tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

27/11/2021 : MAGNETIC RUST - Multicolor

MAGNETIC RUST

Multicolor

MusicCD / Digital
Synth WaveSynthpop

[80/100]   

Self-released
27/11/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Sometimes, scrolling through some facebook groups can result in new ‘digital friends’ as in: connections. With some mutual friends, I received a message from Kévin Depoorter with an invite for the first official release-presentation of his latest product in Lille (France) for next year in February. A pity that I had to decline but we started chatting. Some moments later, Kévin sent me a link to my mailbox…

Magnetic Rust is the solo-project of Kévin, a North-French DIY-artist who is (clearly once you listen to the album) influenced by Jean-Michel Jarre, Kraftwerk and other pioneers in the electronic world (he also mentions Front 242, Gesaffelstein and Depeche Mode).

If you wander around through this album, you notice these influences are obvious. For example: the intro-track “Robotic Beats” as the title track “Multicolor” could come straight off the 80s samplers Synthesizer Greatest.

The tracks are very easy listening, laidback tracks. Ideal for a chill-out moment with some fancy drink that lights up in the dark. But still they have a different style. “Blue” for example gives me the shivers. Such an intense, emotional sad song.

Further on on the album there’s a great track “Funny Dance”. Clearly a Depeche Mode moment Kévin had there. Synthpop as it should sound.

The album slowly ripples and takes you further into Kévin’s dreamworld.

The final highlight is “Ca bouge encore”, with guest vocals by Bertrand Betsch, decidedly a well-known name especially in the French ‘scene’.

Multicolor is the fourth album by Magnetic Rust and you notice this is not an album which came falling from the sky. The tracks are layered, nicely arranged and full of passion. It’s all electronics, all beats and bleeps but what a great discovery.

It was released in October 2021 but is going to be officially presented to the audience on 26th February 2022. Curious? Meet Kévin at the Médiathèque of Vieux-Lille, at 17:30 where he will play a 1h30 DJ-set presenting the album and of course, some other similar tunes. Now I’m even more disappointed not to be able to make it to the release night…

Peter DOLPHEN
27/11/2021


 

Next reviews
MINUA • Simulacra
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
DARK • Nightmare
NICK CAVE • Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
MERCYFUL HEAVENS • For Now

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS