tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/04/2018 : APSURDE - See Me Coming

APSURDE

See Me Coming

MusicCD (EP)
Synth WaveSynthpop

[99/100]   

ScentAir Records
19/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who?

Apsürde is a Hungarian band from Budapest consisting of Adam Szakacs (lead), Gabor Csontos (synths) and Adam Szenasi (synths, visuals) and lyrics by Linda Scoucz. The sound is inspired by 80s and 90s classical synthpop/ electrowave.

The style

The style can be described in two words: Depeche and Mode. Wait, you say… a lot of bands sound like DM! Indeed a lot of bands do sound like but not a lot get as close as Apsürde. Smooth synths, dark mood, deep lyrics.

Favourite tracks

The release includes two songs: more dancable and powerful “See Me Coming” and a slow dance styled “I Am In”. The other four tracks are remixes. I love especially the 8BIT remix for the retro mood, making the sound very close to early DM tracks. Especially the “Into The Forest” Piano version of “See Me Coming” deserves particular attention, heading away from the dancefloor and transforming the song into a beautiful ballad.

When to listen to it?

When you want “Your own… Personal… Depeche Mode”. :) When you are tired of all the famous tracks which everyone knows and want something fresh and new... with good quality, authentic style, yet offbeat.

To sum it up

Very good release. Waiting for a sequel.

Masha KASHA
19/04/2018


 

Next reviews
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
MONOVIBES • Extended Play EP
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl