tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : ELECTRIC DRAGON - Paranormalizer

ELECTRIC DRAGON

Paranormalizer

MusicDigital
Synth Wave

[72/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Paranormalizer is the debut album of Electric Dragon, a new synthwave project, formed by a former member of the death metal band Vallenfyre.

Vallenfyre is the death metal supergroup that was founded as a side project by Paradise Lost’s main songwriter and lead guitarist Gregor Mackingtosh. Greg created the band after the death of his fater. Among others, Pardise Lost drummer Adrian Erlandsson (former At The Gates and Cradle Of Filth) and Hamish Glencross (former My Dying Bride) are involved in the project as well.

It isn’t mentioned which Vallenfyre member is the artist behind the synth project on the site of Workstatt Recordings, nor on the Facebook page of Electric Dragon.

Considering the fact that Paranormalizer is an album of an artist with a death metal past, I hoped for an ominous dark atmospheric production, but unfortunately that isn’t the case. Electric Dragon stands for accessible synthwave.

The album opens with Veor Nox and Luicd Dreams, multi-layered tracks in which we hear hints of EBM. Astral Projection sounds kind of abstract and experimental. Silver Metal Lover is a funky tune. Neon Drive and Drift 64 remind me of video game console music. In Night Kings the pace is slower. The album closes with Into The Light, but that song fails to hold my interest.

Paranormalizer is a fair album, but it lacks that extra touch of genius to stand out among the numerous synthwave releases. Nonetheless, Electric Dragon proves that good musicians can handle multiple styles. But I guess death metal fans aren’t really waiting for this.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence