tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

29/09/2017 : BLACK NEEDLE NOISE - Lost In Reflections

BLACK NEEDLE NOISE

Lost In Reflections

MusicDigital
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesIndietronicaSoundscape

[95/100]   

Self-released
29/09/2017, Marija BULJETA

The second Black Needle Noise full length album, Lost In Reflections, has just been released, exactly one year after the first one, Before The Tears Came. During that year John Fryer was busy collaborating with amazing artists on the new BNN singles which he has now compiled in an album format.
Lost In Reflections consists of 11 tracks, the first of which, was released in July 2016, “Treasured Lies”, featuring a Norwegian singer and songwriter ZiaLand. What we should have expected from BNN new album this track has already delivered. John Fryer continues to astound us with the powerful musical theme and the striking refrain, while preserving the atmospheric and ethereal feel that makes his work recognisable. While ZiaLand delivers the strong vocal performance, the second track “Warning Sign” with Kendra Frost delivers more delicate atmosphere. The track is floaty and light. The idea of John’s sublime soundscapes combined with Kendra’s angelic voice makes this piece a perfect track for a daydream. But don’t drift away, there are some catchy moments that BNN can offer. They come with the very next track, “She Stands On A Storm”. Although the introduction may sound innocent and mysterious, the punchy and impressive refrain will stir things up. Andrea Kerr is doing a great job with her vocal interpretation, shifting from almost whispering to a more striking performance. Distinguishable soundscapes colour the next tracks: “Heaven” with Jennie Vee, “This Kind Of Road” with Kendra Frost and “Teeth To Grey” with Omniflux.
One of the tracks that undoubtedly caught my attention was “Swimming Through Dreams” featuring Mimi Page. This song takes the words “ethereal” and “soundscapes” to the next level. Listening to the collaboration of John and Mimi evokes a dreamlike state; it’s almost a surreal, mystical, otherwordly and supernatural sound experience. I feel that they have really wanted to give us something we haven’t heard before and I am very sure that we haven’t heard it. “And Nothing Remains” with Ana Breton is another song really high on my top list. It is one more elegant and sophisticated piece, rich in delightful melody and arrangements. After eight tracks featuring female artists, the sequence is broken by the vocal of Bill Leeb of Front Line Assembly and Delerium. “A Shiver Of Want” is noisy, darkly painted and heavier than the previous tracks, but the song is nonetheless soothing and comforting.
It’s absolutely impossible to have a favourite BNN track, since each song tells a story of its own. However, when I first heard “Breathless Speechless” with Sivert Høyem, I was indeed speechless. The seductive and captivating sounds intertwine with Sivert’s deep and sensual vocal. A perfect combination for this deeply atmospheric track.
John Fryer closes the amazing chapter of this emotional musical journey with the “Neon Noir”. The piece was a welcome surprise to my ears, heart and mind. I haven’t had the opportunity to hear the track until now, and I was really happy listening to this electronic poppy and vibrating number at the very end. Is this the direction John will keep? He will leave us guessing but hopefully not for long. There are no rules, no boundaries, no limits to his imaginative and inspired mind. And all you ever wanted to know about John and his world of art is here, at the reach of your hands or ears; you do not need to look further.
Thank you, John and all the brilliant artists who contributed to this release, for being part of our lives. Your work speaks volumes.

Marija BULJETA
29/09/2017


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)