tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

23/07/2021 : CARNAL MACHINERY - Cluster A

CARNAL MACHINERY

Cluster A

MusicCD / Digital
DarkwaveSynth Punk

[84/100]   

Self-released
23/07/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

A year of looking gloomily at the same image of your garden wandering from season to season. Walls creeping closer and closer, and you, lying on your sofa, sleepily looking around and noticing that your interior could actually do with a bit of smartening up. It has frustrated many of us, as it also did Helsinki resident Jacques Saph (Virgin in Veil), who was prevented from taking to the stage due to the pandemic. He decided to start an electronic solo project. A chilly sound somewhere between darkwave, minimal synth and a pinch of deathrock. Welcome Carnal Machinery!

The album Cluster A contains 9 songs. The slightly more screaming and rough vocals melt together with bone-dry rhythms, the pithy bass-synthline and the humming melody. Twilight Zone sets the tone for a heavy darkwave album with some touches of synthwave and minimal. No, we do not think in terms of categories, but it gives you an idea. Jacques brings his own vocals from Virgin in Veil. We get ready for some gothic pogo with Bleak. A song that shines with joy when you read fragments of the lyrics: "... Am I awake, or still sleeping, Sure thing, death is creeping, sniffing cocaine to ease pain, your world is driving me insane...".

Musically, the tracks lean close together, but the atmosphere is so raw and dark that you get sucked into this Cluster A.

Inhumane Nature has a rougher edge, some deathrock vibes and even a touch of post-punk. Travis Bickle is a kindred spirit. A mutant if you prefer.

And then the single that was sent out into the world in the spring of 2020 as a taster: Voices. Slightly more pithy, solid backing from the rhythm section, screaming and yet intoxicating at the same time.One would start hearing Voices in the end...

Boiling Blood is a solid chunk of energy with vocals that come out like a stream of undigested food from where it went in. It swirls and spins in all directions.

A solid chunk of synthpunk/darkwave with a dash of deathrock and postpunk. It goes down smoothly. I hope the same for you. A corona year brings a musician genius ideas, and when you pour them into an album out of boredom, you get a beautiful first effort like Cluster A. Carnal Machinery: one to watch!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/07/2021


NL

Een jaar van mistroostig kijken op hetzelfde beeld van je tuin die van seizoen naar seizoen wandelt. Muren die steeds dichterbij sluipen, en jij, liggend op je sofa, slaperig rondkijkend en vaststellend dat je interieur eigenlijk wel wat opsmuk kan verdragen. Het frustreerde menigeen onder ons. Zo ook de in Helsinki wonende Jacques Saph (Virgin in Veil) die door de pandemie geen enkel podium mocht bestormen. Hij besloot dan maar een elektronisch soloproject te starten. Een kille sound die het midden houdt tussen darkwave, minimal synth en een snuif deathrock. Welkom Carnal Machinery !

Het album Cluster A herbergt 9 songs. De iets meer schreeuwerige en ruwe vocalen smelten samen met kurkdroge ritmes, de vinnige bas-synthlijn en de neuriënde melodie. Twilight Zone zet de toon voor een stevig darkwave album met wat toetsen van synthwave en minimal. Nee, we doen niet aan hokjesdenken, maar zo heb je een idee. De vocale eigenheid brengt Jacques mee van Virgin in Veil. We maken ons klaar voor wat gothic pogo met Bleak. Een song die straalt van vrolijkheid als je flarden tekst leest: “… Am I awake, or still sleeping, Sure thing, death is creeping, sniffing cocaine to ease pain, your world is driving me insane…”

Muzikaal leunen de tracks dicht bij elkaar aan, maar de sfeer is zo rauw en donker dat je meegezogen wordt in deze Cluster A.
Inhumane Nature heeft een ruwere rand, wat deathrock-vibes en zelfs een toets van postpunk. Travis Bickle is er een soortgenoot van. Een mutant als je dat liever wil.

En dan de single die de wereld werd ingestuurd in de lente van 2020 als voorsmaakje: Voices. Iets vinniger, stevige ruggensteun vanuit de ritmesectie, schreeuwerig en toch bedwelmend tegelijkertijd. Je zou er Voices van beginnen horen op den duur…
Boiling Blood is een stevige brok energie met zang die er als een stroom onverteerd voedsel terug uit komt langs waar het erin ging. Het kolkt en draait alle kanten op.

Een stevige brok synthpunk/darkwave met een scheut deathrock en postpunk. Het gaat er vlot in. Ik hoop voor u hetzelfde. Een coronajaar brengt een muzikant op geniale ideeën, en als je die dan uit verveling in een album giet, krijg je een mooie eersteling zoals Cluster A. Carnal Machinery: one to watch!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/07/2021


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS