tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

27/10/2015 : CHRIS TENZ - Nails Through Bird Feet

CHRIS TENZ

Nails Through Bird Feet

MusicVinyl
AcousticDark AmbientSoundscape

[78/100]   

Death Rattle Press
27/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Chris Tenz is a Canadian artist who currently lives in London and who grew up in an isolated religious sect, which he later left. It is not so obvious, because the outside world caused him a lot of frustration and confusion. By asking questions about himself and the surrounding world, and as a result of the battle against the demons in his head, Chris needed an outlet which he found in composing songs. He went looking for places, both inside and outside of his mind, that meant something in his life. These confrontations sometimes were painful and resulted after five years in the album Nails Through Bird Feet.

It is not easy to describe this music. I would categorize it as dark ambient, as the music is mainly made of sound collages, added with the texts of Chris and some acoustic guitar or a violin.

Nails Through Bird Feet could be a soundtrack for a period in the life of Chris Tenz. It is an album that needs several spins before it really enters your mind, and you better listen to it in a subdued atmosphere with some dim light, a good drink and especially silence. The latter is the friend that guides you through this record and thus contributes to a festive atmosphere.

A lot of artists have participated on this album abd that gives the songs an extra dimension. It is not exactly the most accessible album ever, but after some listening sessions, I thought it was a very good, and most original way to rediscover your deepest self, get used to it and ultimately it brings your mind at peace and leads to harmony.

Some parts give me goosebumps and that is what music is made for: to stand still for a moment and think about life. A very intense album.

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


NL

Chris Tenz is een Canadese artiest die momenteel in London woont en opgroeide bij een geïsoleerde religieuze sekte die hij later verliet. Zo voor de hand liggend is dat niet, want de buitenwereld veroorzaakte bij hem in het begin een hele hoop frustraties en verwarring. Door zichzelf en de wereld voortdurend in vraag te stellen, alsook het voeren van een strijd tegen de demonen in zijn hoofd, had Chris een uitlaatklep nodig die hij vond in het componeren van songs. Hij ging op zoek naar plaatsen, zowel binnen als buiten zijn geest, die iets in zijn leven betekenden, ook al bleek dat soms pijnlijk. Toch zijn het confrontaties die op de een of andere manier hun uitweg moesten vinden. Dat leidde na vijf jaar tot het album Nails Through Bird Feet. 

Het is niet eenvoudig om deze muziek te omschrijven. In zou ze als dark ambient categoriseren. Het zijn klankcollages, avoorzien van de teksten van Chris, aangevuld met een akoestische gitaar, een viool en andere instrumenten.

Nails Through Bird Feet zou je een soundtrack voor een periode uit het leven van Chris Tenz kunnen noemen. Het is een album dat meerdere draaibeurten nodig heeft vooraleer het echt tot je doordringt, en je beluistert het beter in een stemmig sfeertje met wat gedimd licht, een lekker drankje en stilte. Die laatste is de vriend die je begeleidt door deze plaat en zo bijdraagt tot een stemmige sfeer.

Er werkten heel wat andere artiesten mee aan dit album en die geven de nummers een extra dimensie. Het is niet meteen het meest toegankelijke album, maar na de nodige luisterbeurten vind ik het een heel goede, en vooral originele manier om je diepste ik te leren herontdekken, eraan te wennen en er uiteindelijk ook vrede mee te nemen zodat je op het einde tot een soort van harmonie kan komen.

Bij enkele passages kreeg ik kippenvel en dat is waarvoor muziek gemaakt wordt: om de luisteraar af en toe te raken en om eventjes stil te staan bij het leven. Een zeer intens album dat naast melancholie ook de nodige rust uitstraalt. 

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
MERCYFUL HEAVENS • For Now
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation