tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

LUNA RISE

Dark Days and Bright Nights

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[65/100]   

NRT Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Austrian rock band Luna Rise exists since 2011 and has released a full album. You can expect melodic rock with gothic and death rock influences. The band describes it as heart rock. A pun between hard and heart. But somehow it's true: it is emotional rock. It is close to what bands like what Him or The 69 Eyes do: image, artwork and lyrics play an important role. Musically, Luna Rise sounds somewhat predictable, but it all fits together nicely and the production is good.

What about the album? As said, it all sounds elegant. Music and lyrics are rather aimed at a younger audience. Listen to the lyrics of Valentine, Demons Inside or Silent Scream: heart pain wrapped in pathos. Most songs are catchy and melodic. Valentine for example. In addition to the recognizable chorus, there is also a nice guitar and piano. The cover Dancing With Tears In my Eyes is the only misser. Hopefully Midge Ure and Billy Currie will not hear this. Until The Stars Have Come, on the other hand, is a fun song with guest vocals by Melanie Hirner (of the pop group Triangle). The same goes for In Your Arms and The Anthem of the Night. The latter song is the best of the album: it’s beautifully constructed, with an adventurous bridge.

You hear me coming, I guess... where's the wow factor? Well, that's a difficult case. It is all well made, but the musical clichés, and especially the lyrics are too overwhelming. If I was sixteen years old, this would appeal to me more...

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Oostenrijkse rockband Luna Rise bestaat sinds 2011 en heeft na een ep nu ook een full album uitgebracht. Je mag melodische rock met gothic- en deathrockinvloeden verwachten. Zelf omschrijven ze het als heartrock. Een woordspeling tussen hard en heart. Maar ergens klopt het: emotionele rock. Het ligt dicht tegen wat we kennen van bands zoals Him of The 69 Eyes. Daarbij spelen imago, artwork en lyrics een belangrijke rol. In de persbijlage vind je dan ook een heleboel foto’s en statements. Muzikaal klinkt Luna Rise ietwat voorspelbaar in het genre. Doch het moet gezegd worden dat alles mooi in elkaar zit en dat de productie goed is.

Wat over het album? Zoals gezegd klinkt alles piekfijn. De muziek en de lyrics zijn eerder op een jonger publiek gericht. Luister naar de teksten van Valentine, Demons Inside, Silent Scream… Hartpijn verpakt in pathos. De meeste songs zijn catchy en melodieus. Valentine bijv. heeft naast een herkenbaar refrein ook aardig gitaar- en pianospel. De cover Dancing With Tears in my Eyes is de enige uitschuiver. Hopelijk hebben Midge Ure en Billy Currie (Ultravox) dit nog niet hoeven te horen. Until The Stars Have Come is daarentegen een leuke song met gastvocals van Melanie Hirner (van de popband Dreieck). Hetzelfde geldt voor In Your Arms en de afsluiter The Anthem of the Night. Die laatste song is zowat de beste uit het album: mooi opgebouwd en met een avontuurlijke bridge.

Je hoort mij al een beetje aankomen, vermoed ik… Waar is de wow? Tja, dat is iets moeilijker. Het is allemaal vakkundig gemaakt, maar wel een beetje bedolven onder de clichés op muzikaal en vooral op tekstueel vlak. Het is een begin, maar de opvolger mag iets avontuurlijker en iets minder stereotiep klinken voor mij. Was ik nog maar zestien jaar, het zou mij meer aanspreken…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser