tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

27/10/2015 : CHRIS TENZ - Nails Through Bird Feet

CHRIS TENZ

Nails Through Bird Feet

MusicVinyl
AcousticDark AmbientSoundscape

[78/100]   

Death Rattle Press
27/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Chris Tenz is a Canadian artist who currently lives in London and who grew up in an isolated religious sect, which he later left. It is not so obvious, because the outside world caused him a lot of frustration and confusion. By asking questions about himself and the surrounding world, and as a result of the battle against the demons in his head, Chris needed an outlet which he found in composing songs. He went looking for places, both inside and outside of his mind, that meant something in his life. These confrontations sometimes were painful and resulted after five years in the album Nails Through Bird Feet.

It is not easy to describe this music. I would categorize it as dark ambient, as the music is mainly made of sound collages, added with the texts of Chris and some acoustic guitar or a violin.

Nails Through Bird Feet could be a soundtrack for a period in the life of Chris Tenz. It is an album that needs several spins before it really enters your mind, and you better listen to it in a subdued atmosphere with some dim light, a good drink and especially silence. The latter is the friend that guides you through this record and thus contributes to a festive atmosphere.

A lot of artists have participated on this album abd that gives the songs an extra dimension. It is not exactly the most accessible album ever, but after some listening sessions, I thought it was a very good, and most original way to rediscover your deepest self, get used to it and ultimately it brings your mind at peace and leads to harmony.

Some parts give me goosebumps and that is what music is made for: to stand still for a moment and think about life. A very intense album.

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


NL

Chris Tenz is een Canadese artiest die momenteel in London woont en opgroeide bij een geïsoleerde religieuze sekte die hij later verliet. Zo voor de hand liggend is dat niet, want de buitenwereld veroorzaakte bij hem in het begin een hele hoop frustraties en verwarring. Door zichzelf en de wereld voortdurend in vraag te stellen, alsook het voeren van een strijd tegen de demonen in zijn hoofd, had Chris een uitlaatklep nodig die hij vond in het componeren van songs. Hij ging op zoek naar plaatsen, zowel binnen als buiten zijn geest, die iets in zijn leven betekenden, ook al bleek dat soms pijnlijk. Toch zijn het confrontaties die op de een of andere manier hun uitweg moesten vinden. Dat leidde na vijf jaar tot het album Nails Through Bird Feet. 

Het is niet eenvoudig om deze muziek te omschrijven. In zou ze als dark ambient categoriseren. Het zijn klankcollages, avoorzien van de teksten van Chris, aangevuld met een akoestische gitaar, een viool en andere instrumenten.

Nails Through Bird Feet zou je een soundtrack voor een periode uit het leven van Chris Tenz kunnen noemen. Het is een album dat meerdere draaibeurten nodig heeft vooraleer het echt tot je doordringt, en je beluistert het beter in een stemmig sfeertje met wat gedimd licht, een lekker drankje en stilte. Die laatste is de vriend die je begeleidt door deze plaat en zo bijdraagt tot een stemmige sfeer.

Er werkten heel wat andere artiesten mee aan dit album en die geven de nummers een extra dimensie. Het is niet meteen het meest toegankelijke album, maar na de nodige luisterbeurten vind ik het een heel goede, en vooral originele manier om je diepste ik te leren herontdekken, eraan te wennen en er uiteindelijk ook vrede mee te nemen zodat je op het einde tot een soort van harmonie kan komen.

Bij enkele passages kreeg ik kippenvel en dat is waarvoor muziek gemaakt wordt: om de luisteraar af en toe te raken en om eventjes stil te staan bij het leven. Een zeer intens album dat naast melancholie ook de nodige rust uitstraalt. 

Ruben SAEY
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

Music reviews

21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away