tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/10/2013 : ELEMENTS - Elements

ELEMENTS

Elements

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePop

[81/100]   

Self-released
19/10/2013, Didier BECU

One of the arts of being a musician is the variety of things he’s doing. That’s probably why I love Bowie so much and be honest, if you’re in love with music: why limiting yourself? The reason for saying all this is because I want to tell you something about the newest project by Sam Claeys who’s doing the vocals and guitars. Lots of you will know him as one of the founding members of Der Klinke (just like Chris), but also for being part of Red Zebra. According to the bio, this band see themselves as the continuation of the deceased Belgian wave-punkband. Along with Geert Maertens, Chris De Neve and Johan Isselée , Sam went to the famous Abbey Road-studios (you read that well!) to record their debut mini-album.

Describing the band’s music is far from being easy, but even if they have risen out of the ashes of Red Zebra it’s a totally different thing. I myself would say that they’re a perfect marriage between Britpop and wavemusic. The Britpop definitely stands for the melody as Elements are one of the few bands that haven’t forgotten that a haunting melody is one of the key elements from music. The wave is definitely for the melancholic feel. Sometimes I heard echoes from The Sound, and being a Borland-fanatic that’s a comparison I rarely use.

Let’s hope these guys have the ability to show their skills in the most wide possible way ever. If I should give them one advice it’d be to forget that Red Zebra-link. Yeah, I know it’s easier to reach an audience but after having heard this debut I’m convinced the band have an own sound….and with tunes!

For more info you can reach the band at info@zounds.be

Didier BECU
19/10/2013


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)