tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : CHICK QUEST - Vs Galore

CHICK QUEST

Vs Galore

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You like The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines or Franz Ferdinand? So do I! Just like these bands, Chick Quest, plays music that has a touch of indie, post punk and garage rock. This band from Vienna just released its debut and it is called Vs. Galore. They manage to do this in a quite fresh way with known basic elements. It’s fresh, because they add unusual instruments, a trumpet for example (instead of a guitar solo) in the opening song Somebody Call a Doctor. It is a trick they repeat several times, but it works! Girl On Fire is a song in which a trumpet spreads a Southern touch, of course with a nice bass line and a gritty guitar solo. An excellent song.

Some songs songs sound like The Rapture and Franz Ferdinand and are quite danceable. At other times, the sound is a little more indie and garage rock (You Have A Future in Television). Monkey Dance For No One contains some madness, but it is quite melodic and catchy, just like the last track Go Back To Ze Dezert, that gives this record a beautiful instrumental ending.

Vs Galore is a very fine and unpretentious release, with a vintage-looking cover, and it gives the listener some pleasant moments.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Je houdt van The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines of Franz Ferdinand? Dat treft, ik ook! Deze bands maken, net zoals Chick Quest, muziek die in de indie-, postpunk- en garagerockhoek zit.

Deze band uit Wenen heeft met Vs. Galore net z' debuut uitgebracht en slaagt erin om met bekende basiselementen toch fris uit de hoek te komen. Fris, omdat ze het toch wat anders brengen. Een mooi voorbeeld is het gebruik van de trompet (in plaats van een gitaarsolo) in openingssong Somebody Call a Doctor. Het is een recept dat ze verschillende keren toepassen. Girl On Fire is een broeierige song waarin de door de trompet gespeelde melodielijn wat zuiders aanvoelt, bevat een leuke baslijn en toch nog een gruizige gitaarsolo. Een geslaagde song.

In sommige songs gaat het een beetje richting The Rapture en Franz Ferdinand (zoals bijv. in Explain Yourself to a Bat of Girls on Fire) en wordt het vrij dansbaar. Op andere momenten wordt het iets meer indie- en garagerock (Somebody call a doctor, You Have A Future in Television).

Monkey No Dance For No One heeft dan weer wat gekte in huis, maar het blijft allemaal toch vrij melodisch en catchy, net zoals de laatste track Go Back To Ze Dezert, waardoor deze plaat nog een heel mooi instrumentaal vervolg krijgt

Een heel fijne pretentieloze release, met een vintage uitziende hoes, die de luisteraar aangename momenten geeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete