tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : AN PIERLE - Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

AN PIERLE

Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

MusicCD
Soundtrack
PIAS
06/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Listening to soundtracks remains something special. There are many compositions that collapse once you no longer have the images before your eyes, but in the case of An Pierlé, that is obviously something completely different. When director Jaco Van Dormael (the creator of the brilliant Belgian movie Toto Le Héros) saw An perform, he immediately knew that the Flemish diva would be the one who was going to compose the music for Le Tout Nouveau Testament: the movie in which Benoit Poelvoorde plays God and lives in Brussels!

This challenge was not simple for An, but what initially would be some piano music developed into a prestigious project with strings, tuba, bassoon and flute that will remind you of Tchaikovsky and Mussorgsky. The always humble An surely wouldn’t want to be compared with these Russian masters, but it's hard not to think of their music when you hear this impressive soundtrack. These small pieces of music are perfect for some fairy tale. And yes, in fact Le Tout Nouveau Testament is a contemporary fairy tale! Even though we recommend the movie to everyone, you also can dream away on your own dreams with this record!

Perhaps the disco track Play Me and closing track Jours Peinards are a bit of a style breaker, but that is just what happens with soundtracks. Le Tout Nouveau Testament is An’s tour de force and she can be very proud of it!

Didier BECU
06/09/2015


NL

Het beluisteren van soundtracks blijft iets aparts. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg van platen die in elkaar zakken eens je de beelden niet voor je ogen hebt, maar in het geval van An Pierlé is dat natuurlijk iets helemaal anders. Toen regisseur Jaco Van Dormael (door filmvrienden aangesproken als Jaco Le Héros, omdat hij de maker is van de geniale Belgische prent Toto Le Héros) An aan het werk zag, wist hij meteen dat de Vlaamse diva de vrouw zou worden die de muziek voor Le Tout Nouveau Testament zou schrijven: de film waarin Benoit Poelvoorde God vertolkt en zo waar in Brussel woont!

Deze uitdaging was zeker niet eenvoudig voor An, maar wat aanvankelijk wat pianomuziek zou worden, groeide uit tot een prestigieus project met strijkers, tuba, fagot en dwarsfluit dat flarden van Tsjaikovsky en Mussorgsky bevat. De altijd bescheiden An zou het helemaal niet leuk vinden om met deze Russische grootmeesters te worden vergeleken (alhoewel), maar het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan hun muziek als je deze imponerende soundtrack hoort. Kleine stukjes muziek die ideaal zouden kunnen zijn voor één of ander sprookje. Riep daar iemand dat Le Tout Nouveau Testament eigenlijk een eigentijds sprookje is? Juist, en dus missie geslaagd! Ook al raden we iedereen de film aan, kan je ook op deze plaat weg mijmeren in je eigen dromen!

Misschien zijn de discotrack Play Me en afsluiter Jours Peinards wat stijlbrekers, maar dat is nu eenmaal wat je krijgt met soundtracks. Le Tout Nouveau Testament is Ans tour de force en ze mag er beretrots op zijn!

Didier BECU
06/09/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched