tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

LUNA RISE

Dark Days and Bright Nights

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[65/100]   

NRT Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Austrian rock band Luna Rise exists since 2011 and has released a full album. You can expect melodic rock with gothic and death rock influences. The band describes it as heart rock. A pun between hard and heart. But somehow it's true: it is emotional rock. It is close to what bands like what Him or The 69 Eyes do: image, artwork and lyrics play an important role. Musically, Luna Rise sounds somewhat predictable, but it all fits together nicely and the production is good.

What about the album? As said, it all sounds elegant. Music and lyrics are rather aimed at a younger audience. Listen to the lyrics of Valentine, Demons Inside or Silent Scream: heart pain wrapped in pathos. Most songs are catchy and melodic. Valentine for example. In addition to the recognizable chorus, there is also a nice guitar and piano. The cover Dancing With Tears In my Eyes is the only misser. Hopefully Midge Ure and Billy Currie will not hear this. Until The Stars Have Come, on the other hand, is a fun song with guest vocals by Melanie Hirner (of the pop group Triangle). The same goes for In Your Arms and The Anthem of the Night. The latter song is the best of the album: it’s beautifully constructed, with an adventurous bridge.

You hear me coming, I guess... where's the wow factor? Well, that's a difficult case. It is all well made, but the musical clichés, and especially the lyrics are too overwhelming. If I was sixteen years old, this would appeal to me more...

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Oostenrijkse rockband Luna Rise bestaat sinds 2011 en heeft na een ep nu ook een full album uitgebracht. Je mag melodische rock met gothic- en deathrockinvloeden verwachten. Zelf omschrijven ze het als heartrock. Een woordspeling tussen hard en heart. Maar ergens klopt het: emotionele rock. Het ligt dicht tegen wat we kennen van bands zoals Him of The 69 Eyes. Daarbij spelen imago, artwork en lyrics een belangrijke rol. In de persbijlage vind je dan ook een heleboel foto’s en statements. Muzikaal klinkt Luna Rise ietwat voorspelbaar in het genre. Doch het moet gezegd worden dat alles mooi in elkaar zit en dat de productie goed is.

Wat over het album? Zoals gezegd klinkt alles piekfijn. De muziek en de lyrics zijn eerder op een jonger publiek gericht. Luister naar de teksten van Valentine, Demons Inside, Silent Scream… Hartpijn verpakt in pathos. De meeste songs zijn catchy en melodieus. Valentine bijv. heeft naast een herkenbaar refrein ook aardig gitaar- en pianospel. De cover Dancing With Tears in my Eyes is de enige uitschuiver. Hopelijk hebben Midge Ure en Billy Currie (Ultravox) dit nog niet hoeven te horen. Until The Stars Have Come is daarentegen een leuke song met gastvocals van Melanie Hirner (van de popband Dreieck). Hetzelfde geldt voor In Your Arms en de afsluiter The Anthem of the Night. Die laatste song is zowat de beste uit het album: mooi opgebouwd en met een avontuurlijke bridge.

Je hoort mij al een beetje aankomen, vermoed ik… Waar is de wow? Tja, dat is iets moeilijker. Het is allemaal vakkundig gemaakt, maar wel een beetje bedolven onder de clichés op muzikaal en vooral op tekstueel vlak. Het is een begin, maar de opvolger mag iets avontuurlijker en iets minder stereotiep klinken voor mij. Was ik nog maar zestien jaar, het zou mij meer aanspreken…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God
DPERD • V
LUH • Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
SECRET SIGHT • Day, Night, Life
E • The Levitation Syndrome
PJ HARVEY • The Hope Six Demolition Project
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion