tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/11/2015 : SKIP & DIE - Cosmic Serpents

SKIP & DIE

Cosmic Serpents

MusicCD

Crammed Discs
09/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Crammed Discs always had a patent on world music that’s been influenced by pop, and one of their acts that did it quite well in recent years, is Skip & Die. The songs you find on the successor of Riots In the Jungle from 2012 are written everywhere (Brazil, Portugal, South Africa, Argentina to the Netherlands) and you can hear that.

Isla Psicotrópica takes you on a trip into the jungle, Maloya Magic is set in Madagascar and Sunshine Rebellion Gang is recorded with the Egyptian DJ Islamic Chipsy and takes you through the desert.

These 13 songs are not just a potpourri of cultures, this quartet, that is lead by the handsome singer Cata Pirata, dares to use all kind of styles, and sometimes all in one song. It is almost impossible to mention what you can discover in one track (from salsa and hip hop to delicious indie), but the band never forgets that you scare the listener with a sound mush.

Bigots may claim that Skip & Die is merely a feast for the podium. The South African/Dutch group surely is without any doubt, but that does not mean that Cosmic Serpents is not a record for the living room. On the contrary, you rarely heard muzic from so many continents and genres in one work! Everything is possible with Skip & Die as long as it is danceable, and above all original. Normally, the editors of Peek-A-Boo are not really keen on such discs, but Cosmic Serpents is another example of the high quality of Crammed Discs!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


NL

Crammed Discs heeft altijd een patent gehad op vrij toegankelijke wereldmuziek, en één van z'n acts, dat het de laatste jaren meer dan behoorlijk doet, is Skip & Die. De nummers die je op de opvolger van Riots In the Jungle uit 2012 vindt, zijn zo wat overal geschreven (Brazilië, Portugal, Zuid-Afrika, Argentinië tot in Nederland) en dat hoor je.

Isla Psicotrópica neemt je mee op een trip in de jungle, Maloya Magic speelt zich af op Madagaskar en Sunshine Rebellion Gang, dat is opgenomen met de Egyptische DJ Islam Chipsy, voert je mee langs de woestijn.

Deze 13 nummers zijn niet alleen een potpourri van culturen, maar dit viert,al dat wordt voortgestuwd door de knappe zangeres Cata Pirata, durft alle mogelijke stijlen aan, en dat soms in één nummer. Het is bijna onmogelijk om op te noemen wat je in één nummer kan ontdekken (van salsa en hip hop tot heerlijke indie), maar de band vergeet nooit dat je met een geluidsbrij de luisteraar afschrikt

Kwatongen beweren wel eens dat Skip & Die louter een festijn voor het podium is. Dat is de Zuid-Afrikaans/Nederlandse groep zonder enige twijfel, maar dat betekent niet dat Cosmic Serpents geen plaat is voor de huiskamer. Integendeel, zelden hoorde je zo veel continenten en genres op één album! Alles kan bij Skip & Die zolang het maar dansbaar, en vooral origineel is. Normaal is de redactie van Peek-A-Boo niet echt tuk op zonnige plaatjes, maar deze Cosmic Serpents is alweer een voorbeeld van hoogstaande Crammed-kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/11/2015


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum