tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - The Glory Hole (EP)

VIRGIN IN VEIL

The Glory Hole (EP)

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[80/100]   

Fairy Dust Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you don't know what a Glory Hole is, I recommend to google and you will understand. It is also the title of the new EP by the Finnish band Virgin in Veil. In 2015, we got a demo with three songs and now an EP with four tracks has been released. And again we get an album with an explicit sexual photo on the cover. The titles of the songs are very sexually inspired too: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction.

Musically, we can situate the music somewhere between death rock, gothic rock and batcave, played with a punk attitude. Short songs that last no longer than two minutes. Musically, it sounds a bit like the demo, but the vocals are better and the same goes for the production and the team play. Lovestains is uptempo and floats on a gothic/wave guitar riff. The same goes for Sexual Sin, that contains a nice little bridge while the synths determine the atmosphere. A strong track. Decay does remind me a bit of The Whispers in the Shadows during the Arms in Chaos period: vocals, guitar and drums. A fine song. Seduction sounds rather as a post-punk track.

Virgin in Veil was founded in January 2015 and on this EP, the band shows its own style with upbeat songs that will surely convince the fans of death rock, gothic rock… A fulll album next time and some gigs around here?

On vinyl through Fairy Dust Records or as a download on bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Voor diegenen die niet weten wat een Glory Hole is, gelieve te googelen en je zal snel begrijpen waarover het gaat. Het is ook tevens de titel van de nieuwste ep van de Finse band Virgin in Veil. Verleden jaar kwam er al een demo met drie songs uit. Op Glory Hole staan 4 tracks en net zoals de demo, is deze ep voorzien van een niets aan de verbeelding overlatende sexueel geladen cover. Ook de songtitels laten niets aan de verbeelding over: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction.

De muziek situeren we ergens tussen deathrock, gothicrock en batcave in, met een punkattitude gespeeld. Het zijn telkens korte songs van om en bij de twee minuten. Muzikaal ligt alles in het verlengde van de vorige release. De zang klinkt wel iets beter in de mix en ik hoor toch wat evolutie in het samenspel alsook in de productie. Zoals gezegd zijn het korte en bondige songs. Lovestains is uptempo en drijft op een gothic en wave klinkende gitaarriff. Hetzelfde geldt voor Sexual Sin, behalve dat op de achtergrond een synth sfeer oproept en dat de track een korte en leuke bridge bevat. Een toptrack. Decay doet mij wat aan Whispers in the Shadows ten tijde van Arms in Chaos denken: de zang, de gitaar en het drumspel. Een fijne song. Seduction gaat muzikaal eerderin de richting van post-punk.

De band bestaat nog maar sedert januari 2015, maar op deze ep etalerenwordt een eigen stijl geëtaleerd met puntige uptempo songs die zeker gehoor zullen vinden bij de liefhebbers van deathrock, gothicrock, etc… Mogen we de volgende keer hopen op een full album hopen en een gig in onze contreien?

Verkrijgbaar via Fairy Dust Records op vinyl of via bandcamp als download.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from VIRGIN IN VEIL
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO