tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/04/2018 : APSURDE - See Me Coming

APSURDE

See Me Coming

MusicCD (EP)
Synth WaveSynthpop

[99/100]   

ScentAir Records
19/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who?

Apsürde is a Hungarian band from Budapest consisting of Adam Szakacs (lead), Gabor Csontos (synths) and Adam Szenasi (synths, visuals) and lyrics by Linda Scoucz. The sound is inspired by 80s and 90s classical synthpop/ electrowave.

The style

The style can be described in two words: Depeche and Mode. Wait, you say… a lot of bands sound like DM! Indeed a lot of bands do sound like but not a lot get as close as Apsürde. Smooth synths, dark mood, deep lyrics.

Favourite tracks

The release includes two songs: more dancable and powerful “See Me Coming” and a slow dance styled “I Am In”. The other four tracks are remixes. I love especially the 8BIT remix for the retro mood, making the sound very close to early DM tracks. Especially the “Into The Forest” Piano version of “See Me Coming” deserves particular attention, heading away from the dancefloor and transforming the song into a beautiful ballad.

When to listen to it?

When you want “Your own… Personal… Depeche Mode”. :) When you are tired of all the famous tracks which everyone knows and want something fresh and new... with good quality, authentic style, yet offbeat.

To sum it up

Very good release. Waiting for a sequel.

Masha KASHA
19/04/2018


 

Next reviews
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
MONOVIBES • Extended Play EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)