tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

LUNA RISE

Dark Days and Bright Nights

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[65/100]   

NRT Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Austrian rock band Luna Rise exists since 2011 and has released a full album. You can expect melodic rock with gothic and death rock influences. The band describes it as heart rock. A pun between hard and heart. But somehow it's true: it is emotional rock. It is close to what bands like what Him or The 69 Eyes do: image, artwork and lyrics play an important role. Musically, Luna Rise sounds somewhat predictable, but it all fits together nicely and the production is good.

What about the album? As said, it all sounds elegant. Music and lyrics are rather aimed at a younger audience. Listen to the lyrics of Valentine, Demons Inside or Silent Scream: heart pain wrapped in pathos. Most songs are catchy and melodic. Valentine for example. In addition to the recognizable chorus, there is also a nice guitar and piano. The cover Dancing With Tears In my Eyes is the only misser. Hopefully Midge Ure and Billy Currie will not hear this. Until The Stars Have Come, on the other hand, is a fun song with guest vocals by Melanie Hirner (of the pop group Triangle). The same goes for In Your Arms and The Anthem of the Night. The latter song is the best of the album: it’s beautifully constructed, with an adventurous bridge.

You hear me coming, I guess... where's the wow factor? Well, that's a difficult case. It is all well made, but the musical clichés, and especially the lyrics are too overwhelming. If I was sixteen years old, this would appeal to me more...

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Oostenrijkse rockband Luna Rise bestaat sinds 2011 en heeft na een ep nu ook een full album uitgebracht. Je mag melodische rock met gothic- en deathrockinvloeden verwachten. Zelf omschrijven ze het als heartrock. Een woordspeling tussen hard en heart. Maar ergens klopt het: emotionele rock. Het ligt dicht tegen wat we kennen van bands zoals Him of The 69 Eyes. Daarbij spelen imago, artwork en lyrics een belangrijke rol. In de persbijlage vind je dan ook een heleboel foto’s en statements. Muzikaal klinkt Luna Rise ietwat voorspelbaar in het genre. Doch het moet gezegd worden dat alles mooi in elkaar zit en dat de productie goed is.

Wat over het album? Zoals gezegd klinkt alles piekfijn. De muziek en de lyrics zijn eerder op een jonger publiek gericht. Luister naar de teksten van Valentine, Demons Inside, Silent Scream… Hartpijn verpakt in pathos. De meeste songs zijn catchy en melodieus. Valentine bijv. heeft naast een herkenbaar refrein ook aardig gitaar- en pianospel. De cover Dancing With Tears in my Eyes is de enige uitschuiver. Hopelijk hebben Midge Ure en Billy Currie (Ultravox) dit nog niet hoeven te horen. Until The Stars Have Come is daarentegen een leuke song met gastvocals van Melanie Hirner (van de popband Dreieck). Hetzelfde geldt voor In Your Arms en de afsluiter The Anthem of the Night. Die laatste song is zowat de beste uit het album: mooi opgebouwd en met een avontuurlijke bridge.

Je hoort mij al een beetje aankomen, vermoed ik… Waar is de wow? Tja, dat is iets moeilijker. Het is allemaal vakkundig gemaakt, maar wel een beetje bedolven onder de clichés op muzikaal en vooral op tekstueel vlak. Het is een begin, maar de opvolger mag iets avontuurlijker en iets minder stereotiep klinken voor mij. Was ik nog maar zestien jaar, het zou mij meer aanspreken…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God
DPERD • V
LUH • Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
SECRET SIGHT • Day, Night, Life
E • The Levitation Syndrome
PJ HARVEY • The Hope Six Demolition Project
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive