tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

STACIAN

Person L

MusicVinyl
IndustrialLo-fiSynth PunkSynthpop

[90/100]   

Night School Records
19/10/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Stacian -aka Dania Luck- was one half of duo Luxvid, authors of one of my favourite synth cassette releases in recent history, also reviewed here at Peek-a-Boo. Now she's back as a solo artist (after the 2012 album Music For Cadets) with this dirty little gem on Glaswegian label Night School Records.

Person L is a mostly instrumental effort where Stacian brings us a collection of synth-driven tracks that connect her music to Bay Area projects from the golden age of the early 2000s, like Sixteens or The Vanishing. If you listen more closely, you can hear some Add N To (X) and early ADULT. in it. This is not so much a dark record as it is tense, claustrophobic, and actually really fun.

Album highlights include the three tracks with vocals, 'Remote Cntl', the single 'Telephonix' and the first track 'Volx', possibly my favourite in the whole LP, with a slow pulse and a fantastic melody. All of them somehow manage to be heavy synth songs and at the same time really catchy, even poppy tunes.

The rest of the album has a much more unsettling quality to it though, with rough analogue synth sequences stepping over anxious, neurotic drum machines. All of it, obviously, extremely processed. Person L is a much welcome antidote to the overload of sugar-coated and overproduced Synthwave of our time. Available fom the Night School bandcamp website.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
19/10/2017


19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L 19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

 

Next reviews
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: LO-FI
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD • SSS
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)