tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/12/2021 : TWO WITCHES - The Undead

TWO WITCHES

The Undead

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicGothic Rock

[80/100]   

Deepland Records
04/12/2021, Kurt INGELS

I never thought I would ever be charmed by an album by these Finnish Two Witches again, a name that is mainly kept alive today by founder Jyrki Witch (Jyrki Virtanen) who saw co-founder Anne Nurmi move to... Right! Lacrimosa! But let us focus on this release, “The Undead”.

We already knew that Two Witches came back in 2014 with “Goodevil”, followed by two live albums, “Voodoo Wytches” (2016) and “Deepland” (2020), meanwhile I saw them perform live, just before corona came by, at the legendary Wave Gotik Treffen. Today there is this new studio release, the first in seven years, on their new Brazilian Deepland label and it seems this Southern bath worked out well for these chilly Finns.

“The Undead” shows a band that has reinvented itself and easily conjures old school (well, rather the 90s) dark rock and gothic rock. Even more, on this album they managed to get Inkubus Sukkubus, Chaos Research, Vlad Janicek (The Nosferatu) and Ariel Maniki (Ariel Maniki And The Black Halos) among others, involved. The result is a series of strong songs such as “The Last Day”, “Bloodlust”, “Deepland” (gothic rock hymn in special clip) but also completely unique songs such as “Inquisition”, “Black Moon”, Ad Gladium”, “Sacrament For Three” (gothic rock hymn-to-be number two) or “Flowers Of Evil” stand solid.

This “The Undead” is an album that many gothic rock enthusiasts should hear and even more should have! A release which makes the name Two Witches shine again in this much too often misunderstood but irresistible subgenre that will last forever. This album is not called “The Undead” for no reason. The last two tracks are a menacingly suspenseful horror stories set to matching music; Penny Dreadful I - The Best Within" and "Penny Dreadful II - Ghost Story" which are added as extras to this album. Can’t say anything bad about this “The Undead”. Two Witches are back and very convincingly, never thought I would ever write this…

Kurt INGELS
04/12/2021


 

Next reviews
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
MINUA • Simulacra
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
DARK • Nightmare
NICK CAVE • Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS