tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : CHICK QUEST - Vs Galore

CHICK QUEST

Vs Galore

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You like The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines or Franz Ferdinand? So do I! Just like these bands, Chick Quest, plays music that has a touch of indie, post punk and garage rock. This band from Vienna just released its debut and it is called Vs. Galore. They manage to do this in a quite fresh way with known basic elements. It’s fresh, because they add unusual instruments, a trumpet for example (instead of a guitar solo) in the opening song Somebody Call a Doctor. It is a trick they repeat several times, but it works! Girl On Fire is a song in which a trumpet spreads a Southern touch, of course with a nice bass line and a gritty guitar solo. An excellent song.

Some songs songs sound like The Rapture and Franz Ferdinand and are quite danceable. At other times, the sound is a little more indie and garage rock (You Have A Future in Television). Monkey Dance For No One contains some madness, but it is quite melodic and catchy, just like the last track Go Back To Ze Dezert, that gives this record a beautiful instrumental ending.

Vs Galore is a very fine and unpretentious release, with a vintage-looking cover, and it gives the listener some pleasant moments.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


NL

Je houdt van The Gun Club, The Replacements, The Vaccines of Franz Ferdinand? Dat treft, ik ook! Deze bands maken, net zoals Chick Quest, muziek die in de indie-, postpunk- en garagerockhoek zit.

Deze band uit Wenen heeft met Vs. Galore net z' debuut uitgebracht en slaagt erin om met bekende basiselementen toch fris uit de hoek te komen. Fris, omdat ze het toch wat anders brengen. Een mooi voorbeeld is het gebruik van de trompet (in plaats van een gitaarsolo) in openingssong Somebody Call a Doctor. Het is een recept dat ze verschillende keren toepassen. Girl On Fire is een broeierige song waarin de door de trompet gespeelde melodielijn wat zuiders aanvoelt, bevat een leuke baslijn en toch nog een gruizige gitaarsolo. Een geslaagde song.

In sommige songs gaat het een beetje richting The Rapture en Franz Ferdinand (zoals bijv. in Explain Yourself to a Bat of Girls on Fire) en wordt het vrij dansbaar. Op andere momenten wordt het iets meer indie- en garagerock (Somebody call a doctor, You Have A Future in Television).

Monkey No Dance For No One heeft dan weer wat gekte in huis, maar het blijft allemaal toch vrij melodisch en catchy, net zoals de laatste track Go Back To Ze Dezert, waardoor deze plaat nog een heel mooi instrumentaal vervolg krijgt

Een heel fijne pretentieloze release, met een vintage uitziende hoes, die de luisteraar aangename momenten geeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GARCONS COIFFEURS • The Early Years 2005-2010
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)