tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/10/2013 : THE EXPLODING BOY - Four

THE EXPLODING BOY

Four

MusicCD
Cold WaveGaragerockNew waveRock

[90/100]   

Artoffact
28/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Founded in 2006 in Stockholm and named after an underrated b-side by The Cure, The Exploding Boy is a four-piece post-punk act who recently signed a worldwide record deal with Germany's Drakkar Entertainment (Haggard, The Sorrow, Emil Bulls). Picked up for release by Toronto's Artoffact Records in North America, The Exploding Boy's fourth album (appropriately entitled Four) is supported by a Johan Edlund (Tiamat)-produced video for Dark City Pt. II, the album's first single. A second single for Street Cliche was released on iTunes on October 8th. The album's ten tracks present a fresh array of influences, from classics like The Cure, Sisters Of Mercy, Joy Division and Bauhaus to newer bands like Placebo and Editors.

So far the promo talk from the record company. The start of this record is very nice 'Cracked/Reasons' and is indeed inspired by the above mentioned bands. It sounds fresh and energetic with some influences from the '80s. Editors versus The Cure is a good one if you listen a bit more to the album.

'Street cliché' was already known a s a single and was my main reason to get this cd on my desk as I really loved it (95/100). After listening to it like almost 50 times I still can say I adore it! It's also the strongest song on the album.

'Going to Hell' is a bit softer than the previous songs, somehow it reminds me of some songs on 'Head on the Door' from The Cure (the acoustic guitar, the synths, the guitars). I love the voice, the drums and the drive, this song has something hypnotic in it.

'Dark city (Pt.II)' is also a great song, with the same hypnotic sound and bursting vocals. Love this song (the second best song on the album). It sounds so poppy and so happy, despite the lyrics and I love the bass player!

'Runaways' is a nice soft song with great guitars and a lamenting voice. It almost sounds as a mantra, o so hypnotic and then just when you taught you had it the tempo gets a higher drive! I started thinking about Whispers in the shadow at some point.

'Awful' is somehow a strange song to me: a bit hard to get along with. It's a soft song and has not much of a dynamic. For sure the lyrics are about something cruel.

'Shadows' has nice sliding guitars and reminds me strong of The Cure and some other bands from the 80's. This one has for sure a retro sound. To me it has a very catchy sound. The guitars sound at some point almost like Heavy metal minded and one can hear the bass player very good (something I love).

'Always' is one of my favorite ones. The lyrics and the music are very catchy and I love the dark lyrics. This one must be a hit on stage too! Love the up-tempo driven heat wave coming off from this song. Another one to add to my I-tunes!

'Get it out' starts with a minimal wave tune that could have been created in the 80's. It's a soft one, but with a hypnotic sound and a nice acoustic guitar.

'Scared to death' is a nice last one, a bit soft as end song. It sounds more like an I-M-R song until it explodes a bit and gets a higher drive. This song sounds very positive.

Well after all, the single was the best track, but it's a great album to listen to. A few songs ended into my home made playlist of 1800 songs (with songs from the 60's until now). I hope people get hooked on this band too!

Here is the I-tunes link as I want to support them: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/four/id720874583

And here is my previous review: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/the-exploding-boy-street-cliche/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/10/2013


 

Next reviews
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within
UMBER • Sunshine Young
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II

 

Other reviews from THE EXPLODING BOY
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
THE EXPLODING BOY • Street Cliche
THE EXPLODING BOY • SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent