tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : CHICK QUEST - Vs Galore

CHICK QUEST

Vs Galore

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You like The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines or Franz Ferdinand? So do I! Just like these bands, Chick Quest, plays music that has a touch of indie, post punk and garage rock. This band from Vienna just released its debut and it is called Vs. Galore. They manage to do this in a quite fresh way with known basic elements. It’s fresh, because they add unusual instruments, a trumpet for example (instead of a guitar solo) in the opening song Somebody Call a Doctor. It is a trick they repeat several times, but it works! Girl On Fire is a song in which a trumpet spreads a Southern touch, of course with a nice bass line and a gritty guitar solo. An excellent song.

Some songs songs sound like The Rapture and Franz Ferdinand and are quite danceable. At other times, the sound is a little more indie and garage rock (You Have A Future in Television). Monkey Dance For No One contains some madness, but it is quite melodic and catchy, just like the last track Go Back To Ze Dezert, that gives this record a beautiful instrumental ending.

Vs Galore is a very fine and unpretentious release, with a vintage-looking cover, and it gives the listener some pleasant moments.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Je houdt van The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines of Franz Ferdinand? Dat treft, ik ook! Deze bands maken, net zoals Chick Quest, muziek die in de indie-, postpunk- en garagerockhoek zit.

Deze band uit Wenen heeft met Vs. Galore net z' debuut uitgebracht en slaagt erin om met bekende basiselementen toch fris uit de hoek te komen. Fris, omdat ze het toch wat anders brengen. Een mooi voorbeeld is het gebruik van de trompet (in plaats van een gitaarsolo) in openingssong Somebody Call a Doctor. Het is een recept dat ze verschillende keren toepassen. Girl On Fire is een broeierige song waarin de door de trompet gespeelde melodielijn wat zuiders aanvoelt, bevat een leuke baslijn en toch nog een gruizige gitaarsolo. Een geslaagde song.

In sommige songs gaat het een beetje richting The Rapture en Franz Ferdinand (zoals bijv. in Explain Yourself to a Bat of Girls on Fire) en wordt het vrij dansbaar. Op andere momenten wordt het iets meer indie- en garagerock (Somebody call a doctor, You Have A Future in Television).

Monkey No Dance For No One heeft dan weer wat gekte in huis, maar het blijft allemaal toch vrij melodisch en catchy, net zoals de laatste track Go Back To Ze Dezert, waardoor deze plaat nog een heel mooi instrumentaal vervolg krijgt

Een heel fijne pretentieloze release, met een vintage uitziende hoes, die de luisteraar aangename momenten geeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL