tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION - Post Future Recordings

BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION

Post Future Recordings

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Hau Ruck!
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you want to believe us just once in your life, do it now, as Postal Future Recordings is one of the best synth pop wave records of this year and one you probably do not know. Not that nspirer Andrew Trail is a stranger in the black scene, as he formed with the recently deceased John Murphy of Death In June the band Knifeladder. Afterwards, Andrew started Black Light Ascension with Hunter Barr and Ben McLees. Andrew describes his music as minimal post punk, and that description makes a lot of sense. In 2011 they released their debut album Ashes on Hauruck, the label of Der Blutharsh frontman Albin Julius.

There are nine tracks on this second album, and they all have something in common: one by one they sound like synth classics from the 80s. You hear the influences, but it's more than just a tribute, as Andrew takes all the best ingredients and uses those for a unique sound that is danceable, but it is a frightening sound as well. The songs are catchy, but once you read the lyrics, you notice that the Londoner has little hope for the world. In the opener Ten Minutes To Midnight Andrew Trail is convinced that the world must change in ordeer to survive: it's schizophrenic synthpop that contains the best of Fad Gadget. A sound you also hear in Safe At Home and in the near-perfect Gerouge.

Teeth is great post punk with a bass sound that is reminiscent of Peter Hook, and so think: Factory. The melody is brilliant, addictive, think of what Section 25 did on From The Hilltop and you understand what Black Light Ascension is all about.

Module is minimal synth pop with some experimentation, although it remains accessible, just like I.T.A.O.M.O.G., although there are some industrial dance elements added, again with an addictive melody. Post Future Recordings is contemporary synth/wave pop for a frightened generation, but with the recipe of the past. You should have been listening!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

Als je ons maar één keer in je leven wil geloven, doe het dan nu, Post Future Recordings is één van de beste synthpop-waveplaten van dit jaar die je waarschijnlijk niet kent. Niet dat de bezieler Andrew Trail een onbekende is in de scène, want hij zat samen met de onlangs overleden John Murphy van Death In June ook in Knifeladder. Nadien richtte Andrew samen met Hunter Barr en Ben McLees Black Light Ascension op. Andrew omschrijft zijn muziek als minimal postpunk en dat is een vlag die de lading dekt. In 2011 verscheen hun debuutplaat Ashes op Hauruck, het label van Der Blutharsh-frontman Albin Julius.

Er staan negen nummers op deze tweede plaat, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeen: één voor één klinken ze als synthklassiekers uit de jaren 80. Je hoort wel de invloeden, maar het is meer dan zo maar een ode, Andrew neemt al de beste ingrediënten eruit en vormt die om tot een eigen geluid dat uiterst dansbaar is, maar ook fataal en beangstigend klinkt. De liedjes liggen wel lekker in het gehoor, maar eens je het tekstenboekje in de handen neemt, merk je dat de Londenaar maar bitter weinig hoop voor de wereld heeft. Meteen bij opener Ten Minutes To Midnight windt Andrew Trail er geen doekjes om: de wereld is zo goed als om zeep, het is schizofrene synthpop die verdraaid sterk op het beste van Fad Gadget lijkt. Dat geluid hoor je ook in Safe At Home en het bijna perfecte Gerouge.

Teeth is fantastisch post-punk met een basgeluid dat van Peter Hook kon zijn, en dus kunnen we niet anders dan aan Factory denken. De melodie is geniaal, verslavend, denk aan wat Section 25 deed op From The Hilltop en je begrijpt dan ook wat Black Light Ascension doet.

Module is minimale synthpop met wat experiment, ofschoon die steeds toegankelijk blijft, wat trouwens ook voor I.T.A.O.M.O.G. geldt, alhoewel hier wat industrial dance in verwerkt is, en alweer valt de verslavende melodie op. Post Future Recordings is eigentijdse synthpop, maar met het recept van vroeger. Je zou nu al moeten luisteren!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips

 

Other reviews from BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Ashes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On