tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2017 : TYCHO BRAHE - Triplex [Complete]

TYCHO BRAHE

Triplex [Complete]

MusicCD
Electro PopNew wavePopRock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
18/10/2017, Masha KASHA

The first time I listened to this album my only question was... where these guys were actually from. Well, the right answer is Brisbane, Australia. Tycho Brahe was formed in 1993, made a lot of good synthpop and have played together with bands like The Human League, VNV Nation, John Foxx, Covenant, Psyche, Real Life and others. The album is called Triplex because it is a compilation of three previous EPs merging into an entire album adding some bonus tracks as a cherry on the top (of course),

The sound of "Triplex" is very 80s: it treats pop, rock and electro music in a more or less equal manner. Somewhere between Depeche Mode, X Marks the Pedwalk and classical 80s hard rock. The overall mood of the album is more funky and vibrant than melancholy, although you can find a bit of everything. The songs, just to generalise, often begin with a darker beat ending up in an epic synth manner.

Writer's choice

It was really hard to choose only one song since the band managed to make all the songs very high quality with really classy musical arrangements. The list of my favourites begins with "Loveless" - a dark and dynamic disco track with a catchy refrain. "Relentless" is another rhythmic composition with quite vibrant beats. "No Love" is another well placed romantic track. It is worth mentioning, that the album also includes some instrumental tracks - for example "Arizona" and "Savage".

To sum it up

Tycho Brache play good 80s pop electro rock mainstream music with a pinch of dark electro and they are doing it in a good way. The tracks are really well managed, the concept and the credibility are really well maintained, but, if you are a fan of more unexpected and avant garde music it may not match your taste. I am sure the album shall please fans of real 80s with its mix of disco and melancholy. :) It is like the pace of life, ballads and dancing. I also guess if you like classic hard rock you will love it as well. As I do.

Tracklist

01.Castaway
02.Loveless
03.Arizona
04. Lullaby
05.Relentless
06. Metropolis
07.Toyzilla
08 1985
09.No Love
10.Valerie Perrine (Miss Teschmacher)
11.Savage
12.Another Useless Photograph
Bonus Tracks

Masha KASHA
18/10/2017


 

Next reviews
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete