tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

27/10/2015 : CHRIS TENZ - Nails Through Bird Feet

CHRIS TENZ

Nails Through Bird Feet

MusicVinyl
AcousticDark AmbientSoundscape

[78/100]   

Death Rattle Press
27/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Chris Tenz is a Canadian artist who currently lives in London and who grew up in an isolated religious sect, which he later left. It is not so obvious, because the outside world caused him a lot of frustration and confusion. By asking questions about himself and the surrounding world, and as a result of the battle against the demons in his head, Chris needed an outlet which he found in composing songs. He went looking for places, both inside and outside of his mind, that meant something in his life. These confrontations sometimes were painful and resulted after five years in the album Nails Through Bird Feet.

It is not easy to describe this music. I would categorize it as dark ambient, as the music is mainly made of sound collages, added with the texts of Chris and some acoustic guitar or a violin.

Nails Through Bird Feet could be a soundtrack for a period in the life of Chris Tenz. It is an album that needs several spins before it really enters your mind, and you better listen to it in a subdued atmosphere with some dim light, a good drink and especially silence. The latter is the friend that guides you through this record and thus contributes to a festive atmosphere.

A lot of artists have participated on this album abd that gives the songs an extra dimension. It is not exactly the most accessible album ever, but after some listening sessions, I thought it was a very good, and most original way to rediscover your deepest self, get used to it and ultimately it brings your mind at peace and leads to harmony.

Some parts give me goosebumps and that is what music is made for: to stand still for a moment and think about life. A very intense album.

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


NL

Chris Tenz is een Canadese artiest die momenteel in London woont en opgroeide bij een geïsoleerde religieuze sekte die hij later verliet. Zo voor de hand liggend is dat niet, want de buitenwereld veroorzaakte bij hem in het begin een hele hoop frustraties en verwarring. Door zichzelf en de wereld voortdurend in vraag te stellen, alsook het voeren van een strijd tegen de demonen in zijn hoofd, had Chris een uitlaatklep nodig die hij vond in het componeren van songs. Hij ging op zoek naar plaatsen, zowel binnen als buiten zijn geest, die iets in zijn leven betekenden, ook al bleek dat soms pijnlijk. Toch zijn het confrontaties die op de een of andere manier hun uitweg moesten vinden. Dat leidde na vijf jaar tot het album Nails Through Bird Feet. 

Het is niet eenvoudig om deze muziek te omschrijven. In zou ze als dark ambient categoriseren. Het zijn klankcollages, avoorzien van de teksten van Chris, aangevuld met een akoestische gitaar, een viool en andere instrumenten.

Nails Through Bird Feet zou je een soundtrack voor een periode uit het leven van Chris Tenz kunnen noemen. Het is een album dat meerdere draaibeurten nodig heeft vooraleer het echt tot je doordringt, en je beluistert het beter in een stemmig sfeertje met wat gedimd licht, een lekker drankje en stilte. Die laatste is de vriend die je begeleidt door deze plaat en zo bijdraagt tot een stemmige sfeer.

Er werkten heel wat andere artiesten mee aan dit album en die geven de nummers een extra dimensie. Het is niet meteen het meest toegankelijke album, maar na de nodige luisterbeurten vind ik het een heel goede, en vooral originele manier om je diepste ik te leren herontdekken, eraan te wennen en er uiteindelijk ook vrede mee te nemen zodat je op het einde tot een soort van harmonie kan komen.

Bij enkele passages kreeg ik kippenvel en dat is waarvoor muziek gemaakt wordt: om de luisteraar af en toe te raken en om eventjes stil te staan bij het leven. Een zeer intens album dat naast melancholie ook de nodige rust uitstraalt. 

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott