tempobet yeni adresi
like this mp3/download review

10/12/2016 : ELECTRIC DRAGON - Paranormalizer

ELECTRIC DRAGON

Paranormalizer

MusicMP3/Download
Synth Wave

[72/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Paranormalizer is the debut album of Electric Dragon, a new synthwave project, formed by a former member of the death metal band Vallenfyre.

Vallenfyre is the death metal supergroup that was founded as a side project by Paradise Lost’s main songwriter and lead guitarist Gregor Mackingtosh. Greg created the band after the death of his fater. Among others, Pardise Lost drummer Adrian Erlandsson (former At The Gates and Cradle Of Filth) and Hamish Glencross (former My Dying Bride) are involved in the project as well.

It isn’t mentioned which Vallenfyre member is the artist behind the synth project on the site of Workstatt Recordings, nor on the Facebook page of Electric Dragon.

Considering the fact that Paranormalizer is an album of an artist with a death metal past, I hoped for an ominous dark atmospheric production, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Electric Dragon stands for accessible synthwave.

The album opens with Veor Nox and Luicd Dreams, multi-layered tracks in which we hear hints of EBM. Astral Projection sounds kind of abstract and experimental. Silver Metal Lover is a funky tune. Neon Drive and Drift 64 remind me of video game console music. In Night Kings the pace is slower. The album closes with Into The Light, but that song fails to hold my interest.

Paranormalizer is a fair album, but it lacks that extra touch of genius to stand out among the numerous synthwave releases. Nonetheless, Electric Dragon proves that good musicians can handle multiple styles. But I guess death metal fans aren’t really waiting for this.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On