tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION - Post Future Recordings

BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION

Post Future Recordings

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Hau Ruck!
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you want to believe us just once in your life, do it now, as Postal Future Recordings is one of the best synth pop wave records of this year and one you probably do not know. Not that nspirer Andrew Trail is a stranger in the black scene, as he formed with the recently deceased John Murphy of Death In June the band Knifeladder. Afterwards, Andrew started Black Light Ascension with Hunter Barr and Ben McLees. Andrew describes his music as minimal post punk, and that description makes a lot of sense. In 2011 they released their debut album Ashes on Hauruck, the label of Der Blutharsh frontman Albin Julius.

There are nine tracks on this second album, and they all have something in common: one by one they sound like synth classics from the 80s. You hear the influences, but it's more than just a tribute, as Andrew takes all the best ingredients and uses those for a unique sound that is danceable, but it is a frightening sound as well. The songs are catchy, but once you read the lyrics, you notice that the Londoner has little hope for the world. In the opener Ten Minutes To Midnight Andrew Trail is convinced that the world must change in ordeer to survive: it's schizophrenic synthpop that contains the best of Fad Gadget. A sound you also hear in Safe At Home and in the near-perfect Gerouge.

Teeth is great post punk with a bass sound that is reminiscent of Peter Hook, and so think: Factory. The melody is brilliant, addictive, think of what Section 25 did on From The Hilltop and you understand what Black Light Ascension is all about.

Module is minimal synth pop with some experimentation, although it remains accessible, just like I.T.A.O.M.O.G., although there are some industrial dance elements added, again with an addictive melody. Post Future Recordings is contemporary synth/wave pop for a frightened generation, but with the recipe of the past. You should have been listening!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

Als je ons maar één keer in je leven wil geloven, doe het dan nu, Post Future Recordings is één van de beste synthpop-waveplaten van dit jaar die je waarschijnlijk niet kent. Niet dat de bezieler Andrew Trail een onbekende is in de scène, want hij zat samen met de onlangs overleden John Murphy van Death In June ook in Knifeladder. Nadien richtte Andrew samen met Hunter Barr en Ben McLees Black Light Ascension op. Andrew omschrijft zijn muziek als minimal postpunk en dat is een vlag die de lading dekt. In 2011 verscheen hun debuutplaat Ashes op Hauruck, het label van Der Blutharsh-frontman Albin Julius.

Er staan negen nummers op deze tweede plaat, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeen: één voor één klinken ze als synthklassiekers uit de jaren 80. Je hoort wel de invloeden, maar het is meer dan zo maar een ode, Andrew neemt al de beste ingrediënten eruit en vormt die om tot een eigen geluid dat uiterst dansbaar is, maar ook fataal en beangstigend klinkt. De liedjes liggen wel lekker in het gehoor, maar eens je het tekstenboekje in de handen neemt, merk je dat de Londenaar maar bitter weinig hoop voor de wereld heeft. Meteen bij opener Ten Minutes To Midnight windt Andrew Trail er geen doekjes om: de wereld is zo goed als om zeep, het is schizofrene synthpop die verdraaid sterk op het beste van Fad Gadget lijkt. Dat geluid hoor je ook in Safe At Home en het bijna perfecte Gerouge.

Teeth is fantastisch post-punk met een basgeluid dat van Peter Hook kon zijn, en dus kunnen we niet anders dan aan Factory denken. De melodie is geniaal, verslavend, denk aan wat Section 25 deed op From The Hilltop en je begrijpt dan ook wat Black Light Ascension doet.

Module is minimale synthpop met wat experiment, ofschoon die steeds toegankelijk blijft, wat trouwens ook voor I.T.A.O.M.O.G. geldt, alhoewel hier wat industrial dance in verwerkt is, en alweer valt de verslavende melodie op. Post Future Recordings is eigentijdse synthpop, maar met het recept van vroeger. Je zou nu al moeten luisteren!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips

 

Other reviews from BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Ashes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis