tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

29/05/2020 : THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS - Anxious

THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS

Anxious

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[90/100]   

SwissDarkNights
29/05/2020, Ash MCAULIFFE

The Midnight Computers have perfectly timed the release of their debut album. Aptly titled "Anxious" it really does capture the essence of the current global unease but in a better way than one might expect. Instead of being insular and introspective, the record is grandiose and cutthroat and like a fierce musical body shake. The guitars are spunky and together with the synths are jangly and jarring giving that feeling of being off kilter.

Yet this is not a depressing record. It's energetic and very fresh sounding within its musical spectrum. It is an ambitious mix of darkwave and coldwave all brought together darkly by the enthralling vocals of lead singer Jonathann Cast.

"Blinding Necessities" is simply perfection in displaying all areas of expertise this band possesses. Sweeping synths, manic drums, a haunting string riff, splanchnic guitars that get one right in the gut and that vocal.....perfection!

The title track along with the track “Tears” really are the musical personification of said album title emotion. They run through the brain rampantly and will raise the heartbeat of any listener to an ecstatic/anxiety provoking borderline. “Murder Pain” offers a slight reprieve from the manic onslaught and it is here where I can hear influences of Front Line Assembly in the technocoded vocals. The track is grunge reminiscent and is the track that stands out on the record for being so different to the rest which is not a bad thing at all!

This is a mightily exciting debut by The Midnight Computers. I cannot wait to hear what comes next.

Who knew anxiety could be this exciting!

Ash MCAULIFFE
29/05/2020


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete