tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PERTURBATOR - The Uncanny Valley

PERTURBATOR

The Uncanny Valley

MusicCD
IndustrialSoundtrackSynth Wave

[79/100]   

Blood Music
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

The horror and manga inspired album art drew my attention. The cover of The Uncanny Valley reminds me of an 80’s metal cover. Turns out that James Kent, the French retrosynth wizard behind Perturbator, has a past as a black metal guitarist.

Unlike Paranormalizer, another album from a former extreme metal musician I reviewed recently, you can hear a link with metal music in The Uncanny Valley. Listen to the aggressive percussion in opening track Neo-Tokyo for instance.

Throughout The Uncunny Valley you hear dark ominous synths. Perurbator makes an uplifting mixture of synthwave and industrial. Multi-layered mostly instrumental music that occasionally sounds harsh with its droning basses and invasive percussion. Topped with haunting soundscapes, hints of arcade game music and a sci-fi soundtrack, you get a magnetic mixture. Sometimes it sounds like a hellectro band playing Blade Runner. Or should I say Tron Legacy? Because Perturbator sounds contemporary as well.

The Uncanny Valley is an interesting album. Due its complexity, it isn't always the most accessible, but do not let this stop you: visit the Bandcamp page and give this project with its often hypnotic music a chance.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)
EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY • Brussels, AB (08/06/2016)
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
SIEGFRIED • K

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
BHPL • II
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT • Remixes
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
ELM • Penetrator

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
14
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Push
13
04
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)