tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

LUNA RISE

Dark Days and Bright Nights

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[65/100]   

NRT Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Austrian rock band Luna Rise exists since 2011 and has released a full album. You can expect melodic rock with gothic and death rock influences. The band describes it as heart rock. A pun between hard and heart. But somehow it's true: it is emotional rock. It is close to what bands like what Him or The 69 Eyes do: image, artwork and lyrics play an important role. Musically, Luna Rise sounds somewhat predictable, but it all fits together nicely and the production is good.

What about the album? As said, it all sounds elegant. Music and lyrics are rather aimed at a younger audience. Listen to the lyrics of Valentine, Demons Inside or Silent Scream: heart pain wrapped in pathos. Most songs are catchy and melodic. Valentine for example. In addition to the recognizable chorus, there is also a nice guitar and piano. The cover Dancing With Tears In my Eyes is the only misser. Hopefully Midge Ure and Billy Currie will not hear this. Until The Stars Have Come, on the other hand, is a fun song with guest vocals by Melanie Hirner (of the pop group Triangle). The same goes for In Your Arms and The Anthem of the Night. The latter song is the best of the album: it’s beautifully constructed, with an adventurous bridge.

You hear me coming, I guess... where's the wow factor? Well, that's a difficult case. It is all well made, but the musical clichés, and especially the lyrics are too overwhelming. If I was sixteen years old, this would appeal to me more...

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Oostenrijkse rockband Luna Rise bestaat sinds 2011 en heeft na een ep nu ook een full album uitgebracht. Je mag melodische rock met gothic- en deathrockinvloeden verwachten. Zelf omschrijven ze het als heartrock. Een woordspeling tussen hard en heart. Maar ergens klopt het: emotionele rock. Het ligt dicht tegen wat we kennen van bands zoals Him of The 69 Eyes. Daarbij spelen imago, artwork en lyrics een belangrijke rol. In de persbijlage vind je dan ook een heleboel foto’s en statements. Muzikaal klinkt Luna Rise ietwat voorspelbaar in het genre. Doch het moet gezegd worden dat alles mooi in elkaar zit en dat de productie goed is.

Wat over het album? Zoals gezegd klinkt alles piekfijn. De muziek en de lyrics zijn eerder op een jonger publiek gericht. Luister naar de teksten van Valentine, Demons Inside, Silent Scream… Hartpijn verpakt in pathos. De meeste songs zijn catchy en melodieus. Valentine bijv. heeft naast een herkenbaar refrein ook aardig gitaar- en pianospel. De cover Dancing With Tears in my Eyes is de enige uitschuiver. Hopelijk hebben Midge Ure en Billy Currie (Ultravox) dit nog niet hoeven te horen. Until The Stars Have Come is daarentegen een leuke song met gastvocals van Melanie Hirner (van de popband Dreieck). Hetzelfde geldt voor In Your Arms en de afsluiter The Anthem of the Night. Die laatste song is zowat de beste uit het album: mooi opgebouwd en met een avontuurlijke bridge.

Je hoort mij al een beetje aankomen, vermoed ik… Waar is de wow? Tja, dat is iets moeilijker. Het is allemaal vakkundig gemaakt, maar wel een beetje bedolven onder de clichés op muzikaal en vooral op tekstueel vlak. Het is een begin, maar de opvolger mag iets avontuurlijker en iets minder stereotiep klinken voor mij. Was ik nog maar zestien jaar, het zou mij meer aanspreken…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag