tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/09/2017 : THE NAMES - German Nights

THE NAMES

German Nights

MusicCD
New wave

[80/100]   

Factory Benelux
20/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Following on from the band's successful 2015 double-album Stranger Than You and the low-key In Mutation compilation from last year, Brussels dark-wave post-punkers The Names have opted to celebrate their new-found confidence and inner fire with an engaging live album. Founders Michel Sordinia and Marc Deprez still provide the rigid foundations for the songs with impassioned vocals and melodic guitars respectively, while relative newbies Loddewyckx, Lesceux and Aerschot glue the performances together. It certainly makes sense to translate these experiences into a physical format.

Dressed in a striking and very European sleeve and drawn from recent concerts, German Nights starts with footsteps taking the listener to the gig itself and the perennial live favourite Discovery kicking things off. These days, The Names don't rush towards the end of a song in haste - they expand on old ideas with new arrangements (and new band-members) making this opening track from 1982's benchmark Swimming album sounding as contemporary as it was 35 years ago.

No one rendition is better than the next but The Fire and Shanghai Gesture both exude a certain powerful aura, This Is Harmony canters along with stately gloom and the newer Boy With a Gun might just be a set favourite for a while to come with its brutal insistent drums and provocative lyrics.

Not surprisingly, important singles Nightshift and Calcutta are wheeled out with the former now mercifully spared the soft-shoe arrangement of late, while a cover of Velvet Underground's What Goes On points casual onlookers towards the one of the sources of the band's lineage.

Encore!

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
20/09/2017


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure