tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2018 : THE EXPLODING BOY - Alarms!

THE EXPLODING BOY

Alarms!

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Drakkar Records
25/09/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

A few years of silence does not always have to be a bad thing. It has been a while since 2013 when this Swedish band came out with their album ‘Four’. Today they released their brand new album Alarms! on Drakkar Records. Their music may have become a tad more melodic and slightly more poppy since then, but it still breaths their typical sound from ‘Four’.

The album slowly opens with ‘Fireland The End Of Dark City’. Monotonous percussion and a melodic, almost nagging, but very nice guitar playing. The bass guitar lovely contributes to this rocky postpunk song. That typical kind of melody immediately sticks to your mind. And this is what The Exploding Boy can do like no other: making good accessible post-punk with just that little bit more oomph.

Alarms In Silence does not sound as silent as the title suggests, on the contrary. This is a very tight post-punk song that strikes hard. Yet this song goes down as smoothly as a nice sweet cocktail. And once you get the taste of it, you just want more! ‘The Day’ shifts a gear down, while ‘Run Red’ brings us back to full speed ahead. Especially when the great guitar work sets in, supported by a very enjoyable bass line and irresistible vocals by Johan Sjöblom.

There are lesser gods in this genre but Johan’s voice is so typical it’s an absolutely immense added value. In spite of their solid music base, I feel the early days were a bit more impressing. ‘Stop Time’ has that poppy touch and will easily capture a broad rock-loving audience full of acne‑filled teenagers at a local festival. Time for ‘Pointless Action’, which is a lot slower and darker. A much-needed dose of melancholy and depth is dripping like sweat from this song. With ‘Danger Zone’, the tempo picks back up, while ‘Sign Of The Times’ is interspersed with acoustic guitar lines, and ends with fireworks. ‘O.M.Y.G.O.D.’ throws you back to the 80’s with a certain feeling of madness, and a glitter poppy touch with a pinch of post-punk to top it off. The synths prove to be an essential contribution to the color of their sound.

Keep the best for last. ‘Liar's Roar’ sounds like the pure post-punk song you want to hear on this album. A sharp, strong tempo and solid guitars. Last but not least, you get a 9:59 minute-long, very downtempo song, that manages to captivate the listener effortlessly with melodic, rhythm and structure changes.

The Exploding Boy remains a solid reference in the new-wave / post-punk landscape. ‘Alarms!’ is definitely a good and solid album. It may not be as impressive as their former works ‘The Exploding Boy’ or ‘Afterglow’, that boosted their career, but it is strong enough to keep The Exploding Boy at the same level.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/09/2018


NL

Een paar jaar stilte hoeft niet steeds slecht nieuws te zijn. Het is geleden van 2013 dat het Zweedse gezelschap hun album Four maakte. Op het label Drakkar Records verscheen nu hun nieuwste langspeler Alarms! Ietwat melodieuzer en iets meer poppy klinkend, maar de typerende sound die ze sedert Four omarmen blijft herkenbaar.

Slepend traag opent het album met Fireland The End Of Dark City. Monotoon slagwerk, melodieus en zeurend, maar héél fijn, gitaarwerk. De basgitaar draagt met plezier bij tot dit rocky postpunknummer. Toch wel typerend dat de melodie meteen blijft hangen. Dit is iets wat The Exploding Boy als geen ander kunnen: toegankelijke, goede postpunk maken met nét dat iets méér.

Alarms In Silence klinkt niet zo silent als de titel laat vermoeden, wel integendeel. Dit is een heel strakke postpunksong die er stevig op inhakt. En toch loopt ook dit nummer als mierzoete cocktails heel vlotjes binnen. En eens je de smaak te pakken hebt, wil je meer van hetzelfde. The Day schakelt een tandje lager, Run Red scheurt dan weer als nooit voorheen. Als onweerstaanbaar gitaarwerk zich op gang trekt, geruggesteund door een genietbare baslijn en de onweerstaanbare zang van Johan Sjöblom. Er zijn veel mindere goden dan Johan binnen het genre, zijn stemgeluid is heel typerend en absoluut een immense meerwaarde. Ook al blijft het geheel muzikaal zeker overeind, de begindagen waren nog iets beklijvender. Het poppy-gehalte wordt absoluut belichaamd in Stop Time dat een breed rockminnend publiek vol puberende en met acné behepte tieners op een lokaal festival zo bij de strot grijpt. Tijd voor Pointless Action, een stuk trager en donkerderder. De broodnodige dosis melancholie en diepgang loopt als zweet van deze song af. Met Danger Zone komt er weer eens wat tempo, Sign O The Times is doorspekt met akoestisch gitaarwerk, en kent een vuurwerkfinale. O.M.Y.G.O.D. gooit je naar de jaren ’80, met een zeker Madness-gehalte, glitter-poppy met een snuifje postpunk als topping. De synths zorgen voor een essentiële inbreng in de kleur van de sound.
Keep the best for last. Liar’s Roar is rasechte postpunk die we graag op dit album terugvinden. Snedig, stevig tempo, gitaren die de spiertjes laten rollen. En als uitsmijter het ruim 9 minuten durende 11:59. Een heel downtempo song, die qua melodie, ritmewissels én opbouw moeiteloos blijft boeien.

The Exploding Boy blijft een stevige waarde in new wave/postpunkland. Alarms! Is zeker een goede plaat, maar haalt niet het niveau van de albums The Exploding Boy of Afterglow. Die katapulteerden de band terecht naar de allerhoogste regionen. Deze Alarms! Is een goed album, niet hun beste, maar bevestigt wél The Exploding Boy in zijn status van wereldband.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/09/2018


25/09/2018 : THE EXPLODING BOY - Alarms! 25/09/2018 : THE EXPLODING BOY - Alarms!

 

Next reviews
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW • B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS • Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order

 

Other reviews from THE EXPLODING BOY
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE EXPLODING BOY • Street Cliche
THE EXPLODING BOY • SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE BLOWOUTS • A Veteran of Sorts
CHICK QUEST • Vs Galore
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper