tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

18/12/2018 : SELOFAN - Vitrioli

SELOFAN

Vitrioli

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveMinimalSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Dead Scarlet Records
18/12/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

In the cold wave and minimal genre, which has recently got a bit more attention, Selofan has become a well-known act. With their fifth albumVitrioli they stroke hard again. The Greek duo released it on their own label Dead Scarlet and Fabrika Records.

It is already clear from the first second that the duo is experienced with the genre. Their analogue machinery grabs you by the throat. Give Me A Reason ​comes directly from a top shelf. A striking song in spite of its simplicity. Even if they are in the depths of waveland, they can also at times sound lighter. Billie was a vampire… Something we didn't know about Billie. Then back to some bitter gravity with the bombs that Black Box delivers. A cross fire of analogue beats with a heavy bass line that impressively comes in.

I’m Addicted. It could have come from my mouth. The incantation of the monotonous drums drags you into a trance you don't want to escape from. It is as addictive as the title suggest. To get rid of this life force you'll get a very dancy disco-80's song with Ist Die Liebe Tot. I can't find an answer to that question. Find it out... Or is it Un amor etterno? By listening to the rythm section beating like a heart attack it still seems passionate. Whispering in your ear you will get the message. They share it with you secretly. In The language of love you'll get lessons of love in dark satin robes. Beauty in notes, octaves and melody. Living scandal will be your companion. Monotonously intoxicating all along the line.

The selt-titled song Vitrioli is a song where everyone will think of a certain Turkish band (there aren't that many, right?). It sounds more defined, and anyone who knows Greek will surely understand something. I don't, but the music speaks from itself. Fouchsia kameleon is also sung in Greek. A nice pure minimal song which is conspicuous by pushy vocals on a tight repetitive rythm. Endless. After speaking about the widely covered topic of love, it is now time for fashion and loneliness: Loneliness is fashion. Hysteria invites you to dance... read: pogo. Uptempo, hard, inspiring.

Vitrioli is a very strong album that goes even deeper into the minimal and cold wave genre than before. There's a lot in it, you'll see sparks and smoke, but you won't get burnt so it is worth listening to it several times. Because there's not even one second you'll get bored.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2018


NL

In het cold wave en minimal genre, dat de laatste tijd toch wat meer aanhang lijkt te krijgen, is Selofan een oude bekende. Met hun vijfde album Vitrioli zetten ze een reeks sterke albums verder. Het Griekse duo brengt dit uit op hun eigen Dead Scarlet Label en Fabrika Records.

Dat ze doorwinterd zijn in het genre is al duidelijk vanaf de eerste seconde. De analoge machinerie grijpt je meteen bij de strot. Give Me A Reason is meteen van de bovenste plank. Een vol klinkend nummer dat ondanks de eenvoud heel strak klinkt. En het mag, ondanks het feit dat ze zich in de dieptes van waveland bevinden, ook soms iets luchtiger. Billie was a vampire… iets wat we niet wisten over Billie. Terug naar bittere ernst met de mokerslagen die Black Box uitdeelt. Een spervuur van analoge beats met een stevige baslijn die indrukwekkend binnenkomt.

I’m Addicted. Ware het geen songtitel, het zou uit mijn mond kunnen komen. Het bezwerende van de monotone drums brengt je in een trance waar je niet uit wil. Het is zo verslavend als de titel doet uitschijnen. Kwestie van de levensenergie kwijt te kunnen krijgen we een heel dansbaar disco-achtig nummer met Ist Die Liebe Tot. Het antwoord op de vraag moet ik schuldig blijven. Find it out… Of is het Un amor etterno? Aan de als een hartslag klinkende ritmesectie te horen is die nog vurig. Fluisterend in je oor krijg je de boodschap. In het grootste geheim word je deelgenoot. In The language of love vinden we liefdeslessen in donkere satijnen gewaden en kristalhelder. Schoonheid in noten, octaven en melodie. Het wriemelt zich een weg tot diep in je ziel. En als je toch in een heupwiegende dans bent verzonken, laat de blinkende tipschoenen maar hun gang gaan en met een jazzy gearrangeerde drive rustig verder over de in wit licht gehulde dansvloer schreiden. Living scandal zal je gezel zijn. Monotoon bedwelmend over de ganse lijn.

Titelsong Vitrioli is een song waar iedereen een bepaalde Turkse band (ja, zo veel zijn er niet, toch?) zal in ontwaren. Het klinkt wat afgelijnder, en wie de Griekse taal machtig is zal er ook iets van begrijpen. Ik niet dus, maar de muziek spreekt voor zich. Fouchsia kameleon is ook in het Grieks. Een lekkere pure minimal song die schittert door eenvoud: drammerige vocalen op een strak zichzelf herhalend ritme. Eindeloos. Na het al zo vaak over de liefde gehad te hebben, tijd voor een combinatie van mode en eenzaamheid: Loneliness is fashion. Hysteria nodigt uit tot een dansje.. lees: pogo. Uptempo, hard, drijvend, inspirerend.

Vitrioli is een heel sterk vol en volwaardig album waar nog dieper in de minimal en cold wave wordt gedoken dan voorheen. Er zit lading op, we krijgen vonken, en er smeult heel wat. Verbranden doe je je niet, dus het is uitermate veilig om dit keer na keer opnieuw te beluisteren. Want vervelen doet het geen seconde.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/12/2018


 

Next reviews
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault
JO QUAIL • Exsolve
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
THE COCKY BITCHES • MERCY
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
MOTOR!K, NU-krautrock debut album featuring Dirk Ivens released by Out Of Line!
23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart