tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/10/2013 : THE EXPLODING BOY - Four

THE EXPLODING BOY

Four

MusicCD
Cold WaveGaragerockNew waveRock

[90/100]   

Artoffact
28/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Founded in 2006 in Stockholm and named after an underrated b-side by The Cure, The Exploding Boy is a four-piece post-punk act who recently signed a worldwide record deal with Germany's Drakkar Entertainment (Haggard, The Sorrow, Emil Bulls). Picked up for release by Toronto's Artoffact Records in North America, The Exploding Boy's fourth album (appropriately entitled Four) is supported by a Johan Edlund (Tiamat)-produced video for Dark City Pt. II, the album's first single. A second single for Street Cliche was released on iTunes on October 8th. The album's ten tracks present a fresh array of influences, from classics like The Cure, Sisters Of Mercy, Joy Division and Bauhaus to newer bands like Placebo and Editors.

So far the promo talk from the record company. The start of this record is very nice 'Cracked/Reasons' and is indeed inspired by the above mentioned bands. It sounds fresh and energetic with some influences from the '80s. Editors versus The Cure is a good one if you listen a bit more to the album.

'Street cliché' was already known a s a single and was my main reason to get this cd on my desk as I really loved it (95/100). After listening to it like almost 50 times I still can say I adore it! It's also the strongest song on the album.

'Going to Hell' is a bit softer than the previous songs, somehow it reminds me of some songs on 'Head on the Door' from The Cure (the acoustic guitar, the synths, the guitars). I love the voice, the drums and the drive, this song has something hypnotic in it.

'Dark city (Pt.II)' is also a great song, with the same hypnotic sound and bursting vocals. Love this song (the second best song on the album). It sounds so poppy and so happy, despite the lyrics and I love the bass player!

'Runaways' is a nice soft song with great guitars and a lamenting voice. It almost sounds as a mantra, o so hypnotic and then just when you taught you had it the tempo gets a higher drive! I started thinking about Whispers in the shadow at some point.

'Awful' is somehow a strange song to me: a bit hard to get along with. It's a soft song and has not much of a dynamic. For sure the lyrics are about something cruel.

'Shadows' has nice sliding guitars and reminds me strong of The Cure and some other bands from the 80's. This one has for sure a retro sound. To me it has a very catchy sound. The guitars sound at some point almost like Heavy metal minded and one can hear the bass player very good (something I love).

'Always' is one of my favorite ones. The lyrics and the music are very catchy and I love the dark lyrics. This one must be a hit on stage too! Love the up-tempo driven heat wave coming off from this song. Another one to add to my I-tunes!

'Get it out' starts with a minimal wave tune that could have been created in the 80's. It's a soft one, but with a hypnotic sound and a nice acoustic guitar.

'Scared to death' is a nice last one, a bit soft as end song. It sounds more like an I-M-R song until it explodes a bit and gets a higher drive. This song sounds very positive.

Well after all, the single was the best track, but it's a great album to listen to. A few songs ended into my home made playlist of 1800 songs (with songs from the 60's until now). I hope people get hooked on this band too!

Here is the I-tunes link as I want to support them: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/four/id720874583

And here is my previous review: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/the-exploding-boy-street-cliche/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/10/2013


 

Next reviews
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within
UMBER • Sunshine Young
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II

 

Other reviews from THE EXPLODING BOY
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
THE EXPLODING BOY • Street Cliche
THE EXPLODING BOY • SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem