tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

29/09/2017 : BLACK NEEDLE NOISE - Lost In Reflections

BLACK NEEDLE NOISE

Lost In Reflections

MusicDigital
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesIndietronicaSoundscape

[95/100]   

Self-released
29/09/2017, Marija BULJETA

The second Black Needle Noise full length album, Lost In Reflections, has just been released, exactly one year after the first one, Before The Tears Came. During that year John Fryer was busy collaborating with amazing artists on the new BNN singles which he has now compiled in an album format.
Lost In Reflections consists of 11 tracks, the first of which, was released in July 2016, “Treasured Lies”, featuring a Norwegian singer and songwriter ZiaLand. What we should have expected from BNN new album this track has already delivered. John Fryer continues to astound us with the powerful musical theme and the striking refrain, while preserving the atmospheric and ethereal feel that makes his work recognisable. While ZiaLand delivers the strong vocal performance, the second track “Warning Sign” with Kendra Frost delivers more delicate atmosphere. The track is floaty and light. The idea of John’s sublime soundscapes combined with Kendra’s angelic voice makes this piece a perfect track for a daydream. But don’t drift away, there are some catchy moments that BNN can offer. They come with the very next track, “She Stands On A Storm”. Although the introduction may sound innocent and mysterious, the punchy and impressive refrain will stir things up. Andrea Kerr is doing a great job with her vocal interpretation, shifting from almost whispering to a more striking performance. Distinguishable soundscapes colour the next tracks: “Heaven” with Jennie Vee, “This Kind Of Road” with Kendra Frost and “Teeth To Grey” with Omniflux.
One of the tracks that undoubtedly caught my attention was “Swimming Through Dreams” featuring Mimi Page. This song takes the words “ethereal” and “soundscapes” to the next level. Listening to the collaboration of John and Mimi evokes a dreamlike state; it’s almost a surreal, mystical, otherwordly and supernatural sound experience. I feel that they have really wanted to give us something we haven’t heard before and I am very sure that we haven’t heard it. “And Nothing Remains” with Ana Breton is another song really high on my top list. It is one more elegant and sophisticated piece, rich in delightful melody and arrangements. After eight tracks featuring female artists, the sequence is broken by the vocal of Bill Leeb of Front Line Assembly and Delerium. “A Shiver Of Want” is noisy, darkly painted and heavier than the previous tracks, but the song is nonetheless soothing and comforting.
It’s absolutely impossible to have a favourite BNN track, since each song tells a story of its own. However, when I first heard “Breathless Speechless” with Sivert Høyem, I was indeed speechless. The seductive and captivating sounds intertwine with Sivert’s deep and sensual vocal. A perfect combination for this deeply atmospheric track.
John Fryer closes the amazing chapter of this emotional musical journey with the “Neon Noir”. The piece was a welcome surprise to my ears, heart and mind. I haven’t had the opportunity to hear the track until now, and I was really happy listening to this electronic poppy and vibrating number at the very end. Is this the direction John will keep? He will leave us guessing but hopefully not for long. There are no rules, no boundaries, no limits to his imaginative and inspired mind. And all you ever wanted to know about John and his world of art is here, at the reach of your hands or ears; you do not need to look further.
Thank you, John and all the brilliant artists who contributed to this release, for being part of our lives. Your work speaks volumes.

Marija BULJETA
29/09/2017


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
XXXYEARXXX years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)