exciting for both the eyes and the ears, and it keeps the interest going for the whole CD. On Cosmic Serpents, singer Catarina Dahms starts rapping, followed by a nice chorus and an African guitar line with some modern beats. Maloya Magic is traditional African music, with the help of a band from La Réunion. There are some collaboratations with other local bands, with a good result. Perpetual War is more electro, while Burning Bridges is more rock. Youth With Skull closes the album in a psychedelic way.

An album with variety and it is indeed a pleasant surprise. People who like M.I.A., Arsenal and Manu Chao should check Skip & Die. Available on the Belgian label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


NL

Dit album is in verschillende steden en werelddelen geschreven, van Nederland en Zuid- Afrika tot Brazilië. Dat komt goed overeen met wat we er muzikaal op terugvinden: een plaat vol songs met invloeden uit Azië, Zuid-Amerika, Afrika en Europa. Een crossover van muziekstijlen zoals Creoolse maloya, digitale cumbia, elektro chaabi en dub, en dit allemaal in mooie popsongs gegoten met een stem die wat doet denken aan M.I.A.

Zowel visueel als auditief krijgen we een kleurrijk album dat boeiend is en de aandacht gaande weet te houden. Op Cosmic Serpents rapt zangeres Catarina Dahms het nummer op gang, met een fijn gezongen refrein en een Afrikaans gitaarlijntje met moderne beats. Maloya Magic opent duidelijk Afrikaans getint met dank aan de band Lindingo uit La Réunion. Het is een eerder traditioneel nummer. We krijgen nog enkele songs waarin er met een lokale band wordt samengewerkt en dat fijne resultaten oplevert. Perpetual War is meer electro gericht. Burning Bridges heeft dan weer wat rockinvloeden. Youth With Skull sluit het album op een wat psychedelische wijze af.

Een album met variatie en met een mooi en eenvormig resultaat. Een aangename verrassing. Mensen die M.I.A., Arsenal en Manu Chao waarderen, moeten dit zeker eens checken. Verkrijgbaar op het Belgische label Crammed Discs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire