tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

STACIAN

Person L

MusicVinyl
IndustrialLo-fiSynth PunkSynthpop

[90/100]   

Night School Records
19/10/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Stacian -aka Dania Luck- was one half of duo Luxvid, authors of one of my favourite synth cassette releases in recent history, also reviewed here at Peek-a-Boo. Now she's back as a solo artist (after the 2012 album Music For Cadets) with this dirty little gem on Glaswegian label Night School Records.

Person L is a mostly instrumental effort where Stacian brings us a collection of synth-driven tracks that connect her music to Bay Area projects from the golden age of the early 2000s, like Sixteens or The Vanishing. If you listen more closely, you can hear some Add N To (X) and early ADULT. in it. This is not so much a dark record as it is tense, claustrophobic, and actually really fun.

Album highlights include the three tracks with vocals, 'Remote Cntl', the single 'Telephonix' and the first track 'Volx', possibly my favourite in the whole LP, with a slow pulse and a fantastic melody. All of them somehow manage to be heavy synth songs and at the same time really catchy, even poppy tunes.

The rest of the album has a much more unsettling quality to it though, with rough analogue synth sequences stepping over anxious, neurotic drum machines. All of it, obviously, extremely processed. Person L is a much welcome antidote to the overload of sugar-coated and overproduced Synthwave of our time. Available fom the Night School bandcamp website.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
19/10/2017


19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L 19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

 

Next reviews
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: LO-FI
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them