tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/04/2018 : APSURDE - See Me Coming

APSURDE

See Me Coming

MusicCD (EP)
Synth WaveSynthpop

[99/100]   

ScentAir Records
19/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who?

Apsürde is a Hungarian band from Budapest consisting of Adam Szakacs (lead), Gabor Csontos (synths) and Adam Szenasi (synths, visuals) and lyrics by Linda Scoucz. The sound is inspired by 80s and 90s classical synthpop/ electrowave.

The style

The style can be described in two words: Depeche and Mode. Wait, you say… a lot of bands sound like DM! Indeed a lot of bands do sound like but not a lot get as close as Apsürde. Smooth synths, dark mood, deep lyrics.

Favourite tracks

The release includes two songs: more dancable and powerful “See Me Coming” and a slow dance styled “I Am In”. The other four tracks are remixes. I love especially the 8BIT remix for the retro mood, making the sound very close to early DM tracks. Especially the “Into The Forest” Piano version of “See Me Coming” deserves particular attention, heading away from the dancefloor and transforming the song into a beautiful ballad.

When to listen to it?

When you want “Your own… Personal… Depeche Mode”. :) When you are tired of all the famous tracks which everyone knows and want something fresh and new... with good quality, authentic style, yet offbeat.

To sum it up

Very good release. Waiting for a sequel.

Masha KASHA
19/04/2018


 

Next reviews
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever