tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2017 : TYCHO BRAHE - Triplex [Complete]

TYCHO BRAHE

Triplex [Complete]

MusicCD
Electro PopNew wavePopRock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
18/10/2017, Masha KASHA

The first time I listened to this album my only question was... where these guys were actually from. Well, the right answer is Brisbane, Australia. Tycho Brahe was formed in 1993, made a lot of good synthpop and have played together with bands like The Human League, VNV Nation, John Foxx, Covenant, Psyche, Real Life and others. The album is called Triplex because it is a compilation of three previous EPs merging into an entire album adding some bonus tracks as a cherry on the top (of course),

The sound of "Triplex" is very 80s: it treats pop, rock and electro music in a more or less equal manner. Somewhere between Depeche Mode, X Marks the Pedwalk and classical 80s hard rock. The overall mood of the album is more funky and vibrant than melancholy, although you can find a bit of everything. The songs, just to generalise, often begin with a darker beat ending up in an epic synth manner.

Writer's choice

It was really hard to choose only one song since the band managed to make all the songs very high quality with really classy musical arrangements. The list of my favourites begins with "Loveless" - a dark and dynamic disco track with a catchy refrain. "Relentless" is another rhythmic composition with quite vibrant beats. "No Love" is another well placed romantic track. It is worth mentioning, that the album also includes some instrumental tracks - for example "Arizona" and "Savage".

To sum it up

Tycho Brache play good 80s pop electro rock mainstream music with a pinch of dark electro and they are doing it in a good way. The tracks are really well managed, the concept and the credibility are really well maintained, but, if you are a fan of more unexpected and avant garde music it may not match your taste. I am sure the album shall please fans of real 80s with its mix of disco and melancholy. :) It is like the pace of life, ballads and dancing. I also guess if you like classic hard rock you will love it as well. As I do.

Tracklist

01.Castaway
02.Loveless
03.Arizona
04. Lullaby
05.Relentless
06. Metropolis
07.Toyzilla
08 1985
09.No Love
10.Valerie Perrine (Miss Teschmacher)
11.Savage
12.Another Useless Photograph
Bonus Tracks

Masha KASHA
18/10/2017


 

Next reviews
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life