tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO

Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Concert
AmbientNeoclassicalProg RockSoundscapeSoundtrack

[95/100]   
27/10/2015, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Last Thursday, there was a double concert by Michael Price and Illuminine at the beautiful venue De Roma in Antwerp. The room was cozy, with tables with tea lights and chairs, which gave the listener the opportunity to enjoy the music with a fresh Bolleke (an Antwerp beer-ed.)

The Michael Price Trio had the honor to perform first. With Entanglement, Michael just released a very strong album on Erased Tapes. It’s a piece full of dreamy compositions, enriched with strings, including a quite prominent cello, as well as a beautiful soprano voice. My expectations were high. And I was surprised to notice that the compositions of Entanglement sound strong on stage as well, especially with Peter Gregson on cello and Ashley Knight as soprano. My personal highlights were The Uncertainty Principle, as well as the short improvisation by Michael Price and Peter Gregson. A brilliant and intense first gig!

After a short break it was time for the Belgian band Illuminine, whose magical, dreamy and ambient/soundscape, prog rock and neo-classic debut album # 1 has been in my CD player for months. However, I never saw the nine-piece ensemble of Kevin Imbrechts live, and this gig was the perfect opportunity!

The band performed behind a semi-transparent white gauze. The slow and dreamy melodies were supported by a perfect lighting that emphasized the sometimes melancholic, sometimes uplifting nature of the music. The band was able to keep the audience so quiet that there was an incredible serenity, not even an applause or any other sound, the whole concert was experienced in silence, with a thunderous applause at the end. An odd but delightful atmosphere. Personally, I thought that all of the compositions were even more intense live than on CD, especially because of the versatile noisy effects of the electric guitar, which I obviously hadn't noticed when hearing the CD.

Occasionally the lights came from the side or the back of the stage, with a magical spectacle of colors and shadows on the gauze that separated the band from the audience.

Despite a hectic week and hurrying to get in time at the venue, I was completely Zen after their gig that lasted approximately 75 minutes. And even more, I was completely overwhelmed by the total spectacle that Illuminine offers on stage. It’s a long time since a group could surprise me in such an intense way, truly magnificent & mesmerising!

I really have to find out more about Kevin Imbrechts and his fantastic compositions, and so should you!

Ward DE PRINS
27/10/2015


NL

Afgelopen donderdag vond er in de prachtige zaal “De Roma” in Antwerpen een dubbelconcert plaats met Michael Price en Illuminine. De zaal was gezellig ingedeeld met tafeltjes met daarop theelichtjes en stoeltjes, zodat je de gelegenheid kreeg om volop van de muziek te genieten, lekker achteruitgezakt met een fris Bolleke in de hand.

Het Michael Price Trio, dat met Entanglement net een ijzersterke plaat op Erased Tapes hebben uitgebracht, mocht als eerste optreden. Op hun album vind je dromerige composities opgeluisterd met strijkers, waaronder een vrij prominente cello, alsook een prachtige sopraanstem. Mijn verwachtingen waren dan ook hoog gespannen. En zowaar, de composities van Entanglement klonken ook live zeer sterk, zeker met Peter Gregson op cello en Ashley Knight als soprane. Als uitschieters noteer ik alvast The Uncertainty Principle, alsook de korte improvisatie van Michael Price & Peter Gregson. Zeer leuk en een sterk eerste concert !

Na een korte pauze was het dan tijd voor het Leuvense Illuminine, wiens feeërieke, dromerige ambient/soundscape, progrock & neoklassiek debuutalbum #1 reeds maanden in mijn cdspeler vertoeft. Het negenkoppige ensemble van Kevin Imbrechts had ik echter nog nooit op een podium meegemaakt, en in De Roma was dit de uitgelezen kans!

Achter een semi-transparante wit gaasdoek traden de heren op. De trage dromerige melodieën werden ondersteund door een perfecte verlichting die nu eens het melancholische, dan weer het opbeurende karakter van de muziek mochten onderstrepen. De groep kreeg het publiek zo stil dat er een ongelooflijke sereniteit ontstond, waarbij het publiek – zonder applaus of enig ander geluid – het hele concert zwijgzaam onderging om de muzikanten pas op het einde op een daverend applaus te trakteren. Het was een bevreemdend, maar weliswaar zalig sfeertje. Zelf vond ik alle composities live nog intenser dan op c en vooral de elektrische gitaar, die duidelijk instond voor allerlei noisy geluidjes, maakte een enorme indruk op me (wellicht ook omdat ik diens belangrijke rol op de cd niet eens had opgemerkt).

Occasioneel werden de muzikanten belicht vanaf de zijkant of de achterzijde van het podium, wat een magisch schaduwenschouwspel gaf op het gaasdoek dat deze bende van het publiek scheidde.

Ondanks een compleet hectische week en me te hebben opgejaagd om tijdig de zaal te bereiken, was ik na hun concert van zo’n 75 minuten compleet Zen, en volledig gewonnen voor het totaalspektakel dat Illuminine live te bieden heeft. Lang geleden dat een groep me nog zo intens kon verrassen, helemaal top!

Binnenkort ga ik toch eens trachten om wat meer te weten te komen over Kevin Imbrechts en diens fantastische composities. En dat zouden jullie ook beter doen ! Zalige band!

Ward DE PRINS
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015 27/10/2015 : ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO - Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

 

Next reviews
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • The Last Broadcast On Earth
MARTIN L. GORE • MG
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi