tempobet yeni adresi

10/12/2016 : PERTURBATOR - The Uncanny Valley

PERTURBATOR

The Uncanny Valley

MusicCD
IndustrialSoundtrackSynth Wave

[79/100]   

Blood Music
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

The horror and manga inspired album art drew my attention. The cover of The Uncanny Valley reminds me of an 80’s metal cover. Turns out that James Kent, the French retrosynth wizard behind Perturbator, has a past as a black metal guitarist.

Unlike Paranormalizer, another album from a former extreme metal musician I reviewed recently, you can hear a link with metal music in The Uncanny Valley. Listen to the aggressive percussion in opening track Neo-Tokyo for instance.

Throughout The Uncunny Valley you hear dark ominous synths. Perurbator makes an uplifting mixture of synthwave and industrial. Multi-layered mostly instrumental music that occasionally sounds harsh with its droning basses and invasive percussion. Topped with haunting soundscapes, hints of arcade game music and a sci-fi soundtrack, you get a magnetic mixture. Sometimes it sounds like a hellectro band playing Blade Runner. Or should I say Tron Legacy? Because Perturbator sounds contemporary as well.

The Uncanny Valley is an interesting album. Due its complexity, it isn't always the most accessible, but do not let this stop you: visit the Bandcamp page and give this project with its often hypnotic music a chance.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)
EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY • Brussels, AB (08/06/2016)
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
SIEGFRIED • K

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive