tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

18/12/2018 : SELOFAN - Vitrioli

SELOFAN

Vitrioli

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveMinimalSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Dead Scarlet Records
18/12/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

In the cold wave and minimal genre, which has recently got a bit more attention, Selofan has become a well-known act. With their fifth albumVitrioli they stroke hard again. The Greek duo released it on their own label Dead Scarlet and Fabrika Records.

It is already clear from the first second that the duo is experienced with the genre. Their analogue machinery grabs you by the throat. Give Me A Reason ​comes directly from a top shelf. A striking song in spite of its simplicity. Even if they are in the depths of waveland, they can also at times sound lighter. Billie was a vampire… Something we didn't know about Billie. Then back to some bitter gravity with the bombs that Black Box delivers. A cross fire of analogue beats with a heavy bass line that impressively comes in.

I’m Addicted. It could have come from my mouth. The incantation of the monotonous drums drags you into a trance you don't want to escape from. It is as addictive as the title suggest. To get rid of this life force you'll get a very dancy disco-80's song with Ist Die Liebe Tot. I can't find an answer to that question. Find it out... Or is it Un amor etterno? By listening to the rythm section beating like a heart attack it still seems passionate. Whispering in your ear you will get the message. They share it with you secretly. In The language of love you'll get lessons of love in dark satin robes. Beauty in notes, octaves and melody. Living scandal will be your companion. Monotonously intoxicating all along the line.

The selt-titled song Vitrioli is a song where everyone will think of a certain Turkish band (there aren't that many, right?). It sounds more defined, and anyone who knows Greek will surely understand something. I don't, but the music speaks from itself. Fouchsia kameleon is also sung in Greek. A nice pure minimal song which is conspicuous by pushy vocals on a tight repetitive rythm. Endless. After speaking about the widely covered topic of love, it is now time for fashion and loneliness: Loneliness is fashion. Hysteria invites you to dance... read: pogo. Uptempo, hard, inspiring.

Vitrioli is a very strong album that goes even deeper into the minimal and cold wave genre than before. There's a lot in it, you'll see sparks and smoke, but you won't get burnt so it is worth listening to it several times. Because there's not even one second you'll get bored.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2018


NL

In het cold wave en minimal genre, dat de laatste tijd toch wat meer aanhang lijkt te krijgen, is Selofan een oude bekende. Met hun vijfde album Vitrioli zetten ze een reeks sterke albums verder. Het Griekse duo brengt dit uit op hun eigen Dead Scarlet Label en Fabrika Records.

Dat ze doorwinterd zijn in het genre is al duidelijk vanaf de eerste seconde. De analoge machinerie grijpt je meteen bij de strot. Give Me A Reason is meteen van de bovenste plank. Een vol klinkend nummer dat ondanks de eenvoud heel strak klinkt. En het mag, ondanks het feit dat ze zich in de dieptes van waveland bevinden, ook soms iets luchtiger. Billie was a vampire… iets wat we niet wisten over Billie. Terug naar bittere ernst met de mokerslagen die Black Box uitdeelt. Een spervuur van analoge beats met een stevige baslijn die indrukwekkend binnenkomt.

I’m Addicted. Ware het geen songtitel, het zou uit mijn mond kunnen komen. Het bezwerende van de monotone drums brengt je in een trance waar je niet uit wil. Het is zo verslavend als de titel doet uitschijnen. Kwestie van de levensenergie kwijt te kunnen krijgen we een heel dansbaar disco-achtig nummer met Ist Die Liebe Tot. Het antwoord op de vraag moet ik schuldig blijven. Find it out… Of is het Un amor etterno? Aan de als een hartslag klinkende ritmesectie te horen is die nog vurig. Fluisterend in je oor krijg je de boodschap. In het grootste geheim word je deelgenoot. In The language of love vinden we liefdeslessen in donkere satijnen gewaden en kristalhelder. Schoonheid in noten, octaven en melodie. Het wriemelt zich een weg tot diep in je ziel. En als je toch in een heupwiegende dans bent verzonken, laat de blinkende tipschoenen maar hun gang gaan en met een jazzy gearrangeerde drive rustig verder over de in wit licht gehulde dansvloer schreiden. Living scandal zal je gezel zijn. Monotoon bedwelmend over de ganse lijn.

Titelsong Vitrioli is een song waar iedereen een bepaalde Turkse band (ja, zo veel zijn er niet, toch?) zal in ontwaren. Het klinkt wat afgelijnder, en wie de Griekse taal machtig is zal er ook iets van begrijpen. Ik niet dus, maar de muziek spreekt voor zich. Fouchsia kameleon is ook in het Grieks. Een lekkere pure minimal song die schittert door eenvoud: drammerige vocalen op een strak zichzelf herhalend ritme. Eindeloos. Na het al zo vaak over de liefde gehad te hebben, tijd voor een combinatie van mode en eenzaamheid: Loneliness is fashion. Hysteria nodigt uit tot een dansje.. lees: pogo. Uptempo, hard, drijvend, inspirerend.

Vitrioli is een heel sterk vol en volwaardig album waar nog dieper in de minimal en cold wave wordt gedoken dan voorheen. Er zit lading op, we krijgen vonken, en er smeult heel wat. Verbranden doe je je niet, dus het is uitermate veilig om dit keer na keer opnieuw te beluisteren. Want vervelen doet het geen seconde.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2018


 

Next reviews
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault
JO QUAIL • Exsolve
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
THE COCKY BITCHES • MERCY
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
DARK • Nightmare
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy