tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION - Post Future Recordings

BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION

Post Future Recordings

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Hau Ruck!
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you want to believe us just once in your life, do it now, as Postal Future Recordings is one of the best synth pop wave records of this year and one you probably do not know. Not that nspirer Andrew Trail is a stranger in the black scene, as he formed with the recently deceased John Murphy of Death In June the band Knifeladder. Afterwards, Andrew started Black Light Ascension with Hunter Barr and Ben McLees. Andrew describes his music as minimal post punk, and that description makes a lot of sense. In 2011 they released their debut album Ashes on Hauruck, the label of Der Blutharsh frontman Albin Julius.

There are nine tracks on this second album, and they all have something in common: one by one they sound like synth classics from the 80s. You hear the influences, but it's more than just a tribute, as Andrew takes all the best ingredients and uses those for a unique sound that is danceable, but it is a frightening sound as well. The songs are catchy, but once you read the lyrics, you notice that the Londoner has little hope for the world. In the opener Ten Minutes To Midnight Andrew Trail is convinced that the world must change in ordeer to survive: it's schizophrenic synthpop that contains the best of Fad Gadget. A sound you also hear in Safe At Home and in the near-perfect Gerouge.

Teeth is great post punk with a bass sound that is reminiscent of Peter Hook, and so think: Factory. The melody is brilliant, addictive, think of what Section 25 did on From The Hilltop and you understand what Black Light Ascension is all about.

Module is minimal synth pop with some experimentation, although it remains accessible, just like I.T.A.O.M.O.G., although there are some industrial dance elements added, again with an addictive melody. Post Future Recordings is contemporary synth/wave pop for a frightened generation, but with the recipe of the past. You should have been listening!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

Als je ons maar één keer in je leven wil geloven, doe het dan nu, Post Future Recordings is één van de beste synthpop-waveplaten van dit jaar die je waarschijnlijk niet kent. Niet dat de bezieler Andrew Trail een onbekende is in de scène, want hij zat samen met de onlangs overleden John Murphy van Death In June ook in Knifeladder. Nadien richtte Andrew samen met Hunter Barr en Ben McLees Black Light Ascension op. Andrew omschrijft zijn muziek als minimal postpunk en dat is een vlag die de lading dekt. In 2011 verscheen hun debuutplaat Ashes op Hauruck, het label van Der Blutharsh-frontman Albin Julius.

Er staan negen nummers op deze tweede plaat, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeen: één voor één klinken ze als synthklassiekers uit de jaren 80. Je hoort wel de invloeden, maar het is meer dan zo maar een ode, Andrew neemt al de beste ingrediënten eruit en vormt die om tot een eigen geluid dat uiterst dansbaar is, maar ook fataal en beangstigend klinkt. De liedjes liggen wel lekker in het gehoor, maar eens je het tekstenboekje in de handen neemt, merk je dat de Londenaar maar bitter weinig hoop voor de wereld heeft. Meteen bij opener Ten Minutes To Midnight windt Andrew Trail er geen doekjes om: de wereld is zo goed als om zeep, het is schizofrene synthpop die verdraaid sterk op het beste van Fad Gadget lijkt. Dat geluid hoor je ook in Safe At Home en het bijna perfecte Gerouge.

Teeth is fantastisch post-punk met een basgeluid dat van Peter Hook kon zijn, en dus kunnen we niet anders dan aan Factory denken. De melodie is geniaal, verslavend, denk aan wat Section 25 deed op From The Hilltop en je begrijpt dan ook wat Black Light Ascension doet.

Module is minimale synthpop met wat experiment, ofschoon die steeds toegankelijk blijft, wat trouwens ook voor I.T.A.O.M.O.G. geldt, alhoewel hier wat industrial dance in verwerkt is, en alweer valt de verslavende melodie op. Post Future Recordings is eigentijdse synthpop, maar met het recept van vroeger. Je zou nu al moeten luisteren!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips

 

Other reviews from BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Ashes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death