tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : ELECTRIC DRAGON - Paranormalizer

ELECTRIC DRAGON

Paranormalizer

MusicDigital
Synth Wave

[72/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Paranormalizer is the debut album of Electric Dragon, a new synthwave project, formed by a former member of the death metal band Vallenfyre.

Vallenfyre is the death metal supergroup that was founded as a side project by Paradise Lost’s main songwriter and lead guitarist Gregor Mackingtosh. Greg created the band after the death of his fater. Among others, Pardise Lost drummer Adrian Erlandsson (former At The Gates and Cradle Of Filth) and Hamish Glencross (former My Dying Bride) are involved in the project as well.

It isn’t mentioned which Vallenfyre member is the artist behind the synth project on the site of Workstatt Recordings, nor on the Facebook page of Electric Dragon.

Considering the fact that Paranormalizer is an album of an artist with a death metal past, I hoped for an ominous dark atmospheric production, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Electric Dragon stands for accessible synthwave.

The album opens with Veor Nox and Luicd Dreams, multi-layered tracks in which we hear hints of EBM. Astral Projection sounds kind of abstract and experimental. Silver Metal Lover is a funky tune. Neon Drive and Drift 64 remind me of video game console music. In Night Kings the pace is slower. The album closes with Into The Light, but that song fails to hold my interest.

Paranormalizer is a fair album, but it lacks that extra touch of genius to stand out among the numerous synthwave releases. Nonetheless, Electric Dragon proves that good musicians can handle multiple styles. But I guess death metal fans aren’t really waiting for this.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination