tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/11/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD

Crammed Discs
09/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Crammed Discs always had a patent on world music that’s been influenced by pop, and one of their acts that did it quite well in recent years, is Skip & Die. The songs you find on the successor of Riots In the Jungle from 2012 are written everywhere (Brazil, Portugal, South Africa, Argentina to the Netherlands) and you can hear that.

Isla Psicotrópica takes you on a trip into the jungle, Maloya Magic is set in Madagascar and Sunshine Rebellion Gang is recorded with the Egyptian DJ Islamic Chipsy and takes you through the desert.

These 13 songs are not just a potpourri of cultures, this quartet, that is lead by the handsome singer Cata Pirata, dares to use all kind of styles, and sometimes all in one song. It is almost impossible to mention what you can discover in one track (from salsa and hip hop to delicious indie), but the band never forgets that you scare the listener with a sound mush.

Bigots may claim that Skip & Die is merely a feast for the podium. The South African/Dutch group surely is without any doubt, but that does not mean that Cosmic Serpents is not a record for the living room. On the contrary, you rarely heard muzic from so many continents and genres in one work! Everything is possible with Skip & Die as long as it is danceable, and above all original. Normally, the editors of Peek-A-Boo are not really keen on such discs, but Cosmic Serpents is another example of the high quality of Crammed Discs!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


NL

Crammed Discs heeft altijd een patent gehad op vrij toegankelijke wereldmuziek, en één van z'n acts, dat het de laatste jaren meer dan behoorlijk doet, is Skip & Die. De nummers die je op de opvolger van Riots In the Jungle uit 2012 vindt, zijn zo wat overal geschreven (Brazilië, Portugal, Zuid-Afrika, Argentinië tot in Nederland) en dat hoor je.

Isla Psicotrópica neemt je mee op een trip in de jungle, Maloya Magic speelt zich af op Madagaskar en Sunshine Rebellion Gang, dat is opgenomen met de Egyptische DJ Islam Chipsy, voert je mee langs de woestijn.

Deze 13 nummers zijn niet alleen een potpourri van culturen, maar dit viert,al dat wordt voortgestuwd door de knappe zangeres Cata Pirata, durft alle mogelijke stijlen aan, en dat soms in één nummer. Het is bijna onmogelijk om op te noemen wat je in één nummer kan ontdekken (van salsa en hip hop tot heerlijke indie), maar de band vergeet nooit dat je met een geluidsbrij de luisteraar afschrikt

Kwatongen beweren wel eens dat Skip & Die louter een festijn voor het podium is. Dat is de Zuid-Afrikaans/Nederlandse groep zonder enige twijfel, maar dat betekent niet dat Cosmic Serpents geen plaat is voor de huiskamer. Integendeel, zelden hoorde je zo veel continenten en genres op één album! Alles kan bij Skip & Die zolang het maar dansbaar, en vooral origineel is. Normaal is de redactie van Peek-A-Boo niet echt tuk op zonnige plaatjes, maar deze Cosmic Serpents is alweer een voorbeeld van hoogstaande Crammed-kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain