tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/11/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD

Crammed Discs
09/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Crammed Discs always had a patent on world music that’s been influenced by pop, and one of their acts that did it quite well in recent years, is Skip & Die. The songs you find on the successor of Riots In the Jungle from 2012 are written everywhere (Brazil, Portugal, South Africa, Argentina to the Netherlands) and you can hear that.

Isla Psicotrópica takes you on a trip into the jungle, Maloya Magic is set in Madagascar and Sunshine Rebellion Gang is recorded with the Egyptian DJ Islamic Chipsy and takes you through the desert.

These 13 songs are not just a potpourri of cultures, this quartet, that is lead by the handsome singer Cata Pirata, dares to use all kind of styles, and sometimes all in one song. It is almost impossible to mention what you can discover in one track (from salsa and hip hop to delicious indie), but the band never forgets that you scare the listener with a sound mush.

Bigots may claim that Skip & Die is merely a feast for the podium. The South African/Dutch group surely is without any doubt, but that does not mean that Cosmic Serpents is not a record for the living room. On the contrary, you rarely heard muzic from so many continents and genres in one work! Everything is possible with Skip & Die as long as it is danceable, and above all original. Normally, the editors of Peek-A-Boo are not really keen on such discs, but Cosmic Serpents is another example of the high quality of Crammed Discs!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


NL

Crammed Discs heeft altijd een patent gehad op vrij toegankelijke wereldmuziek, en één van z'n acts, dat het de laatste jaren meer dan behoorlijk doet, is Skip & Die. De nummers die je op de opvolger van Riots In the Jungle uit 2012 vindt, zijn zo wat overal geschreven (Brazilië, Portugal, Zuid-Afrika, Argentinië tot in Nederland) en dat hoor je.

Isla Psicotrópica neemt je mee op een trip in de jungle, Maloya Magic speelt zich af op Madagaskar en Sunshine Rebellion Gang, dat is opgenomen met de Egyptische DJ Islam Chipsy, voert je mee langs de woestijn.

Deze 13 nummers zijn niet alleen een potpourri van culturen, maar dit viert,al dat wordt voortgestuwd door de knappe zangeres Cata Pirata, durft alle mogelijke stijlen aan, en dat soms in één nummer. Het is bijna onmogelijk om op te noemen wat je in één nummer kan ontdekken (van salsa en hip hop tot heerlijke indie), maar de band vergeet nooit dat je met een geluidsbrij de luisteraar afschrikt

Kwatongen beweren wel eens dat Skip & Die louter een festijn voor het podium is. Dat is de Zuid-Afrikaans/Nederlandse groep zonder enige twijfel, maar dat betekent niet dat Cosmic Serpents geen plaat is voor de huiskamer. Integendeel, zelden hoorde je zo veel continenten en genres op één album! Alles kan bij Skip & Die zolang het maar dansbaar, en vooral origineel is. Normaal is de redactie van Peek-A-Boo niet echt tuk op zonnige plaatjes, maar deze Cosmic Serpents is alweer een voorbeeld van hoogstaande Crammed-kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017