tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

27/10/2015 : CHRIS TENZ - Nails Through Bird Feet

CHRIS TENZ

Nails Through Bird Feet

MusicVinyl
AcousticDark AmbientSoundscape

[78/100]   

Death Rattle Press
27/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Chris Tenz is a Canadian artist who currently lives in London and who grew up in an isolated religious sect, which he later left. It is not so obvious, because the outside world caused him a lot of frustration and confusion. By asking questions about himself and the surrounding world, and as a result of the battle against the demons in his head, Chris needed an outlet which he found in composing songs. He went looking for places, both inside and outside of his mind, that meant something in his life. These confrontations sometimes were painful and resulted after five years in the album Nails Through Bird Feet.

It is not easy to describe this music. I would categorize it as dark ambient, as the music is mainly made of sound collages, added with the texts of Chris and some acoustic guitar or a violin.

Nails Through Bird Feet could be a soundtrack for a period in the life of Chris Tenz. It is an album that needs several spins before it really enters your mind, and you better listen to it in a subdued atmosphere with some dim light, a good drink and especially silence. The latter is the friend that guides you through this record and thus contributes to a festive atmosphere.

A lot of artists have participated on this album abd that gives the songs an extra dimension. It is not exactly the most accessible album ever, but after some listening sessions, I thought it was a very good, and most original way to rediscover your deepest self, get used to it and ultimately it brings your mind at peace and leads to harmony.

Some parts give me goosebumps and that is what music is made for: to stand still for a moment and think about life. A very intense album.

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


NL

Chris Tenz is een Canadese artiest die momenteel in London woont en opgroeide bij een geïsoleerde religieuze sekte die hij later verliet. Zo voor de hand liggend is dat niet, want de buitenwereld veroorzaakte bij hem in het begin een hele hoop frustraties en verwarring. Door zichzelf en de wereld voortdurend in vraag te stellen, alsook het voeren van een strijd tegen de demonen in zijn hoofd, had Chris een uitlaatklep nodig die hij vond in het componeren van songs. Hij ging op zoek naar plaatsen, zowel binnen als buiten zijn geest, die iets in zijn leven betekenden, ook al bleek dat soms pijnlijk. Toch zijn het confrontaties die op de een of andere manier hun uitweg moesten vinden. Dat leidde na vijf jaar tot het album Nails Through Bird Feet. 

Het is niet eenvoudig om deze muziek te omschrijven. In zou ze als dark ambient categoriseren. Het zijn klankcollages, avoorzien van de teksten van Chris, aangevuld met een akoestische gitaar, een viool en andere instrumenten.

Nails Through Bird Feet zou je een soundtrack voor een periode uit het leven van Chris Tenz kunnen noemen. Het is een album dat meerdere draaibeurten nodig heeft vooraleer het echt tot je doordringt, en je beluistert het beter in een stemmig sfeertje met wat gedimd licht, een lekker drankje en stilte. Die laatste is de vriend die je begeleidt door deze plaat en zo bijdraagt tot een stemmige sfeer.

Er werkten heel wat andere artiesten mee aan dit album en die geven de nummers een extra dimensie. Het is niet meteen het meest toegankelijke album, maar na de nodige luisterbeurten vind ik het een heel goede, en vooral originele manier om je diepste ik te leren herontdekken, eraan te wennen en er uiteindelijk ook vrede mee te nemen zodat je op het einde tot een soort van harmonie kan komen.

Bij enkele passages kreeg ik kippenvel en dat is waarvoor muziek gemaakt wordt: om de luisteraar af en toe te raken en om eventjes stil te staan bij het leven. Een zeer intens album dat naast melancholie ook de nodige rust uitstraalt. 

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell