tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/10/2013 : ELEMENTS - Elements

ELEMENTS

Elements

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePop

[81/100]   

Self-released
19/10/2013, Didier BECU

One of the arts of being a musician is the variety of things he’s doing. That’s probably why I love Bowie so much and be honest, if you’re in love with music: why limiting yourself? The reason for saying all this is because I want to tell you something about the newest project by Sam Claeys who’s doing the vocals and guitars. Lots of you will know him as one of the founding members of Der Klinke (just like Chris), but also for being part of Red Zebra. According to the bio, this band see themselves as the continuation of the deceased Belgian wave-punkband. Along with Geert Maertens, Chris De Neve and Johan Isselée , Sam went to the famous Abbey Road-studios (you read that well!) to record their debut mini-album.

Describing the band’s music is far from being easy, but even if they have risen out of the ashes of Red Zebra it’s a totally different thing. I myself would say that they’re a perfect marriage between Britpop and wavemusic. The Britpop definitely stands for the melody as Elements are one of the few bands that haven’t forgotten that a haunting melody is one of the key elements from music. The wave is definitely for the melancholic feel. Sometimes I heard echoes from The Sound, and being a Borland-fanatic that’s a comparison I rarely use.

Let’s hope these guys have the ability to show their skills in the most wide possible way ever. If I should give them one advice it’d be to forget that Red Zebra-link. Yeah, I know it’s easier to reach an audience but after having heard this debut I’m convinced the band have an own sound….and with tunes!

For more info you can reach the band at info@zounds.be

Didier BECU
19/10/2013


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

04
12
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme