tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/09/2017 : THE NAMES - German Nights

THE NAMES

German Nights

MusicCD
New wave

[80/100]   

Factory Benelux
20/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Following on from the band's successful 2015 double-album Stranger Than You and the low-key In Mutation compilation from last year, Brussels dark-wave post-punkers The Names have opted to celebrate their new-found confidence and inner fire with an engaging live album. Founders Michel Sordinia and Marc Deprez still provide the rigid foundations for the songs with impassioned vocals and melodic guitars respectively, while relative newbies Loddewyckx, Lesceux and Aerschot glue the performances together. It certainly makes sense to translate these experiences into a physical format.

Dressed in a striking and very European sleeve and drawn from recent concerts, German Nights starts with footsteps taking the listener to the gig itself and the perennial live favourite Discovery kicking things off. These days, The Names don't rush towards the end of a song in haste - they expand on old ideas with new arrangements (and new band-members) making this opening track from 1982's benchmark Swimming album sounding as contemporary as it was 35 years ago.

No one rendition is better than the next but The Fire and Shanghai Gesture both exude a certain powerful aura, This Is Harmony canters along with stately gloom and the newer Boy With a Gun might just be a set favourite for a while to come with its brutal insistent drums and provocative lyrics.

Not surprisingly, important singles Nightshift and Calcutta are wheeled out with the former now mercifully spared the soft-shoe arrangement of late, while a cover of Velvet Underground's What Goes On points casual onlookers towards the one of the sources of the band's lineage.

Encore!

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/09/2017


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation