tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO

Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Concert
AmbientNeoclassicalProg RockSoundscapeSoundtrack

[95/100]   
27/10/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Last Thursday, there was a double concert by Michael Price and Illuminine at the beautiful venue De Roma in Antwerp. The room was cozy, with tables with tea lights and chairs, which gave the listener the opportunity to enjoy the music with a fresh Bolleke (an Antwerp beer-ed.)

The Michael Price Trio had the honor to perform first. With Entanglement, Michael just released a very strong album on Erased Tapes. It’s a piece full of dreamy compositions, enriched with strings, including a quite prominent cello, as well as a beautiful soprano voice. My expectations were high. And I was surprised to notice that the compositions of Entanglement sound strong on stage as well, especially with Peter Gregson on cello and Ashley Knight as soprano. My personal highlights were The Uncertainty Principle, as well as the short improvisation by Michael Price and Peter Gregson. A brilliant and intense first gig!

After a short break it was time for the Belgian band Illuminine, whose magical, dreamy and ambient/soundscape, prog rock and neo-classic debut album # 1 has been in my CD player for months. However, I never saw the nine-piece ensemble of Kevin Imbrechts live, and this gig was the perfect opportunity!

The band performed behind a semi-transparent white gauze. The slow and dreamy melodies were supported by a perfect lighting that emphasized the sometimes melancholic, sometimes uplifting nature of the music. The band was able to keep the audience so quiet that there was an incredible serenity, not even an applause or any other sound, the whole concert was experienced in silence, with a thunderous applause at the end. An odd but delightful atmosphere. Personally, I thought that all of the compositions were even more intense live than on CD, especially because of the versatile noisy effects of the electric guitar, which I obviously hadn't noticed when hearing the CD.

Occasionally the lights came from the side or the back of the stage, with a magical spectacle of colors and shadows on the gauze that separated the band from the audience.

Despite a hectic week and hurrying to get in time at the venue, I was completely Zen after their gig that lasted approximately 75 minutes. And even more, I was completely overwhelmed by the total spectacle that Illuminine offers on stage. It’s a long time since a group could surprise me in such an intense way, truly magnificent & mesmerising!

I really have to find out more about Kevin Imbrechts and his fantastic compositions, and so should you!

Ward DE PRINS
27/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen donderdag vond er in de prachtige zaal “De Roma” in Antwerpen een dubbelconcert plaats met Michael Price en Illuminine. De zaal was gezellig ingedeeld met tafeltjes met daarop theelichtjes en stoeltjes, zodat je de gelegenheid kreeg om volop van de muziek te genieten, lekker achteruitgezakt met een fris Bolleke in de hand.

Het Michael Price Trio, dat met Entanglement net een ijzersterke plaat op Erased Tapes hebben uitgebracht, mocht als eerste optreden. Op hun album vind je dromerige composities opgeluisterd met strijkers, waaronder een vrij prominente cello, alsook een prachtige sopraanstem. Mijn verwachtingen waren dan ook hoog gespannen. En zowaar, de composities van Entanglement klonken ook live zeer sterk, zeker met Peter Gregson op cello en Ashley Knight als soprane. Als uitschieters noteer ik alvast The Uncertainty Principle, alsook de korte improvisatie van Michael Price & Peter Gregson. Zeer leuk en een sterk eerste concert !

Na een korte pauze was het dan tijd voor het Leuvense Illuminine, wiens feeërieke, dromerige ambient/soundscape, progrock & neoklassiek debuutalbum #1 reeds maanden in mijn cdspeler vertoeft. Het negenkoppige ensemble van Kevin Imbrechts had ik echter nog nooit op een podium meegemaakt, en in De Roma was dit de uitgelezen kans!

Achter een semi-transparante wit gaasdoek traden de heren op. De trage dromerige melodieën werden ondersteund door een perfecte verlichting die nu eens het melancholische, dan weer het opbeurende karakter van de muziek mochten onderstrepen. De groep kreeg het publiek zo stil dat er een ongelooflijke sereniteit ontstond, waarbij het publiek – zonder applaus of enig ander geluid – het hele concert zwijgzaam onderging om de muzikanten pas op het einde op een daverend applaus te trakteren. Het was een bevreemdend, maar weliswaar zalig sfeertje. Zelf vond ik alle composities live nog intenser dan op c en vooral de elektrische gitaar, die duidelijk instond voor allerlei noisy geluidjes, maakte een enorme indruk op me (wellicht ook omdat ik diens belangrijke rol op de cd niet eens had opgemerkt).

Occasioneel werden de muzikanten belicht vanaf de zijkant of de achterzijde van het podium, wat een magisch schaduwenschouwspel gaf op het gaasdoek dat deze bende van het publiek scheidde.

Ondanks een compleet hectische week en me te hebben opgejaagd om tijdig de zaal te bereiken, was ik na hun concert van zo’n 75 minuten compleet Zen, en volledig gewonnen voor het totaalspektakel dat Illuminine live te bieden heeft. Lang geleden dat een groep me nog zo intens kon verrassen, helemaal top!

Binnenkort ga ik toch eens trachten om wat meer te weten te komen over Kevin Imbrechts en diens fantastische composities. En dat zouden jullie ook beter doen ! Zalige band!

Ward DE PRINS
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

 

Next reviews
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • The Last Broadcast On Earth
MARTIN L. GORE • MG

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine