tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - The Glory Hole (EP)

VIRGIN IN VEIL

The Glory Hole (EP)

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[80/100]   

Fairy Dust Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you don't know what a Glory Hole is, I recommend to google and you will understand. It is also the title of the new EP by the Finnish band Virgin in Veil. In 2015, we got a demo with three songs and now an EP with four tracks has been released. And again we get an album with an explicit sexual photo on the cover. The titles of the songs are very sexually inspired too: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction.

Musically, we can situate the music somewhere between death rock, gothic rock and batcave, played with a punk attitude. Short songs that last no longer than two minutes. Musically, it sounds a bit like the demo, but the vocals are better and the same goes for the production and the team play. Lovestains is uptempo and floats on a gothic/wave guitar riff. The same goes for Sexual Sin, that contains a nice little bridge while the synths determine the atmosphere. A strong track. Decay does remind me a bit of The Whispers in the Shadows during the Arms in Chaos period: vocals, guitar and drums. A fine song. Seduction sounds rather as a post-punk track.

Virgin in Veil was founded in January 2015 and on this EP, the band shows its own style with upbeat songs that will surely convince the fans of death rock, gothic rock… A fulll album next time and some gigs around here?

On vinyl through Fairy Dust Records or as a download on bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Voor diegenen die niet weten wat een Glory Hole is, gelieve te googelen en je zal snel begrijpen waarover het gaat. Het is ook tevens de titel van de nieuwste ep van de Finse band Virgin in Veil. Verleden jaar kwam er al een demo met drie songs uit. Op Glory Hole staan 4 tracks en net zoals de demo, is deze ep voorzien van een niets aan de verbeelding overlatende sexueel geladen cover. Ook de songtitels laten niets aan de verbeelding over: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction.

De muziek situeren we ergens tussen deathrock, gothicrock en batcave in, met een punkattitude gespeeld. Het zijn telkens korte songs van om en bij de twee minuten. Muzikaal ligt alles in het verlengde van de vorige release. De zang klinkt wel iets beter in de mix en ik hoor toch wat evolutie in het samenspel alsook in de productie. Zoals gezegd zijn het korte en bondige songs. Lovestains is uptempo en drijft op een gothic en wave klinkende gitaarriff. Hetzelfde geldt voor Sexual Sin, behalve dat op de achtergrond een synth sfeer oproept en dat de track een korte en leuke bridge bevat. Een toptrack. Decay doet mij wat aan Whispers in the Shadows ten tijde van Arms in Chaos denken: de zang, de gitaar en het drumspel. Een fijne song. Seduction gaat muzikaal eerderin de richting van post-punk.

De band bestaat nog maar sedert januari 2015, maar op deze ep etalerenwordt een eigen stijl geëtaleerd met puntige uptempo songs die zeker gehoor zullen vinden bij de liefhebbers van deathrock, gothicrock, etc… Mogen we de volgende keer hopen op een full album hopen en een gig in onze contreien?

Verkrijgbaar via Fairy Dust Records op vinyl of via bandcamp als download.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from VIRGIN IN VEIL
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela