tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : AN PIERLE - Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

AN PIERLE

Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

MusicCD
Soundtrack
PIAS
06/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Listening to soundtracks remains something special. There are many compositions that collapse once you no longer have the images before your eyes, but in the case of An Pierlé, that is obviously something completely different. When director Jaco Van Dormael (the creator of the brilliant Belgian movie Toto Le Héros) saw An perform, he immediately knew that the Flemish diva would be the one who was going to compose the music for Le Tout Nouveau Testament: the movie in which Benoit Poelvoorde plays God and lives in Brussels!

This challenge was not simple for An, but what initially would be some piano music developed into a prestigious project with strings, tuba, bassoon and flute that will remind you of Tchaikovsky and Mussorgsky. The always humble An surely wouldn’t want to be compared with these Russian masters, but it's hard not to think of their music when you hear this impressive soundtrack. These small pieces of music are perfect for some fairy tale. And yes, in fact Le Tout Nouveau Testament is a contemporary fairy tale! Even though we recommend the movie to everyone, you also can dream away on your own dreams with this record!

Perhaps the disco track Play Me and closing track Jours Peinards are a bit of a style breaker, but that is just what happens with soundtracks. Le Tout Nouveau Testament is An’s tour de force and she can be very proud of it!

Didier BECU
06/09/2015


NL

Het beluisteren van soundtracks blijft iets aparts. Er zijn voorbeelden genoeg van platen die in elkaar zakken eens je de beelden niet voor je ogen hebt, maar in het geval van An Pierlé is dat natuurlijk iets helemaal anders. Toen regisseur Jaco Van Dormael (door filmvrienden aangesproken als Jaco Le Héros, omdat hij de maker is van de geniale Belgische prent Toto Le Héros) An aan het werk zag, wist hij meteen dat de Vlaamse diva de vrouw zou worden die de muziek voor Le Tout Nouveau Testament zou schrijven: de film waarin Benoit Poelvoorde God vertolkt en zo waar in Brussel woont!

Deze uitdaging was zeker niet eenvoudig voor An, maar wat aanvankelijk wat pianomuziek zou worden, groeide uit tot een prestigieus project met strijkers, tuba, fagot en dwarsfluit dat flarden van Tsjaikovsky en Mussorgsky bevat. De altijd bescheiden An zou het helemaal niet leuk vinden om met deze Russische grootmeesters te worden vergeleken (alhoewel), maar het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan hun muziek als je deze imponerende soundtrack hoort. Kleine stukjes muziek die ideaal zouden kunnen zijn voor één of ander sprookje. Riep daar iemand dat Le Tout Nouveau Testament eigenlijk een eigentijds sprookje is? Juist, en dus missie geslaagd! Ook al raden we iedereen de film aan, kan je ook op deze plaat weg mijmeren in je eigen dromen!

Misschien zijn de discotrack Play Me en afsluiter Jours Peinards wat stijlbrekers, maar dat is nu eenmaal wat je krijgt met soundtracks. Le Tout Nouveau Testament is Ans tour de force en ze mag er beretrots op zijn!

Didier BECU
06/09/2015


Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses