tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

27/10/2015 : CHRIS TENZ - Nails Through Bird Feet

CHRIS TENZ

Nails Through Bird Feet

MusicVinyl
AcousticDark AmbientSoundscape

[78/100]   

Death Rattle Press
27/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Chris Tenz is a Canadian artist who currently lives in London and who grew up in an isolated religious sect, which he later left. It is not so obvious, because the outside world caused him a lot of frustration and confusion. By asking questions about himself and the surrounding world, and as a result of the battle against the demons in his head, Chris needed an outlet which he found in composing songs. He went looking for places, both inside and outside of his mind, that meant something in his life. These confrontations sometimes were painful and resulted after five years in the album Nails Through Bird Feet.

It is not easy to describe this music. I would categorize it as dark ambient, as the music is mainly made of sound collages, added with the texts of Chris and some acoustic guitar or a violin.

Nails Through Bird Feet could be a soundtrack for a period in the life of Chris Tenz. It is an album that needs several spins before it really enters your mind, and you better listen to it in a subdued atmosphere with some dim light, a good drink and especially silence. The latter is the friend that guides you through this record and thus contributes to a festive atmosphere.

A lot of artists have participated on this album abd that gives the songs an extra dimension. It is not exactly the most accessible album ever, but after some listening sessions, I thought it was a very good, and most original way to rediscover your deepest self, get used to it and ultimately it brings your mind at peace and leads to harmony.

Some parts give me goosebumps and that is what music is made for: to stand still for a moment and think about life. A very intense album.

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


NL

Chris Tenz is een Canadese artiest die momenteel in London woont en opgroeide bij een geïsoleerde religieuze sekte die hij later verliet. Zo voor de hand liggend is dat niet, want de buitenwereld veroorzaakte bij hem in het begin een hele hoop frustraties en verwarring. Door zichzelf en de wereld voortdurend in vraag te stellen, alsook het voeren van een strijd tegen de demonen in zijn hoofd, had Chris een uitlaatklep nodig die hij vond in het componeren van songs. Hij ging op zoek naar plaatsen, zowel binnen als buiten zijn geest, die iets in zijn leven betekenden, ook al bleek dat soms pijnlijk. Toch zijn het confrontaties die op de een of andere manier hun uitweg moesten vinden. Dat leidde na vijf jaar tot het album Nails Through Bird Feet. 

Het is niet eenvoudig om deze muziek te omschrijven. In zou ze als dark ambient categoriseren. Het zijn klankcollages, avoorzien van de teksten van Chris, aangevuld met een akoestische gitaar, een viool en andere instrumenten.

Nails Through Bird Feet zou je een soundtrack voor een periode uit het leven van Chris Tenz kunnen noemen. Het is een album dat meerdere draaibeurten nodig heeft vooraleer het echt tot je doordringt, en je beluistert het beter in een stemmig sfeertje met wat gedimd licht, een lekker drankje en stilte. Die laatste is de vriend die je begeleidt door deze plaat en zo bijdraagt tot een stemmige sfeer.

Er werkten heel wat andere artiesten mee aan dit album en die geven de nummers een extra dimensie. Het is niet meteen het meest toegankelijke album, maar na de nodige luisterbeurten vind ik het een heel goede, en vooral originele manier om je diepste ik te leren herontdekken, eraan te wennen en er uiteindelijk ook vrede mee te nemen zodat je op het einde tot een soort van harmonie kan komen.

Bij enkele passages kreeg ik kippenvel en dat is waarvoor muziek gemaakt wordt: om de luisteraar af en toe te raken en om eventjes stil te staan bij het leven. Een zeer intens album dat naast melancholie ook de nodige rust uitstraalt. 

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp