tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2017 : TYCHO BRAHE - Triplex [Complete]

TYCHO BRAHE

Triplex [Complete]

MusicCD
Electro PopNew wavePopRock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
18/10/2017, Masha KASHA

The first time I listened to this album my only question was... where these guys were actually from. Well, the right answer is Brisbane, Australia. Tycho Brahe was formed in 1993, made a lot of good synthpop and have played together with bands like The Human League, VNV Nation, John Foxx, Covenant, Psyche, Real Life and others. The album is called Triplex because it is a compilation of three previous EPs merging into an entire album adding some bonus tracks as a cherry on the top (of course),

The sound of "Triplex" is very 80s: it treats pop, rock and electro music in a more or less equal manner. Somewhere between Depeche Mode, X Marks the Pedwalk and classical 80s hard rock. The overall mood of the album is more funky and vibrant than melancholy, although you can find a bit of everything. The songs, just to generalise, often begin with a darker beat ending up in an epic synth manner.

Writer's choice

It was really hard to choose only one song since the band managed to make all the songs very high quality with really classy musical arrangements. The list of my favourites begins with "Loveless" - a dark and dynamic disco track with a catchy refrain. "Relentless" is another rhythmic composition with quite vibrant beats. "No Love" is another well placed romantic track. It is worth mentioning, that the album also includes some instrumental tracks - for example "Arizona" and "Savage".

To sum it up

Tycho Brache play good 80s pop electro rock mainstream music with a pinch of dark electro and they are doing it in a good way. The tracks are really well managed, the concept and the credibility are really well maintained, but, if you are a fan of more unexpected and avant garde music it may not match your taste. I am sure the album shall please fans of real 80s with its mix of disco and melancholy. :) It is like the pace of life, ballads and dancing. I also guess if you like classic hard rock you will love it as well. As I do.

Tracklist

01.Castaway
02.Loveless
03.Arizona
04. Lullaby
05.Relentless
06. Metropolis
07.Toyzilla
08 1985
09.No Love
10.Valerie Perrine (Miss Teschmacher)
11.Savage
12.Another Useless Photograph
Bonus Tracks

Masha KASHA
18/10/2017


 

Next reviews
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue