tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this single (digital) review

30/06/2021 : SYGO CRIES - End Of A Century

SYGO CRIES

End Of A Century

MusicSingle (Digital)
Cold Wave

[89/100]   

Self-released
30/06/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Mika Goedrijk (This Morn' Omina) was looking for a new bass player for Sygo Cries just before the summer of 2020. Wim Guillemyn showed interest and after a few chats there was a click, both personally and musically. The first songs quickly took shape. In order to be able to play live shows as well, common acquaintance and friend Olivier Moulin, who also plays keyboards with The Mars Model, was brought in as a keyboard player. While waiting for a full album with reworkings of old songs and some brand new ones, we now get a first taste with the digital single End Of A Century.

Mika started Sygo Cries long ago as a guitar / coldwave project. Now this project has been brought back from under the dust, with a new line-up, and the first single tastes like more. Amazing guitar play, solid bass line. It sounds very nice. John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda) was responsible for the mix of this great coldwave song with tons of potential.

Hopefully the other songs - reworked and new – will soon be ready for release, followed by great performances in packed venues.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/06/2021


NL

Mika Goedrijk (This Morn' Omina) zocht net voor de zomer van 2020 een nieuwe bassist voor Sygo Cries. Wim Guillemyn toonde interesse en na een paar chatgesprekken kwam er een klik, zowel op persoonlijk vlak als muzikaal. De eerste songs kregen vrij snel vorm. Om ook live shows te kunnen spelen werd gemeenschappelijke kennis en vriend Olivier Moulin, die ook de toetsen bedient bij The Mars Model, als keyboardspeler binnengehaald. In afwachting van een volwaardig album met herwerkingen van oude songs en een aantal gloednieuwe, krijgen we nu een voorproefje met de digital single End Of A Century.

Mika startte Sygo Cries lang geleden als gitaar / coldwave project. Nu is dit project dus van onder het stof gehaald, met een nieuwe bezetting, en de eerste single smaakt alvast naar veel meer. Zalig gitaarwerk, stevige baslijn. Het klinkt alleraardigst. John Wolf (Your Life On Hold, Mildreda) stond in voor de mix van deze geweldige coldwave-song met tonnen potentieel.

Laat dus maar snel de andere - herwerkte en nieuwe - songs in hun definitieve plooi vallen om uitgebracht te kunnen worden, hopelijk gevolgd door geweldige optredens in volle zalen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/06/2021


30/06/2021 : SYGO CRIES - End Of A Century 30/06/2021 : SYGO CRIES - End Of A Century

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS