tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - The Glory Hole (EP)

VIRGIN IN VEIL

The Glory Hole (EP)

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[80/100]   

Fairy Dust Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you don't know what a Glory Hole is, I recommend to google and you will understand. It is also the title of the new EP by the Finnish band Virgin in Veil. In 2015, we got a demo with three songs and now an EP with four tracks has been released. And again we get an album with an explicit sexual photo on the cover. The titles of the songs are very sexually inspired too: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction.

Musically, we can situate the music somewhere between death rock, gothic rock and batcave, played with a punk attitude. Short songs that last no longer than two minutes. Musically, it sounds a bit like the demo, but the vocals are better and the same goes for the production and the team play. Lovestains is uptempo and floats on a gothic/wave guitar riff. The same goes for Sexual Sin, that contains a nice little bridge while the synths determine the atmosphere. A strong track. Decay does remind me a bit of The Whispers in the Shadows during the Arms in Chaos period: vocals, guitar and drums. A fine song. Seduction sounds rather as a post-punk track.

Virgin in Veil was founded in January 2015 and on this EP, the band shows its own style with upbeat songs that will surely convince the fans of death rock, gothic rock… A fulll album next time and some gigs around here?

On vinyl through Fairy Dust Records or as a download on bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Voor diegenen die niet weten wat een Glory Hole is, gelieve te googelen en je zal snel begrijpen waarover het gaat. Het is ook tevens de titel van de nieuwste ep van de Finse band Virgin in Veil. Verleden jaar kwam er al een demo met drie songs uit. Op Glory Hole staan 4 tracks en net zoals de demo, is deze ep voorzien van een niets aan de verbeelding overlatende sexueel geladen cover. Ook de songtitels laten niets aan de verbeelding over: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction.

De muziek situeren we ergens tussen deathrock, gothicrock en batcave in, met een punkattitude gespeeld. Het zijn telkens korte songs van om en bij de twee minuten. Muzikaal ligt alles in het verlengde van de vorige release. De zang klinkt wel iets beter in de mix en ik hoor toch wat evolutie in het samenspel alsook in de productie. Zoals gezegd zijn het korte en bondige songs. Lovestains is uptempo en drijft op een gothic en wave klinkende gitaarriff. Hetzelfde geldt voor Sexual Sin, behalve dat op de achtergrond een synth sfeer oproept en dat de track een korte en leuke bridge bevat. Een toptrack. Decay doet mij wat aan Whispers in the Shadows ten tijde van Arms in Chaos denken: de zang, de gitaar en het drumspel. Een fijne song. Seduction gaat muzikaal eerderin de richting van post-punk.

De band bestaat nog maar sedert januari 2015, maar op deze ep etalerenwordt een eigen stijl geëtaleerd met puntige uptempo songs die zeker gehoor zullen vinden bij de liefhebbers van deathrock, gothicrock, etc… Mogen we de volgende keer hopen op een full album hopen en een gig in onze contreien?

Verkrijgbaar via Fairy Dust Records op vinyl of via bandcamp als download.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from VIRGIN IN VEIL
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap