tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

LUNA RISE

Dark Days and Bright Nights

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[65/100]   

NRT Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Austrian rock band Luna Rise exists since 2011 and has released a full album. You can expect melodic rock with gothic and death rock influences. The band describes it as heart rock. A pun between hard and heart. But somehow it's true: it is emotional rock. It is close to what bands like what Him or The 69 Eyes do: image, artwork and lyrics play an important role. Musically, Luna Rise sounds somewhat predictable, but it all fits together nicely and the production is good.

What about the album? As said, it all sounds elegant. Music and lyrics are rather aimed at a younger audience. Listen to the lyrics of Valentine, Demons Inside or Silent Scream: heart pain wrapped in pathos. Most songs are catchy and melodic. Valentine for example. In addition to the recognizable chorus, there is also a nice guitar and piano. The cover Dancing With Tears In my Eyes is the only misser. Hopefully Midge Ure and Billy Currie will not hear this. Until The Stars Have Come, on the other hand, is a fun song with guest vocals by Melanie Hirner (of the pop group Triangle). The same goes for In Your Arms and The Anthem of the Night. The latter song is the best of the album: it’s beautifully constructed, with an adventurous bridge.

You hear me coming, I guess... where's the wow factor? Well, that's a difficult case. It is all well made, but the musical clichés, and especially the lyrics are too overwhelming. If I was sixteen years old, this would appeal to me more...

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Oostenrijkse rockband Luna Rise bestaat sinds 2011 en heeft na een ep nu ook een full album uitgebracht. Je mag melodische rock met gothic- en deathrockinvloeden verwachten. Zelf omschrijven ze het als heartrock. Een woordspeling tussen hard en heart. Maar ergens klopt het: emotionele rock. Het ligt dicht tegen wat we kennen van bands zoals Him of The 69 Eyes. Daarbij spelen imago, artwork en lyrics een belangrijke rol. In de persbijlage vind je dan ook een heleboel foto’s en statements. Muzikaal klinkt Luna Rise ietwat voorspelbaar in het genre. Doch het moet gezegd worden dat alles mooi in elkaar zit en dat de productie goed is.

Wat over het album? Zoals gezegd klinkt alles piekfijn. De muziek en de lyrics zijn eerder op een jonger publiek gericht. Luister naar de teksten van Valentine, Demons Inside, Silent Scream… Hartpijn verpakt in pathos. De meeste songs zijn catchy en melodieus. Valentine bijv. heeft naast een herkenbaar refrein ook aardig gitaar- en pianospel. De cover Dancing With Tears in my Eyes is de enige uitschuiver. Hopelijk hebben Midge Ure en Billy Currie (Ultravox) dit nog niet hoeven te horen. Until The Stars Have Come is daarentegen een leuke song met gastvocals van Melanie Hirner (van de popband Dreieck). Hetzelfde geldt voor In Your Arms en de afsluiter The Anthem of the Night. Die laatste song is zowat de beste uit het album: mooi opgebouwd en met een avontuurlijke bridge.

Je hoort mij al een beetje aankomen, vermoed ik… Waar is de wow? Tja, dat is iets moeilijker. Het is allemaal vakkundig gemaakt, maar wel een beetje bedolven onder de clichés op muzikaal en vooral op tekstueel vlak. Het is een begin, maar de opvolger mag iets avontuurlijker en iets minder stereotiep klinken voor mij. Was ik nog maar zestien jaar, het zou mij meer aanspreken…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights 09/12/2016 : LUNA RISE - Dark Days and Bright Nights

 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God
DPERD • V
LUH • Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
SECRET SIGHT • Day, Night, Life
E • The Levitation Syndrome
PJ HARVEY • The Hope Six Demolition Project
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell