tempobet yeni adresi
like this mp3/download review

10/12/2016 : ELECTRIC DRAGON - Paranormalizer

ELECTRIC DRAGON

Paranormalizer

MusicMP3/Download
Synth Wave

[72/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Paranormalizer is the debut album of Electric Dragon, a new synthwave project, formed by a former member of the death metal band Vallenfyre.

Vallenfyre is the death metal supergroup that was founded as a side project by Paradise Lost’s main songwriter and lead guitarist Gregor Mackingtosh. Greg created the band after the death of his fater. Among others, Pardise Lost drummer Adrian Erlandsson (former At The Gates and Cradle Of Filth) and Hamish Glencross (former My Dying Bride) are involved in the project as well.

It isn’t mentioned which Vallenfyre member is the artist behind the synth project on the site of Workstatt Recordings, nor on the Facebook page of Electric Dragon.

Considering the fact that Paranormalizer is an album of an artist with a death metal past, I hoped for an ominous dark atmospheric production, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Electric Dragon stands for accessible synthwave.

The album opens with Veor Nox and Luicd Dreams, multi-layered tracks in which we hear hints of EBM. Astral Projection sounds kind of abstract and experimental. Silver Metal Lover is a funky tune. Neon Drive and Drift 64 remind me of video game console music. In Night Kings the pace is slower. The album closes with Into The Light, but that song fails to hold my interest.

Paranormalizer is a fair album, but it lacks that extra touch of genius to stand out among the numerous synthwave releases. Nonetheless, Electric Dragon proves that good musicians can handle multiple styles. But I guess death metal fans aren’t really waiting for this.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift