tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/10/2013 : THE DARLING BUDS - Pop Said

THE DARLING BUDS

Pop Said

MusicCD
Indie

[82/100]   

Cherry Red Records
28/10/2013, Didier BECU

Of course it has something to do with my age, but I clearly remember those times when I bought my weekly Melody Maker. Apart from some nobodies, it were usually people like David Gedge from The Wedding Present who were gracing the cover. And then in the beginning of the 90's, there she was: Andrea Budd. A gorgeous blonde who was the frontwoman of a band named The Darling Buds. They did nothing knew, as all by all it was already done by bands like The Flatmates, The Primitives or even Transvision Vamp as this was nothing but bouncing indiepop with lovely female vocals.

Perhaps they were just lucky, as back in 1992 I easily could sum up 40 bands (or more) who sounded like them: The Popguns, Delicious Monster, The Hearthrobs to name a few, and of course hundreds of other bands I totally forgot. Yeah, we had a huge pile of indierecords back then and yet, "Pop said!" by The Darling Buds is one I kept playing, and I'm not saying this because of the looks of Andrea.

This mighty debut by this South Wales-indieband contained classics (well, at least it were classics in some rooms!) like  ‘Let’s Go Round There’, ‘Burst’, ‘Hit The Ground’ or ‘You’ve Got To Choose’. As this mighty gem is rather hard to find these days and because it's a good time to rediscover their music, Cherry Red has  reissued the album and expanded by nine tracks including all the B-sides.

An indie (re) must-have!

Didier BECU
28/10/2013


Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies