tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : ELECTRIC DRAGON - Paranormalizer

ELECTRIC DRAGON

Paranormalizer

MusicDigital
Synth Wave

[72/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Paranormalizer is the debut album of Electric Dragon, a new synthwave project, formed by a former member of the death metal band Vallenfyre.

Vallenfyre is the death metal supergroup that was founded as a side project by Paradise Lost’s main songwriter and lead guitarist Gregor Mackingtosh. Greg created the band after the death of his fater. Among others, Pardise Lost drummer Adrian Erlandsson (former At The Gates and Cradle Of Filth) and Hamish Glencross (former My Dying Bride) are involved in the project as well.

It isn’t mentioned which Vallenfyre member is the artist behind the synth project on the site of Workstatt Recordings, nor on the Facebook page of Electric Dragon.

Considering the fact that Paranormalizer is an album of an artist with a death metal past, I hoped for an ominous dark atmospheric production, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Electric Dragon stands for accessible synthwave.

The album opens with Veor Nox and Luicd Dreams, multi-layered tracks in which we hear hints of EBM. Astral Projection sounds kind of abstract and experimental. Silver Metal Lover is a funky tune. Neon Drive and Drift 64 remind me of video game console music. In Night Kings the pace is slower. The album closes with Into The Light, but that song fails to hold my interest.

Paranormalizer is a fair album, but it lacks that extra touch of genius to stand out among the numerous synthwave releases. Nonetheless, Electric Dragon proves that good musicians can handle multiple styles. But I guess death metal fans aren’t really waiting for this.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?