tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2017 : TYCHO BRAHE - Triplex [Complete]

TYCHO BRAHE

Triplex [Complete]

MusicCD
Electro PopNew wavePopRock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
18/10/2017, Masha KASHA

The first time I listened to this album my only question was... where these guys were actually from. Well, the right answer is Brisbane, Australia. Tycho Brahe was formed in 1993, made a lot of good synthpop and have played together with bands like The Human League, VNV Nation, John Foxx, Covenant, Psyche, Real Life and others. The album is called Triplex because it is a compilation of three previous EPs merging into an entire album adding some bonus tracks as a cherry on the top (of course),

The sound of "Triplex" is very 80s: it treats pop, rock and electro music in a more or less equal manner. Somewhere between Depeche Mode, X Marks the Pedwalk and classical 80s hard rock. The overall mood of the album is more funky and vibrant than melancholy, although you can find a bit of everything. The songs, just to generalise, often begin with a darker beat ending up in an epic synth manner.

Writer's choice

It was really hard to choose only one song since the band managed to make all the songs very high quality with really classy musical arrangements. The list of my favourites begins with "Loveless" - a dark and dynamic disco track with a catchy refrain. "Relentless" is another rhythmic composition with quite vibrant beats. "No Love" is another well placed romantic track. It is worth mentioning, that the album also includes some instrumental tracks - for example "Arizona" and "Savage".

To sum it up

Tycho Brache play good 80s pop electro rock mainstream music with a pinch of dark electro and they are doing it in a good way. The tracks are really well managed, the concept and the credibility are really well maintained, but, if you are a fan of more unexpected and avant garde music it may not match your taste. I am sure the album shall please fans of real 80s with its mix of disco and melancholy. :) It is like the pace of life, ballads and dancing. I also guess if you like classic hard rock you will love it as well. As I do.

Tracklist

01.Castaway
02.Loveless
03.Arizona
04. Lullaby
05.Relentless
06. Metropolis
07.Toyzilla
08 1985
09.No Love
10.Valerie Perrine (Miss Teschmacher)
11.Savage
12.Another Useless Photograph
Bonus Tracks

Masha KASHA
18/10/2017


 

Next reviews
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall