tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

10/12/2016 : VIRGIN IN VEIL - The Glory Hole (EP)

VIRGIN IN VEIL

The Glory Hole (EP)

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[80/100]   

Fairy Dust Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

If you don't know what a Glory Hole is, I recommend to google and you will understand. It is also the title of the new EP by the Finnish band Virgin in Veil. In 2015, we got a demo with three songs and now an EP with four tracks has been released. And again we get an album with an explicit sexual photo on the cover. The titles of the songs are very sexually inspired too: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay and Seduction.

Musically, we can situate the music somewhere between death rock, gothic rock and batcave, played with a punk attitude. Short songs that last no longer than two minutes. Musically, it sounds a bit like the demo, but the vocals are better and the same goes for the production and the team play. Lovestains is uptempo and floats on a gothic/wave guitar riff. The same goes for Sexual Sin, that contains a nice little bridge while the synths determine the atmosphere. A strong track. Decay does remind me a bit of The Whispers in the Shadows during the Arms in Chaos period: vocals, guitar and drums. A fine song. Seduction sounds rather as a post-punk track.

Virgin in Veil was founded in January 2015 and on this EP, the band shows its own style with upbeat songs that will surely convince the fans of death rock, gothic rock… A fulll album next time and some gigs around here?

On vinyl through Fairy Dust Records or as a download on bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Voor diegenen die niet weten wat een Glory Hole is, gelieve te googelen en je zal snel begrijpen waarover het gaat. Het is ook tevens de titel van de nieuwste ep van de Finse band Virgin in Veil. Verleden jaar kwam er al een demo met drie songs uit. Op Glory Hole staan 4 tracks en net zoals de demo, is deze ep voorzien van een niets aan de verbeelding overlatende sexueel geladen cover. Ook de songtitels laten niets aan de verbeelding over: Lovestains, Sexual Sin, Decay en Seduction.

De muziek situeren we ergens tussen deathrock, gothicrock en batcave in, met een punkattitude gespeeld. Het zijn telkens korte songs van om en bij de twee minuten. Muzikaal ligt alles in het verlengde van de vorige release. De zang klinkt wel iets beter in de mix en ik hoor toch wat evolutie in het samenspel alsook in de productie. Zoals gezegd zijn het korte en bondige songs. Lovestains is uptempo en drijft op een gothic en wave klinkende gitaarriff. Hetzelfde geldt voor Sexual Sin, behalve dat op de achtergrond een synth sfeer oproept en dat de track een korte en leuke bridge bevat. Een toptrack. Decay doet mij wat aan Whispers in the Shadows ten tijde van Arms in Chaos denken: de zang, de gitaar en het drumspel. Een fijne song. Seduction gaat muzikaal eerderin de richting van post-punk.

De band bestaat nog maar sedert januari 2015, maar op deze ep etalerenwordt een eigen stijl geëtaleerd met puntige uptempo songs die zeker gehoor zullen vinden bij de liefhebbers van deathrock, gothicrock, etc… Mogen we de volgende keer hopen op een full album hopen en een gig in onze contreien?

Verkrijgbaar via Fairy Dust Records op vinyl of via bandcamp als download.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from VIRGIN IN VEIL
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu